Skip Navigation
  • English    English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • Sign In
  • 1 888 IC HOTELS
  • Book online or call:
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
  • 1 888 IC HOTELS
  • Book online or call:
 

Abu Dhabi

Rated 4.5 out of 5 by 183 reviewers.
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Well run and class hotel This is an old favourite of mine - very well managed with knowledgeable and caring staff. It has the sort of smooth efficiency with a personal touch that some of the newer 'palaces' just can't get. The rooms are getting a bit tired though, and the Aquarius bar by the lovely big pool needs attention, not least to void it of the flies and birds that were all too resident there. Good club lounge with nice pre-dinner drinks and canapes. All in all, a nice hotel that feels like home when I'm there. 29 March 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Attention to the details: not as expected Dear Intercontinental I've spent a long weekend in your hotel in AbuDhabi. I must admit that after the first impression, which was quite good, spending three nights in your resort gave me the possibility to discover that it was not all shining gold... Bathroom: taking a shower I almost injured myself as the shower hanger was nor properly fixed. Towels: despite the reservation, done for two persons, all the towels were provided only for one person. Ambassador: all the "small" advantages normally provided to Gold Ambassador (fresh Fruit, water) were not provided. Direct question: why should I spend any money in enrolling if I never get the promised benefit in return? Fortunately our staff was really cute and professional. Regards A.Caletti 25 March 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by good stay, ruined by poor communication We stayed, as did many others, for the Abu Dhabi International Triathlon. We had two rooms, for two families, each with one competitor. A friendly welcome, great room, great views, lovely pool (but WAY too much chlorine) great pool-side staff etc. Good choice of restaurants. Can't fault it. However, on checking in, we, and many others, requested an out of hours breakfast at around 5.30am. The checkin staff and duty manager both confirmed that cereals and croissants and coffee would be available in the 24hr piano bar. Well, they failed to pass on this message to the piano bar! At 5.30am? nothing. One harrassed member of staff making coffee. He couldn't get croissants, he couldn't get cereals. We Eventually got too small, stale croissants after 6.00am, when we really should have been leaving the hotel. This is not the best start to a 5+ hour triathlon! We had to pick something up in McDonalds instead (also not a brilliant start to the day!) Being so close to the course, and having so many competitors staying there, an early buffet would be brilliant. Failing that, talking to the staff is not a bad place to start! 08 March 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by A Home from Home The hotel and staff really make your stay a memorable one, having travelled extensively this is one of the best hotels that we have came across. Nothing is too much trouble for the Management and Staff, we first became aware of the hotel during a short stay in 2008, since then we travel to the hotel almost every month and now consider it a 'Home from Home'. The facilities are incredible with what I would say are some of the finest restaurants in Abu Dhabi coupled with a fantastic swimming pool. The rooms are immaculate, bright and the beds and pillows are to die for! You will not be dissapointed in the Intercontinental Hotel, Abu Dhabi for your leisure or business stay. 02 March 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent room and very friendly and helpful staff Stayed for two nights on my way to Sydney from Manchester. My first visit to Abu Dhabi and I can recommend this hotel on all counts. 11 February 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent hotel, and superb Club lounge This was an excellent hotel for our leisurely 8-night stay. The room was nice and well furnished. The bathroom, with its bathtub, shower cabinet and separate toilet proved very practical. The WiFi coverage shortcomings were quickly corrected with an in-room WiFi base station. The 3rd floor pool area proved welcoming, particularly with its nice pool. The pool and bar staff were of somewhat uneven service talent. The health club was very well equipped with the latest 'tortures'. The beach, while under construction, was enjoyable, and can be expected to be truly special, once completed. While not too distant, the golf cart rides to/from arranged by the Club lounge were very helpful and much appreciated by my bad knee. Deserve to be 'regularized'. The Club InterContinental lounge was superb. Kate and her team and crew created the memorable ambiance, and provided a uniquely perfected service approach and customer orientation. The breakfast there, and the afternoon tea, and the evening appetizers and drinks were sumptuous, and courteously served with maximally personal attention. The bookable massage at the Club was very practical. The Club experience and the Club staff really created the 'home away from home' experience and welcome for us. Out of the numerous restaurants, we sampled and enjoyed both the Yacht Club (sushi) and Boccaccio (tuna steak). 