• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 877 8 INDIGO
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night reservation you will be given the option to duplicate this reservation.

(e.g. Jul-29-2014)
(e.g. Jul-30-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings Link will open in new browser window. tool or call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada).

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Downtown/City Center

  • Location: Downtown/City Center
  • Closest City: NEWCASTLE UPON TYNE
  • Distance From Hotel: 0.8MI
  • Local time zone: GMT+01:00

Check In: 3:00 PM Check Out: 12:00 PM

  • Check In: 3:00 PM
  • Check Out: 12:00 PM
  • Minimum check-in age: 18
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:8
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. English

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

Registered assistance dogs only. Please contact the hotel directly should you have any specific requirements.

Parking

Parking

  • Number of parking spaces:80
  • Car Parking Available
  • Hotel Indigo has its own private car park offering over 80 spaces on two levels. Charges will apply.
  • Daily Parking Fee ( 12.00  GBP)

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas
Wired Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas

Facility

Facility

  • Hotel renovated inFebruary 01, 2012
  • Total number of rooms:148
  • Total number of suites:2
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:127
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:36
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:148
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:8
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:4
Welcome to Our Neighbourhood at Hotel Indigo Newcastle
Hotel Indigo Newcastle is situated in and inspired by Grainger Town, the heart of this historic city. Unique among Newcastle hotels, our building and interiors draw inspiration from the area’s neoclassical architecture. We love the historic 1830s beauty of our local area which is why it’s made a strong impact on the look of our rooms, lobby and lounge. Bold printed rugs and subtle room details reflect the patterns of the
View More
Welcome to Our Neighbourhood at Hotel Indigo Newcastle
Hotel Indigo Newcastle is situated in and inspired by Grainger Town, the heart of this historic city. Unique among Newcastle hotels, our building and interiors draw inspiration from the area’s neoclassical architecture. We love the historic 1830s beauty of our local area which is why it’s made a strong impact on the look of our rooms, lobby and lounge. Bold printed rugs and subtle room details reflect the patterns of the local buildings and connect the interior of our hotel to the city’s vibrant and lively streets.
Locally inspired
Our interiors are inspired by the neoclassical Tyneside styles you’ll see nearby, featuring classical proportions and repeating patterns. You’ll find photos and artwork depicting Tyne Bridge, Grainger Market and many of the city’s best buildings on our walls – meaning you can explore the local area before you step outside our doors! Grainger Lounge, our bar and restaurant uses bold colours, monochrome patterned floors and chic design. It takes its name and design inspiration, from Robert Grainger, the architect of our local area.
Discover the neighbourhood
The wonderful, Grainger Market is a stone’s throw from our boutique hotel and a good spot for coffee and people watching. And if you’ve got a head for heights, the nearby Sage Gateshead Arts Centre offers an exhilarating guided roof experience.
View Less
Features
Hotel Indigo Newcastle is located in the city centre, close to the railway station and some of the UK’s best shopping and nightlife. You can enjoy spacious bedrooms, warm service and modern facilities, including invigorating spa-inspired rain fall shower, iPod docking station and Free WiFi. Why not enjoy a delicious meal or relax with a cocktail in our Marco Pierre White Steakhouse Bar & Grill?
Announcements
The sun has got its hat on! Why not treat yourself to one of our king executive rooms with private balcony. Watch the city of Newcastle upon Tyne from the rooftops. Call today to request that
View More
Announcements
The sun has got its hat on! Why not treat yourself to one of our king executive rooms with private balcony. Watch the city of Newcastle upon Tyne from the rooftops. Call today to request that upgrade 0191 300 9 222.
View Less

