• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 877 8 INDIGO
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night reservation you will be given the option to duplicate this reservation.

(e.g. Oct-31-2014)
(e.g. Nov-01-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings Link will open in new browser window. tool or call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada).

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Downtown/City Center

  • Location: Downtown/City Center
  • Closest City: SANTA BARBARA
  • Distance From Hotel: 0.5MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-07:00

Check In: 3:00 PM Check Out: 11:00 AM

  • Check In: 3:00 PM
  • Check Out: 11:00 AM
  • Minimum check-in age: 18
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:2
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. German
  2. English
  3. Spanish
  4. French
  5. Chinese

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

2 Pet Maximum. Pets under 55 pounds welcome. Pets must not be left alone in the room and must be on leash at all times. Pet Deposit of 40.00 USD per stay is a non refundable Pet Fee.
Pet deposit amount  40.00  USD  per stay

Parking

Parking

  • Number of parking spaces:41
  • Car Parking Available
  • Parking lot adjacent to hotel, parking fee is $14.00 per night. Complimentary valet parking service may be available.
  • Daily Parking Fee ( 14.00  USD)
  • Valet parking fee  ( 14.0 USD )

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas
Wired Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas

Facility

Facility

  • Total number of rooms:41
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:30
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:11
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:41
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:2
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:2

New Eco Friendly Contemporary Hotel in the Heart of Santa Barbara

As Santa Barbara’s only environmentally friendly hotel, our sophisticated accommodations feature sleek yet space efficient touches with a smaller footprint. Modern conveniences merge with creativity resulting in cleverly designed wet bathrooms, a plant filled living wall, and water bottle refilling station.

Located near the Amtrak station and Stearns Wharf, the hotel is a short jaunt to beaches, cultural attractions,
View More

New Eco Friendly Contemporary Hotel in the Heart of Santa Barbara

As Santa Barbara’s only environmentally friendly hotel, our sophisticated accommodations feature sleek yet space efficient touches with a smaller footprint. Modern conveniences merge with creativity resulting in cleverly designed wet bathrooms, a plant filled living wall, and water bottle refilling station.

Located near the Amtrak station and Stearns Wharf, the hotel is a short jaunt to beaches, cultural attractions, shopping, and fine dining and is the perfect car free choice. Let our international staff recommend enjoyable outings into the nearby Funk Zone and must see city sights. Our MCA Satellite, featuring edgy thought provoking art works, and an art library allow you to immerse yourself in contemporary art from within our walls.

With free Wi-Fi, a Business Center, and rentable boardroom as well as easy access to major area employers, such as the County of Santa Barbara, UCSB, Lockheed Martin, and ExxonMobil, business travelers can count on us! When the working day is done, relax on our chic rooftop lounges or your private garden patio and delight in an exquisite meal from Blue Tavern Restaurant. Stay with us in the heart of art at Santa Barbara’s hottest new address.

View Less
Features
Stay Car Free! The Hotel Indigo is the closest hotel to the Amtrak station.
Announcements
Construction of the highly anticipated Santa Barbara Children’s Museum has begun and in the lot adjacent to the hotel. We are especially happy to welcome a LEED certified Green Building neighbor
View More
Announcements
Construction of the highly anticipated Santa Barbara Children’s Museum has begun and in the lot adjacent to the hotel. We are especially happy to welcome a LEED certified Green Building neighbor who shares our environmental practices and values.
View Less

