• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 877 8 INDIGO
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night reservation you will be given the option to duplicate this reservation.

(e.g. Aug-29-2014)
(e.g. Aug-30-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings Link will open in new browser window. tool or call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada).

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Downtown/City Center

  • Location: Downtown/City Center
  • Closest City: NEWCASTLE UPON TYNE
  • Distance From Hotel: 0.8MI
  • Local time zone: GMT+01:00

Check In: 3:00 PM Check Out: 12:00 PM

  • Check In: 3:00 PM
  • Check Out: 12:00 PM
  • Minimum check-in age: 18
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:8
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. English

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

Registered assistance dogs only. Please contact the hotel directly should you have any specific requirements.

Parking

Parking

  • Number of parking spaces:80
  • Car Parking Available
  • Hotel Indigo has its own private car park offering over 80 spaces on two levels. Charges will apply.
  • Daily Parking Fee ( 12.00  GBP)

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas
Wired Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas

Facility

Facility

  • Hotel renovated inFebruary 01, 2012
  • Total number of rooms:148
  • Total number of suites:2
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:127
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:36
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:148
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:8
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:4
Welcome to Our Neighbourhood at Hotel Indigo Newcastle Hotel Indigo Newcastle is situated in and inspired by Grainger Town, the heart of this historic city. Unique among Newcastle hotels, our building and interiors draw inspiration from the area’s neoclassical architecture. We love the historic 1830s beauty of our local area which is why it’s made a strong impact on the look of our rooms, lobby and lounge. Bold printed rugs and subtle room details reflect the patterns of the local
View More
Welcome to Our Neighbourhood at Hotel Indigo Newcastle Hotel Indigo Newcastle is situated in and inspired by Grainger Town, the heart of this historic city. Unique among Newcastle hotels, our building and interiors draw inspiration from the area’s neoclassical architecture. We love the historic 1830s beauty of our local area which is why it’s made a strong impact on the look of our rooms, lobby and lounge. Bold printed rugs and subtle room details reflect the patterns of the local buildings and connect the interior of our hotel to the city’s vibrant and lively streets. Locally inspired Our interiors are inspired by the neoclassical Tyneside styles you’ll see nearby, featuring classical proportions and repeating patterns. You’ll find photos and artwork depicting Tyne Bridge, Grainger Market and many of the city’s best buildings on our walls, meaning you can explore the local area before you step outside our doors! Grainger Lounge, our bar and restaurant uses bold colours, monochrome patterned floors and chic design. It takes its name and design inspiration, from Robert Grainger, the architect of our local area. Discover the neighbourhood The wonderful, Grainger Market is a stone’s throw from our boutique hotel and a good spot for coffee and people watching. And if you’ve got a head for heights, the nearby Sage Gateshead Arts Centre offers an exhilarating guided roof experience .
View Less
Features
Hotel Indigo Newcastle is located in the city centre, close to the railway station and some of the UK’s best shopping and nightlife. You can enjoy spacious bedrooms, warm service and modern facilities, including invigorating spa-inspired rain fall shower, iPod docking station and Free WiFi. Why not enjoy a delicious meal or relax with a cocktail in our Marco Pierre White Steakhouse Bar & Grill?
Announcements
The sun has got its hat on! Why not treat yourself to one of our king executive rooms with private balcony. Watch the city of Newcastle upon Tyne from the rooftops. Call today to request that
View More
Announcements
The sun has got its hat on! Why not treat yourself to one of our king executive rooms with private balcony. Watch the city of Newcastle upon Tyne from the rooftops. Call today to request that upgrade 0191 300 9 222.
View Less

