• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 877 8 INDIGO
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night reservation you will be given the option to duplicate this reservation.

(e.g. Jul-10-2014)
(e.g. Jul-11-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings Link will open in new browser window. tool or call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada).

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Downtown/City Center

  • Location: Downtown/City Center
  • Closest City: NEWCASTLE UPON TYNE
  • Distance From Hotel: 0.8MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-00:00

Check In: 3:00 PM Check Out: 12:00 PM

  • Check In: 3:00 PM
  • Check Out: 12:00 PM
  • Minimum check-in age: 18
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:8
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. English

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

Registered assistance dogs only. Please contact the hotel directly should you have any specific requirements.

Parking

Parking

  • Number of parking spaces:80
  • Car Parking Available
  • Hotel Indigo has its own private car park offering over 80 spaces on two levels. Charges will apply.
  • Daily Parking Fee ( 12.00  GBP)

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas
Wired Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas

Facility

Facility

  • Hotel renovated inFebruary 01, 2012
  • Total number of rooms:148
  • Total number of suites:2
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:127
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:36
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:148
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:8
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:4
Welcome to Our Neighbourhood at Hotel Indigo Newcastle
Hotel Indigo Newcastle is situated in and inspired by Grainger Town, the heart of this historic city. Unique among Newcastle hotels, our building and interiors draw inspiration from the area’s neoclassical architecture. We love the historic 1830s beauty of our local area which is why it’s made a strong impact on the look of our rooms, lobby and lounge. Bold printed rugs and subtle room details reflect the patterns of the
View More
Welcome to Our Neighbourhood at Hotel Indigo Newcastle
Hotel Indigo Newcastle is situated in and inspired by Grainger Town, the heart of this historic city. Unique among Newcastle hotels, our building and interiors draw inspiration from the area’s neoclassical architecture. We love the historic 1830s beauty of our local area which is why it’s made a strong impact on the look of our rooms, lobby and lounge. Bold printed rugs and subtle room details reflect the patterns of the local buildings and connect the interior of our hotel to the city’s vibrant and lively streets.
Locally inspired
Our interiors are inspired by the neoclassical Tyneside styles you’ll see nearby, featuring classical proportions and repeating patterns. You’ll find photos and artwork depicting Tyne Bridge, Grainger Market and many of the city’s best buildings on our walls – meaning you can explore the local area before you step outside our doors! Grainger Lounge, our bar and restaurant uses bold colours, monochrome patterned floors and chic design. It takes its name and design inspiration, from Robert Grainger, the architect of our local area.
Discover the neighbourhood
The wonderful, Grainger Market is a stone’s throw from our boutique hotel and a good spot for coffee and people watching. And if you’ve got a head for heights, the nearby Sage Gateshead Arts Centre offers an exhilarating guided roof experience.
View Less
Features
Hotel Indigo Newcastle is located in the city centre, close to the railway station and some of the UK’s best shopping and nightlife. You can enjoy spacious bedrooms, warm service and modern facilities, including invigorating spa-inspired rain fall shower, iPod docking station and Free WiFi. Why not enjoy a delicious meal or relax with a cocktail in our Marco Pierre White Steakhouse Bar & Grill?
Announcements
The sun has got its hat on! Why not treat yourself to one of our king executive rooms with private balcony. Watch the city of Newcastle upon Tyne from the rooftops. Call today to request that
View More
Announcements
The sun has got its hat on! Why not treat yourself to one of our king executive rooms with private balcony. Watch the city of Newcastle upon Tyne from the rooftops. Call today to request that upgrade 0191 300 9 222.
View Less