06 February 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by A wonderfull experience of Abu Dhabi We really enjoyed our visit to Abu Dhabi and the Intercontinental Hotel.. As fully paid up members of the proletariat we treat people as we like to be treated and we found the whole experience at the hotel to be excellent. The staff were pleasant and helpfull. We would certainly like to return to the Intercontinental next time we visit Abu Dhabi. There may have been some building works taking place but these did not impact upon our visit or enjoyment of the Hotel 25 January 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Lovely all round experience! Lovely comfortable and most welcoming...we visited other hotels for lunch and dinner...even the most opulent ones were not as 'homely' and seemed sterile. All staff were a delight, service with a smile at all times! Always made the effort to go the extra mile to find out something you wanted to know. Pool area was great and staff very sweet. Good solid comfortable sun beds! Pool temperature was perfect! Great breakfast..everything u could ask for and more! And staff were lovely there too! All in all, a great stay with short distances to the malls and other attractions. Loved it! :) 25 January 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great business floor The breakfast on the business floor was A1. Lots of choices. Happy hour was very comfortable with wonderful service. I liked the high ceilings, gave a feeling of openness. 24 January 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Mr Enjoyed my stay in inter abu dhabi I will come back again and recommend it to others 24 January 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Yaseen this property is one of the greatest place within Intercontinental properities, it is all about servieces, they will let you feel like you own the place (better than home). I recomend this hotel. 22 January 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Not what it was Have stayed many times at this hotel 5 times this year alone, but feel that there is now a considerable decline taking place at this hotel, even though the hotels owners are investing millions and the staff are as excellent and helpful as ever, but this year has seen a complete new management team put in place and in my opinion, they have taken the hotel backwards, I would be hard pushed to name one area that's improved. I appreciate this hotel does now have rather more competition and maybe the policy is just sell the rooms, but I would have hoped certain standards were kept! So overall would I stay again, probably no, certainly not under the current senior management. There are much better places to stay now in Abu Dhabi which is shocking the speed of which an establishment can deteriorate because 18 months ago I would have said, although hotel is a bit dated the way it was run made up for everything it was lacking but sadly this is no longer the case in my opinion. 07 January 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Room is old and service too slow! I have to say of all the intercontinatal I have stayed so far, this one is among the bottom, hotel location is far from downtown, but Abu Dhabi is not that big and got a car so that was ok. But hotel and rooms look really old, I was later told by a local friend this is the first five star hotel in Abu Dhabi years ago, guess never renovated after that. The service is very slow I have to say, we asked three or more times only for matches (my husband smokes and we were in smoking room), everytime took over 15mins for staff to come. When checking out, we asked for someone to come help with the luggage, after 15 mins or morw no one showed up, and we took all four suitcases down ourselves, and when I told the staff upon check out about all the delays, all she said was, we are very sorry, we will make sure this wont happen again. Exactly what my husband told me what they would say if I complain, and yes, I can make sure this wont happen again because this hotel is off my list for Abu Dhabi for sure! And we didn't forget to tip everytime, guess they don't deserve at all. 16 December 2012
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent hotel We enjoyed our stay and the staff were excellent, ensuring that our stay was as comfortable as possible. Also the friendliness of the staff was a particularly nice feature. Would stay here again in the future. J.K.& C. Borrill 03 December 2012
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Ideal Business venue Great service and friendly staff, many food and beverage variety and very tasty . 26 November 2012
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great managment Great hotel and great managment !!! I would love to recommend to my friends 17 November 2012
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Iconic Abu Dhabi hotel, but showing its age The Intercontinental hotel is one of the Abu Dhabi iconic hotels. It's one of the first modern hotel developments in the city, and its elevated position at one end of the island dominates the landscape. The views from the rooms - especially those on higher floors - are terrific, in all directions. The "ocean view" rooms are more expensive, but for my money the view on the city side is more interesting, and there's plenty of ocean to view on that side too. However, there is no escaping the fact that this is a 1970's complex, despite the fact that it's obviously undergone multiple renovations. The layout of the hotel is quirky and complicated, the fittings are outdated, and some of the more permanent fixtures still have a very much 1970's feel about them. That might have been fine in the 1970's but it's outdated now. When I lived in Abu Dhabi, I'd visited the hotel on many occasions to dine at the various restaurants, but I'd never stayed here. So I was curious to see how the property was as a hotel for my first business trip staying at the hotel. To sum up: Very good service, and a clear