• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 877 8 INDIGO
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night reservation you will be given the option to duplicate this reservation.

(e.g. Apr-19-2014)
(e.g. Apr-20-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings Link will open in new browser window. tool or call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada).

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Downtown/City Center

  • Location: Downtown/City Center
  • Closest City: SANTA BARBARA
  • Distance From Hotel: 0.5MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-07:00

Check In: 3:00 PM Check Out: 11:00 AM

  • Check In: 3:00 PM
  • Check Out: 11:00 AM
  • Minimum check-in age: 18
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:2
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. German
  2. English
  3. Spanish
  4. French
  5. Chinese

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

2 Pet Maximum. Pets under 55 pounds welcome. Pets must not be left alone in the room and must be on leash at all times. Pet Deposit of 40.00 USD per stay is a non refundable Pet Fee.
Pet deposit amount  40.00    per stay

Parking

Parking

  • Number of parking spaces:41
  • Car Parking Available
  • Parking lot adjacent to hotel, parking fee is $14.00 per night. Complimentary valet parking service may be available.
  • Daily Parking Fee ( 14.00  )
  • Valet parking fee  ( 14.0 )

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas
Wired Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas

Facility

Facility

  • Total number of rooms:41
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:30
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:11
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:41
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:2
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:2

New Eco Friendly Contemporary Hotel in the Heart of Santa Barbara

As Santa Barbara’s only environmentally friendly hotel, our sophisticated accommodations feature sleek yet space efficient touches with a smaller footprint. Modern conveniences merge with creativity resulting in cleverly designed wet bathrooms, a plant filled living wall, and water bottle refilling station.

Located near the Amtrak station and Stearns Wharf, the hotel is a short jaunt to beaches, cultural attractions,
View More

New Eco Friendly Contemporary Hotel in the Heart of Santa Barbara

As Santa Barbara’s only environmentally friendly hotel, our sophisticated accommodations feature sleek yet space efficient touches with a smaller footprint. Modern conveniences merge with creativity resulting in cleverly designed wet bathrooms, a plant filled living wall, and water bottle refilling station.

Located near the Amtrak station and Stearns Wharf, the hotel is a short jaunt to beaches, cultural attractions, shopping, and fine dining and is the perfect car free choice. Let our international staff recommend enjoyable outings into the nearby Funk Zone and must see city sights. Our MCA Satellite, featuring edgy thought provoking art works, and an art library allow you to immerse yourself in contemporary art from within our walls.

With free WIFI, a business center, and rentable boardroom as well as easy access to major area employers, such as the County of Santa Barbara, UCSB, Lockheed Martin, and ExxonMobil, business travelers can count on us! When the working day is done, relax on our chic rooftop lounges or your private garden patio and delight in an exquisite meal from Anchor Woodfire Kitchen. Stay with us in the heart of art at Santa Barbara’s hottest new address.

View Less
Features
Stay Car Free! The Hotel Indigo is the closest hotel to the Amtrak station.

