Skip Navigation
  • English    English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • Sign In
  • 1 888 IC HOTELS
  • Book online or call:
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
  • 1 888 IC HOTELS
  • Book online or call:
 

Athenaeum Athens

Rated 4.5 out of 5 by 143 reviewers.
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Nice hotel my room was on the 7th floor, facing the acropolis (unfortunately I had a blocked view). the room itself was great and recently renovated. the pool and associated facilities are first class although it was inundated with kids. I feel that the sauna and steam facilities should be part of the gym and complimentary for hotel guests, in line with the standard i have experience at other 5 star hotels in the world. the concierges should also know the surrounding area better - a few did not know the full extent of dining options in the immediate area, some of which were excellent 15 August 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Athens experience Great start, from check in to room entry, but downhill from there. Pull out bed was ridiculous, misshapen, flimsy, bent down towards the floor at the foot of the bed and not the way I want to sleep prior to getting on a plane bound for North America. Noisy hallway with high school kids yelling frequently. Call to front desk met with dismissal that it would not last all night. It did continue sporadically but my family did not want to move at that point knowing we had an early flight the next morning. Room service was good but crazy expensive as was the 18E movie that we watched. Unfortunately we felt trapped with nothing in apparent close walking distance to satisfy alternative dining needs. Only upside would be the 2000 point credit that has not appeared anywhere in my account, so not sure if the person at front desk spoke out of turn or not. Disappointing overall. 14 August 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 5 Star Quality at a 3 Star Price We will stay at the Intercontinental for all of our future travels to Athens. The price was very reasonalble, which included a full buffet breakfast each morning! Every staff member from the concierge to the cleaning staff was friendly and very helpful. The location is perfect - near all the sites and the shuttle bus to and from the sites made sightseeing easy. When we did not feel like waiting for the shuttle bus - which was not a long wait - a taxi cab back to the hotel was only 3-4 euros. The pool, spa and gym were incredible! The shops and restaurants, in the hotel, were reasonably priced and worth the money. Staying at the Intercontinental made us feel like royalty. It was a wonderful experience and we have already recommended the hotel to many family members, friends and business associaltes. 12 August 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Deluxe room better although service is lacking the top notch The newly renovated deluxe room is much better and a great improvement compared to the Club room I stayed in January. Service seems to be improved but in the express eatery Vienna Cafe I had to wait for 30 minutes for a waiter to be appeared to order the bill which is a shame for this experience. However the initial service from the waiter was great. 10 August 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great value for money but problems with the air conditioner We stayed at the intercom last week and it was really great, however we had problems with adjusting the air conditioning temperature. 09 August 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent hotel- highly recommened We stayed here for a vacation while visiting Athens and were delighted with the service, the comfortable rooms and the ambiance. Delicious breakfast buffet was a plus! Also appreciated the complimentary shuttle to the Plaka area which saved us from cabbing it daily. If in Athens, we will return! 09 August 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Roof top dining Whilst the views from the roof top terrace are stunning, unfortunately the derive was not as good. My wife pointed out the bottle of Sauvignon Blanc she wanted only to be brought a more expensive bottle ( very crafty) this was not noticed till the bill was presented but my wife declined to query it. The dining experience was equally frustrating, 3 of our party ordered the beef fillet and were asked how we wanted it cooked, unfortunately all 3 of us were given the Wrong choice. Also 2 other people were served the wrong choice but this was easily detected. When taking orders I think the serving staff should be more attentive to the order they are taking from the guest. 08 August 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great service & nice room Very comfortable hotel with big and very clean room, helpful staff and most if all excellent quality if food in the signature restaurant. Me and my family definitely will come back if we visit Athens again. 