Guest Reviews

Rated 3.7 out of 5 by 188 reviewers.
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good value good food We upgraded to an Executive room, and the average cost per night which included breakfast was very good value. The food was very good, up to date menus well cooked and well,presented. We stayed 4 nights over the bank holiday weekend for a wedding elsewhere. The hotel was full but the staff were well able to cope with guests for other weddings, coach parties of tourists and foreign students, this all added to the experience. Bizarrely, service was lacking in quiet times in the restaurant and the bar, when there was no obvious supervisor present. One downside which we still don't understand is that the bathroom fans are on a hotel-wide timetable, so are on constantly from 6.30 to 10 and 4 til 11. We were told this was to ensure freshness however we have never had that before it sounds like cheap construction. We solved it to a great extent by closing the door, but were uncomfortable at the waste of energy, especially if rooms are not in use. We also hope that, having refurbished the bedrooms and public rooms, the hotel makes sure the main staircase, and remember there is no lift so everyone uses it, is refurbished, along with the landing. Having said that, we would stay again and would recommend it. 29 August 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 Newcastle upon Tyne Relatively easy to find off the A1. Reception staff friendly but seemed to be a little disorganised. Room was comfortable but a little tired looking. Shower attachment was broken and air conditioning didn't work but the latter wasn't a problem wi British weather! Service in restaurant was generally good and evening meal was good. Clean plates from the kids! Overall generally good value for money as a stop over point on a long weekend away from home. 29 August 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Mixed: Good points and mixed points Another week in another IHG hotel with some good points and some "could do better" points. The common areas look excellent and the restaurant/bar area look great. Parking is excellent - no shortage and they've got a shortcut from the car park to the rooms. Small gym is ok - I believe its got a pool and sauna but I didn't use them. In terms of improvements, here are the niggles that have annoyed me: 1. Lack of plug socks.... 1 socket by the desk and that's got the only light in the room.... where do I plug my laptop, iphone and ipad in? I did ask for a 4-way but they couldn't muster one up. 2. Iron.... you guessed it, no iron in the room. Pet hate as it took over an hour for them to find one. Usual hotel iron, it didn't do much good anyway! I'll finish on a positive... can't fault cleanliness! 29 August 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Nice makeover Stayed here a year ago and thought it was old and tired. Fast forward to now and the rooms and fittings have been very nicely refurbished and feel very modern and appealing. Good breakfast and very pleasant and obliging staff. Pity about one or two guests who like to make a racket at 1 am when others are trying to get some sleep. 29 August 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Inconsistent hotel chain offerings and staff were inconsistent with their knowledge Had to close my priority account to an IHG account to gain 15 mins of internet access for half price. Restaurant promotions did not consider non drinkers. Dishwasher needed cleaning as speckle dirt on all crockery at all meal times - told 4 staff and they all ignored. I put plates aside and staff put them back for guests!!! Swim pool every morning full of monthly subscription members which caused over crowding. Requested papers which were forgotten about. 27 August 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by good stay bright room, excellent night sleep,good food in the bar area,breakfast very good, will definitely use Holiday inns again. coffe at breakfast a bit disappointing, a self service machine,a bit temperamental. 26 August 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Really nice hotel! This hotel was fantastic, food was great, the staff were polite and helpful, the pool was fantastic especially as we had our two boys with us- they loved it! The rooms were very clean and spacious. Would definitely recommend it! 22 August 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Pity about Breakfast in bed Good value for money but why charge an extra £6 per person for breakfast in your room. Other Holiday Inns we have stayed at do not so why here? 20 August 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Quiet and restful Worth upgrading the room to executive. Great pool and sauna with a small gym. Lounge area useable and staff very pleasant. Missing a lift for the older folk to get to the second floor. Slightly remote location good if seeking some peace but local stores not too far away. Restaurant above average with a decent menu card, not gastro food but well prepared and presented. A nice find, very content with the hotel overall. Stayed an additional night. 19 August 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Impressive in all respects from the first entrance into the hotel Lounge, bar and reception areas are very modern and this experience is complemented by very good staff who go out of their way to be friendly and helpful. The rooms are very good quality, the beds are extremely comfortable and there is a swimming pool and sauna and steam room too. It is situated a long way out of Newcastle city centre so a car or taxi ride is needed here although there is a good local express bus near the hotel for those on a tight budget. 16 August 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Friendly staff The reception & bar area has been recently refurbished and looks really good, the staff were all really helpful & friendly. The food was excellent. Breakfast was busy on the Saturday morning and they maybe could have done with another member of staff but you find Saturday's in most hotels busy and we were in no rush. The pool was an added bonus to keep the children occupied in the morning and was nice & quiet whenever we went. Rooms were fine, it was hot while we were staying and the air-con wasn't great but they gave us a fan. Would stay again. 