Guest Reviews

Rated 4.3 out of 5 by 85 reviewers.
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by railroad in your room Rooms are very small. Design ok but cheaply done. construction going on outside but no bother. Railroad noise almost comical Restaurant was exceptional ate dinner and breakfast June 9, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great experience! Absolutely loved the place! I would go back again! June 3, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by small, but nice. Hotel was tiny. Very tiny. But staff was outstanding. May 14, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Great Staff, Excellent Service & Great Locale Hotel Indigo has a great location. It is near the beach and marina. It is wonderful location for art and wine enthusiasts as it is literally across the street from the Funk Zone and Urban Wine trail. It is also an easy wall to restaurants and fabulous shopping on State Street. The staff are very helpful and the service is tremendous. The rates are reasonable as well. My biggest complaint was the noise level. Between the train station and late night music, it was very difficult to get any sleep. Thank goodness they provided ear plugs with the room. May 3, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Rocky loves this hotel! My husband, myself and my border collie Rocky all enjoyed our stay at Hotel Indigo. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The room was very clean and modern and the bed was so comfortable that I slept through the train noise. My dog loved the patio and looked forward to the dog treats every time we walked through the lobby. The location was great and close to everything. We were impressed with the creatively designed shower and use of space in the small bathroom. We would stay there again. April 24, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by very modern hotel staying at hotel indigo was a really great experience!, the location is great, right on main st and next to the train station(the noise wanst an issue at all), and 2 blocks from the beach! the hotel i really modern, really colorful, 2 nice patios, the rooms (yes) they are small but they have everything, for me the room size wasn't a issue, really comfortable beds, wood floors, the shower!! wow really cool design, you have to move a wall of glass to have a shower! it was small but i kinda like it, i think it was a pretty clever design! the customer service is amazing really friendly people! the hotel looks brand new! try it! overall a great experience!! lots of stuff you can do just by walking! April 20, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Small room, but very functional I was some what hesitant to stay here because the reviews had mentioned the small rooms and the train noise factor. The room was small, but a very good use of the space and I didn't find it an issue at all. The room was clean and nicely designed. As for the noise issue, the walls are thin and I could hear a train, but it really wasn't an issue. Ear plugs were provided in the room. April 18, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by A great hotel A lovely modern hotel in a great location in Santa Barbara. we loved the fact that the hotel was obvioulsy newly refurbished and that everything was so clean and modern. Functional white bathroom suite that was small yet practical. We enjoyed the outdoor terrace and the bed was extremely comfortable. I would highly recommend this hotel. April 16, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by So Glad We Stayed We travel to Santa Barbara several times a year. We have stayed at bed and breakfast places, mom and pop hotels, and well-known chain hotels. We were very excited to see the addition of the Indigo Hotel to the State Street hotels. We visited inside shortly after they opened and decided we would stay there on another trip. When we decided on our latest trip we decided to stay at the Indigo. As we do the first time we stay somewhere, we checked on comments from other people who have stayed there. Enough of them were good or excellent ratings, so we decided to stay. We are happy we did. The hotel itself is very clean. The art work through out the hotel is great. It's fun to explore the hotel and see the work. The room is small, but for two people it was just right. We don't go to Santa Barbara to stay in the room, but since we found the wonderful patios on the second floor, we are planning to return to the Indigo just to use them. Sadly we found them as we were leaving. There are reviews talking about the bathrooms. Yes, the toilets are "in" the shower, but it's kind of interesting. You can close a glass wall and that keeps the toilet dry. Perhaps the floor in the shower area could have been sloped a little more to make sure the water stays in the shower, but I made a little wall with towels and all was fine. The hotel is right by the train station and many previous reviews mention the noise from the trains. We only heard the trains when the door to our attached patio was open. With the door closed we could not hear the train. I am the lightest sleeper in the world, and the trains did not bother me once during the night. We even kept our window open all through the night. Oh, and the attached private patio was great. Very nice to sit out there in the morning as we got ready to spend our day. We did not visit the attached restaurant, but judging by the crowd, I would say the food was good. The hotel staff was very