02 August 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Nice hotel with good location It is nice 5 star hotel with good location quite near to Acropolis and old town. And if you do not want to walk then they have shuttle bus to downtown. Good service and good food 26 July 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Nice the customer service provided by your staff is excellent, starting from the doorman, room service, front desk. The price on food is to high, also liquor on the pool. 25 July 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Enjoyable Stay We had a lovely stay in Athens the hotel was great good location and breakfast was an added benefit. We used the pool and spa and both were excellent 18 July 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Superb stay and superb dining experience Superb stay and superb dining experience is just the title of this review. I would like to stress two facts about the dining experience both at breakfast and dining in the evening. I was totally impressed with the following. While I was at the breakfast buffet the chef showed up and checked personally each and every one of the prepared meals on display. He made a comment to one of the staff that food should be renewed every 15 minutes! "How long have these been here? " he said pointing at the pancakes. The lady answered " they have just been served sir" "Ok he said make sure you change them every fifteen minutes!" To me that was quite impressive and I have been sharing this experience with my friends. Usually, at a breakfast buffet, you don't encounter this kind of policy! We also had the chance of dining at the restaurant and the meals there were excellent too, and the personnel very knowledgeable in providing information about the dishes served. Thank you! 18 July 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by comfortable room nice room + god breakfast-buffet +perfect location 18 July 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Perfect stay in Athens. We stayed at the Athenaeum Intercontinental for a total of 6 nights over two visits to Athens in July. It was a perfect choice of hotel. The rooms are so very spacious (on the second visit three of us shared), clean, well equipped and comfortable - mattresses and pillows ensured a great night's sleep every night. The breakfast buffet was exceptional with a great variety and all the staff were so very welcoming and courteous from the front desk, concierge, guest relations to the porters, room service and hospitality staff. It was great to be able to have a swim at the hotel after a big day shopping or sightseeing in the hot Athens summer - the pool attendant was fantastic delivering an ice cold glass of water to us as soon as we arrived and making sure we were in the shade of an umbrella. Before arrival we were a little concerned about the hotel's location not being within reasonable walking distance of the main tourist sites and city centre but with the hotel shuttle bus running to and from the city so frequently and on time, we never had to think about it. On the nights we were out late or not close to the shuttle pick up point, cab fares in Athens are so reasonable it really didn't matter. The rooftop bar and Premier restaurant have stunning views of the city and Acropolis. They were a little out of our price range so we didn't dine there but the staff were so very courteous offering us a glass of iced water whilst we sat and enjoyed the view for a short time. Thank you to all at the hotel for a perfect stay in Athens. 15 July 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Wonderful Experience My first stay at this hotel was for a very special family celebration and the staff made it a most memorable stay.We ate in the rooftop restaurant which ,though expensive, is very ,very good,The food, the ambience and the staff were excellent. We were so impressed that we stayed the very next weekend too.This time we booked a bed and breakfast rate and once again everything was perfect. I have to say that,as a resident of Athens i have never encountered such professionalism at any other hotel or restaurant.Well done to all who work at this wonderful hotel. I will definitely stay again before summer is over so that I can enjoy the relaxing pool,great service and Elite Member status.Thank you. 14 July 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by When in Athens.... Friendly staff, excellent arrival experience and solid location made this a perfect place to stay for two nights in Athens. During the day it is a colorful walk to downtown. At night the taxi or hotel shuttle does the trick. Rooftop bar is beautiful and concierge team is spot on. While internet is very slow, there are other things to do in Athens than be stuck online. Hotel room is great value for an ICH, but rest of amenities are certainly at a premium. Gym and pool are in great shape and seem to have had general remodel. For me the highlight of this hotel was the incredible customer service and the staff at reservations, front desk and loyalty check in. 13 July 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by OVERALL GREAT STAYS BOTH DATES Stayed there twice within two weeks and both stays were very enjoyable. Beside the beautiful view of the Acropolis quality of room appointments,cleanliness and employees service and friendliness were exceptional.Although the hotel is nearly 30 years old it is extremely well maintained and contains some fabulous Art Works Compared to a few years ago the addition of the terrace overlooking the Acropolis and can take up to three hundred people for cocktail and the Spa are really a plus.One has also to mention the new Premiere Restaurant on the top floor and not only for its beautiful view but for its exceptional cuisine and attentive service. Would recommend to anybody. 