Guest Reviews

Rated 3.7 out of 5 by 213 reviewers.
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Enjoyable stay just an overnight stay,haven't stayed in a hotel/inn for over 30 years. I was pleasantly surprised, the staff was helpfull and pleasant, the food was execellent and the room was better than expected. If this is the norm I will certainly stay again!. 24 February 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great housekeeping staff The staff on the floor we stayed on were brilliant (friendly and spontaneously helpful). They got a minor problem sorted out before we'd had chance to report it, and made efforts beyond the call of duty to make our stay comfortable. Location presumably would suit people just driving in and out. Not ideal for seeing Newcastle, though there are three buses an hour into the city, where you can also get a bus (or the metro) out to the coast for a good walk. For example, Arriva's day ticket will get you to Whitley Bay or Tynemouth, from where you can walk to the other one and get a bus back. 24 February 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Average For A Holiday Inn Hotel is very average, booked because of pool & Gym however equipment very tired and in serious need of upgrade. Internet was an absolute joke every time you go to a new webpage you have to re-input your code 23 February 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Poor Service - tired hotel Had to ask 4 times for an iron. Reception desk is poorly managed and they were unable to provide me with an invoice on departure - have called 3 times and still not got it although they have taken the money ! Tired hotel and poor service. i for 1 will not stay here again there are much better hotels around 23 February 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Consistency so frustrating! What a frustrating experience, I had a night here only weeks ago and it was great - drink voucher, upgraded room, wifi code which is fab when your a loyal IHG guest. This time was almost a farce, checked in and nothing! I even asked the reception lady "no drink voucher this time" she obliged and gave me one - why should i have to ask? No upgraded room, even though I could book an executive room no problem so its nothing to do with "no availiblity" I just get so frustrated with the complete lack of consistency with IHG hotels, sometimes its great and other times is shocking. The system was down apparently so i could not add anything to my room, i know a coach tour was in and it must be difficult but please look after your loyal guests, we spend many thousands in your properties. Everything ws just generally shabby this time, and the double bed was VERY small. Sorry but i await the generic "sorry for your bad experience reply" 15 February 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by disappointed Stayed there for 2 nights this week - checked in on Sunday night. Asked for a wake up call at the same time both days. Sadly though, no wake up call on Monday and ended up sleeping in. Rushed to breakfast after getting ready quickly only to find that cooked food had to be ordered. And, it would take 10 minutes to get food ready. Was already running late so, had no choice but to go with the minimal breakfast. Set my own wake up call the next day and again no wake up call. Upon checkout wasn't even asked how the stay was. Every Holiday Inn I have ever been to has cooked food and I am usually asked if everything was Ok with the stay! Wont be going back there in a hurry. 31 January 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Even better with FREE Wi-Fi Stayed for the Burns Supper which was as great as last year. Room was very good and spotless. Refurbished bar/lounge/restaurant areas look lovely and now offer free wi-fi which is handy and appreciated. Definately stay again due to staff friendliness. 29 January 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Never again at New Year! We have visited this hotel on numerous occasions and have always enjoyed our visits ... until THIS year!! Our 3 night stay over New Year was totally ruined by the appalling behaviour of a large number of guests that the hotel staff were unable to deal with! Noise and bad behaviour from adults and children kept us awake until beyond 3:00am on 2 nights. The bar area looked as though a bomb had hit it on New Year's Night and New Year's Day! Staff had to remove items of furniture so that it would not be damaged! Access to the bar area was impossible due to the large number of guests who had taken over the area, allowing children to run around the hotel causing havoc and keeping guests awake. Staff tried hard to deal with the situation, but seemed totally overwhelmed! 05 January 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good for the family Although the decor of our room and bathroom was a bit tired, it was clean and comfortable , overlooking the back of the hotel allowing for a quiet nights sleep. Had to have window open at night as room too hot. Breakfast provision good but ran out of basic things such as sauce sachets and baked beans. Ordered lunch for the children on the last day in the bar area and although not busy service very slow - had to wait 40 mins before the children's meals arrived. Staff went out their way to help when approached, very friendly leading to our family having an enjoyable break! 