Skip Navigation
  • English    English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • Sign In
  • 1 888 IC HOTELS
  • Book online or call:
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
  • 1 888 IC HOTELS
  • Book online or call:
 

Athenaeum Athens

Rated 4.5 out of 5 by 145 reviewers.
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great hotel Great hotel great service excellent staff facilities of the hotel are great 26 June 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by great Club Lounge service The staff in the Club Lounge were great. The view of Athens (particularly the Acropolis) from the Club Lounge was wonderful. The shuttle bus from the hotel to Syntagma Square helps compensate its location away from the most attractions in Athens. 25 June 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by a quick view of antiquity Unfortunately I got to feel what the ancient Athenians got to experience. The AC in our room didn't work for several hours until the engineer fixed it. It must have been miserable to live before the days of air conditioning. 24 June 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable sleep I enjoyed the comfort and elegance of the hotel. Room was so big with a king size bed and a complete seating are which was relevantly good. The hotel staff was nice and helpfull 21 June 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by A welcoming staff Upon arrival we were welcomed by a very warm and accommodating member of the reception staff. It was a long traveling day for us and having a room available upon check in was most appreciative. A staff member assisted us in starting our adventure to the Parthenon. We have stayed in hotels in many parts of the world and feel the Intercontinental is one of the finest. We would like to express our thanks and appreciation for your hospitality 20 June 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good Choice if visiting Athens My Wife and I stayed for one night before leaving for a Greek Island and again for one night before returning to the UK. Its about a 30 minute drive in a taxi from the airport to the hotel and the fare is set at 35 euros. Our first stay we were not upgraded with our Platinum Status but were upgraded to a deluxe room on our second stay. Rooms are very comfortable typical of a 5 star hotel. We stayed on both occasions using our priority Club Points. We did not have breakfast included and were not prepared to pay the 35 euros each to enjoy their breakfast. We think it would be better if you get a room where breakfast is included in your room rate. Overall we enjoyed our two separate stays and would stay there again when in Athens. 12 June 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by fabulous everything I want to day I was able to tick in the survey. Thanks for a great stay. 10 June 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Intercontinental It is a decent location, with a courteous staff. As a Platinum member, we received an upgrade with "a view of the city." The view was, actually , of graffiti covered walls across the street. It would have been just as easy to have located us in a room with a view of the sites on the other side, but that didn't happen. A representative came to explain to us that, as Platinum members, we would not be given access to the club lounge, and, that this is the prerogative of the hotel. They offered us daily access for an additional fifty euros daily, which we refused. Compared to similar properties, I do not think this hotel represents a good value, and, would not stay again. 10 June 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by bad odour on corridor carpet There was disturbing bad odour on corridor carpet . I suggest either to clean or change the carpets to get rid of bad odour . 10 June 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Service Staff was very friendly and helpful regarding transportation, restaurants and things to doin the area. 08 June 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by ok hotel nothing stand-out, typical business hotel. a bit aging facility and less ocnveinent location. ok staff. pay attention to cab drivers..many dishonest. 06 June 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Room for smokers without asking, errors on final bill... Without asking or warning, my room turned out to be a smoking room (stinknig bed, yuck!), had to re-pack and move to a different room in the middle of the night. On departure, I was double charged for breakfast, which anyway costs an arm and a leg... Otherwise a nice and clean room but the two issues ruined the experience. 02 June 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Not Up To Typical IC Standards I am in IC Royal Ambassador member (as well as a lifetime Marriott Platinum member). I don’t normally write reviews but thought I needed to write one on the Athens IC. I have stayed at many hotels over the years and many ICs in specific. I feel this particular property is wanting in a number of ways First the room, I assume as a Royal Ambassador that I would receive one of their better rooms. I was informed multiple times that I had been upgraded to a junior suite. The room was indeed large (two rooms essentially) but that was the highlight. The room was dated and quite old. The showers (I had two) and bathes were not updated. The view was of a major road and graffiti covered buildings (see pic). Multiple electrical outlets did not work. My wife and I had to selectively use only a couple outlets to charge all our electronic gadgets. One shower was broken and water leaked all over the wall and floor outside the shower (see pic). The service was also not up to typical IC standards. I asked the concierge for help with a local map and some ideas on what to do in the area. He threw me a map and promptly turned back to his phone call. Even though I stood there further waiting to get more service, he continued without acknowledging he’d even get back to me. I asked to speak to the guest relationship department about typical Royal Ambassador benefits - specifically access to the lounge. I suggested that most IC properties allow a one room upgrade plus access to the lounge as a Royal Ambassador benefit (I know Frankfurt, Berschdengarden, Singapore, Hong Kong, Thailand, and SF, at least to name a few in the last year I’ve been to). I was told I was given a ‘junior suite’ (which I didn’t ask for) and that was it. I ask nicely if they might offer an alternative or make an exception this one to align with other properties more common practice. The customer relationship woman offered no flexibility, was very stand off-ish, and in no way tried to be accommodating to my request. If fact, she basically called an liar and challenged me to write a review (it was not the Martha Pallis on trip advisor). It is certainly not what I have come to expect from IC staff across the globe. I am (perhaps unfortunately?) back to this same hotel after returning from a short Greece cruise. I will write another review if the quality of the room or service is any better. 