• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 877 8 INDIGO
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night reservation you will be given the option to duplicate this reservation.

(e.g. Oct-02-2014)
(e.g. Oct-03-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings Link will open in new browser window. tool or call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada).

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Downtown/City Center

  • Location: Downtown/City Center
  • Closest City: NEWCASTLE UPON TYNE
  • Distance From Hotel: 0.8MI
  • Local time zone: GMT+01:00

Check In: 3:00 PM Check Out: 12:00 PM

  • Check In: 3:00 PM
  • Check Out: 12:00 PM
  • Minimum check-in age: 18
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:8
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. English

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

Registered assistance dogs only. Please contact the hotel directly should you have any specific requirements.

Parking

Parking

  • Number of parking spaces:80
  • Car Parking Available
  • Hotel Indigo has its own private car park offering over 80 spaces on two levels. Charges will apply.
  • Daily Parking Fee ( 12.00  GBP)

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas
Wired Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas

Facility

Facility

  • Hotel renovated inFebruary 01, 2012
  • Total number of rooms:148
  • Total number of suites:2
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:127
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:36
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:148
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:8
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:4
Welcome to Our Neighbourhood at Hotel Indigo Newcastle Hotel Indigo Newcastle is situated in and inspired by Grainger Town, the heart of this historic city. Unique among Newcastle hotels, our building and interiors draw inspiration from the area’s neoclassical architecture. We love the historic 1830s beauty of our local area which is why it’s made a strong impact on the look of our rooms, lobby and lounge. Bold printed rugs and subtle room details reflect the patterns of the local
View More
Welcome to Our Neighbourhood at Hotel Indigo Newcastle Hotel Indigo Newcastle is situated in and inspired by Grainger Town, the heart of this historic city. Unique among Newcastle hotels, our building and interiors draw inspiration from the area’s neoclassical architecture. We love the historic 1830s beauty of our local area which is why it’s made a strong impact on the look of our rooms, lobby and lounge. Bold printed rugs and subtle room details reflect the patterns of the local buildings and connect the interior of our hotel to the city’s vibrant and lively streets. Locally inspired Our interiors are inspired by the neoclassical Tyneside styles you’ll see nearby, featuring classical proportions and repeating patterns. You’ll find photos and artwork depicting Tyne Bridge, Grainger Market and many of the city’s best buildings on our walls, meaning you can explore the local area before you step outside our doors! Grainger Lounge, our bar and restaurant uses bold colours, monochrome patterned floors and chic design. It takes its name and design inspiration, from Robert Grainger, the architect of our local area. Discover the neighbourhood The wonderful, Grainger Market is a stone’s throw from our boutique hotel and a good spot for coffee and people watching. And if you’ve got a head for heights, the nearby Sage Gateshead Arts Centre offers an exhilarating guided roof experience .
View Less
Features
Hotel Indigo Newcastle is located in the city centre, close to the railway station and some of the UK’s best shopping and nightlife. You can enjoy spacious bedrooms, warm service and modern facilities, including invigorating spa-inspired rain fall shower, iPod docking station and Free WiFi. Why not enjoy a delicious meal or relax with a cocktail in our Marco Pierre White Steakhouse Bar & Grill?