02 January 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Poor service, old building and terrible beds. After our recent stay over Christmas I must say we where very disappointed. The rooms where old and not very clean there was an old water bottle under one of the beds and evidence of a spilled drink down one of the plug sockets. The staff at the bar and reception where fine and friendly, however after ordering room service where all 3 meals were incorrect we found the bar managers attitude very poor in dealing with the complaint. He spoke over both me and my wife when we were trying to explain the problem and said as we had eaten the other meals there was nothing he could do. On the last night the toilet broke and flooded the bathroom which resulted in us having to move rooms, the room we moved to had not be cleaned properly either there was food on the floor and under the beds On leaving we reported the issues to the reception who said they would report our concerns to the hotel manager however as yet we have heard nothing. Overall we were extremely disappointed with our stay and wouldn't recommend this particular holiday Inn to anyone. 02 January 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Great rooms but a cool reception We stop at this hotel quite often because of its location, spacious rooms and overall good quality, however, we have noticed a reducing standard over the last couple of visits. Although the main bar area is warm and welcoming after a recent up-date the corridors need attention and on this occasion were cold as was our room; it took the panel heater a full 24 hours at full blast to get the room comfortable. On the positive side, the rooms are very clean and of a high standard. We have also noticed a change in how other guests use the hotel, there is a tendency of swimwear and pyjamas in the reception and excessive noise in the early hours. This is not a one-off event but a nightly occurrence. Whilst the Holiday Inn is not directly responsible for the behaviour of their guests such behaviour is not to be encouraged. The bar and reception staff are, generally, very good but do seem over stretched at times. We will stay again but have concerns. 01 January 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by small bed & duvet, cold bar, inefficient staff We were not impressed when we saw the small double bed and even less so when we tried to cover ourselves with the small duvet. The wash basin was badly stained. No lime in bar for gin & tonic. Bar area cold and draughty. Meal for our family in restaurant was a fiasco despite us being the only customers. Probably because the other guests were eating in the bar area as food in there was half the price. Wifi very costly so didn't use it. Breakfast very expensive. In fact the only good thing about our stay was the warm croissants.. 01 January 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by no problems at all Very friendly, clean and reasonable price. Great Breakfast too I don't bother with reviews usually, but this deserved one All good 18 December 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by great value great value, very friendly staff and quality rooms. i will stay again next time im in town 16 December 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Great location, but noisy room Location was great - handy for the A1 and A19. Staff friendly and food tasty. Room clean, but incredibly noisy as next to stairs AND exit to car park, so smoking and talking right outside our room. Please use this hotel, but avoid room 53! 05 December 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by A Slight Disappointment on this visit Have stayed several times, always excellent on all fronts. Now receive a voucher for a free drink as Gold Elite guest. Presented voucher for a glass of wine, which my wife enjoyed. On check out was informed a charge for this had been made against my account. Matter was resolved as soon as I told reception staff member that I had used my voucher for this drink and paid cash for further drinks. It shouldn't happen. The breakfast was not as good as usual, sausages were greasy and black pudding too hard to cut into, hash browns different in size and shape to before and very greasy, with fat oozing out. This was on both mornings, not just a one off. Other than this everything was up to the usual excellent standard and I would highly recommend this hotel. 