• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 877 8 INDIGO
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night reservation you will be given the option to duplicate this reservation.

(e.g. Sep-02-2014)
(e.g. Sep-03-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings Link will open in new browser window. tool or call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada).

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Downtown/City Center

  • Location: Downtown/City Center
  • Closest City: NEWCASTLE UPON TYNE
  • Distance From Hotel: 0.8MI
  • Local time zone: GMT+01:00

Check In: 3:00 PM Check Out: 12:00 PM

  • Check In: 3:00 PM
  • Check Out: 12:00 PM
  • Minimum check-in age: 18
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:8
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. English

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

Registered assistance dogs only. Please contact the hotel directly should you have any specific requirements.

Parking

Parking

  • Number of parking spaces:80
  • Car Parking Available
  • Hotel Indigo has its own private car park offering over 80 spaces on two levels. Charges will apply.
  • Daily Parking Fee ( 12.00  GBP)

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas
Wired Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas

Facility

Facility

  • Hotel renovated inFebruary 01, 2012
  • Total number of rooms:148
  • Total number of suites:2
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:127
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:36
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:148
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:8
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:4
Welcome to Our Neighbourhood at Hotel Indigo Newcastle Hotel Indigo Newcastle is situated in and inspired by Grainger Town, the heart of this historic city. Unique among Newcastle hotels, our building and interiors draw inspiration from the area’s neoclassical architecture. We love the historic 1830s beauty of our local area which is why it’s made a strong impact on the look of our rooms, lobby and lounge. Bold printed rugs and subtle room details reflect the patterns of the local
View More
Welcome to Our Neighbourhood at Hotel Indigo Newcastle Hotel Indigo Newcastle is situated in and inspired by Grainger Town, the heart of this historic city. Unique among Newcastle hotels, our building and interiors draw inspiration from the area’s neoclassical architecture. We love the historic 1830s beauty of our local area which is why it’s made a strong impact on the look of our rooms, lobby and lounge. Bold printed rugs and subtle room details reflect the patterns of the local buildings and connect the interior of our hotel to the city’s vibrant and lively streets. Locally inspired Our interiors are inspired by the neoclassical Tyneside styles you’ll see nearby, featuring classical proportions and repeating patterns. You’ll find photos and artwork depicting Tyne Bridge, Grainger Market and many of the city’s best buildings on our walls, meaning you can explore the local area before you step outside our doors! Grainger Lounge, our bar and restaurant uses bold colours, monochrome patterned floors and chic design. It takes its name and design inspiration, from Robert Grainger, the architect of our local area. Discover the neighbourhood The wonderful, Grainger Market is a stone’s throw from our boutique hotel and a good spot for coffee and people watching. And if you’ve got a head for heights, the nearby Sage Gateshead Arts Centre offers an exhilarating guided roof experience .
View Less
Features
Hotel Indigo Newcastle is located in the city centre, close to the railway station and some of the UK’s best shopping and nightlife. You can enjoy spacious bedrooms, warm service and modern facilities, including invigorating spa-inspired rain fall shower, iPod docking station and Free WiFi. Why not enjoy a delicious meal or relax with a cocktail in our Marco Pierre White Steakhouse Bar & Grill?