helpful and even offered advice on where to visit while we were there. Even though we didn't need this information as we practically live there. We are very happy to be able to add this hotel to our favorite spots to stay in Santa Barbara. It's nice to have different places to stay based on the needs of our trip. April 12, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Room in a Great Location Hotel Indigos continue to meet or exceed our expectations. The one in Santa Barbara is no exception. From the moment that we checked in to the moment we checked out we were always treated in a very professional yet friendly manner. Our room was always clean and smelled fresh each day. We had the pleasure of experiencing the Anchor wood fired kitchen next door to the hotel. The food was exquisite and the service was top notch. Try the olive oil cake with coffee as a desert. We can't wait for our next trip to Santa Barbara where we will definitely be staying at the Hotel Indigo. Thank you staff for a wonderful mini-vacation. April 8, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Beautiful, but noisy We stayed for a night in March 2013 as we were driving along the west coast down to LA. The hotel is beautiful with artworks scattered around the premise. It doesn't have an elevator, so only recommend for short weekend trips when you have small luggage. The hotel is situated right beside a train track, so forget sleeping in. They even have earplugs in the amenities! Also, there is construction going on right in front of the hotel until August 2013, so double the noise until then. It is such a shame as the interior and the atmosphere were lovely with professional staff. April 8, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Early Valentine's Day trip with my girlfriend and myself My girlfriend and I both work serving jobs at restaurants and Valentine's Day(2-14-13) was a day we both had to work. I decided to schedule a weekend retreat to Santa Barbara the weekend before to view the monarch butterflies, wine taste and to have an overall relaxing vacation. Our visit to the Indigo was anything but relaxing. Upon arriving from two very different directions, on two very long car rides, we wanted to take a relaxing shower and perhaps nap before our evenings adventures. Our check-in was made awkward by the incessant staring of one of the Indigo employees directed at my girlfriend. After our check-in and arrival in our room the shower head in our bathroom lacked the water pressure to produce any sort of acceptable shower so we left for the night still smelling of our respective car rides. I asked the gentleman at the front desk about it and the maintenance guy had taken care of it by the time we got back, but informed me that it was a temporary fix and that he would need in our room again because he was 'Upgrading all the shower heads'. The shower upgrade was a smaller shower head with even less water pressure then the first broken one.(We didn't bring it up again because we really just wanted to be left alone.) The next day we were awoken extra early by the blaring of the train to the north of the building, which I understand the hotel cannot control, but it was just one more rough part of our trip. To add to the impossibility to sleep in, our room was placed right at the top of a staircase and we could hear each and every hotel guest stomping up to their rooms. I am a practical guy, I understand that there is a business to run and certain things that go wrong and are out of the staff's control(trains, loud guests) but the initial gawking of one of the workers and the bathroom blunders made this trip a nightmare. February 17, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Overrated overpriced inconvenient Amazingly small rooms with paper thin walls. Had to listen to three gay guys go at it all. Complained to staff but did no good Be ready to be rudely awken at 330 by Amtrak February 15, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great Service but Horrible Room The staff is super friendly and the service is great. However the bed was squeaking, the shower was really bad and walls are thin so we could here easily the noises from the neighbors. The water from the shower was coming out with no pressure so it was hard to shower. I hope you guys can look over these issues. Other than that we had a good experience staying at this hotel February 8, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by love indigosb perfect location/close to town/close to the ocean/harbor beautifully designed room/cool contemporary design/art very friendly/helpful staff great restaurant comfortable bed quiet February 2, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Staff Fantastic service. Frank was the best concierge ever. Helped us find the PERFECT dinner spot and ensured we were completely comfortable with our stay. See you again in Oct!!! Would not stay anywhere else in Santa Barbara. This place is fresh and clean with superb service. Location is ideal! February 2, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Loved our stay at Hotel Indigo We were in Santa Barbara to visit family and found Hotel Indigo on the internet. What a pleasant surprise. We loved the design of the lobby and room (even though a bit small). The Hotel Indigo is refreshing and a great departure from usual hotel types. It is within walking distance to the beach and many nice restaurants. Truly and enjoyable stay. January 25, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Small