• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 877 8 INDIGO
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night reservation you will be given the option to duplicate this reservation.

(e.g. Sep-23-2014)
(e.g. Sep-24-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings Link will open in new browser window. tool or call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada).

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Downtown/City Center

  • Location: Downtown/City Center
  • Closest City: NEWCASTLE UPON TYNE
  • Distance From Hotel: 0.8MI
  • Local time zone: GMT+01:00

Check In: 3:00 PM Check Out: 12:00 PM

  • Check In: 3:00 PM
  • Check Out: 12:00 PM
  • Minimum check-in age: 18
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:8
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. English

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

Registered assistance dogs only. Please contact the hotel directly should you have any specific requirements.

Parking

Parking

  • Number of parking spaces:80
  • Car Parking Available
  • Hotel Indigo has its own private car park offering over 80 spaces on two levels. Charges will apply.
  • Daily Parking Fee ( 12.00  GBP)

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas
Wired Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas

Facility

Facility

  • Hotel renovated inFebruary 01, 2012
  • Total number of rooms:148
  • Total number of suites:2
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:127
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:36
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:148
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:8
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:4
Welcome to Our Neighbourhood at Hotel Indigo Newcastle Hotel Indigo Newcastle is situated in and inspired by Grainger Town, the heart of this historic city. Unique among Newcastle hotels, our building and interiors draw inspiration from the area’s neoclassical architecture. We love the historic 1830s beauty of our local area which is why it’s made a strong impact on the look of our rooms, lobby and lounge. Bold printed rugs and subtle room details reflect the patterns of the local
View More
Welcome to Our Neighbourhood at Hotel Indigo Newcastle Hotel Indigo Newcastle is situated in and inspired by Grainger Town, the heart of this historic city. Unique among Newcastle hotels, our building and interiors draw inspiration from the area’s neoclassical architecture. We love the historic 1830s beauty of our local area which is why it’s made a strong impact on the look of our rooms, lobby and lounge. Bold printed rugs and subtle room details reflect the patterns of the local buildings and connect the interior of our hotel to the city’s vibrant and lively streets. Locally inspired Our interiors are inspired by the neoclassical Tyneside styles you’ll see nearby, featuring classical proportions and repeating patterns. You’ll find photos and artwork depicting Tyne Bridge, Grainger Market and many of the city’s best buildings on our walls, meaning you can explore the local area before you step outside our doors! Grainger Lounge, our bar and restaurant uses bold colours, monochrome patterned floors and chic design. It takes its name and design inspiration, from Robert Grainger, the architect of our local area. Discover the neighbourhood The wonderful, Grainger Market is a stone’s throw from our boutique hotel and a good spot for coffee and people watching. And if you’ve got a head for heights, the nearby Sage Gateshead Arts Centre offers an exhilarating guided roof experience .
View Less
Features
Hotel Indigo Newcastle is located in the city centre, close to the railway station and some of the UK’s best shopping and nightlife. You can enjoy spacious bedrooms, warm service and modern facilities, including invigorating spa-inspired rain fall shower, iPod docking station and Free WiFi. Why not enjoy a delicious meal or relax with a cocktail in our Marco Pierre White Steakhouse Bar & Grill?