Guest Reviews

Rated 3.6 out of 5 by 221 reviewers.
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Very happy granddaughter Pleasant, comfortable hotel with helpful staff. Service for bar meals seemed slow, as bar tender mostly had to collect food from kitchen. The cost for wi-fi seemed outrageous. If you just want to download a prepaid e newspaper and check a few emails then it shouldn't cost a minimum of £5. Our experience was that Friday and Saturday nights were noisy because of groups returning from clubbing. The reaction of staff was good as problems arose, but the hotel needs to be a lot more proactive in ensuring that people who want to sleep can do so. Segregating clubbers would be a good start, as would extra staff to patrol. Our granddaughter loved the pool, and so did we. November 6, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Room We came to stay here on a Saturday evening for a wedding. Room and decor was lovely and very clean. Had a room near the end of the corridor on the ground floor so was fairly quiet until the young people came back from Town but didnt really spoil my nights sleep. Same cant be said for friends in the executive suite on the next floor who had to put up with 45 minutes of noise. Breakfast was nice and i would say all good value for money. Would definately recommend it to friends! November 6, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great Stay Myself and my wife stayed over for the night and had a meal in the restaurant we had the 2 dine for £30 and it was delicious soup and bread roll and the fish was the best we had ever had along with a glass of wine each great value for money, The rooms were nice and bed was very comfy we booked a spa and the treatment was excellent, Great stay over for the night. November 6, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable bed, poor customer service This would have been a good stay if the travel cot had been in our room. Arriving late I had phoned ahead to be assured that the travel cot would be up and in our room. On arrival it was NOT!! There was no cot. This was very poor on your part. A cot had to be brought, this was found to be broken. Another was brought , this was also broken!!! My children were now awake and it was getting later and later. Luckily the beds were comfortable and the children did eventually sleep but shame on you for not getting your service in line. This was a simple request November 5, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great value last minute break Hotel was easy to find and had plenty of parking. Check-in was speedy. All the staff were friendly, especially to our young daughter. Pool was warm. Had a spacious family room with 2 double beds. We ate in the snack bar and restaurant and had no complaints (though would have been nice to have the kids menu in the room so could choose in advance) Only complaint would be that the bathroom needed at bit of tlc.. regrouting and resealing. But that didn't adversely affect our stay. Would stay there again, would recommend to family+friends. November 2, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Fine for an overnight Selected due to the location and price. The property has had a make over in the past but whoever selected the "veneer finish" obviously liked it *a lot* as the knotty effect adorned all of the drawers and surfaces in the room - perhaps someone should have mentioned that a little goes along way. Why is it that a family room for more than two adults only ever has two of everything (mugs etc.) Not sure that the check in staff acknowledged my Gold IHG Membership despite being prompted, so can't judge if I received any added benefits. Recommend it only for those on a budget that want an overnight stop, that wood finish is too overpowering for any longer. October 29, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Lovely spacious & comfortable room Stayed at the hotel for a one night stay with my boyfriend. The room was clean, spacious & comfortable. For us it had what we needed for an overnight stay. The reception & bar areas were clean, bright and were welcoming. I would recommend it to others and I would definitely stay here again. October 29, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by wedding venue was at a relatives wedding here which we couldnt fault staff really good food lovely and good helpings, venue really pretty since main areas been done up so we booked our room for the night,unfortunately we didnt know there was a cut off date for discount for wedding party, paid for upgrade i was under impression we were getting twin king beds as on a website i'd been on it had showed these but found out when we got there only do1 king bed, or 2 doubles, i booked it after online chat and was booked apparently direct to the hotel not that i realised that.nor that my invoice showed 2 double beds not kings as i didnt bother to check it which was stupid of me but still would have preferred 2 doubles as per invoice. I stated i wanted twin king beds as im a very poor sleeper cos of health problems but got superking & put up sofabed, which was too low for me, paid for executive upgrade but room very poor for this level. no pad or pen, bathroom was avocado green walls there were damaged tiles in a lot of areas and holes filled in with grout and ancient soap holders fitted in the walls think they had been there since the hotel was built!! there was some mould around bath edge and bath definitely seen better days very worn. supposed to get 2 towelling robes as per website in exec pack only got one which was extremely tatty, dirty grey and worn with holes in places and smelled a bit, not what you would wear to go down to the sauna, room itself was ok s/king comfortable and housekeeping had room very very clean dont think upgrade was really worth it though and please do something about your complimentary tea and coffee very bland no taste n only 4 milk portions.Breakfast was really nice very tasty and good choice of buffet breakfast. All staff really nice just shame mix up over beds and poor bathroom stopped a better rating please get your bathrooms up to spec and really bad as expensive for wifi which is pretty bad considering im going to another hotel chain next month for less money with free wifi. told by reception that wi fi free next year shame sons wedding was this year!!!! October 23, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Poor communication Really disappointed that I used my reward points for this hotel. There was poor communication from the staff the moment we checked in. From not allowing the