15 August 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by disappointed Gold member! I often stay in hotels in the NE of England and thought I would give this HI a try, really disappointed on arrival that none of my information was ready. As a priority club Gold member this is normally ready, also then had to go through the whole check in process even though the booking was recorded on the IHG App. I was informed that since changing the app the hotel are not getting some bookings through, after over 5 hours travelling to get to the hotel this was the last thing i needed. As for the rooms, they are very very dated, the bathroom whilst clean was very much in need of refurbishment with mould growing on the silicone in the bathroom. The doors to the bedrooms were also very noisy and slammed whenever someone left the room as the slow close mechanisms attached to them were so old they did not work. The staff were all lovely and friendly enough. I did not mention any of this to the staff at the time as the exhaustion of my trip meant I really could not be bothered at the time. 13 August 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Surprising and marriage threatening!!!! Truly amazing, the more so since I have not stayed at this hotel recently. Indeed last time was January 2006. Your E-Mail dated 30 July states that I stayed, and your records show I stayed on 24 July. This is total garbage.....much more to the point.....it has angered me and INFURIATED MY WIFE of some years, and she is demanding I come clean and tell her what I was doing in Newcastle on that night!!!!!.....a fact that you formally put in writing You may see fit to try and save my marriage by explaining in detail how/why the E-Mail was sent to me, as a Priority Club member. To state it was a "human error" will not be accepted, since I understand it was automatically generated centrally by IHG. Also, please explain how you have linked my personal and private E-Mail address to another Priority Club member. The Priority Club number is NOT my number You may wish to help me and compensate my wife by sending a cheque for £50 so that i can buy her a meal My wife and I look forward to a prompt response and a grovelling apology 08 August 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great value for the money paid! Stayed in a Family room with my wife and our two small children. Nothing is extravagant and the hotel doesn't pretend to be, which is refreshing as I've been in hotels that really do try to make themselves out to be special and fail miserably. It's a little dated, but you get what you pay for. Reception area and bar seem pleasant and function well. Beds (two doubles) were very comfortable, room was clean, TV had childrens channels for the kids. Staff on Reception were friendly and helpful as were the young porters who supplied an ironing table, a fan and a bucket of ice very promptly. Gym was well stocked, but small. It had enough fitness machines, and the pool looked nice, though we didnt have time to use it unfortunately. It's location is great for Newcastle, Blyth beach was a 10 minute drive away. It's a great stayover for southerners driving north to explore Northumberland. Alnwick is 25 mins up the A1. 05 August 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Uni Tour- hotel stopover We booked this hotel for a stopover to tour Newcastle Uni the following day. Upon arrival, all staff were courteous, professional and looked after us so well. Didn't get chance to use facilities other than the Restuarant. But can fully recommend it. Great location for visiting the city of Newcastle. 05 August 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good hotel same about check out Lovely hotel great location, same about trouble checking out. Preauthorised credit card then took 1 week to get money back on credit card not a good service. A big let down to a good stay. 04 August 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Dissappointed When I arrived after a long journey from Scotland with my young family and got all our luggage and kids toys etc to the room I found that the folding bed was broken and that the soap dish in the bathroom was hanging off the wall. I then went down stairs to complain and had too wait another half hour on another room. I was offered no assistance moving all my luggage etc again to the new room therefore I was a bit disappointed. By the time I had got everything sorted out (approx. 1 hour after arriving) I had very tired and hungry young children on my hands. I thought that some sort of apology in the way of a bottle of wine, meal voucher or discount should've been given. On the basis of the aforementioned I wouldn't stay at this hotel again or recommend it. 03 August 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Quiet night out With children now filling the house and no room we can call our own. Sneaking out after dark was the perfect remedy to continual sanity. The hotel was the perfect oasis of forbidden pleasure and tranquility. The bedroom was relaxing with a bed big enough to remind us of our youth. The champagne was cold and the breakfast the next day refreshing and much needed. 03 August 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Family functions were excellently handled We only stayed for one night after a large family wedding in one of the hotels function rooms. We found that the services and attentiveness of the staff was exceptionally good. I would recommend this hotel to anybody wishing to have a function of any kind. We had staff available for purchasing drinks at all times which was something we were pleasantly surprised at, considering in most placing you are expected to wait until the bar staff are ready for you. The rooms were excellent and had everything we could possibly need, we were fortunate enough to have working air con in all of the rooms we booked out and every family member boasted of an enjoyable, comfortable sleep. As we purchased a B&B service, we found that the breakfast meal was something to be admired. It was above our original expectations and we thoroughly enjoyed it, we had a bit of a complaint about the lack of water, but after mentioning it to a staff member we were given glasses