Guest Reviews

Rated 4.2 out of 5 by 178 reviewers.
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Amazing Place Above all the Staff are knowledgeable about the area and friendly. Willing to assist with restaurants, tours, shopping. Rooms are extremely comfortable. I have stayed here 3 times over the past year Each time I found the experience amazing. December 4, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Centrally located but too noisy I stayed over the weekend at this hotel. It is centrally located and right in the heart of downtown. The room I got was right next to the main road and there was too much noise from outside as well as from the room above us. I could not sleep for quite sometime because of the noise. I will consider some other place next time. December 3, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Go for the location, stay for breakfast This is a charming older building with lots of Santa Barbara charm. The location is excellent for strolling downtown and don't miss the second floor patio, great spot for your morning coffee. The complimentary breakfast was great, eggs, bacon, pancakes, plus the usual continental type items, generous in my opinion. Double bed room was suitable for our family of four although the beds were like sleeping on a trampoline, very bouncy if your partner moved you did too. The staff was mostly friendly, although at 9pm at night and 6 months pregnant I would have thought one of the young men behind the counter would have helped me with the luggage cart. The next day I noticed another couple having to unload their luggage at the curb themselves too. November 30, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Friendly Staff The staff is very friendly and personable. They are very helpful with any questions about the local area. November 20, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Front desk transferred scammer to room Hotel was of average quality. I was very concerned to receive a call one night on the room phone. The man said he was calling from the front desk. He said the computers had crashed and he needed to manually re enter our info. He then asked for my credit card number that I payed with. I told him I was not comfortable with that and I would go down to the front desk and give my info. He said there was a long wait at the front desk and we could take of it over the phone. I again declined to do so. When I went down to the front desk I talked to the manager and he informed me I had avoided a scam as nobody from the hotel had called. He also informed me he was the one who transferred the caller to our room. He said he was very busy and thought they had asked for me by name. They did not know my name just that I was a guest. Left me with a bad and unsafe feeling. November 17, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Way too Pricey We went with a group so had to stay there. They got their rooms for over $100 less than we did! This was very disappointing! When we looked at the Santa Barbara Inn, the prices were much better! Also, the parking lot is very small and they continued to move our car. We came back from a walk and our car was sitting out front and running!!!! Rooms are great and I loved the brick. The balcony outside is very nice to sit and relax with a drink. November 15, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Not a bad hotel We just had a weekend getaway and stayed in the hotel for couple nights. Overall it was not bad. Everything was pretty good except our room was located on the ground floor. we kept waking up due to the noise the passerbys and cars were making. I assume the hotel didn't have some sort of noise-cancelling windows installed. Other than that everything else was pretty good. The staff was very professional and helpful. November 14, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Hop, Skip and a Jump. I have been coming to this hotel for the past five years, and I will continue to come back, for I just love the location. It is within just a minute of state street, and only a ten minute walk to the pier. When my sister/friend come, we can shop awhile, come back to the hotel, rest awhile, and then start all over again. Our room was particularly good this year, for it seemed larger. Also, I think you have just finished painting, for everything looked particularly clean and bright. We had lots and lots of towels and light. One thing I would like to suggest is some kind of mat for inside the bath tub. I am always a little wary of getting into a tub without one of these, although I appreciate the hand hold at the side of the tub. The breakfast you offer is particularly good, seeming to get better every year,for there were plenty of choices and a wonderful young man making sure everything was kept clean and tidy. Oh! I just hate the plastic cards that open the doors. Ours never seemed to work, and we had to have help several times. Overall, however, the experience was just as good as we have been used to. Keep up the good work. November 11, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable bed Any room on the street side is to noisy, the older style windows do not help much with the noise. Could not close the drapes, a very bright morning. November 7, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Crowded parking and to much street light shining in When we got to the hotel there was no parking in the parking lot, which we paid to park in. After telling the clerk, he ask us to leave the keys and he would valet the car to another lot.So we left the keys and went to our room where the street light was very bright and the