12 July 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good choise for business trip All you need for a conference. Food is fresh and enough of variety. Room is very large and quite, no noise from outside. Perfect view from the restaurants on terrace. Large enough swimming pool near the bar. What is not so perfect - about 5 min walk to the nearest metro-station. A tram is closer but goes not so frequently. On the other hand - a free hotel shuttle bus brings you to the city centre just in 15 min! 10 July 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great service and competent staff Relatively large rooms and clean. Professional staff. Excellent concierge. Outstanding view and atmosphere at the bar on the top floor. A bit too far from the airport: 40 minutes by taxi. Watch out for price gauging by taxi drivers. 06 July 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great Hotel, Overvalued services Generally the hotel was very nice. Large rooms, nicely decorated, one of the best I have ever been. Very comfortable beds and a large bathroom were a plus. Totally unacceptable though were the extreme charges for breakfast and wifi. €34.50 for an extra breakfast for my guest.???? And the wifi situation was totally unheard of. No free wifi in the rooms is something not so uncommon but no free wifi in the lobby and a very expensive fee of €21 per day (if I am not mistaken) is totally unacceptable. living in a digital world full of smartphones, tablets and computers relying on the internet to work, how is it possible to pay such an expensive fee for it? From all the 5 star hotels I stayed so far I was under the impression that you pay more but you get more services for your money. This is a big minus because for a business traveller as myself the above results in high roaming charges. I hope it gets fixed soon and it will be a perfect hotel. 25 June 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by poor attention to ambassador members hotel staff made errors at check in given I am an AMBASSADOR member ; I had to change rooms, I was not immediately offered the paid up-grade fopr the room. por attention for the elite members 18 June 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Outdated rooms We stayed at this hotel for our honeymoon and were disappointed with our room which was outdated. The receptionist tried to upsell updated/refurbished rooms for a premium price at the time of check-in. No free Wi-Fi available either (which these days is commonly available at even lower star hotels elsewhere) and there were no perks offered for Priority Club members. On a positive note, the lobby, elevators and the main restaurant has been refurbished. Breakfast food quality, selection and service is excellent. "Vasso" at the egg station will certainly make you feel welcome with her smile and should be an inspiration for other staff members. The location is great with close proximity to the Acropolis. 02 June 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great location, wonderful service. Stayed on the 9th floor with a great view of the Acropolis. Very comfortable and well serviced room. Lots of suggestions provided by efficient staff on sights and tours. Shuttle to the center of Athens every 30 mins was efficient and very handy. Only suprise was no shuttle to or from the airport. 31 May 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Club team Arriving tired and hot after an early morning flight, we welcomed the oasis that is the Athens Athenaeum. Escorted to the Club floor by charming front desk staff, the Club team were friendly, professional and helpful -all you could ask for. Spacious, typical ICH room (but ask for a Parthenon-facing room if you haven't stayed before). The whole Club experience was excellent and very good value with refreshments throughout the day and what better way to start than with breakfast on the club balcony overlooking the Acropolis and Parthenon? We've stayed in lots of 'boutique' hotels with cool (ie unfriendly) and unhelpful staff and this visit is making us better appreciate the value of 'old school' options. Thanks to all the team and for confirming that our 'little grand tour' of the Peloponnese was a good choice! (BTW: the location is ok: you can walk up to the Metro at FIX and then turn in and up through quiet suburbs