rooms This hotel is super cute and very beach boutique - but I was surprised by the size of the rooms. The room is just barely bigger than the queen bed and the bathroom shower was essentially the whole bathroom with a glass wall that moved out to block the toilet and a shower curtain to block the sink. It made for a bit of a shock - but was fine and made for a good story. January 2, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Beautiful Hotel but loud. The hotel design and rooms are very well decorated. Very modern and fun. The beds are super comfy and overall the room was a good size. One thing that bothered me was the amount of noise that I could here from the other rooms and the hallway. For the amount you pay per night, I would hope there was insulation of some sort. I could hear very clear conversations going on in the room next door and throughout the hall. The hotel sits near the train tracks which is convenient but a 7am train blowing its horn will wake you up!! I think the last evening train was around 9pm. I read through some of the reviews before booking and I didn't come across this issue from other previous guests. I will say that the staff is amazing! Super sweet and accomodating. Other than the noisy rooms, the hotel was good but on the pricey side. November 29, 2012
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Best bed, great staff, lovely location This was the perfect hotel: European style, super clean, super comfortable and great pricing. Loved that there was no carpet in rooms and the wet bathrooms were great. Also, the bedding was incredibly comfortable! November 26, 2012
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by CLEAN, bright and comfortable My significant other and I spent my birthday weekend in Santa Barbara. We booked a stay at the Indigo Hotel because of its proximity to the beach, Stearns Wharf, and the shops and restaurants. We were NOT disappointed. The hotel was the CLEANEST we have stayed in! We had a lovely room at the end of the hall on the first floor with a lovely small patio. Lots of light and fresh air! The room was small but well appointed and fit our needs perfectly. The bathroom and shower were small but unique in design and the hotel provided us plenty of fresh towels and Aveda bath products. Can't say enough good service either! EVERYONE was cheerful and helpful and gave many great suggestions on where to dine and places to go during our visit. I'm sorry I am not good at remembering their names but THANK YOU all for a relaxing and wonderful time in beautiful Santa Barbara! Although the Amtrak station was near the hotel, the trains didn't bother us. We slept like babies! October 27, 2012
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by LOVE IT!!! WILL BE BACK!! My husband and I visited Santa Barbara for the first time for a couple of days. We chose Hotel Indigo because we needed a pet friendly place to stay, and I liked the positive reviews. The staff was very friendly and helpful, the room was clean, and decor throughout this very well designed hotel was artistic and modern. The "foldaway" shower walls in the bathroom were the most ingenious use of a small space I have ever seen, and was very classy. Our room had a private outdoor patio, and the hotel also features plenty of lounge areas to enjoy your morning coffee or afternoon glass of wine (or whatever) - both indoors and out. Located within walking distance of everything we wanted to see and do - We will definitely call this our "home" while visiting Santa Barbara in the future. October 24, 2012
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great Experience Stayed here for a wedding. The room was a bit small, but I enjoyed my personal patio. When I first checked in I could hear the train, and was apprehensive that I would constantly be disturbed. To my delight, I don't remember hearing the train other than that first night. The staff was amazing and very accommodating. I was able to park my car for most of the weekend. Walking distance from the beach and the shopping on State St. I will definitively stay here again and recommend the hotel to my friends and family. October 22, 2012
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Fabulous Hotel This hotel was exactly what we wanted -- smart design, fresh and clean. The rooms are small but, coming from NYC, that was fine for us (!) and we did not plan to spend our vacation in the hotel anyway! The front desk staff were super friendly and knowledgeable, giving fantastic suggestions for activities and restaurants. The location is perfect -- walk out to the right and you're three blocks from the beach with nice coffee shops and bike rentals on the way; head left and you're into great shopping and dining in as many blocks. If I ever return to Santa Barbara, I will absolutely stay here and will be recommending it to anyone I know who's headed there, as well. October 15, 2012
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Surprised! The bed was great and the staff was helpful and pleasant. My issue has to do with the room assigned. This was a special trip for our 35th anniversary and reservations were made months in advance. I requested a special room....and they had rooms with patios on the ground floor, but we were given an upstairs room facing the street and train. Juggling luggage and climbing stairs without an elevator was a hassle. We were given a ground floor room the second night at our request, which was smaller and they moved our luggage. We stayed 4 nights and the location was good, however a 11x11 foot room with very little storage space is very tight. I would be specific when asking for a ground floor patio room. The restaurant wasn't opened yet. October 14, 2012