24 May 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent Service Staff were extremely helpful and efficient in accommodating all the requests. Being an Ambassador member certainly helps. Best service I have ever encountered in a hotel. Really important when you travel on business. 20 May 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by super hotel I am staying in this IntercontinentalHotel in Athens a;ready 2 to 3 times a year for over 15 yeards now Great and friendly service of all staff very good breakfast and super king size beds 12 May 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Very pleasant stay. Large comfortable room ,pleasant staff always happy to offer advice and assistance.Wonderful view of the Acropolis from our room. Only ate breakfast there but this was very good. Made full use of the shuttle service into the town centre. Would highly recommend. 18 April 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Another FANTASTC stay! Another 3 days holiday at Intercontinental ! ! A marvelous hotel, marvelous personnel . I will come back !!! 06 April 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Nice suite, wonderful staff at club lounge (and all around) Corner balcony suite with Acropolis view is around 70 sqm. Living room with table, seating area, separated toilets and entry room Bedroom with comfortable bed, desk. Flat screen television with large selection of international channels Bathroom with bathtub. Korres amenities Large terrace with very nice view over Athens and Acropolis Elegant contemporary design Fast wifi Pretty quiet (2 double glass) The club lounge has really great staff. Welcomed with large friendly smiles. Very good breakfast. Nice selection of evening hot meals, drinks and afternoon pastries Nice view and pleasant terrace 2 PCs with printer Quiet Dated decor Good Wonderful staff , from reception, customer relation manager, club staff, pool staff and housekeeping (smiling, responsive, proactive) Large and elegant suite, great terrace Club lounge Superb weather Bad Nothing really The new contemporary art museum will open soon pretty close to the hotel. 04 April 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 Nice place I found the place very nice, with a lot of facility. It's a big hotels with many nice stores 30 March 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by smiling staff very friendly enviroment and very knoweledgeable staff 23 March 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by An amazing stay Outstanding service, very spacious and confortable rooms, excellent breakfast buffet. I was thrilled with my dining experience at Premiere restaurant and its amazing view of the Acropolis. The Spa is a gem, dont miss it. 11 March 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Rewards points rewards Not credited total 7 nights We always prefer the UHG group in our stays and our clients too 07 March 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent view and service Excellent view and service in the Club lounge on the 8th floor. Same also for the Premiere restaurant on the top floor. it is worthwhile to stay and dine there. 20 February 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by A great hotel and very friendly staff I spent 5 days in Athens in this great hotel among these friendly staff and front desk people . The quality of the rooms and food are excellent . Everybody in the hotel welcomed me with smile and at the reception the people are helpful . Really I enjoyed my stay in Greece and I wish to repeat this visit again . Thanks all . 03 February 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Intercontinental - Athens Good hotel, excellent service, fantastic food. Only downsides were: 1) Location - not the best 2) Air conditioning- The air conditioning in the room was not the best. Even cranked down to the coldest setting it it did not get the room to be cold. Talking to others, this was not uncommon. 30 January 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Staff!! COMPLIMENT!! I TRAVEL 90% for work. I wanted to COMPLIMENT ALL OF THE STAFF AT THE INTERCONTINENTAL IN ATHENS DURING MY STAY ON THE 18TH OF DECEMBER. NEVER IN MY LIFE ANYWHERE IN THE WORLD IN ALL 5 STAR HOTELS, HAVE I EXPERIENCED SUCH AMAZING CUSTOMER SERVICE, KINDNESS AND PROFESSIONALISM AS I DID FROM THE STAFF IN ATHENS FROM THE PORTER TO THE MAID TO THE RESERVATIONIST TO THE CONCIERGE. ALL YOUR ATHENS EMPLOYEES NEED TO BE REWARDED FOR THEIR OUTSTANDING SERVICE! THANK YOU! 07 January 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Highly Recommended The Intercontinental Athenaeum Athens is a superb hotel. The staff were very courteous and attentive, room spacious and well presented and very good facilities. Restaurant splendid and the shuttle service to Syntagma Square is excellent! Superb hotel. Very highly recommended 03 January 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great services Traveled with kids Really big rooms Excellent staff 01 January 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by A 5 Star Experience in Athens The Intercontinental Athenaeum Athens is a superb hotel, with a most attentive and gracious staff. My experience, from the first contact with guest relations and the concierge as to an upgrade and dinner reservations through checkout, was truly a 5 star experience. My room had a fabulous view of the Acropolis; and, was spacious and well furnished. The Premiere Restaurant on top of the hotel was truly a gourmet experience, with a very attentive service, a fantastic menu, and a beautiful view of the Acropolis. I shall be looking forward to returning to this perfect hotel. 20 November 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent Hotel This hotel is the best in Athens and my first choice whenever I visit.I always feel at home when I stay. Its location is very convenient for business and pleasure. They have a great shuttle bus service to Syntagma square, but if you miss the bus, taxis are a cheap alternative. The Premiere restaurant on the roof is excellent; superb views of the Acropolis and exquisite cuisine. The staff is always warm and courteous. I highly recommend it. 18 November 2013
<<prev 2 3 4 5 6 next>>
Athenaeum Athens
  • Syngrou Avenue 89-93
  • Athens , 11745
  • Greece
  • Front Desk +30-210-9206000

  • Driving Directions
  • Transportation
  • Parking
   

Languages spoken by staff

German, Greek, English, French, Italian, Russian

Pet Policy

No pets allowed except guide dogs
  • Local Time

    7:35 PM
    • CHECK-IN

      2:00 PM
    • CHECK-OUT

      12:00 PM Late Check out Available
    • Evening Reception Desk Open

    Currency

    • Euro € (EUR)

    Accessibility

    • Service animals allowed
    • 10 Room(s) with Accessibility Standards
    • Parking