Guest Reviews

Rated 4.4 out of 5 by 231 reviewers.
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Very helpful staff who gave great service. The reception staff provided an excellent service, guiding us to the local area, and arranging taxis for us. The bed was extremely comfotable and the temperature conducive to a good nights sleep, 15 July 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great staff and quiet room Had 2 of the best nights sleep I have ever had in a hotel. Staff were helpful and friendly. Breakfast perfectly adequate. Good access to train and metro (5 minute walk). Room was clean and very quiet. Happy to stay there again! Would recommend this hotel for a city break without hesitation. 13 July 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by The virtues of simplicity and friendliness For our short stay in Newcastle we chose this hotel mainly because of its location and the fact that Holiday Inn has a fairly reliable reputation. The hotel satisfied our needs very well. The room was simple but everything worked (especially the cooling system as it was rather too warm in the room when we arrived), and the beds were good and, above all, there were decent lamps for reading.The staff, especially the desk attendent Michael, were particularly helpful, giving us tips on how to get places. I suppose if I have any quibble it would be the cost of storing baggage past check out time. I've never encountered that before in a hotel, but then I do not travel or stay in hotels all that often nowadays. 13 July 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great service from staff My daughter and I stayed at the Holiday Inn Express so that she could attend an interview at Northumbria University. This hotel is very central to shops and railway station. The staff were very helpful. 11 July 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by great stay in newcastle another great stay at holiday Inn Express in Newcastle. Warm welcome on arrival, nice clean, comfortable room. Easy cheap parking next door.plenty of eating places within walking distance. Good choice and a hot breakfast thrown in with the reasonable room rate.. recommend to others without a doubt 11 July 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Surprisingly quiet On check in we were told there were a few stag parties in that night so we prepared for some disturbance. We headed to our 5th floor room which looked out over the quieter entrance rather than the busy road which was perfect. Had a relaxing afternoon then got ready and went into the bar which was lovely and quiet. When we arrived back after our evening out there were a few people about, we headed to our room and never heard a peep. I can't thank the holiday inn express enough for putting us on a high floor (hopefully intentionally) away from the stag parties. Breakfast was ok, I would have preferred a full English, but on the whole we cannot fault the stay and would definitely stay again. 09 July 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by stay very good satisfied survey too long now annoying me enough said on tick boxes 08 July 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great central location I travelled to Newcastle by train and the hotel is only a 2 minute walk away. First impressions were good although the lounge/dining area was a bit impersonal and lacked any atmosphere. Hotel staff were, without exception, polite and friendly. I had a room on the 4th floor and it was clean and comfortable. Breakfast was self service with a limited choice. Hot selection was sausages, scrambled egg and beans. Bacon would have been a welcome addition. Overall the experience was good and I would stay there again 06 July 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Almost perfect This hotel is very well situated and well presented. The staff all gave an excellent service. The rooms were very good, but the ones on the road side do have a significant traffic noise level which I found too much. A room change and earplugs were offered and solved the problem. 05 July 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Clean, comfortable location for train station and very prompt staff All the matters with the staff in the hotel had been solved very promptly and efficient, room and bathroom were clean, although a little renovation will be good, also would be better had the glass door in shower instead of curtain, but for me it was ok, as for my proportion the shower was quite spacious (i'm a small one))). Bed is quite comfortable for me as the pillow (hard one, they also have soft ones). TV, free WiFI and other services were quite ok. Would be better if they offer ironing service separate from laundry. 04 July 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great location and surprisingly nice breakfast The hotel has a great location to city centre Newcastle and the breakfast exceeded our expections. 27 June 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Be aware. City Centre Location. We decided on a City Centre Hotel for the convenience of all local amenities including the Life Museum. Be careful. It attracts a lot of revellers who are usually loud and drunk. Our night was greatly disturbed by them congregating on the front forecourt of the hotel until after 4:00 am in the morning. With kids or elderly, make sure you book a room at the back of the hotel or at another hotel away from the City Centre. Remember that the Metro runs until 23:30 so commuting to and from your Hotel isn't a problem. 26 June 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Does what it says on the tin A decent enough stay and no complaints about the quality for the price. 26 June 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by good location but hot and noisy Staff were helpful. Location was next to station. The breakfast was included and was great value. The only problem was that the air conditioning didn't work so it was very hot and so we had to have the window open and could hear people arriving late into the night 25 June 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Breakfast Over all a good experience, but noted some sticky material at the entrance of Buffet area gluing the boots. 