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Compact European Ikea feel, but New & Clean. Love this little gem, the location is perfect on State St, and ample parking and safe. Walking distance to the main pier, and all the great restaurants. We checked in and noticed the cotton candy fragrance throughout the lobby, complimentary iced tea, or wine tastings, modern design, and overall newness; but most importantly the staff's above and beyond service and friendliness. Usually we step into hotels with a new coat of paint & linens, but with neglected dated tiles, old carpet, and old bathroom fixtures. Although we could touch the walls from our bed, and there's just stairs to the 2nd level, and noticed some strollers were left near the front desk due to space, we felt this was a better value and had more to offer than the larger chain that was further away with a little more space with insignificant savings. They did do an impressive job of providing creative, BIG space-saving eclectic design, for a small space. Recommended for singles and couples, but may be cramped for additional family members. Oh! It's also petfriendly which is so fitting for this lovely town! October 13, 2012
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Not what we expected Although it was a cool room with interesteing design, it did not meet expectations. We are always looking to stay in places that SAY they are chemical and fragrance free because my boyfriend has allergies to scents and chemicals. We are always taking a risk and come prepared, as we chose a room with a patio. The minute we walked into the lobby my boyfriend had to leave because it was as though the hotel had poured vanilla scent everywhere. I had mentioned this to the desk, and they said yay, its a little strong...Luckily they had a back entrance and we had a room near the end, but he had to quikly run outside since they had prego wood floors that smelled like glue...he ended up having to sleep outside(we always bring sleeping bags for that reason) and we didnt spend anytime in the room, as well as leaving at 7 a.m to get away from the smell...So if you are looking of a fragrance free and chemical free hotel this isnt really it...maybe we are just too sensitive but it was a waste of money... October 10, 2012
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by great staff and awkward bathrooms Nice small hotel. friendly staff. check in was extremely easily especially with our dog. Especially appreciated doggy bag with treats and recommendations on where to eat. Great hotel for guests with dogs. Rooms were a little small, but well decorated. European bathroom (wet room) takes a little getting use to, but love the patio. Proximity to train station was negative. Can hear train at night. Overall a positive experience. Kudos to the staff. October 7, 2012
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Hip But Cramped I was staying at this property for a wedding with my girlfriend, and while we thought it was a very cool, boutique hotel, there are some things that you should be aware of... 1. The rooms are very, very small - not much room to walk around the bed. 2. The bathroom was nice, but we were told that all the showers in rooms with garden patios were handicapped-friendly, which means no shower stall. Translation: Water gets all over the floor after a shower. 3. The hotel is pet-friendly, which we found out the hard way. The night before the wedding, a dog was left by its owner in the room next door and barked until it woke us up. After about 20 minutes, I finally had to call to call the front desk to fix the situation. (Note: The staff was very attentive to this request.) However, our overall experience was generally positive. The good points are that it is clean, and the staff is friendly and helpful. We also liked the coffee station near the front desk, which was great when we sat on the garden patio in the morning. Also, the business center is open 24 hours (self-serve), but good to know for business travelers or for needing a printer. Overall, I would stay in another Hotel Indigo, but next time I'll know what to expect. October 6, 2012
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great design The design of the hotel was outstanding. Making it as an art gallery is an excellent idea. Too bad we only stayed for one night due to scheduled itinerary. September 29, 2012
<<prev 2 3 4 next>>
Conveniently located in downtown Santa Barbara near the beach.
Conveniently located in downtown Santa Barbara near the beach.
Select to close.
Conveniently located in downtown Santa Barbara near the beach. Let our international staff welcome you to Santa Barbara. Welcome to Hotel Indigo Santa Barbara. Our vertical garden is a plant filled living wall. Our plant filled living wall brings the outdoors indoors. Our front desk attendants are happy to assist. Front Desk A blend of historic architecture & modern design on State St.. Welcome to the Hotel Indigo Santa Barbara Relax in our comfortable and stylish lobby Our contemporary lobby lounge features both style and comfort. Relax in our comfortable lobby lounge View from Hotel at dusk. View from Hotel
Select to close.
Experience our neighborhood story with our guide pages.