• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 877 8 INDIGO
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night reservation you will be given the option to duplicate this reservation.

(e.g. Sep-21-2014)
(e.g. Sep-22-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings Link will open in new browser window. tool or call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada).

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Downtown/City Center

  • Location: Downtown/City Center
  • Closest City: NEWCASTLE UPON TYNE
  • Distance From Hotel: 0.8MI
  • Local time zone: GMT+01:00

Check In: 3:00 PM Check Out: 12:00 PM

  • Check In: 3:00 PM
  • Check Out: 12:00 PM
  • Minimum check-in age: 18
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:8
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. English

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

Registered assistance dogs only. Please contact the hotel directly should you have any specific requirements.

Parking

Parking

  • Number of parking spaces:80
  • Car Parking Available
  • Hotel Indigo has its own private car park offering over 80 spaces on two levels. Charges will apply.
  • Daily Parking Fee ( 12.00  GBP)

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas
Wired Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas

Facility

Facility

  • Hotel renovated inFebruary 01, 2012
  • Total number of rooms:148
  • Total number of suites:2
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:127
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:36
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:148
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:8
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:4
Welcome to Our Neighbourhood at Hotel Indigo Newcastle Hotel Indigo Newcastle is situated in and inspired by Grainger Town, the heart of this historic city. Unique among Newcastle hotels, our building and interiors draw inspiration from the area’s neoclassical architecture. We love the historic 1830s beauty of our local area which is why it’s made a strong impact on the look of our rooms, lobby and lounge. Bold printed rugs and subtle room details reflect the patterns of the local
View More
Welcome to Our Neighbourhood at Hotel Indigo Newcastle Hotel Indigo Newcastle is situated in and inspired by Grainger Town, the heart of this historic city. Unique among Newcastle hotels, our building and interiors draw inspiration from the area’s neoclassical architecture. We love the historic 1830s beauty of our local area which is why it’s made a strong impact on the look of our rooms, lobby and lounge. Bold printed rugs and subtle room details reflect the patterns of the local buildings and connect the interior of our hotel to the city’s vibrant and lively streets. Locally inspired Our interiors are inspired by the neoclassical Tyneside styles you’ll see nearby, featuring classical proportions and repeating patterns. You’ll find photos and artwork depicting Tyne Bridge, Grainger Market and many of the city’s best buildings on our walls, meaning you can explore the local area before you step outside our doors! Grainger Lounge, our bar and restaurant uses bold colours, monochrome patterned floors and chic design. It takes its name and design inspiration, from Robert Grainger, the architect of our local area. Discover the neighbourhood The wonderful, Grainger Market is a stone’s throw from our boutique hotel and a good spot for coffee and people watching. And if you’ve got a head for heights, the nearby Sage Gateshead Arts Centre offers an exhilarating guided roof experience .
View Less
Features
Hotel Indigo Newcastle is located in the city centre, close to the railway station and some of the UK’s best shopping and nightlife. You can enjoy spacious bedrooms, warm service and modern facilities, including invigorating spa-inspired rain fall shower, iPod docking station and Free WiFi. Why not enjoy a delicious meal or relax with a cocktail in our Marco Pierre White Steakhouse Bar & Grill?