Guest Reviews

Rated 3.6 out of 5 by 173 reviewers.
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by poor hotel and a lack of service the food in the hotel restaurant is by far the worst I have been served with little improvement at the start of the day breakfast. once you have stayed there check your bank account to check the amount of times you have paid for your stay It can be many !! they havent got a clue! June 11, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Bad Service & Very Little Recognition of Platinum Rewards Member I have stayed several times at this hotel, usually on price, as it's cheaper being situated a little outside of Newcastle. I paid a not-so-cheap 3 figure Room Only rate this time for 3 of us in a twin double bedded room. The check in was slow and farcical. I had to wait 10 minutes whilst the 2 receptionists "sorted out" a family of 4 adults who had booked 2 rooms, but only 1 was available. The called a "Manager" who found a room for them and they sent them off to it. 30 seconds later, " you better go stop them, there's someone already occupying that room" was the statement from one of the receptionists. Thankfully, our room was available. As a Platinum Rewards Member, I was offered and accepted Bonus Points in Lieu of a free drink and headed off to our room. This was the only acknowledgement of my Member "status" by the Hotel. ( usually they offer me a room upgrade, extended checkout, free newspaper and believe it or not, Priority Express Check In". Also, Elite members do not have to pre-authorise a credit card, as it is booked and held on file on my account. We tried to order Room Service, but the phone didn't work in the room, so this was done by mobile phone and the Hotels outside line. When the food arrived we were told we couldn't charge it to the room but had to pay cash, as we hadn't pre-authorised a credit card upon check in. ( I wasn't even asked, so assumed they didn't require it) We reported this to Reception went we went down there and they apologised and said that it "wasn't their fault, being a Franchise, the office would know about the Membership Rules, but they'd authorise the room charge facility. Their Dinner had just arrived on 2 plates, so I should have known better. 15 mins later, I still had to pay cash at the bar, and when I returned from a Concert in Newcastle after Midnight, the bar was closed to Residents and no Night Porter Service in evidence or offered when I asked for drinks. Whats a Shambles of a Hotel this place has become. I will be copying this Review and submitting it to IHG as a complaint. Regular, Loyal IGH Hotel Users Beware of this hotel !!!! UPDATE: ( this review was returned to me un-posted, due to me mentioning the price in the original review. IHG have offered 10,000 points compensation with a promise that the hotel will email me "within 48 hours" to address my concerns. Guess what, 10.6.14 and still no contact from the hotel 5 days later ! ) June 10, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable, easy to access friendly hotel This is an excellent hotel, it is easy to access from the A1M, car parking is good. Even though the hotel is currently being refurbished none of the work was obtrusive in any way. All the staff were friendly June 9, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Starting to look very Good! This was the second time I had stayed in this hotel and the communial areas had changed a great deal. The hotel is undergoing modernisation and it is starting to look really good. We were put in one of the older rooms unfortunately, but the staff told me that the modernised rooms are excellent. I guess it will take time to do all the rooms. It was a shame we didn't have one of the new modern rooms as the hotel wasn't that busy. The staff were outstanding in the Restaurant and bar areas. Very friendly and nothing was too much. As we were staying for 4 nights, I think we must have encountered two different chefs as one of the nights the food was not up to standard and it showed. I had the worst Chicken Caesar salad I had ever tasted. The other three nights, the food was really good. My only complaint was the portion size. The servings were massive. So much food wasted. I would have gone for quality over quantity! The pool, sauna and steam room were nice, maybe a little dated. But it didn't spoil the enjoyment! Overall a really enjoyable stay and lots to see and do in the local area!! June 5, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Large room and excellent staff. Delighted with the large room with two double beds so much more accommodating than a put-u-up or sofabed. Staff were helpful and informed. Public transport, using the bus, into the city centre was effortless though the return service ceases rather early. Taxi from the city centre to the hotel was £16, exactly as described by the hotel staff, quite reasonable, if dividied between 3 or 4 guests. Breakfast was very good with a variety of cereals and fresh fruit together with the usual "full English," hot fare. I would have preferred some table service perhaps for the hot beverages rather than a total diy arrangement. June 5, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Enjoyable visit We enjoyed our visit. The pool was a great hit with our granddaughter as was the chocolate fudge cake. We were very warm the first night but the thick duvet was replaced with a thinner one when requested. June 4, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great service but poor sleep Good location to stop over when going to Hull and leaving late from Edinburgh. Petrol station near by. Room too warm and climate control too noisy so I had not the best night sleep. Opening the window could have been a better option. I can compliment the staff and the breakfast was good. June 3, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by It's all about having the right sized bed! It's a great hotel, with great service and great food - but only if you choose a room that has twin beds! June 3, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Nice quiet hotel We recently stayed for a two night break. Lovely quiet hotel. Downstairs Reception area and bar very modern and nice unfortunately the rooms were a little bit old fashioned and need refurbishing to a modern standard. But we all slept really well and would definitely stay again. May 30, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Beef up the Breakie For the purpose of my review bias, for the last 12 years I have stayed approximately 100 nights a year in the Intercontinental / Holiday Inn Group chain. Date of stay 14th May 2014 My ongoing experience of the hotel is as follows: 1) Arrival was straightforward using the Sat Nav (TOM TOM) instructions 2) On arrival at the hotel the check in staff (Fay & Marian) were extremely pleasant and friendly. However it was noted as a Gold Priority club member I did not receive a complimentary upgrade (which since Holiday Inn changed their membership programme this year is sadly becoming the norm). I did receive access to the wifi and choice of a 300 priority points voucher or alternatively if you wish you may choose the option of a free drink at the bar instead. 3) All area’s including the bedrooms were always well kept, tidy and clean. It was also noted as a loyal priority member I did not receive my complimentary bottle of water and biscuit / snack in my room. 4) My room (room 178) was clean and well maintained ( See the photos) however it seemed to be styled in the mid 80’s with only a few modern recent alterations which keep it inline with the rest of the brand. As the hotel is one of the older style hotels it is closer to its American cousins in that, the rooms are much larger than normal in this case 2 king beds and plenty of room 5) There is a large free car park which surrounds the hotel 6) Breakfast is an additional fee (£14.95 on the day or £10 booked in advance or voucher purchased at check in) The quality of the breakfast was average for a Holiday Inn ; catering from the full English option to fresh fruit salad and yoghurts, sliced cold cuts and cheese & pastries. It was noted that frozen sliced bread was used instead of fresh un-sliced artisan bread served elsewhere in the chain and that Tea and coffee are served from Holiday Inn Express style vending machine rather than freshly brewed and served. 8) I did not use the evening meal service. 9) I used the gym facilities, which were clean, well maintained and air-conditioned but smaller than other Holiday Inns (I did not use the pool or the spa) 10) Location, The hotel is located just off the A1 which was ideally located for my visit but not for visiting the City center. 11) Check out, was straight forward and hassle free (I was served by Nicola) In summary the hotel scores 7/10 for an average to good Holiday Inn that just needs some better quality breakfast ingredients to match others in the brand. May 19, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Not the best holiday inn experience As a gold card rewards club member and having stayed in a number of IHG Hotels over a number of years you come to expect a certain level of service. Unfortunately this hotel does not come close to others I have stayed in recently. No recognition of reward club membership, no newspapers for guests unless you specifically order one the day before, food quite expensive and poor quality, no offer of bonus points or free WIFI. Pretty disappointing I'm afraid. April 28, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Overall Experience I recently stayed at Holiday Inn New Castle to compete in a World Championship. I read some old reviews that were not very good and going there was concerned. BUT, I don't know what they were talking about. The staff was friendly and VERY helpful. The service in the restaurant and bar were excellent. The room was clean and comfortable, and they were able to accommodate the demands on 300 weightlifters. I would recommend this facility to my friends and family. If there was only one small downside it did not have an elevator, but only 2 floors, so a non issue. April 27, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by decent hotel location is about 8 miles from Newcastle center. No public transportation so you need a car. Rooms are like US hotels. Even have a bathtub. Price is reasonable for UK April 24, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Poor Experience Very disappointed with my recent stay at the hotel. No 500 points vouchers available upon check-in for being a Platinum member and apparanetly no upgrades available either even although I could go online and book one. Got checked in to a room which was already occupied, the poor guy in the room got the shock of his life when I walked in, particularly as he was half naked at the time. Was subsequently checked in to one of the new rooms