• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 877 8 INDIGO
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night reservation you will be given the option to duplicate this reservation.

(e.g. Jul-23-2014)
(e.g. Jul-24-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings Link will open in new browser window. tool or call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada).

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Downtown/City Center

  • Location: Downtown/City Center
  • Closest City: NEWCASTLE UPON TYNE
  • Distance From Hotel: 0.8MI
  • Local time zone: GMT+01:00

Check In: 3:00 PM Check Out: 12:00 PM

  • Check In: 3:00 PM
  • Check Out: 12:00 PM
  • Minimum check-in age: 18
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:8
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. English

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

Registered assistance dogs only. Please contact the hotel directly should you have any specific requirements.

Parking

Parking

  • Number of parking spaces:80
  • Car Parking Available
  • Hotel Indigo has its own private car park offering over 80 spaces on two levels. Charges will apply.
  • Daily Parking Fee ( 12.00  GBP)

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas
Wired Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas

Facility

Facility

  • Hotel renovated inFebruary 01, 2012
  • Total number of rooms:148
  • Total number of suites:2
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:127
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:36
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:148
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:8
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:4
Welcome to Our Neighbourhood at Hotel Indigo Newcastle
Hotel Indigo Newcastle is situated in and inspired by Grainger Town, the heart of this historic city. Unique among Newcastle hotels, our building and interiors draw inspiration from the area’s neoclassical architecture. We love the historic 1830s beauty of our local area which is why it’s made a strong impact on the look of our rooms, lobby and lounge. Bold printed rugs and subtle room details reflect the patterns of the
View More
Welcome to Our Neighbourhood at Hotel Indigo Newcastle
Hotel Indigo Newcastle is situated in and inspired by Grainger Town, the heart of this historic city. Unique among Newcastle hotels, our building and interiors draw inspiration from the area’s neoclassical architecture. We love the historic 1830s beauty of our local area which is why it’s made a strong impact on the look of our rooms, lobby and lounge. Bold printed rugs and subtle room details reflect the patterns of the local buildings and connect the interior of our hotel to the city’s vibrant and lively streets.
Locally inspired
Our interiors are inspired by the neoclassical Tyneside styles you’ll see nearby, featuring classical proportions and repeating patterns. You’ll find photos and artwork depicting Tyne Bridge, Grainger Market and many of the city’s best buildings on our walls – meaning you can explore the local area before you step outside our doors! Grainger Lounge, our bar and restaurant uses bold colours, monochrome patterned floors and chic design. It takes its name and design inspiration, from Robert Grainger, the architect of our local area.
Discover the neighbourhood
The wonderful, Grainger Market is a stone’s throw from our boutique hotel and a good spot for coffee and people watching. And if you’ve got a head for heights, the nearby Sage Gateshead Arts Centre offers an exhilarating guided roof experience.
View Less
Features
Hotel Indigo Newcastle is located in the city centre, close to the railway station and some of the UK’s best shopping and nightlife. You can enjoy spacious bedrooms, warm service and modern facilities, including invigorating spa-inspired rain fall shower, iPod docking station and Free WiFi. Why not enjoy a delicious meal or relax with a cocktail in our Marco Pierre White Steakhouse Bar & Grill?
Announcements
The sun has got its hat on! Why not treat yourself to one of our king executive rooms with private balcony. Watch the city of Newcastle upon Tyne from the rooftops. Call today to request that
View More
Announcements
The sun has got its hat on! Why not treat yourself to one of our king executive rooms with private balcony. Watch the city of Newcastle upon Tyne from the rooftops. Call today to request that upgrade 0191 300 9 222.
View Less