Guest Reviews

Rated 3.9 out of 5 by 177 reviewers.
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Needs Air Con We happened to stay during a very warm spell in Newcastle, so the room on the second floor was very hot. Would benefit from Air Con. However in most months this would not be an issue. Management was a little inflexible when guests asked... begged for a second TV to be turned on so that a World Cup Match could be watched. The one TV was not adequate and there was a great deal of interest. Manager said the area was set up for breakfast so couldn't be turned on. Not sure what the set up for breakfast was as there was no cutlery or crockery on the tables. He could have done more. However it was all for a very good price and although the breakfast menu was limited it was free, so cannot complain. 16 July 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Overnight stay in Newcastle Metro Quick check-in by a very smart young lady. Appearance of foyer was clean and tidy - pleasing to the eye. All corridors clean and tidy. Excellent service in all areas. Easy access to internet. 16 July 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by good quality and reasonably priced hotel We were on a leisure trip, going further south. We found this hotel very relaxing and comfortable. Service was excellent and staff very helpful. We would have no hesitation recommending this hotel and will use it any time we are in the area. 15 July 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Well Located Clean and Comfortable Hotel This Holiday Inn Express Hotel is sited to the South West of Newcastle adjacent to The Metro Center with an excellent range of local facilities all within a couple of minutes drive. We stayed for seven nights and enjoyed eating at somewhere different every night. Throughout our stay The Hotel and Rooms were consistantly clean and comfortable. Without exception all of the Staff were allways friendly and helpfull. The Breakfast range was the same each day but there were 3/4 hot items and a good variety of cereals, breads, cakes, yoghurts and fresh fruit, and best of all it`s free. The Hotel was virtually full throughout our stay and yet the free WiFi worked well throughout all areas and there is allways ample free parking. Two of our party required the disabled facilities rooms and they too were totally satisfied with all aspects of their stay. We would recommend this Hotel for its amazing value for money. 10 July 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 Excellent service Hotel Clean and Tidy, Plenty of choice for breakfast. (avoid the scrambled egg) Staff very cheerful and helpful. 10 July 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 not family friendly Was told that this is a business bed and breakfast, and family with twins 8 months and child 4 -- were not welcomed in the same room. 10 July 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great stay for what we required We needed accommodation fairly local to the Durham passport office and this was available. Restaurants are widely available locally (within walking distance), it had easy, free parking. Staff were very accommodating and helpful. Breakfast was fine for a buffet style breakfast. The room was comfortable and the free wifi very helpful. The bathroom was clean and of a high standard. 03 July 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Location Friendly Staff Great welcome, well looked after, and good location for business and shopping 02 July 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Perfect for last minute It was perfect for a last minute trip to the Metrocentre as it was within walking distance. The hotel was clean as was the room. Included in the price was internet access and breakfast. The food was good for what you got but there was no egg or bacon. Overall I would recommend this hotel. 02 July 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by High standards and excellent value Very good value and the rooms and dining/reception area were clean and well kept. I would definitely stay again. It was just what we needed. 02 July 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good hotel Good in general. Female staff in reception not very polite or kind; seems just ignoring. 01 July 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Sleep quality a bit noise as this property does not have air-conditioning and the window had to be opened. 25 June 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by excellent The staff were outstanding, the atmosphere was friendly the room was clean and comfortable the free breakfast was a bonus so overall it was very good 19 June 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Going Downhill Used to like this hotel, not sure what has happened recently but the breakfast experience is going rapidly downhill. Now its just an OK hotel. The rooms tho are good, the Tyne wing being better rooms. I gave up trying to have breakfast on this stay. No trays, moving things around, the layout isn't good, tables not cleared, just generally not as good as it used to be. Stopping the availability of trays to get your breakfast is just hopeless. Pains me to write this as the staff I regularly deal with at reception are great. 17 June 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable bed and good service This hotel fit our needs. We were stopping for the night between destinations. The beds were extremely comfortable and the staff were friendly. There were nearby restaurants and the continental breakfast offered at the hotel was very nice with a selection of both hot 10 June 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by A great hotel The service provided at the hotel was excellent and the rooms were clean and in excellent condition. The free wifi is a bonus for when working away from home. I'd certainly recommend this hotel to others. 09 June 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Relaxing stay and good service This was my first stay at a Holiday Inn and i will certainly consider them again. I have in fact now booked for 2 nights in York this month. The staff were helpful, the room was spacious and well priced and the breakfast was more than adequate. I am now looking forward to my next stay. 05 June 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by sloppy room servie Having stayed at this hotel on several occasions,I was a little taken aback when on checking in for a four night stay my wife and I found that the usual tea/coffee/milk had not been put into the room.Reception were extremely helpful and we enjoyed our first night.Next morning at around 9am we were in the process of getting ready when a chambermaid knocked and asked if she could make up the room ,we said we were not dressed yet and she left.The room was as we left it on our return that evening.We again told reception and were promised that all would be remedied next day.The next day was crazy ,the bed had been made ,but the bathroom and toilet had just been left and the tea/ coffee, towels, toilet paper etc had not been replaced.I must say that the staff on reception especially the duty manager were most helpful,but the whole experience left us both wondering why we should come back here.Steve. 