currently being refurbished only to be told there were no keys available for guests and that every time I wanted to get into my room I would need a member of staff with me... I can appreciate some disruption during a refurb but surely a room key for the guests shouldnt be too difficult? New heating installed but it is very noisy.. Not sure it is the best system available and I am sure other guests will complain. Went for dinner on the first night with two collegaues and we had to wait 45 minutes for a table which we didnt mind as the restaurant was busy but then to wait an hour for a starter and a further 30 mins for our main was just not acceptable. On checking out I requested my 1000 bonus points for eating in the restaurant (local offer at hotel) and was advised that they still had none available and they would be posted out.... Still waiting on my 1500 bonus points... Overall a very disappointing stay. I stay in IHG hotels all over the world and have never once felt the need to complain. I am hoping it was a one off as I am working locally for a period of months so will try again before moving elsewhere. April 22, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Friendly staff and great facilities The staff went out of their way to make our stay a great one. The food was excellent and the kids loved relaxing in the pool....will definitely be back April 4, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by I Like It Here Easy parking. The staff make my visit very welcoming. Fay, Marian, Nicola and their colleagues on Reception are always most cheerful and soon have my room card ready to use. The bar and restaurant staff are pleasant and soon serve the drinks and nice meals. The rooms are good and allow a peaceful and comfortable nights sleep. The ladies who make up the rooms greet you with a friendly 'hello' and do a great job of re-preparing the rooms after you've stayed. A nice breakfast. All I've experienced would encourage me to stay again and again as I'm often in the area. Thanks April 3, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by No hot water Cold showers and none of the staff were that bothered March 29, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great nights sleep fab bed Would recommend this hotel we had a really comfortable and enjoyable stay Thank you March 28, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great hotel and srevice. Stayed here Friday 21- Sunday 23 March. After checking in, we were directed to our room, which was very clean and inviting. Bed very comfortable, Everything we needed was there. Had evening meal which was good value for money, and breakfast was excellent. Staff very helpful and friendly. Would not hesitate to stay here again, and would recommend it to friends and family. March 27, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by A really great stay Stayed for one night and the hotel delivered everything I needed or wanted. Lovely clean bedroom - you can see some are being refurbished at the moment. Tasty home cooked food with a wide choice. Friendly staff. Easy check in and check out making me very happy. Well done March 14, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Enjoyable stay just an overnight stay,haven't stayed in a hotel/inn for over 30 years. I was pleasantly surprised, the staff was helpfull and pleasant, the food was execellent and the room was better than expected. If this is the norm I will certainly stay again!. February 24, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great housekeeping staff The staff on the floor we stayed on were brilliant (friendly and spontaneously helpful). They got a minor problem sorted out before we'd had chance to report it, and made efforts beyond the call of duty to make our stay comfortable. Location presumably would suit people just driving in and out. Not ideal for seeing Newcastle, though there are three buses an hour into the city, where you can also get a bus (or the metro) out to the coast for a good walk. For example, Arriva's day ticket will get you to Whitley Bay or Tynemouth, from where you can walk to the other one and get a bus back. February 24, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Average For A Holiday Inn Hotel is very average, booked because of pool & Gym however equipment very tired and in serious need of upgrade. Internet was an absolute joke every time you go to a new webpage you have to re-input your code February 23, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Poor Service - tired hotel Had to ask 4 times for an iron. Reception desk is poorly managed and they were unable to provide me with an invoice on departure - have called 3 times and still not got it although they have taken the money ! Tired hotel and poor service. i for 1 will not stay here again there are much better hotels around February 23, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Consistency so frustrating! What a frustrating experience, I had a night here only weeks ago and it was great - drink voucher, upgraded room, wifi code which is fab when your a loyal IHG guest. This time was almost a farce, checked in and nothing! I even asked the reception lady "no drink voucher this time" she obliged and gave me one - why should i have to ask? No upgraded room, even though I could book an executive room no problem so its nothing to do with "no availiblity" I just get so frustrated with the complete lack of consistency