Guest Reviews

Rated 4.4 out of 5 by 155 reviewers.
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Not disappointed Stayed in this hotel many times over the years when it was the old Swallow Imperial. Glad to say that I was not disappointed the hotel is lovely and the staff on the desk and at the bar really helpful. Will definitely stay here again 25 October 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by WIFI The in room wifi is so slow as to be unusable. It makes working impossible. The paypal alternative is not mentioned by staff or on the website. It seems strange that a platinum guest needs to open a paypal account and they pay extra to use a service that the advertisement leads to the mistaken belief is free. 16 October 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent service and great food Had a very enjoyable stay. Service was excellent, particularly in Fratellos restaurant. Food in the restaurant was very nice and portion sizes were good. 15 October 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Relaxing stay Very nice clean hotel within easy walking distance of Newcastle. Room was clean and comfortable, complementary water, orange juice, biscuits and kitkats. The breakfast was excellent and the food in the restaurent was very good. We also used the room service which again was very good. All the staff were friendly and very helpful even returning some money we left in the safety deposit box in our room. 11 October 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Clean and Comfortable A lovely clean hotel with large comfortable bed and choice of firm and soft pillows. Lovely bathroom with shower over bath. Staff very obliging and friendly. Would recommend. 10 October 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Hotel Great Hotel & Staff, Upon arrival I was given a Room Upgrade :) 04 October 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great customer service I spend a lot of my time staying in hotels in Abu Dhabi that are part of this chain group and have always been disappointed by the service offered in this country when compared to the service offered in Abu Dhabi. I am pleased to say this hotel has been the exception. The customer service at both the desk and restaurant was excellent and personnel. I was recognized as a platinum member and associated privileges were prepared for our arrival. The hotel was very busy on the night we stayed, there was a large function and lots of parents with teenagers visiting the area for uni open days; this however did not effect the quality of service in any way. If our daughter chooses to go to Northumbria Uni, this is definitely the hotel we will use when visiting the area. 02 October 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Lovely decor, relaxing and great bathroom!! I stayed at this hotel as I was running in the Great North Run 2013 and booked it as it was the closest hotel to the start line. I was extremely surprised how lovely the hotel was. Lovely decor in the lobby and front bar area. The bar and grill was wonderfully decorated and comfortable and the food was pretty good but had to wait for quite some time for it. The staff were friendly here and in reception. The room itself was very comfortable and spacious. Decor was pleasing and bed was comfortable, which provided me with the good sleep I needed for the half marathon the following morning. The staff left all the details, information and maps required for the following day's Great North Run event. Plus two Mars bars for energy after the race!! A nice touch! The bathroom was spacious for one's needs for a bathroom plus it was nice to have a large walk-in shower. All in all a great experience and I will be booking again for next years Great North Run event. Thanks. 20 September 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by A Mixed Bag... A real mixed bag all round from this trip to Holiday Inn Jesmond; a hotel I have used before and chose to return to, after this trip though, I'm not too sure I will again sadly... The Good: The reception team that checked us in were fantastic (Friday 13th evening) and the team as we checked out on the 15th also very good... Oddly the afternoon of Saturday 14th.. terrible. The food in the restaurant is fantastic! Perfect location - easy to get to by car or metro (and therefore train & plane!). The Bad: The food might be great but the restaurant service is a disaster. Arriving late in the evening as the venue is quiet, you might expect a certain mix of service (ours was atrocious), we were given cold and poorly made coffee (no Creme on top) and left for an age while staff chatted. The following morning was just as bad... no serving implements for the fried option (I used my knife and fork in the end), the next dinner was very busy and not great either (mainly the drinks being at fault (missing & late) again, the saving grace being a server called Alex; she was fun and attentive despite everyone of her colleagues trying to let the customers down. The Indifferent: Its a chain hotel, it has a decent bed, the TV is ok and the WIFI although free is patchy - no complaints here, its what you would expect. 19 September 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Poor, in a word No Platinum rewards recognition at check-in including the lack of an upgrade offer. Room was clean but very cramped with only a narrow gap between the end of the bed and the console. Dinner in the restaurant was poor; very slow service and very average food. Breakfast was a disaster with half the buffet options empty. Staff promised that the chef was cooking more food but after a 20 minute wait, when questioned he stated that he was not cooking more. This is my first complaint about an IHG hotel but would never stay here again. 