Skip Navigation
  • English    English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • Sign In
  • 1 888 IC HOTELS
  • Book online or call:
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
  • 1 888 IC HOTELS
  • Book online or call:
 

Athenaeum Athens

Rated 4.4 out of 5 by 129 reviewers.
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable bed and excellent breakfast The bed was very comfortable, the size was excellent with nice mattress and excellent pillows. Breakfast was awesome the spread was excellent one could find whatever one could think of.Even the ambience was very nice. 12 July 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Athens Intecontinental Excellent facility ! Great service quality. The location is a very good on with access to taxi, local public transportation. Fantastic terrace - top floor - bar lounge with panoramic view of Athens landmark - Akropolis- and other sights. 10 July 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 Relaxed Elegance and a comfortable bed My wife and I traveled to Athens for the International Convention of Jehovah's Witnesses. Intercontinetal Athenaeum Athens provided a wonderful value. We were welcomed and always treated with respect and kindness. The staff was always accommodating and the food servers were pleasant and efficient. Definitely our choice of hotel stays. Thank you very much. 10 July 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Wonderful staff A beautiful hotel with staff who are amongst the best we have encountered anywhere in the world. Large clean rooms make this one of the best hotels we stayed throughout Europe. 10 July 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Super good hotel We like the hotel very much, good experience, clean and comfortable rooms, delicious food served at the restaurants, all staff members, starting with the front desk are knowledgeable, courteous, friendly and helpful, ready to be of assistance at anytime of the day. Near public transportation, good shuttle service. Over all we will stay here again in the future more than any other hotel talking from past experience. Hope you keep up the standard. 10 July 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Fantastic Hotel Stay I recommend this hotel for a stay in Athens. Wonderful staff, great breakfast, lively roof top restaurant and a shot taxi to the Acropolis and museum. 07 July 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by very clean and comfortable room our bed was always made each day, room cleaned. the bathroom was kept very clean. 07 July 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Non smoking should be respected!! Good hotel, good service, nice and helpful staff, good food. But although I was staying on a non smoking floor, I had neighbors who did smoke heavily and partied all night, the smoke came through the door linking the rooms (placing a wet towel on the floor to seal it off did not help) and I could not sleep, the staff was not able to solve the problem. I knocked at the neighbors door and asked them to stop smoking. I complained several times with the manager on duty due to smoke and noise, nothing, no solution, just empty promises. Only for the last night, when the neighbors were gone, I was offered to change rooms - useless!! It was a horrible stay!! 06 July 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Beutiful property professional staff We enjoyed or stay at the Intercontinental Athenaeum and we feel that the location in a working class area did not detract from our stay. We are not snobs and we do not fear a little graffiti...The property itself is great and the locals are just regular folks. 04 July 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 It was everything that I hoped for The location was perfect to the Athens Greece Olympic Stadium. In alI I came, I ate, I slept, and I left happy! 04 July 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Shuttle Services Experience I have a horrible shuttle services experience. Almost miss my flight to Istanbul due to it. I was the first in line waiting to catch the bus to the train station. When I saw the bus driver, I told him that I need to be drop off at the train station and I ask him to load my luggages. He just nod. When the guests started oading the bus, all the seats was taken while I was waiting for him to load my luggages at the back of the bus. This is an American hotel chains, they should hired someone who can communicate with me. Since all the seats was taken, he refused to let me get on the bus. I feel so frustrated and disappointed, why bother staying in a nice hotel to be treated so badly by one of their staff. 03 July 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Athens stay The staff were kind however I was not pleased with the rooms assigned in the two occasions I stayed with your hotel. The first time we were moved from the club level executive room to a Very small deluxe room and the second time we were given a smoking room which made it impossible for is to stay and sleep well in the room 01 July 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 Great service, extremely friendly staff and professional Staying at the hotel was a real treat. The staff was very knowledgeable and helpful. Look forward to coming back and would recommend to anyone. 29 June 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Beautiful hotel, good location This was a last minute booking for us. Being an IHG member, we we're lucky to get a King superior room. Great room, plenty of space. Amazing balcony with a view towards the Acropole. Very friendly staff, and the concierge was superb in recommending a nice (local) Greek restaurant. 28 June 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great hotel Great hotel great service excellent staff facilities of the hotel are great 26 June 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by great Club Lounge service The staff in the Club Lounge were great. The view of Athens (particularly the Acropolis) from the Club Lounge was wonderful. The shuttle bus from the hotel to Syntagma Square helps compensate its location away from the most attractions in Athens. 25 June 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by a quick view of antiquity Unfortunately I got to feel what the ancient Athenians got to experience. The AC in our room didn't work for several hours until the engineer fixed it. It must have been miserable to live before the days of air conditioning. 