and a pitcher. Overall an incredibly good stay which i would recommend to anyone 02 August 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Not the best Holiday Inn I have ever stayed at. As a fairly recent Priority Club member who stays 30+ nights a year in hotels because I have to as my business dictates it, I was met at booking in that it costs £15 per night to connect to wifi. - essential for my business. I also received an offer for extra points if I ate in the restaurant. -Just show it at reception when you book in, still no points, I am having to chase them. The showers in the pool changing rooms smelled of bad drains. the pool area was lacking in facilities such as a water fountain. No Jacuzzi? I ate in the restaurant, nothing spectacular. Breakfast was no better, - unless you have a thing for hard crisp fried eggs. 26 July 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Just what I needed when travelling Love the refurbished areas and hope it continues to the bedrooms which are CLEAN. just need a refresh. Staff chatty when they can be. Food has improved in past year so congrats to the kitchen and service teams. 17 July 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Almost good, but ......... Non functioning air conditioning unit made executive room far too hot for comfort. Offer of another room was not taken up as nobody could be postive about room with an air con unit that actually worked. Slept with two fans operating all night. Next day a maintenance engineer found us a room with a working air-con unit and we changed rooms. Cool air bliss! food and service excellent in the restaurant. Very friendly bar staff. 15 July 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Evening meals not up to usual standard We stayed DB&B for two nights on 30th June and 1st July but the evening meals were not up to standard that we have become accustomed to when visiting this Holiday Inn in previous years. There seemed to be a shortage of staff in the restaurant and ones that were there were not on top of their game. 09 July 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Refurbished bar area The refurbished bar area visually looks good, but is wholly impractical. They've removed the bar stools, if you want bar food trying to eat off the very low tables results in you spilling food. The sofa's are comfortable enough but useless for bar snacks. The old tables/chairs were far better. The enclosed area at the end of the bar used to be a "quiet" area where you could have bar snack in peace, have a chat, or read a book with your drink. Now there is a flat screen TV at the end, (with no sound) and music blaring out of speakers. Stay here by all means, but go out to eat, plenty of better options nearby. 05 July 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good value The room was clean and comfortable, the staff very friendly and helpful, and the breakfast excellent. Some parts of the hotel need updating, but overall it was very good value for money, although the charge for wi-fi was unacceptable. We stayed 14 nights, but on 2 of those we were subject to loud and disruptive guests in the room next to us. Some attention needs to be paid to ensuring that guests checking in late at night/early morning are made aware that they must be as quiet as possible, as other guests are trying to sleep. 03 July 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Convient location Reasonable price,expesive Breakfast if you do not pr-book. 02 July 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Newcastle Stay Excellent stay at the Newcastle Holiday Inn, leisure break with my children and we all had a great time, the staff were excellent and treated us very well. 01 July 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Tired, but acceptable There is nothing major wrong with this hotel, but it is in need of a bit of love in a few areas. My bathroom has seen better days, a bit of grouti was loose on the floor. That said the room as a whole was clean and comfortable which is the most important thing. The gym is tiny, I wanted to use the weights room but as one other person was in there that wasn't possible. The staff were lovely and the meal I ate was nice as well. One word of warning, I could barely get any phone signal inside the hotel (on 3) and wifi is incredibly expensive, if you want to use the Internet whilst you are staying take that into account before you book. Overall an acceptable hotel, if you can get a good rate. 30 June 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by As good as expected The standards expected of Holiday Inns were maintained, and although the Hotel was very busy the staff were as helpful as always. We shall continue to use these Hotels 29 June 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Good location, obliging staff, everything catered for The hotel is well laid out, with good leisure facilities, staff were always obliging. Food was good, Excellent parking. Overall fitted our needs like a glove. 28 June 2013
<<prev 3 4 5 6 7 next>>
Hotel Exterior
Hotel Exterior
Select to close.
Hotel Exterior Hotel Indigo at night Welcome to Hotel Indigo Newcastle Relax on your balcony with views of Grainger Town Our Reception desk All Superior Rooms have a balcony Angel of the North 15 minutes drive from the hotel Fancy watching NUFC while here Grainger Market gave the inspiration for our bedroom design China Town is a must while here Monument is the centre of all the action Central Station is just 2 minutes away from the hotel Newcastle Assembly Rooms are located nextdoor to the hotel Excellent shopping at Eldon Square just minutes form the Hotel River Tyne just a short walk away Sports Direct Arena is just a ten minute walk from the hotel China town has amazing  art work Visit Castle Keep whilst staying at Hotel Indigo Newcastle World famous Tyne Bridge Just some of our amazing Scenery which is just a short drive away Angel Of The North at night Vist the must see Baltic A must see while visiting the North East - Tynemouth coastline Just minutes away from the hotel the Blinking Eye bridge
Select to close.
Save between 10% - 30% when you book early!
Close
Check In
(e.g. Jul-29-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Jul-30-2014)
Check Availability
Loading