Guest Reviews

Rated 4.4 out of 5 by 227 reviewers.
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Central location I found this hotel to very well located for any visit to Newcastle reasonably priced and clean the only downside is they don' t do any meals other than breakfast but there are plenty of outing places nearby. Parking is is the multi-storey next door free from 188 until 0800 then £5 per day remember don't use the ticket holders parking bays. 18 May 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great service and very friendly staff This hotel is a very nice place to stay. Clean rooms, good beds and a very friendly staff. It is close to the central station an city centre, so what more do you want? 06 May 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent staff Staying at this hotel was fantastic due to the staff, this was from reception, room cleaners to breakfast staff, they could not do enough for you. The where very friendly and easy to communicate with. 27 April 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Value My family and i used this hotel for 2 nights as part of our tour of the North of England The hotel is within walking distance of the town centre. We used the car park next to the hotel. The car park was competively priced at around £5 per day. The facilities at the hotel were very good and the staff were very helpful and offered directions of how to get to diferent places. We asked for a change of room on arrival and this was not a problem and another room was found for us at no exrra charge. The staff at the hotel offered us 4 complimentary vouchers to spend on a light snack and drink during our stay at the hotel. 18 April 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 OK Breakfast, I need more. Breakfast was adequate but I need a workout facility. Room too small to do my own workout. 15 April 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great time had by all A group of ladies with differing ages found an excellent reception with very friendly staff. All were in agreement that we would look forward to the next time we had reason to stay in the city centre, this would be our first choose. Excellent service all round thanks to all the staff. 11 April 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Brilliant OK so here are my thoughts - i travel loads in the UK - all i want is a clean room a good breakfast and friendly staff this hotel is all of that and more. 10 April 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Newcastle city centre Holiday inn express. What a lovely place ! The staff are the friendliest in the country. Our room was immaculate,very very cosy and the bed was so comfy. Lovely bathroom with great power shower. The breakfast was delicious too,grea?t selection of cold foods and bread / pastries.great hot food - the sausages were epic !! Thank you for a wonderful stay. Will defo be coming back. 09 April 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by great service all round stayed a few times now excellent value highly recommend easy walking distance from all clubs pubs eating places and theatres 04 April 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by location Stayed over for concert in o2 academy.......perfect location for the academy and the gate 01 April 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by A good place to stay Friendly, helpful staff, great rooms, and an adequate breakfast. Also a very convenient location and easy inexpensive parking in the Grainger Town multi storey. We'll definitely use this hotel again. 30 March 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Good value for money The room has a good size, bigger than I expected. It was very clean and has all the necessary stuff. Location is good too, just 5 minutes' walk to station. Perfect for business stay. Breakfast can be improved but hey it's free. 29 March 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by 1st stay here Stayed as going to Metro Arena so very handy. Arrived just after 2 and room was ready. Quite small but as only there 2 nights it was fine although if it was to be a longer stay i think additional storage should be considered. The bathroom also small but a good shower, easy to use, but the toilet was hosting 3 hairs which was a bit disappionting. No noise or disturbance from other guests although the room was on the cool side. On our 2nd day we got back at 3.15 and our room had not been serviced. I went to receiption as we had no tea or milk. Although the lady replenshed me with tea and milk there was no apology. I know it is a big hotel but i would have thought that the rooms would have been done by 3. On the whole though i would probably stay again. 27 March 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Short stay Excellent welcome. Cheerful staff. Airy lounge and well laid out breakfast area. Couldn't fault the establishment. 17 March 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by great service friendly staff, great location,helped us get a takeaway delivered clean and comfortable rooms lovely breakfast 17 March 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by wonderful staff - went the extra 10 miles! I could not have asked for more form the two people on reception when I checked in. They both went well out of their way to help me with complicated travel arrangements around Newcastle and did not make me feel a nuisance, or give me only half of their attention despite the time it took. Thank you very much I would recommend a stay at this hotel willigly. 16 March 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Regular Customer With Work As title, stay here weekly. The staff as a whole are very friendly and the young lad who does breakfast is always super friendly and happy to be there which is nice first thing in the morning. Rooms are fine and clean, well laid out. Beds are comfortable. Drawbacks are the wifi is slow as... and the rooms can be noisy with the road outside, think its the main thoroughfare to Newcastle so sirens are not unusual. Its pretty central, 5 minute walk from the town centre. Overall happy to stay here. 14 March 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by That´s what i call "Value for Money"!! It´s simple, nice staff, nice rooms, perfect location! We will be back next year! 14 March 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by A hotel to revisit Could not fault hotel on any aspect. The room was airy, clean and well proportioned and very quiet, although being on the fifth floor may have helped. Breakfast was more than adequate with plenty of selection. The hotel was very central to the city so making it easy for public transport, all within easy walking. I would have no reservations recommending this hotel to any visitor. 