24 June 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable sleep I enjoyed the comfort and elegance of the hotel. Room was so big with a king size bed and a complete seating are which was relevantly good. The hotel staff was nice and helpfull 21 June 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by A welcoming staff Upon arrival we were welcomed by a very warm and accommodating member of the reception staff. It was a long traveling day for us and having a room available upon check in was most appreciative. A staff member assisted us in starting our adventure to the Parthenon. We have stayed in hotels in many parts of the world and feel the Intercontinental is one of the finest. We would like to express our thanks and appreciation for your hospitality 20 June 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good Choice if visiting Athens My Wife and I stayed for one night before leaving for a Greek Island and again for one night before returning to the UK. Its about a 30 minute drive in a taxi from the airport to the hotel and the fare is set at 35 euros. Our first stay we were not upgraded with our Platinum Status but were upgraded to a deluxe room on our second stay. Rooms are very comfortable typical of a 5 star hotel. We stayed on both occasions using our priority Club Points. We did not have breakfast included and were not prepared to pay the 35 euros each to enjoy their breakfast. We think it would be better if you get a room where breakfast is included in your room rate. Overall we enjoyed our two separate stays and would stay there again when in Athens. 12 June 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by fabulous everything I want to day I was able to tick in the survey. Thanks for a great stay. 10 June 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Intercontinental It is a decent location, with a courteous staff. As a Platinum member, we received an upgrade with "a view of the city." The view was, actually , of graffiti covered walls across the street. It would have been just as easy to have located us in a room with a view of the sites on the other side, but that didn't happen. A representative came to explain to us that, as Platinum members, we would not be given access to the club lounge, and, that this is the prerogative of the hotel. They offered us daily access for an additional fifty euros daily, which we refused. Compared to similar properties, I do not think this hotel represents a good value, and, would not stay again. 10 June 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by bad odour on corridor carpet There was disturbing bad odour on corridor carpet . I suggest either to clean or change the carpets to get rid of bad odour . 10 June 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Service Staff was very friendly and helpful regarding transportation, restaurants and things to doin the area. 08 June 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by ok hotel nothing stand-out, typical business hotel. a bit aging facility and less ocnveinent location. ok staff. pay attention to cab drivers..many dishonest. 06 June 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Room for smokers without asking, errors on final bill... Without asking or warning, my room turned out to be a smoking room (stinknig bed, yuck!), had to re-pack and move to a different room in the middle of the night. On departure, I was double charged for breakfast, which anyway costs an arm and a leg... Otherwise a nice and clean room but the two issues ruined the experience. 02 June 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Not Up To Typical IC Standards I am in IC Royal Ambassador member (as well as a lifetime Marriott Platinum member). I don’t normally write reviews but thought I needed to write one on the Athens IC. I have stayed at many hotels over the years and many ICs in specific. I feel this particular property is wanting in a number of ways First the room, I assume as a Royal Ambassador that I would receive one of their better rooms. I was informed multiple times that I had been upgraded to a junior suite. The room was indeed large (two rooms essentially) but that was the highlight. The room was dated and quite old. The showers (I had two) and bathes were not updated. The view was of a major road and graffiti covered buildings (see pic). Multiple electrical outlets did not work. My wife and I had to selectively use only a couple outlets to charge all our electronic gadgets. One shower was broken and water leaked all over the wall and floor outside the shower (see pic). The service was also not up to typical IC standards. I asked the concierge for help with a local map and some ideas on what to do in the area. He threw me a map and promptly turned back to his phone call. Even though I stood there further waiting to get more service, he continued without acknowledging he’d even get back to me. I asked to speak to the guest relationship department about typical Royal Ambassador benefits - specifically access to the lounge. I suggested that most IC properties allow a one room upgrade plus access to the lounge as a Royal Ambassador benefit (I know Frankfurt, Berschdengarden, Singapore, Hong Kong, Thailand, and SF, at least to name a few in the last year I’ve been to). I was told I was given a ‘junior suite’ (which I didn’t ask for) and that was it. I ask nicely if they might offer an alternative or make an exception this one to align with other properties more common practice. The customer relationship woman offered no flexibility, was very stand off-ish, and in no way tried to be accommodating to my request. If fact, she basically called an liar and challenged me to write a review (it was not the Martha Pallis on trip advisor). It is certainly not what I have come to expect from IC staff across the globe. I am (perhaps unfortunately?) back to this same hotel after returning from a short Greece cruise. I will write another review if the quality of the room or service is any better. 24 May 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent Service Staff were extremely helpful and efficient in accommodating all the requests. Being an Ambassador member certainly helps. Best service I have ever encountered in a hotel. Really important when you travel on business. 20 May 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by super hotel I am staying in this IntercontinentalHotel in Athens a;ready 2 to 3 times a year for over 15 yeards now Great and friendly service of all staff very good breakfast and super king size beds 12 May 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Very pleasant stay. Large comfortable room ,pleasant staff always happy to offer advice and assistance.Wonderful view of the Acropolis from our room. Only ate breakfast there but this was very good. Made full use of the shuttle service into the town centre. Would highly recommend. 18 April 2014
<<prev2 3 4 5 6 next>>
Athenaeum Athens
  • Syngrou Avenue 89-93
  • Athens , 11745
  • Greece
  • Front Desk +30-210-9206000

  • Driving Directions
  • Transportation
  • Parking
   

Languages spoken by staff

German, Greek, English, French, Italian, Russian

Pet Policy

No dogs allowed except guide dogs.
  • Local Time

    7:50 PM
    • CHECK-IN

      2:00 PM
    • CHECK-OUT

      12:00 PM Late Check out Available
    • Evening Reception Desk Open

    Currency

    • Euro € (EUR)

    Accessibility

    • Service animals allowed
    • 10 Room(s) with Accessibility Standards
    • Parking