05 June 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by first class hotel with excellent service had lovely overnight stay with very comfortable bed found overall everything top class cleanliness staff and location very good will definatly visit this hotel again 03 June 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Brilliant Brilliant customer service by the front of house staff when booking in. This was continued when I asked for an extension cable for my medicle equipment, and also another bath towel as there was only one in the room. The only downside, and it is only a small critism, and that is why do you not have any power points near to the bed? I only ask because I have to use a breathing machine at night. The property was well situated for our needs of visiting National Trust and English Heritage sites. I was not recognised as an IHG Rewards Club Member, or asked for my membership number. 26 May 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Prefect for business I stay in this hotel every week for 3 night & everything is great about this hotel where the biggest point is that the rooms are really clean 08 May 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Nice Hotel - shame about the IHG Rewards recognition A good quality express, very friendly staff, decent sized rooms and handy location (for Gateshead and the Metro centre). However if you are a rewards club member don't expect any recognition! I realise that room upgrades are not possible at HIE's but you do normally get a free drink, some points or at least a "we are delighted to welcome you as a valued Platinum member" but not here! 06 April 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by not a good stay we were let down by things like: 1. The room carpet was stained. 2. There was a lack of choice for breakfast - no bacon available! 27 March 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by noisy room with a hint of ash tray Although the hotel has a very pleasant outlook over the river Tyne the room was found to be smelling like a cigarette ashtray despite being marked as a non-smoking room. Close by is a railway line and when the trains go by the whole room seemed to vibrate and when a goods train went past in the early hours of the morning I thought it was an earthquake. As a Priority club member this is the first hotel where I was not greeted as a member and not told about breakfast times (albeit known) and when I reported that the room stunk of smoking I was told "it will be reported" no sorry or would you like another room just a view of the persons back as she acknowledged and walked back into the office. 02 March 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Hotel I booked this hotel at the last minute and rang to check that it was ok to bring two dogs with us. The staff went out of their way to make us and the dogs feel welcome. We were given a ground floor room to make it easier with the dogs and we were all made welcome in the bar in the evening. Will definately stay here again. 28 February 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by A real bargain break If you want a great place to stay, close to everything Newcastle has to offer, at the most amazing price!! Then stay here. Free Wi-Fi, fantastic buffet breakfast, nice bar/lounge area, and best of all..step outside and you have KFC. Frankies & Bennys, TGI Fridays, and a fabulous pub, bar/restaurant!! But if your like us, take your own pillows... 24 February 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good Service & Good Value Only had a one night stay in a double room with a sofa bed for my teenager. Room was adequate and clean. Bed was a little too soft for me but ok for one night. Had free wifi which was good. My only real gripe (and this may sound picky to others) was the 'non branded' coffee in the rooms and the poor tasting coffee at breakfast. I did mention to the male member of staff that the water for the coffee out of the machine tasted 'musty' but he dismissed my comment. Maybe instead of black coffee with no sugar I should ply it with loads of milk and sugar to make it palatable !! This said the hotel was conveniently situated for our visit and would stay there again. 21 February 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Polite staff Great stopping point especially if you want the metro centre or trip into Newcastle or surrounding area. 21 February 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Will be my first choice in the future Excellent location for all purposes of short breaks. Easy to find and is close to the A1. Friendly and helpful staff. Very clean and comfortable rooms. Will certainly be my first choice in the future. 24 January 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellant place to stay What a find this is, staff very friendly and welcoming, room well laid out and cleanliness was good. Breakfast was plentiful, however, the water for the tea and coffee had a strange taste, so on checking out I mentioned this and they were going to look into it. The lady on the reception desk, was very helpful and chatty, not sure of her name, but the User ID was STEWARTA, if this helps to identify her as we would like let you know that she is a credit to the company. We will certainly stay again if we are ever in the area. 16 January 2014
<<prev 2 3 4 5 ... 7 next>>
Hotel Exterior
Hotel Exterior
Select to close.
Hotel Exterior Hotel Indigo at night Welcome to Hotel Indigo Newcastle Relax on your balcony with views of Grainger Town Our Reception desk All Superior Rooms have a balcony Angel of the North 15 minutes drive from the hotel Fancy watching NUFC while here Grainger Market gave the inspiration for our bedroom design China Town is a must while here Monument is the centre of all the action Central Station is just 2 minutes away from the hotel Newcastle Assembly Rooms are located nextdoor to the hotel Excellent shopping at Eldon Square just minutes form the Hotel River Tyne just a short walk away Sports Direct Arena is just a ten minute walk from the hotel China town has amazing  art work Visit Castle Keep whilst staying at Hotel Indigo Newcastle World famous Tyne Bridge Just some of our amazing Scenery which is just a short drive away Angel Of The North at night Vist the must see Baltic A must see while visiting the North East - Tynemouth coastline Just minutes away from the hotel the Blinking Eye bridge
Select to close.
If you are not already a member, join now.
Discover the nights.
Close
Check In
(e.g. Sep-21-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Sep-22-2014)
Check Availability
Loading