25 June 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Nice Stay Good hotel, good location in the centre of Newcastle. Great breakfast! 22 June 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Comforteble bed and room indeed great service also We are pleased to say, that our stay in your Hotel pleased us! 22 June 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by great location, good value but hot and noisy The location was great - near to the train station. The room was good and the staff were helpful and friendly. The breakfast was excellent for a continental breakfast and overall it was excellent value. Our only complaint was the heat. We put on the air cooling fan but no cool air came out. At 5am the temperature was still reading 25 degrees. We had to have the window open but then we heard the noise of people arriving at the hotel very late at night. We had asked for a quiet room and were on the fifth floor overlooking the courtyard. 18 June 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Staff and Lovely room. Staff were excellent and couldn't do enough for us. Room was modern and well laid out and very comfortable. Good location for visiting the shops. Parking available right next door. Quiet area. Will visit again! 16 June 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Perfect location Near to railway station and town centre. Ask for a room overlooking the square. 14 June 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good Business hotel Staff very welcoming and rooms typical mid priced business hotel internet is slow and even paying for the so called hight speed version was still slow at on 2.5Mbs donw and 512k up breakfast selection was poor to average but this is a mid priced hotel so you cannot expect more. There was more than enough to eat but choice was limted Room was good although i paid extra for a quite room which i would recommend doing 14 June 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Superb service Outstanding service the staff went out of their way to make me feel welcome. Genuine smiles greeted me on arrival and immediately made the experience enjoyable. Will definitely return, especially as quality of room, bed and wifi availability was of a 5 star hotel. 09 June 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Express Service....... This is a Fantastic Hotel, backed up with an excellent team of Customer Focused staff. Nothing was too much trouble, and there is always a smile and professional manner at every contact. Very spacious and relaxing environment, breakfast is a must with a range of beverages in a bar that serves 50ml measures as standard. Rooms are very well equipped and beautifully decorated and a great place to chill...... Top marks to the Express Newcastle team and I will be booking here for future stays in the city........:) 08 June 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by happy traveller we had a lovely weekend break, well situated hotel close to amenities comfortable room good shower and adequate complimentary breakfast to start the day only downside was the multi-storey car park next to the hotel where we paid and displayed our parking ticket only to return to pick up our car and find we were presented 3 parking vouchers totalling £210!!!!!! for apparently parking in a residents parking bay which we were not aware of due to unclear noticing, please beware. 07 June 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Übliches HIE-Erlebnis, aber defekte Klimaanlage und sehr laut Übliches HIE-Erlebnis, aber defekte Klimaanlage und sehr laut 07 June 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by 地理位置不错 环境和房间都不错,服务也还周到,但是酒店没有自助洗衣机,不太适合长期居住。离火车站距离很近,附近有一个中餐馆,到市中心走路的话有一定距离。 07 June 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Pleasant Stay Should have better breakfast selection. I would have expected Bacon and other English breakfast items to accompany sausages ! 05 June 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Relaxing and enjoyable stay Very well located, near Central Rail Station, city centre, public transport and eating places. Such comfortable and clean rooms, attentive staff and really good value. Will definitely use Holiday Inn again. 03 June 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by great value for money. Our first experience at staying in one of the Holiday Inns and we were very pleasantly surprised. The staff were very friendly and the general first impressions were good. The breakfast was lovely and the arrangement of it was fuss free and very relaxed. We would certainly recommend staying here as its great value for your money. 03 June 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great hotel and great location This hotel is ideally located in the city centre and all transport is on the doorstep. The hotel is clean and the staff are friendly. Would definately recommend this hotel for your stay. The only downside was the breakfast was very limited compared to other Holiday Inn Expresses I have stopped in. 02 June 2014
<<prev 2 3 4 5 ... 9 next>>
Hotel Exterior
Hotel Exterior
Select to close.
Hotel Exterior Hotel Indigo at night Welcome to Hotel Indigo Newcastle Relax on your balcony with views of Grainger Town Our Reception desk All Superior Rooms have a balcony Angel of the North 15 minutes drive from the hotel Fancy watching NUFC while here Grainger Market gave the inspiration for our bedroom design China Town is a must while here Monument is the centre of all the action Central Station is just 2 minutes away from the hotel Newcastle Assembly Rooms are located nextdoor to the hotel Excellent shopping at Eldon Square just minutes form the Hotel River Tyne just a short walk away Sports Direct Arena is just a ten minute walk from the hotel China town has amazing  art work Visit Castle Keep whilst staying at Hotel Indigo Newcastle World famous Tyne Bridge Just some of our amazing Scenery which is just a short drive away Angel Of The North at night Vist the must see Baltic A must see while visiting the North East - Tynemouth coastline Just minutes away from the hotel the Blinking Eye bridge
Select to close.
If you are not already a member, join now.
Discover the nights.
Close
Check In
(e.g. Oct-02-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Oct-03-2014)
Check Availability
Loading