17 September 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great room and food This is an excellent hotel for both business and leisure if staying in Newcastle. The rooms are to a good standard and the choice of food is excellent. Very handy for the Metro (2 mins walk) to access Central Station or Newcastle Airport. 09 September 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Hidden Treasure Arrived around 10 PM and had no problem with the parking. Friendly staff- nice room and great breakfast with fresh fruit and good variety of food to choose from. Very nice place to stay. 04 September 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Wonderful - Couldn't ask for more We recently stayed for 2 nights for our friends wedding, the hotel was amazing from the staff, the rooms and the food. Extremely good value for money and will definitely be back for future stays. We would highly recommend this hotel for any occasion, the wedding we attended was perfect - The staff on duty were very helpful and friendly. We had a meal the night before in the restaurant which was delightful totally unexpected quality - so thank you. Overall the hotel was top class and we couldn't have asked for more. 04 September 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Fantastic wedding venue Had my wedding here on 30.8.13 and it was amazing. All the staff were brilliant, very well organised and the food was piping hot and delicious. All of our guests stayed over night and all were happy with their rooms and all commented how lovely the breakfast was. Rooms were a good size with new modern decor, very clean and welcoming. Can't recommend highly enough. 03 September 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Overall experience This hotel was perfect for our needs, due to the important of staff in any hotel, be it 0ne star or five star, the staff here were excellent and well manned , an asset to this hotel . For our one night stay, the room was excellent and beautifully clean, breakfast good and as stated staff first class. 01 September 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Leisure break We had a wonderful overnight stay at the hotel and could find fault with nothing from the check in until we left after after breakfast the following stay. Would highly recommend it and would stay there again. 28 August 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Holiday inn jesmond Fantastic stay, great staff, friendly and helpful, great location, just a short taxi ride to Newcastle centre Highly recommended 24 August 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great overall stay Stayed here for 3 nights. It was overall a very pleasant experience. Car parking a big plus. Comfortable bed, room ok. Fantastic breakfast, buffet style and lots of choice. Complimentary mini bar with water, fruit juice and biscuits together with coffee , tea and hot chocolate making facilities. Had a problem with my wireless access on iPad and a very helpful young lady on reception solved the problem. 20 August 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable, clean room; no complaints! The location for us was ideal for both Jesmond and walking to the university and into the city. The hotel and rooms were welcoming, bright, comfortable and clean. Nice to have an Italian restaurant within the hotel, for a change, although bar food also available. Staff were friendly in all areas. Will definitely stay again. 19 August 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Lovely Hotel All my family stayed at this lovely hotel after a wedding at a nearby venue. The staff let us drop off our overnight bags and one car the day before our which was great. The breakfast was very good with plenty of choice. I would recommend this hotel to anyone. 17 August 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Ideal location Having decided to have a day at the Ashes I needed a good quality place to stay, near enough to make travelling straightforward yet within the city of Newcastle. The Jesmond proved ideal. My wife and I were able to come and go knowing we only needed to ask if any assistance was required. Staff were helpful and knowledgeable and they too made staying at the hotel a pleasureable experience. 17 August 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great service When I got there I was booked in quickly and efficiently and someone carried my bags to my room. They were so friendly and I needed that as I was feeling a bit lonely. The room was comfortable and the parking so easy. 13 August 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Holiday Inn - Jesmond - Newcastle Very nice hotel, easy parking, friendly and efficent reception staff. Room spacious and clean - appreciated the complimentary water and juice. The only few MINOR things were: 1) The maids chasing us to get the room done early or not at all (we were on a three day stay) 2) The noise of the entertainment coming from the bar and function suite 3) Room service food on the Sunday was obviously cooked by a waiter rather that a chef - it was dreadful and was reuturned twice Theses thing would not put me off staying at the hotel and as it happened due to a change in plans were back the next weekend for a two night stay. 12 August 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable bed and room Staff on phone and in person great-really helpful and friendly eg printing off boarding pass for us and swiftly arranging for room to be serviced when we had inadvertently left the "do not disturb" light on. But there was no information in the room about this light, or indeed about breakfast timings and other info usually to be found one a card in hotel rooms. Breakfast like that in chain hotels all over the world, but apart from the absence of any eggs other than rather solid scrambled eggs, it was tasty, if a little expensive. It is worth upgrading to a King room- the bed is huge, and it is nice to have robes etc. It is a nice touch in all the rooms to have a fridge with juice and water, as well as the usual tea and coffee. It was much appreciated. 