• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 877 8 INDIGO
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night reservation you will be given the option to duplicate this reservation.

(e.g. Sep-01-2014)
(e.g. Sep-02-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings Link will open in new browser window. tool or call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada).

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Downtown/City Center

  • Location: Downtown/City Center
  • Closest City: NEWCASTLE UPON TYNE
  • Distance From Hotel: 0.8MI
  • Local time zone: GMT+01:00

Check In: 3:00 PM Check Out: 12:00 PM

  • Check In: 3:00 PM
  • Check Out: 12:00 PM
  • Minimum check-in age: 18
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:8
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. English

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

Registered assistance dogs only. Please contact the hotel directly should you have any specific requirements.

Parking

Parking

  • Number of parking spaces:80
  • Car Parking Available
  • Hotel Indigo has its own private car park offering over 80 spaces on two levels. Charges will apply.
  • Daily Parking Fee ( 12.00  GBP)

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas
Wired Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas

Facility

Facility

  • Hotel renovated inFebruary 01, 2012
  • Total number of rooms:148
  • Total number of suites:2
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:127
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:36
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:148
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:8
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:4
Welcome to Our Neighbourhood at Hotel Indigo Newcastle Hotel Indigo Newcastle is situated in and inspired by Grainger Town, the heart of this historic city. Unique among Newcastle hotels, our building and interiors draw inspiration from the area’s neoclassical architecture. We love the historic 1830s beauty of our local area which is why it’s made a strong impact on the look of our rooms, lobby and lounge. Bold printed rugs and subtle room details reflect the patterns of the local
View More
Welcome to Our Neighbourhood at Hotel Indigo Newcastle Hotel Indigo Newcastle is situated in and inspired by Grainger Town, the heart of this historic city. Unique among Newcastle hotels, our building and interiors draw inspiration from the area’s neoclassical architecture. We love the historic 1830s beauty of our local area which is why it’s made a strong impact on the look of our rooms, lobby and lounge. Bold printed rugs and subtle room details reflect the patterns of the local buildings and connect the interior of our hotel to the city’s vibrant and lively streets. Locally inspired Our interiors are inspired by the neoclassical Tyneside styles you’ll see nearby, featuring classical proportions and repeating patterns. You’ll find photos and artwork depicting Tyne Bridge, Grainger Market and many of the city’s best buildings on our walls, meaning you can explore the local area before you step outside our doors! Grainger Lounge, our bar and restaurant uses bold colours, monochrome patterned floors and chic design. It takes its name and design inspiration, from Robert Grainger, the architect of our local area. Discover the neighbourhood The wonderful, Grainger Market is a stone’s throw from our boutique hotel and a good spot for coffee and people watching. And if you’ve got a head for heights, the nearby Sage Gateshead Arts Centre offers an exhilarating guided roof experience .
View Less
Features
Hotel Indigo Newcastle is located in the city centre, close to the railway station and some of the UK’s best shopping and nightlife. You can enjoy spacious bedrooms, warm service and modern facilities, including invigorating spa-inspired rain fall shower, iPod docking station and Free WiFi. Why not enjoy a delicious meal or relax with a cocktail in our Marco Pierre White Steakhouse Bar & Grill?