13 March 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Lovely friendly staff Very comfy room - all the staff we met were very helpful and friendly! Great location within walking distance of all the wonderful things Newcastle has to offer. 10 March 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Able to relax/sleep The only negative point was : the slamming doors :-( 07 March 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent hospitality Felt very welcome in a new place. Conveniently located and wide choice in breakfast. 01 March 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent hotel I stayed in this hotel the night before an interview. The price was good and included breakfast so it was well worth the money. There was a lot of choice at breakfast - my only problem was I couldn't take full advantage of it due to interview nerves! The location is great for the centre of Newcastle and just a 5 min walk from the station. The room was clean and comfortable as was the bathroom - would have liked to have a bath but not a major issue as the shower was good. Overall a pleasant stay. 19 February 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent location We had a double room with a sofa bed which was spacious and comfortable. Check-in was swift and we were given information about parking and also offered change for the car park. Breakfast was fine and you could have as much as you wanted. Ideally situated for strolling into Newcastle where there are plenty of places to eat. 15 February 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by An ideal place to stay. The Holiday Inn Express in Waterloo Square helped to make our visit to Newcastle extremely enjoyable. Its location in the centre of town made it very convenient for the train station, the shops, restaurants, the riverside walks and other places of interest. Our room was very clean and freshly decorated and the beds were extremely comfortable. Room temperature was easy to adjust and hot water for showers was constantly available. Add to this the friendly and attentive staff, and you have the ideal venue for a stay in Newcastle. We will certainly use Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre on our next visit to Newcastle. 03 February 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Basic, adequate accommodation. I have stayed in a couple of IHG hotels (Dubai for 6 months, Mumbai for 5 days, Bangalore for 16 days, lots of others up and down the UK). While I understand that the "Express" brand is a budget type of hotel, I felt that the room I was given was just too basic especially as I am a Platinum Elite Priority Rewards member. No special consideration or service was given and I thought that was something that IHG prides itself on. Anyway, staff were un-interested at best - maybe slightly perturbed or angry that I even asked for an upgraded room (it should be automatic given my Priority Rewards status). If I didn't get free Wi-Fi and breakfast, it would have been so much worse. Anyway, I won't be staying here again - especially after paying the rates that they charge for a budget hotel. 02 February 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Ticked all the boxes Standard chain hotel - could not fault and will use happily use again on a business trip - would not recommend for much longer than an overnight stay though due to lack of space to store personal stuff 30 January 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by handy hotel from railway station had a 2 night short break to celebrate both of our birthdays,close to all pubs and clubs plus all the shops would recommend this hotel to anyone,would stay at this hotel again. 28 January 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by overall service The staff were ever so helpful. What ever we needed they were always so happy to help. Location of hotel great. Close to the nightlife and shops. Breakfast was great. The room was so comfortable and very clean. Would recommend holiday inn to anyone. Great company! :) 27 January 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Regular visitor says goodbye For a Few years I have been a regular guest but nowmy job has changed and I won't be in Newcastle regularly. The staff have always been excellent and they set a very friendly atmosphere in the hotel. I will miss them. Thanks to all of you, especially my friend with the Crunchie ! 27 January 2014
<<prev 2 3 4 5 6 ... 9 next>>
Hotel Exterior
Hotel Exterior
Select to close.
Hotel Exterior Hotel Indigo at night Welcome to Hotel Indigo Newcastle Relax on your balcony with views of Grainger Town Our Reception desk All Superior Rooms have a balcony Angel of the North 15 minutes drive from the hotel Fancy watching NUFC while here Grainger Market gave the inspiration for our bedroom design China Town is a must while here Monument is the centre of all the action Central Station is just 2 minutes away from the hotel Newcastle Assembly Rooms are located nextdoor to the hotel Excellent shopping at Eldon Square just minutes form the Hotel River Tyne just a short walk away Sports Direct Arena is just a ten minute walk from the hotel China town has amazing  art work Visit Castle Keep whilst staying at Hotel Indigo Newcastle World famous Tyne Bridge Just some of our amazing Scenery which is just a short drive away Angel Of The North at night Vist the must see Baltic A must see while visiting the North East - Tynemouth coastline Just minutes away from the hotel the Blinking Eye bridge
Select to close.
If you are not already a member, join now.
Discover the nights.
Close
Check In
(e.g. Sep-23-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Sep-24-2014)
Check Availability
Loading