with IHG hotels, sometimes its great and other times is shocking. The system was down apparently so i could not add anything to my room, i know a coach tour was in and it must be difficult but please look after your loyal guests, we spend many thousands in your properties. Everything ws just generally shabby this time, and the double bed was VERY small. Sorry but i await the generic "sorry for your bad experience reply" February 15, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by disappointed Stayed there for 2 nights this week - checked in on Sunday night. Asked for a wake up call at the same time both days. Sadly though, no wake up call on Monday and ended up sleeping in. Rushed to breakfast after getting ready quickly only to find that cooked food had to be ordered. And, it would take 10 minutes to get food ready. Was already running late so, had no choice but to go with the minimal breakfast. Set my own wake up call the next day and again no wake up call. Upon checkout wasn't even asked how the stay was. Every Holiday Inn I have ever been to has cooked food and I am usually asked if everything was Ok with the stay! Wont be going back there in a hurry. January 31, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Even better with FREE Wi-Fi Stayed for the Burns Supper which was as great as last year. Room was very good and spotless. Refurbished bar/lounge/restaurant areas look lovely and now offer free wi-fi which is handy and appreciated. Definately stay again due to staff friendliness. January 29, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Never again at New Year! We have visited this hotel on numerous occasions and have always enjoyed our visits ... until THIS year!! Our 3 night stay over New Year was totally ruined by the appalling behaviour of a large number of guests that the hotel staff were unable to deal with! Noise and bad behaviour from adults and children kept us awake until beyond 3:00am on 2 nights. The bar area looked as though a bomb had hit it on New Year's Night and New Year's Day! Staff had to remove items of furniture so that it would not be damaged! Access to the bar area was impossible due to the large number of guests who had taken over the area, allowing children to run around the hotel causing havoc and keeping guests awake. Staff tried hard to deal with the situation, but seemed totally overwhelmed! January 5, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good for the family Although the decor of our room and bathroom was a bit tired, it was clean and comfortable , overlooking the back of the hotel allowing for a quiet nights sleep. Had to have window open at night as room too hot. Breakfast provision good but ran out of basic things such as sauce sachets and baked beans. Ordered lunch for the children on the last day in the bar area and although not busy service very slow - had to wait 40 mins before the children's meals arrived. Staff went out their way to help when approached, very friendly leading to our family having an enjoyable break! January 2, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Poor service, old building and terrible beds. After our recent stay over Christmas I must say we where very disappointed. The rooms where old and not very clean there was an old water bottle under one of the beds and evidence of a spilled drink down one of the plug sockets. The staff at the bar and reception where fine and friendly, however after ordering room service where all 3 meals were incorrect we found the bar managers attitude very poor in dealing with the complaint. He spoke over both me and my wife when we were trying to explain the problem and said as we had eaten the other meals there was nothing he could do. On the last night the toilet broke and flooded the bathroom which resulted in us having to move rooms, the room we moved to had not be cleaned properly either there was food on the floor and under the beds On leaving we reported the issues to the reception who said they would report our concerns to the hotel manager however as yet we have heard nothing. Overall we were extremely disappointed with our stay and wouldn't recommend this particular holiday Inn to anyone. January 2, 2014
<<prev2 3 4 5 ... 7 next>>
Hotel Exterior
Hotel Exterior
Select to close.
Hotel Exterior Hotel Indigo at night Welcome to Hotel Indigo Newcastle Relax on your balcony with views of Grainger Town Our Reception desk All Superior Rooms have a balcony Angel of the North 15 minutes drive from the hotel Fancy watching NUFC while here Grainger Market gave the inspiration for our bedroom design China Town is a must while here Monument is the centre of all the action Central Station is just 2 minutes away from the hotel Newcastle Assembly Rooms are located nextdoor to the hotel Excellent shopping at Eldon Square just minutes form the Hotel River Tyne just a short walk away Sports Direct Arena is just a ten minute walk from the hotel China town has amazing  art work Visit Castle Keep whilst staying at Hotel Indigo Newcastle World famous Tyne Bridge Just some of our amazing Scenery which is just a short drive away Angel Of The North at night Vist the must see Baltic A must see while visiting the North East - Tynemouth coastline Just minutes away from the hotel the Blinking Eye bridge
Select to close.
Terms & Conditions
Close
Check In
(e.g. Jul-10-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Jul-11-2014)
Check Availability
Loading