effort to make the hotel a good experience by all the staff. But the rooms might disappoint and they are dated. The Club Lounge is very well run and provides a very good experience. I paid a premium price as I was staying over the F1 weekend and so cannot say it was good value - perhaps the normal rates would make it a much more attractive proposition. The guest room floors have rather claustrophobic corridors with low ceilings and can be quite dark so you tend to navigate along them from one pool of light to the next, over grey/green carpet that looks like it should have been replaced a long time ago. Not a good start on your way to your room! I ended up on the Club floor, so I had expectations of something at least a little bit special. But the room was on the small side with a faint background of stale air about it - and from the pictures I saw, looked essentially the same as the normal rooms. The large panoramic windows (with a terrific view on the 19th floor) were obviously openable when the hotel was first built. Now they have been blocked for safety reasons (which makes good sense; having a large open window on the 19th floor seems just a little risky!). The windows have been closed, but you can still hear the sound of the traffic and wind noise seeping past the seals. I also had the misfortune to have a room with a connecting door to the adjacent room, through which I could hear every detail of the young children crying and parents shouting at them on the other side. Soundproofing is obviously not what it should be. The room lighting is a bit on the dark side. The bathroom is smallish, with a shower which is an obvious after-thought. The shower door leaked like a sieve, leaving pools of water on the floor outside after each shower. The plumbing system had more control over the water temperature than I did, and the shower was alternately warm and then much too hot. The fluffy bathmat looked like it was a leftover from the original 1970's design of the hotel, and was not improved by the soaking from the shower. There was also a (small) bath and a good-sized separate area with toilet and bidet. The general bathroom lighting was good, except for the area over the basin which was too dark. An illuminated make-up mirror was a nice touch. There were plenty of nice toiletries, and the towels were very large and pleasant to use. The telephone on the desk had an "instant service" button, which when used resulted only in a "not connected" signal (the phone by the bed did work however). The desk had a chair which was too low and since it had no wheels was very difficult to move, making working at the desk an uncomfortable experience. I know because I spent quite a bit of time there. The television was connected to a central multi-channel satellite receiver and hotel information display. That worked acceptably enough, but the picture quality was atrocious considering what is possible nowadays. Over-saturated colours, grainy and noisy images and poor resolution. This could definitely be improved. The bed was large and very comfortable, with nice fresh linens and plenty of pillows - with a pillow "menu" for those with special requirements. I found other little things (each one by itself no big deal) sort of added up to make the room experience disappointing. An example of this was the light in the wardrobe, which is supposed to go on when the door's opened, and then off when the door's closed. Well, it came on alright, but in fact never went off, so it acted like a night-light. Bad luck if you have trouble sleeping with a light on (which fortunately I don't). Another example was the air-conditioning. Although it allowed you to set the temperature as you'd expect, the control wasn't very tight, so the room temperature was constantly going up and down by a degree or two. And it blew right over the desk area, so if you spend a lot of time there (as I did) you're constantly getting a jet of alternating chilled and warm air blowing on you. The toilet paper is unbelievably thin and scratchy - really cheap and nasty and out of place in a hotel like this. The bedside clock and light control unit was showing the wrong time, with no way to change it. I didn't discover that until I work up early one morning while it was still dark (just as well I didn't need the alarm) with the clock showing it was half-past midnight. It was only when I heard the morning prayer calls that I realised that the time was wrong, and I had not in fact woken up in the middle of the night! I must say that when I mentioned some of these things in response to a general query from the Club lounge manager to check if everything was OK, by the time I got back to my room the telephone had been fixed and the bedside clock was showing the right time. You can't fault that for a quick reaction! The Club lounge provided a very good level of amenities and had a continuous service of food and drinks throughout the day, including free pre-dinner alcoholic drinks served with an impressive variety of canapés. Breakfast was also served there and was extremely complete, especially considering it's not a fully-fledged restaurant. The Club lounge also has wonderful views in many directions, and even has an outside balcony which is a nice touch. The Club lounge makes the Club floor worth the extra (the rooms certainly don't). As for the restaurants, there are at least six in the property so there's plenty of choice. I was however disappointed to find the Italian restaurant I had known before as a fine-dining experience degraded into a "family-friendly" restaurant, of which the most obvious indication was several screaming kids running around, totally uncontrolled by their selfish