kids to eat free in the room to not informing us about the times of the pool area and how to enter. I like using IHG group as they have a variety of hotels however I have never been as disappointed as I was visiting Seaton Burn what was supposed to be a relaxing mid week break turned into a disappointment. October 23, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by A warm welcome despite the late hour Arrived at 11.30 at night and the bar was still open, we managed to get a basic sandwich ( white basic bread but good filling. ) Nice breakfast after a good night's sleep. Checkout was a little slow owing to a wedding party arriving to check in but another member of staff came in to deal with our checkout. Would stay there again. October 22, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 Welcoming Receptionist Arriving for a 2 night stay there was initially a problem with the reservation in the system not showing accurate Rewards Club status of Ambassador member. This was speedily resolved by the helpful reception staff. Subsequent visits to reception to order taxis or settle the account were always done in a pleasant manner. Indeed, I was often acknowledged by name - a very personal service. Indeed, after busy days working within the area it was good to return to this Holiday Inn. I will definitely stay again if in the area. October 21, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Repeat visit Once again, very helpful people, who took the time to explain things. Recognised IHG status and made to feel welcome. Recommended, even though some of the carpets on the stairwell areas could do with replacing (which did let the appearance down a bit). October 21, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Business stay The hotel is well situated to cover good parts of the area, rooms are good size and comfortable. Food service was poor our first night I was in a big party and the desert was delayed. No free wifi offered compared with express chain, was a little disappointment but stopped me accessing my work email allowing me to relax in the evening. Leisure facilities are small and I had difficulty accessing with the card I was issued with staff didn't seem to care when I returned it. October 21, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Exellent Stay Had a excellent stay at this hotel, my daughter is quite fussy when eating at a strange place but loved the breakfast here and enjoyed the comfort of the lounge at night, will stay again. October 20, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent Excellent facilities really friendly helpful staff good gym made my stay very enjoyable as it was my first time at a holiday inn!! Will definately stay again October 15, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Hotel Great service from great staff , rooms are massive and fitness/gym facilities are good. If I had to give a negative it would be the food/menu it could do with a spice up every so often or even some 'occasional specials' or maybe I've just stayed there to much this year! October 14, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Thoroughly enjoyable stay All aspects of our stay was most enjoyable from a friendly, professional check in to our upgraded room but most importantly the consistent customer care given by all staff. This hotel is situated a little further away from my business dealings than I would normally like but I will return due to this positive experience. I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel to business travellers and leisure travellers alike. October 14, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Top Class Staff Back staying once again on a work trip .Although some aspects of this hotel are a bit dated .It still provides a warm welcome and a very clean room and comfy bed to sleep in .The Staff here deserve a 5star review from the minute you arrive you are treated in a warm friendly manner. The ladies in reception ,the ladies and gents in the dining and of course the ladies and there boss who keep those rooms so clean and tidy take a bow you deserve it. Would I stay here again ??? as you guys say WAY AYE MAN .Keep up the good work see you all again soon Regards Joe October 4, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by took mum to visit sister our stay was fantastic.lovely hotel and staff, will use again and will recommend to friends October 2, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Good value and an ok stay Good value for an overnight stay and breakfast. Room was ok, plenty of parking and good choice for breakfast. Staff were friendly and efficient too. October 1, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good stop over hotel We had a comfotable and pleasant overnight here which was very good value for money. Unfortunately we had no time to make use of the amenities. September 28, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good location, pity about the noise from the A1. Room was noisy with the A1 nearby, otherwise good location and facilities. September 24, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Wi fi is the issue I travel extensively in the US and wherever I stay wifi is free - even though the room charge + any meal is £100+ in the UK, Holiday Inns still try to bilk you £5/hr for wifi access - what this will ensure is that I will no longer stay in an IHG hotel in the UK. September 21, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Convenient Location and Good Service We enjoyed our return to central Newcastle and were delighted by the new breakfast service. The room was comfortable and the location particularly convenient for all the city amenities. The only drawback is having to pay the council for parking next door. September 16, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by PEACEFUL INTERLUDE We stayed 6/7/th September in Room 90 and our room attendant is worthy of very particular mention. She was naturally helpful and assisted us mightily as we sought a critically important item we thought we had lost. She is worthy of fulsome praise as she upheld the very best traditions of "looking after the customer". Well done this lady and the Holiday Inn at Seaton Burn which although a little jaded provided us with a peaceful room which added to our weekend. September 11, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Good location for touring The hotel is situated just off the A1 and is convenient for getting out for the day to see some of the beautiful Northumberland countryside and the many sights. It has recently bee partly refurbished, with the