12 August 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Poor customer service and experience The hotel is in a reasonable location if you know Newcastle but is not central if you don't. The hotel looks welcoming with a good lobby and decoration. Difficulties start to arise when trying to find your room. Because of the odd hotel layout the rooms can be difficult to find and the signage is poor often sending you in the wrong direction. The rooms are reasonably large and well decorated with tea and coffee making facilities. The king bed is not a king bed it is two singles pushed together with two single mattresses which means you shouldn't attempt to sleep in the middle of the bed. The area where the hotel really lets itself down is in its after care. I left some clothing in the room when I left (admittedly my fault) but I telephoned shortly after checking out to be told that front desk would make enquiries with housekeeping and that they would call me back. I am still waiting for the call - you should reach your own conclusions about this. The item of clothing cost as much as the room rate. The final disappointing aspect was the interrogation from security on returning to the hotel at 1 am. This suggests that they may have problems with 'non-guests' frequenting the hotel and is not pleasant to have to explain your presence as a customer. There are better hotels in the city for similar rates. I will avoid this place in the future. 09 August 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Very comfortable/good service We only stayed for one night to attend a wedding function in Newcastle. We arrived well before normal check in time but we were able to leave our car in the hotel car park while we went off to the ceremony. When we did check in staff were professional and friendly, the room was really good. Cleaned, well presented, with complimentary juice and water in the fridge. Bathroom very clean. We didnt use the restaurant for dinner since we were fed elsewhere. However the breakfast was pretty good, the staff organised tea/coffee and toast, the other food was buffet style. Check out was quick, professional and done with a smile. We would stay here again without any doubt. We didnt have enough time to really check out all hotel amenities. 09 August 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable room & quiet A good stay. Well greeted and pleased with room. Bed comfortable. Only down was woken at night by naked man banging on window across the way at 2 am. When this pointed out to reception by room phone matter was efficiently dealt with. Breakfast very good. 09 August 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by staff are outstanding Had a problem with wifi in the the room and the staff on duty was excellent in sorting it .. She could see how important it was for me and took time to resolve the "technical " issue. 06 August 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by great staff and lovely room I've recently just attended a wedding at the holiday inn Newcastle and it was gorgeous. It was partially organised by staff at the hotel and they were brilliant throughout the day! Very helpful and genuine. I also stayed in a double room on the evening of the wedding which was excellent value for money. The room was spacious and clean. I would definitely recommend staying at this hotel. 02 August 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Very good overall This hotel is in a good location (even though it's beside a main road) and staff are excellent, especially Reception staff. The bedrooms are pretty good although my sons twin bedroom was really quite small and they had to squeeze past the wardrobe (and it was no cheaper than our own room which was considerably bigger). Parking is very convenient and it is no problem to do the 20 minute walk into town. My main fear was that a wedding party would absolutely ruin our sleep but it was managed very well and we couldn't hear a thing! Overall, I would definitely recommend and would stay again. 02 August 2013
<<prev 2 3 4 5 6 next>>
Hotel Exterior
Hotel Exterior
Select to close.
Hotel Exterior Hotel Indigo at night Welcome to Hotel Indigo Newcastle Relax on your balcony with views of Grainger Town Our Reception desk All Superior Rooms have a balcony Angel of the North 15 minutes drive from the hotel Fancy watching NUFC while here Grainger Market gave the inspiration for our bedroom design China Town is a must while here Monument is the centre of all the action Central Station is just 2 minutes away from the hotel Newcastle Assembly Rooms are located nextdoor to the hotel Excellent shopping at Eldon Square just minutes form the Hotel River Tyne just a short walk away Sports Direct Arena is just a ten minute walk from the hotel China town has amazing  art work Visit Castle Keep whilst staying at Hotel Indigo Newcastle World famous Tyne Bridge Just some of our amazing Scenery which is just a short drive away Angel Of The North at night Vist the must see Baltic A must see while visiting the North East - Tynemouth coastline Just minutes away from the hotel the Blinking Eye bridge
Select to close.
Close
Check In
(e.g. Jul-23-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Jul-24-2014)
Check Availability
Loading