parents. The Belgian café serves pork dishes which is a rarity in Abu Dhabi. The Brazilian restaurant is an excellent way to satisfy your urges for a lot of meat, and the seafood restaurant by the marina is worth a visit if you like fish and seafood. The hotel has a marina and a private beach area, which is small and currently undergoing renovation, so it's not a particularly pleasant place at the moment. Finding your way to the seafood restaurant, located in the beach area, involves negotiating a construction site. That's a temporary inconvenience of course. The hotel swimming pool is reasonably large for a decent swim, although the general seating around it is fairly small and can get crowded. There's an enormous health and fitness club (a bit out of the way) which has an impressive array of machines and weight training accessories, as well as a spa and sauna area. This is probably not a hotel suited for the holiday traveller as it's located at one end of the Abu Dhabi island (although that puts it near the Marina Mall shopping complex and Emirates Palace hotel - itself worth a visit). The hotel has a business-like atmosphere, rather than a holiday feeling. If you're staying for business it may well be a suitable place, depending on where your business is, and how the room rates compare with other (newer) properties 14 November 2012
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable bed and poor service After arriving at 5pm and not being able to access our room until 8pm (after repeated requests) the mood amongst us had shifted significantly. We were accepting and happily waited in the (smokey) lobby (with our one complimentary drink) for the first hour but 3 hours later we were extremely unhappy and on edge. We were not given any information regarding our room, location, restaurants, breakfast location and timings etc. to quote Hannes at check in "this was the worst check in he'd ever experienced" . We wholeheartedly agree. We arrived at breakfast the following morning at 10:30 only to discover it had already closed. Ouch. We were offered a Late check out that day however we thought it best to cut our losses and go somewhere where the service was as you would expect at a 5 star hotel. I would not recommend this hotel. 06 November 2012
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Looking forward to changes and improvements... Having lived at the hotel for almost a month in the summer of 2012, it was a pleasure to be back and see the warm and friendly faces of the staff. The hotel was very busy over the Eid weekend, but is not well designed for a full house. That is exacerbated by the on-going construction of pools 2 and 3 and the beach. The breakfast room needs to be completely re-designed with consideration to people who do not want to be surrounded by large numbers of children at breakfast. It feels like a busy train station. A five star hotel should provide separate spaces for families with young children and guests who choose to travel without children. Those problems over-flow to the over-crowded pool and beach which are grossly under-staffed. The beach chairs were packed, but no one was available to take orders. After waiting at the bar for 10 minutes for water, the charge for a bottle of water at the beach did not even make it onto my bill - even after insisting it had been purchased. SIgnificant efforts are being made by management to improve these issues - but they remain potential obstacles to retaining that 5th star..... 03 November 2012
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Nice stay Good hotel, Reception staff has to be more efficient giving the full information and facilities of the hotel at the check-in. The baby coat was not in a good shape ! Difficult to find an available space at the swiming pool area. Thank you 03 November 2012
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Wonderful hotel, great location First time to Abu Dhabi. Wonderful staff, especially the very knowledgeable and helpful concierge who set us up for a great day at the Grand Mosque followed by a dune bashing trip. Bought club floor package that was great value. Would definitely return, and recommend to friends. 02 November 2012
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Guest service. Everyone in the club lounge is remarkable. The service was exceptional and they make me feel important every time I stay at the intercon. 17 October 2012
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent Service We have experienced one of the highest service levels ever. The staff is doing their best to make the stay as convenient as possible and an unforgettable moment. 16 October 2012
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by excelente decision la ubicación, habitación, salones y personal excepcionales 06 October 2012
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by doktor all ок. special gratitude to the administrator of reception Gulgan. poor job of one driver of shuttle - bus(Indian or Pakistani ) he 2 times did not take away from a shop-mall 05 October 2012
<<prev 3 4 5 6 7
Abu Dhabi
  • King Abdullah Bin Abdul Aziz
  • Abu Dhabi
  • United Arab Emirates
  • Front Desk +971-2-6666888

  • Driving Directions
  • Transportation
  • Parking
   

Languages spoken by staff

Arabic, German, Greek, English, Spanish, French, Hindi, Russian, Tagalog, Chinese

Pet Policy

Pets are not allowed on the premises of the hotel.
  • Local Time

    4:37 PM
    • CHECK-IN

      2:00 PM
    • CHECK-OUT

      12:00 PM Late Check out Available
    • Evening Reception Desk Open

    Currency

    • UAE Dirham د.إ.‏ (AED)

    Accessibility

    • 4 Room(s) with Accessibility Standards
    • Parking