30 November 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Do you really want a review? We have stayed at The Holiday Inn, Seaton Burn before and had no hesitation in staying there again but there were little things that annoyed us. On arriving, my wife requested a second comfortable armchair as we both have back trouble and an upright chair would be uncomfortable. The receptionist told us that it would be organised but it wasn't. My wife reported that the table lamp wasn't working and this was not put right during our three day stay. On the second morning, "Housekeeping" asked if we wanted our room cleaned. My wife thought that she meant dusted, and requested two clean towels. As a result, no clean towels, no beakers washed, the bed unmade and no milk replaced or rubbish removed. On our last night, someone in the hotel 'phoned at 3.55.a.m. to request the Police. He had obviously selected 191 and we were in room 19. We reported this to Reception staff on our departure who thought it amusing but promised to look into it!! 28 November 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Service with a Smile I found this hotel 3 months ago and have stayed at it several times since. My job takes me to the North East on a weekly basis and I now wouldn't stay anywhere else. WHY - the accommodation and facilities are okay to good but what stands out more than anything else is the staff. To a man and a woman they are helpful, polite and provide service with a smile. Staying away from home is not great but if you have to then for me this place ticks all the boxes. 24 November 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Outstanding Staff! First time in a Holiday Inn. Room was quiet, spotlessly clean and beds very comfortable. Bathroom was tired: old avocado fitments and staining to tiling. The Pool, which was the reason we booked this place, was lovely. Very very clean, warm and not too chemically. Best point however was the staff, especially Kevin the restaurant manager. Our 9 year old son was given a rather small pizza portion for his childs meal (2 small slices). I asked for more and it was duly produced, and Kevin supplied a little extra from the buffet for him whilst he waited for the extra pizza. Our son has Aspergers and can be anxious about such things - Kevin would not have known this (you cannot tell) but was prompt kind and professional as a matter of course. Much appreciated, thank you. 19 November 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent service Had an excellent weekend in Newcastle staying at Holiday Inn Seaton Burn. The Restaurant, staff, facilities and comfort throughout the hotel were fantastic. 13 November 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Brilliant hotel but some things need sorting This is the second time we have stayed in an executive room and we are disappointed that the wine, coffee etc was not in the room again. We had to call reception to report this as we had do the first time. We feel that. There is never enough milk for the amount of coffee provided and one shampoo and one shower gel isn't sufficient for a family of 4. We think once is an accident twice is not acceptable. There was an amount of lime scale in the bathroom and the fan/expel air would not turn off all night. We would prefer to have individual changing rooms rather than a large number of lockers as our children feel uncomfortable when changing. On all other aspects of the hotel we think it's lovely warm friendly staff and great value for money. 12 November 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by relaxed Sunday night stay Nice reception staff, platinum upgraded room and a free beer and snack voucher. Great relaxing stay well done guys! 07 November 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Very happy granddaughter Pleasant, comfortable hotel with helpful staff. Service for bar meals seemed slow, as bar tender mostly had to collect food from kitchen. The cost for wi-fi seemed outrageous. If you just want to download a prepaid e newspaper and check a few emails then it shouldn't cost a minimum of £5. Our experience was that Friday and Saturday nights were noisy because of groups returning from clubbing. The reaction of staff was good as problems arose, but the hotel needs to be a lot more proactive in ensuring that people who want to sleep can do so. Segregating clubbers would be a good start, as would extra staff to patrol. Our granddaughter loved the pool, and so did we. 06 November 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Room We came to stay here on a Saturday evening for a wedding. Room and decor was lovely and very clean. Had a room near the end of the corridor on the ground floor so was fairly quiet until the young people came back from Town but didnt really spoil my nights sleep. Same cant be said for friends in the executive suite on the next floor who had to put up with 45 minutes of noise. Breakfast was nice and i would say all good value for money. Would definately recommend it to friends! 06 November 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great Stay Myself and my wife stayed over for the night and had a meal in the restaurant we had the 2 dine for £30 and it was delicious soup and bread roll and the fish was the best we had ever had along with a glass of wine each great value for money, The rooms were nice and bed was very comfy we booked a spa and the treatment was excellent, Great stay over for the night. 