thin, white curtains kept very little light out. In the morning we injoyed a good breakfast, then we ask for our car and we were handed our keys and told the car was parked on the street.I feel we should not have been charged to park on public parking. November 3, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 Girls weekend Holiday Inn Express location was perfect. Close enough to State Street but far enough not to hear bar noise at night. Also walking distance from many winery tasting room. Rooms are comfortable, clean, and quiet. Bikes were available to borrow. Perfect!! October 24, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Very Kind and helpful staff Hotel's staff has been very warmly kind and helpful. the hotel is comfortable even if some renewal (especially in bathroom furniture) and an increased choice of food at breakfast would improve it. October 16, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Parking You are charged $12 every night for parking. Absurd. Then to top it off the lots are full and you can't park or even get your car out because the valet cars block your car. Not even platinum members get free parking. October 15, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Stay This is really a great place to stay. Half block from lower State Street and tons of great restaurants, so everything is an easy walk. They also have free bicycles, as well as, wine and cheese a couple nights a week, wonderful breakfast, wi-fi, computers, printer. Nice, clean room with super comfortable bed. The staff was lovely and most accommodating. It's also 1/2 block from Enterprise car rental. I'll definitely stay there again. Great value. October 13, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by It's the staff, baby! I have stayed all over the world and across the range of price categories but rarely have I had a staff so attentive and helpful. as at the Holiday Inn Express Santa Barbara. Emmanuel, Amy and Cesar were loaded with suggestions and advice, all useful. Kind and generous, they extended themselves beyond the norm. HIE SB is located in the old Hotel Virginia. It has been updated but still lacks some of the modern amenities of more expensive properties. That said, breakfast and the warmth of the room compensate3d. Located just off State Street, SB's main drag, in range of many restaurants and sights. SB can be expensive. The HIE SB is not. Your stay is well justified. October 13, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Need to pay attention on housekeeping. Bedding sheets, blanket and pillow case were not change. It smell nasty sweats. There' only one shampoo and conditioner to use for a double occupancy. Had to call request additional. The room smells like a laboratory. Good side, the staff were friendly. Breakfast were excellent. October 10, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Overall stay Generally, hotel provides good location and good value. While in generally good condition, room had three items for operator to focus on: 1. Torn "blackout" drapes. 2. Torn shower curtain 3. TV only had remote for cable box. That remote would not control TV screen size. While nice TV, picture only showed at a size consuming half of sceen. October 9, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Historic Samta Barbara Great remake of a nearly 100 year old hotel. QUIET and the enforce it. Too bad there's a parking charge but I imagine land is expensive. I do hope the tour bus that parked in front overnight paid some type of fee. The walk to the restuarant at the end of the pier created a fine appetite. Located in the heart of the downtown district. October 7, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Pricey for What You Get For a one-night stay, we paid luxury hotel rates (even for Santa Barbara) and were rewarded with sub-par care. We had to ask for additional toilet paper upon arriving -- and had to wait for its delivery. Also had to ask for wash cloths - and waited about 30 minutes for their delivery. The staff was bright and courteous, but for luxury hotel rates, we believe we got low-end motel service. Sorry. September 26, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great location and very nice rooms We really enjoyed our one night stay at this location. Have always liked Holiday Inn Express hotels. Room lovely and hotel within walking distance of Amtrak station and Stearns Wharf where we had dinner. Breakfast very good, too. September 25, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Fantastic We had a great stay - beautiful old building and great location. The staff was friendly and I would really recommend this place. September 24, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Nice hotel, but.... This is a nice hotel. Rooms are a bit small, but have everything one needs. It's located very near State Street, which is nice. But it didn't thrill me. Firstly their WiFi was poor. My phone got faster internet on 3G. I hated having to pay for parking. I know many of the hotels in downtown Santa Barbara do this, but it's still sleazy and just a way to get more money. Breakfast was standard Holiday Inn Express faire. September 21, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Nice Location - Good stay in SB Was here with the wife and son for a little work and play. The hotel was in a great location in downtown SB. Very close to shops, restaurants and State St. The staff was very helpful and inviting. Parking is a bit tight (but understandable since real estate is hard to come by in that area). wifi in the room was good, but when i had to use the "business center", i was surprise to