to get to the foot of the Acropolis in 20 mins and avoid the noise and dirt around Syntagma and Plaka) 27 May 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by OVERALL GOOD EXPERIENCE After reading other reviews online before booking our stay, we decided to reserve a room on the Club Level. Some reviewers said that the food in the Club Lounge was good enough and plentiful enough to make small meals, thereby saving money on the VERY EXPENSIVE food in the hotel restaurants. We did not find this to be the case. The breakfast "buffet" was far from a buffet, with extremely limited selections. Tiny appetizers were put out in the evening and a small selection of desserts. Save your money for dinner and book a room on a regular floor. The hotels location is a bit questionable, with many "strip" clubs in the area. I wouldn't feel comfortable walking around there at night. However, the hotel does offer a free shuttle to the Plaka shopping and restaurant district, which we used. It runs right on time and is a great service and convenience. Because of the hotel's good appearance, cleanliness, good service and friendly staff, we would consider staying there again. 23 May 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by We were not impressed We've stayed in your hotel on May 11th 2013. We rented 2 KING DELUXE ACROPOLIS VIEW ROOM. Our impression was that the pictures on your website were more appealing that the reality. Room was average. Bathroom was 20 years-old+. Upon our arrival, front desk staff upsell the CLUB package for 53 Euros saying we wold find canapés and drinks in the afternoon and drinks at night. We went there in the afternoon but we were disappointed. Not a lot of food, only abouth 10 canapes. When we returned to the hotel the same night, the CLUB was closed. In addition, we found the limit of 1 hour for the wi-fi to be ridiculous! It shoud be included and unlimited in the CLUB package. Lastly, we were not advise that a big party was organize on the roof and that loud music would play till 23h45! At least, front desk could have advise us of the situation. In summary, we were disapointed and will not be back in this hotel on our next trip to Athens. 22 May 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by verry good stay in athens Thank you for the good stay in athens, it will me every time remember 10 May 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Very nice room, expensive breakfast Thanks to priorityclub I got an upgrade to deluxe level room. The room was large, clean and beautiful. What makes me giving only 3 stars: - Internet is really slow, hard to work. Keep in mind if you are a business traveller - breakfast costs 34.90. At my previous stays it was around 25 "only" (average hotel price). I was shocked looking at my bill, nowhere on planet earth I'm not willing to pay 34.90 for a breakfast. 30 April 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Another great stay at InterContinental Athens! The balcony suite with Acropolis view is pretty large (around 70 sqm). Living room with table, seating area, separated toilets and entry room Bedroom with comfortable bed, desk. Flat screen television with large selection of international channels Bathroom with bathtub. Korres amenities and now Agraria soap (a nice selection of natural soaps was offered as a welcome gift). Large terrace with very nice view over Athens and Acropolis Recently renovated in an elegant contemporary design Fast wifi Very quiet (2 double glass) The Club lounge offers very good breakfast. Nice selection of evening hot meals, drinks and afternoon pastries Great staff Nice view and pleasant terrace 2 PCs with printer Quiet Dated decor Good Wonderful staff , from reception, customer relation manager, club staff and housekeeping (smiling, responsive, proactive) Large and elegant suite, great terrace Club lounge Superb weather (outdoor pool was not unfortunately already open) Bad Nothing really 23 April 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great atmoshpere and service We stayed at the Club intercontinental in late march (2 adults and 1 toddler). It was the 2nd time and we confirmed our view of it being a great place to stay. We had the feeling that we stayed at a hotel inside a hotel and we enjoyed the great service, the friendliness of the personnel and the warm atmosphere. We certainly recommend it and we intend to stay there next time we visit athens. 04 April 2013
<<prev 2 3 4 5 6 next>>
Athenaeum Athens
  • Syngrou Avenue 89-93
  • Athens , 11745
  • Greece
  • Front Desk +30-210-9206000

  • Driving Directions
  • Transportation
  • Parking
   

Languages spoken by staff

German, Greek, English, French, Italian, Russian

Pet Policy

No dogs allowed except guide dogs.
  • Local Time

    7:08 PM
    • CHECK-IN

      2:00 PM
    • CHECK-OUT

      12:00 PM Late Check out Available
    • Evening Reception Desk Open

    Currency

    • Euro € (EUR)

    Accessibility

    • Service animals allowed
    • 10 Room(s) with Accessibility Standards
    • Parking