06 November 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable bed, poor customer service This would have been a good stay if the travel cot had been in our room. Arriving late I had phoned ahead to be assured that the travel cot would be up and in our room. On arrival it was NOT!! There was no cot. This was very poor on your part. A cot had to be brought, this was found to be broken. Another was brought , this was also broken!!! My children were now awake and it was getting later and later. Luckily the beds were comfortable and the children did eventually sleep but shame on you for not getting your service in line. This was a simple request 05 November 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great value last minute break Hotel was easy to find and had plenty of parking. Check-in was speedy. All the staff were friendly, especially to our young daughter. Pool was warm. Had a spacious family room with 2 double beds. We ate in the snack bar and restaurant and had no complaints (though would have been nice to have the kids menu in the room so could choose in advance) Only complaint would be that the bathroom needed at bit of tlc.. regrouting and resealing. But that didn't adversely affect our stay. Would stay there again, would recommend to family+friends. 02 November 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Fine for an overnight Selected due to the location and price. The property has had a make over in the past but whoever selected the "veneer finish" obviously liked it *a lot* as the knotty effect adorned all of the drawers and surfaces in the room - perhaps someone should have mentioned that a little goes along way. Why is it that a family room for more than two adults only ever has two of everything (mugs etc.) Not sure that the check in staff acknowledged my Gold IHG Membership despite being prompted, so can't judge if I received any added benefits. Recommend it only for those on a budget that want an overnight stop, that wood finish is too overpowering for any longer. 29 October 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Lovely spacious & comfortable room Stayed at the hotel for a one night stay with my boyfriend. The room was clean, spacious & comfortable. For us it had what we needed for an overnight stay. The reception & bar areas were clean, bright and were welcoming. I would recommend it to others and I would definitely stay here again. 29 October 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by wedding venue was at a relatives wedding here which we couldnt fault staff really good food lovely and good helpings, venue really pretty since main areas been done up so we booked our room for the night,unfortunately we didnt know there was a cut off date for discount for wedding party, paid for upgrade i was under impression we were getting twin king beds as on a website i'd been on it had showed these but found out when we got there only do1 king bed, or 2 doubles, i booked it after online chat and was booked apparently direct to the hotel not that i realised that.nor that my invoice showed 2 double beds not kings as i didnt bother to check it which was stupid of me but still would have preferred 2 doubles as per invoice. I stated i wanted twin king beds as im a very poor sleeper cos of health problems but got superking & put up sofabed, which was too low for me, paid for executive upgrade but room very poor for this level. no pad or pen, bathroom was avocado green walls there were damaged tiles in a lot of areas and holes filled in with grout and ancient soap holders fitted in the walls think they had been there since the hotel was built!! there was some mould around bath edge and bath definitely seen better days very worn. supposed to get 2 towelling robes as per website in exec pack only got one which was extremely tatty, dirty grey and worn with holes in places and smelled a bit, not what you would wear to go down to the sauna, room itself was ok s/king comfortable and housekeeping had room very very clean dont think upgrade was really worth it though and please do something about your complimentary tea and coffee very bland no taste n only 4 milk portions.Breakfast was really nice very tasty and good choice of buffet breakfast. All staff really nice just shame mix up over beds and poor bathroom stopped a better rating please get your bathrooms up to spec and really bad as expensive for wifi which is pretty bad considering im going to another hotel chain next month for less money with free wifi. told by reception that wi fi free next year shame sons wedding was this year!!!! 23 October 2013
<<prev 2 3 4 5 6 ... 8 next>>
Hotel Exterior
Hotel Exterior
Select to close.
Hotel Exterior Hotel Indigo at night Welcome to Hotel Indigo Newcastle Relax on your balcony with views of Grainger Town Our Reception desk All Superior Rooms have a balcony Angel of the North 15 minutes drive from the hotel Fancy watching NUFC while here Grainger Market gave the inspiration for our bedroom design China Town is a must while here Monument is the centre of all the action Central Station is just 2 minutes away from the hotel Newcastle Assembly Rooms are located nextdoor to the hotel Excellent shopping at Eldon Square just minutes form the Hotel River Tyne just a short walk away Sports Direct Arena is just a ten minute walk from the hotel China town has amazing  art work Visit Castle Keep whilst staying at Hotel Indigo Newcastle World famous Tyne Bridge Just some of our amazing Scenery which is just a short drive away Angel Of The North at night Vist the must see Baltic A must see while visiting the North East - Tynemouth coastline Just minutes away from the hotel the Blinking Eye bridge
Select to close.
Close
Check In
(e.g. Aug-29-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Aug-30-2014)
Check Availability
Loading