find that it was just a desktop located in the hallway on the 2nd floor. There was no separate room or privacy for it. I did a few hours of work on there, but was constantly being interrupted and disturbed by passer-bys to and from their rooms. i finally gave up. It would have been nice to have the computer or "business center" in it's own private area. Other than that, i would gladly come back here again. Great price, staff and location. September 20, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great staff! Although the rooms are compact, the staff and location more than make up for it. Walking distance to all of downtown Santa Barbara and a staff that certainly goes the extra mile for you! September 15, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great service and location This hotel was the perfect location for a girls get away. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The rooms were clean, attractive and roomy. September 9, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Clean rooms & friendly staff We had 2 double beds instead of the queen beds. Nevertheless, our room is clean. The staff are friendly especially those with us at breakfast. they're so helpful. I also prefer the waffle maker that they used to have than the one they have now. The pancake came out in different shape and had a rubbery texture. September 6, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great Staff, great service The staff at this hotel was attentive, helpful and kind. I've been to many 5 star resorts that could learn from the staff at this small Holiday Inn Express. Location is also excellent. Walking distance to both city center restaurants and cafes and beachfront. Parking was hassle free and at a reasonable cost. The only concern that I have is that the mattresses were old and worn. The hotel really needs to invest in some new mattresses and bedding. September 4, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Above Average HIE We spent 1 night here Aug 28. I liked everything about the hotel, except one thing. The staff was excellent. We were given one of the better rooms, which I expect as a Platinum member. It is relatively expensive for an HIE. Breakfast included bacon, which was great, they had bicycles available for free. We were just a few steps from State Street, but a fairly long walk to the beach. They had a drinks reception on Wed night, free wine. The bath was on the small side, but not an issue at all. The only issue was the inconsiderate people in the room next to us, who were talking & crying all night. While not the fault of the hotel staff, it is part of what you get with an older hotel. Bring your earplugs and use them. September 1, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by All great except I had to wait for more than an hour to get my car in the morning First of all, we had a nice and comfy room and all of us enjoyed a good night sleep. It lacked swimming pool or hot tub but we are offered free vouchers to local swimming pools and the ocean is so close so that did not matter much. Free internet WiFi is also very convenient. This is close enough to walk to most of the interesting places, and the $12 Valet Parking would also have been worth the money if I had not had to wait for more than an hour to get my car, because some newly weds parked their car illegally and blocked my car the night before, which I would totally understand. The (temporary or newly hired?) parking staff failed to check his parking lot situation and make corrective actions to address this potential problem until it is too late. Luckily, the two guys helping getting my car was able to find the key to the car parked next to mine and able to move it so my car can be retrieved. We will definitely take on the extra free night offered as a gesture to our understanding and corporation to the hotel staff while working out a solution to the parking issue. Thanks for being our choice of place to stay with the service and quality we can count on. August 28, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Noise Issues I have stayed here before and dealt with the noise of an older hotel and it was not a big deal. This last visit was horrible due to the partying and door to door running at 2AM. I felt like the entire 3rd floor was a dormatory on a Saturday night. Calling the front desk did not help nor did I hear any enforcement. Great location, but not sure I can stay here in the future. August 28, 2013
<<prev 3 4 5 6 7 next>>
A blend of historic architecture & modern design on State St..
A blend of historic architecture & modern design on State St..
Select to close.
A blend of historic architecture & modern design on State St.. View from Hotel of the mountains and downtown. View from Hotel at dusk. The hotel features Blue Tavern restaurant and MCASB exhibitions. Let our international staff welcome you to Santa Barbara. Welcome to the Hotel Indigo Santa Barbara. Conveniently located in downtown Santa Barbara near the beach. Our contemporary lobby features a signature Hotel Indigo mural Relax in our comfortable and stylish lobby Our vertical garden is a plant filled living wall. We are a welcoming home away from home. Our front desk attendants are happy to assist. Relax in our comfortable lobby lounge Welcome to Hotel Indigo Santa Barbara. Welcome to Hotel Indigo Santa Barbara. Our contemporary lobby lounge features both style and comfort.
Select to close.
Terms & Conditions
If you are not already a member, join now.
Stay for Less
Close
Check In
(e.g. Oct-31-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Nov-01-2014)
Check Availability
Loading