Guest Reviews

Rated 4.4 out of 5 by 212 reviewers.
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by HIE Newcastle Staff were friendly, polite & helpful. Room was comfortable & clean. Bar & restaurant area was clean & comfortable. Food was satisfactory 30 September 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 Best hotel I've been going to Newcastle for the last 2 weeks and i already feel at home, i am enjoying my stay and will be coming back there this week xx 29 September 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable stay but no atmosphere Comfortable and clean, friendly staff but let down by the bar area. We wanted a drink and a chat at the end of the day but the bar and seating was just not inviting, far to brightly lit and sterile. Shame really... 25 September 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great Hotel - Clean and tidy with great location Travelling and lot and using Holiday Inn Hotels, this is one of ny favorite hotels, despite having to parking in the neighboring multi-story car park. The hotel is clean and well located and the service is good. Internet in the room is great for business users. 07 September 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by pleasant stay The staff & general feeling was good but there were one or two things that would have improved our stay e.g. stains on the bedroom carpet, curtains hanging off the hooks & the pillow labels bore no relation to the type stated. These are only minor details but they do illustrate a lack of care in my eyes. 02 September 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent value and service Extremely helpful staff, good rooms. Amazing value 01 September 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Quiet bedroom for city centre Staff welcomed me well. The room was quiet and clean, the bed was comfortable. Staff gave welcome advice for activities during the day and were very helpful. 01 September 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great location, very comfortable, great value Stayed on a Tuesday night, great city centre location We had a room overlooking the square and found it nice and quiet Very friendly staff Clean comfortable room Would stay here again 31 August 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Room and service was first class Very enjoyable and comfortable stay. The rooms are perfect 29 August 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by great experience first ippresions were great as we were having difficulties with our luggage the reception staff were so helpful we could not wish for more helpful staff well above there call of duty every thing was great including the room and breakfast plenty of choice would highly recommend this hotel so freindly and welcoming well done great stay pity it was,nt longer 28 August 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by newcastle booked into the holiday inn waterloo sq.it was very clean n tidy .central to everything we need .would deff book here again , 28 August 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Central to Newcastle centre Central to the city centre so perfect for shopping and a night out. 28 August 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable In the city center, very close to the railway stration. The room is large. 27 August 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Another happy stay. Having enjoyed this hotel many times before there were no surprises. A great central location, clean & well maintained, reasonably priced car park next door, chatty & efficient staff and a good atmosphere. Guess where we'll be staying next time in Newcastle? 25 August 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent service from staff The room 506 is very good and big for large family of 5 with staff providing us additional bed, also disabled facilities in the room and in the bath. Big but the self service breakfast food is not good at all because is very limited. The management need to improve the breakfast food which is very important. Thanks to all the staff. Location is excellent to all activities for children or couples. 20 August 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by lovely hotel a lovely hotel and the staff were fantastic very good value for money i would definately recommend to anybody 10/10 18 August 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Good hotel, good service, very good location This hotel looks very good and is located excellent in the city centre. The staff is very helpfull and the room was clean. You can come back from cafe or club at any time you want, there is Always (security) staff to help you with problems or questions you might have. The breakfast was also good. there was enough choice of food and drinks. We had a great time in this hotel and in Newcastle centre also. When we come for a second time, we will go to this hotel again. 06 August 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great service Just what I was looking for as I had to book a hotel for my daughter and her friend for a quick visit to Newcastle for an exam. The breakfast was fantastic and the hotel staff were very helpful to 2 young ladies far from home. Also excellent service from the advance payment office in offering me the best value. Great Choice! 29 July 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Location, Great Sleep Room very good, well appointed - no complaints. Breakfast a bit limited with only beans, sausage & scrambled egg available though. Very close to centre and to station though, which was very handy. 27 July 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Clean, comfortable, cheerful staff Stayed on business. Very conveniently situated close to station. Room clean, comfortable and everything worked. Breakfast utilitarian but still quite good value. 23 July 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by perfect for the city night and shopping Excellent accommodation cannot thank the staff enough for making our sons graduation run so smoothly Will definately revisit the next time I'm in Newcastle staff are so wonderful and everyone says hello a real credit to this chain of hotels 23 July 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 A Great Geordie Welcome Having arrived at the Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre after an international flight, we were warmly welcomed and quickly checked in. We were soon relaxing in our very compact, comfortable, and quiet room. The front desk staff provided some great suggestions and easy directions for dining. For our initial two-night stay we felt very comfortable and appreciated the convenient location. Consequently, we changed our reservations for the days at the end of our trip when we would be returning to Newcastle (and cancelled our reservations at two other Newcastle hotels). We were very happy to return to the Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre for an additional four nights; it was like coming home. The location made this hotel the ideal spot for exploring Newcastle by foot or public transit. The staff even provided breakfast a bit early on our last day so that we could make it to the airport for our early flight. 21 July 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by CONVENIENCE AND COMFORT AND VALUE From the efficiency upon arrival to the courtesy on departure all highly recommended. Very comfortable room. Location very convenient with car park next door. I would not hesitate to stay again and would propose the hotel to friends and colleagues. 21 July 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great stay Staff fantastic, friendly and helpful. Comfortable and practical room, would recommend the hotel. 17 July 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great service and good location Staff were very friendly, helpful and cheerful. Hotel is simple and down to earth but well run with a nice lounge and breakfast area. Good location near shopping area, football stadium and main routes. Free wi-fi was good although out of service on one evening. 17 July 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Up to standard Stayed for one (Sunday) night en route to the Northumbria coast, the hotel as easy to find and plenty of reasonably priced parking for a city centre. The staff on the reception desk were both friendly and helpful. The hotel is fairly new and the facilities and room were very well presented. Down side we only had 1 bath towel, although I had stated 2 guests, also the pillows were not up to the normal Holiday Inn standard, being rather firm. This aside I would recommend this hotel for anyone transiting through Newcastle 09 July 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by The best yet I have stayed at holiday Inn hotels and express, and i must say this was the best so far. Location helpfull and friendley staff we could not ask for better we will be back again for sure. 08 July 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great location and very friendly, helpful staff. I spent one night with my son prior to a university open day. The staff could not have been more helpful. The room was spotless and comfortable. Breakfast was lovely. Parking couldn't have been easier. We will definately be back if my son gets in to Newcastle. 05 July 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 great location and lovely staff Really lovely, friendly and helpful staff, for my daughter's visit for Uni Open Day, provided maps and best route to walk there. Room good, clean shower/loo good, temperature perfect and soft pillows! Recommmended. 03 July 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Fabulous place to stay We stayed at the Newcastle HIE during a family trip to Hadrian's Wall Country. Location was excellent for the train; staff were friendly yet professional, and they quickly acknowledged our 6 year old adventurer. Our room was ready (with the sofa bed prepared) even though we arrived early, without advance notice of early check-in. Exactly what a HIE should be- and friendlier than some we have stayed in. Thanks, if going that way would NOT hesitate to book again. 23 June 2013
<<prev 4 5 6 7 8 next>>
Hotel Exterior
Hotel Exterior
Select to close.
Hotel Exterior Hotel Indigo at night Welcome to Hotel Indigo Newcastle Relax on your balcony with views of Grainger Town Our Reception desk All Superior Rooms have a balcony Angel of the North 15 minutes drive from the hotel Fancy watching NUFC while here Grainger Market gave the inspiration for our bedroom design China Town is a must while here Monument is the centre of all the action Central Station is just 2 minutes away from the hotel Newcastle Assembly Rooms are located nextdoor to the hotel Excellent shopping at Eldon Square just minutes form the Hotel River Tyne just a short walk away Sports Direct Arena is just a ten minute walk from the hotel China town has amazing  art work Visit Castle Keep whilst staying at Hotel Indigo Newcastle World famous Tyne Bridge Just some of our amazing Scenery which is just a short drive away Angel Of The North at night Vist the must see Baltic A must see while visiting the North East - Tynemouth coastline Just minutes away from the hotel the Blinking Eye bridge
Select to close.
Earn 1000 points per night when you book a Bonus Points Package.
Close
Check In
(e.g. Sep-01-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Sep-02-2014)
Check Availability
Loading