reception areas uplifted from their previous sorry state. But there are still three televisions in the lounge/bar areas which distract from social interaction even though the sound is turned off. In particular, there is now a television in what used to be a quiet area past the bar. The rooms, refurbished only a few years ago, are now looking tired. They are, apparently, soon to be refurbished. They are currently pretty average. We have been staying at the hotel for several years, more than once each year, because of its convenient location. In that time, we have seen the breakfast improve from awful to 'not too bad'. The problem is that breakfast is a buffet, self-served from a central island of water baths to keep it warm. This does not work with eggs: the fried ones are overlooked and the scrambled ones watery. The 'juice bar' dispenses poor quality apple and orange juice only. The coffee and tea are barely drinkable. But the location has it! September 10, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Positive experience. Nothing is perfect but room and service were OK and would use again. September 9, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Worst Holiday Inn I have been in On arrival at the Holiday Inn Newcastle the building looks pretty dated and not as good as the other hotel almost next door, bit far away from Newcastle too. The reception however is well decorated, spacious and modern and the car park is barrier controlled. Check in was pretty much here is your key, room is on the first floor. I walked around a little until I saw the stairs (looks like a fire escape) and later on I gave someone else directions to the stairs as they were looking around bemused. I used the leisure centre although the sauna was broken the steamroom wasn't. The pool has probably the smallest swimming area I have ever seen in a leisure centre, didnt go in myself as there were already 2 people swimming in circles which would I am sure resulted in a collsion if I had joined in (1/2 of the pool is too shallow to swim in#. The changing rooms were a bit grubby with mould all over the grout - so bad I actually took pictures of it. My room on the first floor was unbearable due to the heat and no air conditioning, I complained to reception and was told that some of the air conditioning doesn't work and it should have been removed from the website. At this point I was ready for leaving even though I had only booked 1 night. I was given another room #room 30# on the ground floor, I moved all my things downstairs as it definetely was cooler. Both of rooms I was in were dated with stains on the walls and carpets, the bathroom in room 30 has cracked tiles, broken shower head, mould on the tiles around the bath #again I took some pictures as it was so bad). It really is the worst Holiday Inn I have ever been in, if I had booked 2 nights here there is no way I would have stayed at all and I will never stay in it again. The only positive from my experience here was the food, it took a little while, could have been warmer but it was tasty and cooked as requested. If you can I would recommend you avoid this hotel. September 9, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Large Room, Cheap Bar. But too noisy and Room could be cleaner. We booked a one night stay on a saturday as we were visiting friends nearby. The hotel was nice inside, bright and airy. Check in was swift and friendly. We had a standard double room, the bathroom appeared to be clean but on closer inspection the shower over the bath was coming away from the wall and there was mould around the seals of the taps and between tiles. The carpet in the room had a couple of bleach type stains and the carpets were faded over by the window. Room was dust free and comfortable overall though. The bed was comfortable however two of the four pillows were dirty and we didn't use them. The greatest downfall for me was at 4 am when my partner and i were woken by young adults running up and down the corridor upon returning from a night on the town. I feel if rooms are going to be let out to young groups there should be staff/security on hand to ensure the sleeping areas at least remain quiet and orderly. Would stay here again if the price remains competitive to local budget chains. September 4, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by room awful- food fantastic!!!!!!! when me my partner booked the holiday inn express we expected the room to be a lovely room as you would expect from a holiday inn however this was not the case, we had room 37 and the smell that hit you as you entered the room was disgusting very damp and heavy on the chest we had to open the window and keep it open the whole time as we had two young children with us, and the smell was very heavy on the chest , the bedding was clean but smelt of the damp and the carpet in the right hand corner of the room was rotting we really did find the room appalling and extremely dated, if we were there for a longer period we would of had to complain even now i feel annoyed about the fact we payed good money to stay in an awful smelling room. the only plus side to the whole experience was the food we went for a meal in the restaurant on the night and it was beautiful we couldn't fault it really lovely. September 1, 2013
<<prev 3 4 5 6 7 ... 9 next>>
Hotel Exterior
Hotel Exterior
Select to close.
Hotel Exterior Hotel Indigo at night Welcome to Hotel Indigo Newcastle Relax on your balcony with views of Grainger Town Our Reception desk All Superior Rooms have a balcony Angel of the North 15 minutes drive from the hotel Fancy watching NUFC while here Grainger Market gave the inspiration for our bedroom design China Town is a must while here Monument is the centre of all the action Central Station is just 2 minutes away from the hotel Newcastle Assembly Rooms are located nextdoor to the hotel Excellent shopping at Eldon Square just minutes form the Hotel River Tyne just a short walk away Sports Direct Arena is just a ten minute walk from the hotel China town has amazing  art work Visit Castle Keep whilst staying at Hotel Indigo Newcastle World famous Tyne Bridge Just some of our amazing Scenery which is just a short drive away Angel Of The North at night Vist the must see Baltic A must see while visiting the North East - Tynemouth coastline Just minutes away from the hotel the Blinking Eye bridge
Select to close.
Terms & Conditions
Earn 1000 points per night when you book a Bonus Points Package.
Close
Check In
(e.g. Sep-02-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Sep-03-2014)
Check Availability
Loading