Skip Navigation
  • English    English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • Sign In
  • 1 888 IC HOTELS
  • Book online or call:
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
  • 1 888 IC HOTELS
  • Book online or call:
 

Athenaeum Athens

Rated 4.5 out of 5 by 167 reviewers.
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Nice hotel in athens As far as athens is concerned, not many nice hotels to choose from. Intercontinental is probably one of the best. Location is a bit far, however there is a free shuttle that takes you into town. Nice Lobby, decent gym. If you are an ambassador member you get an upgrade to a decent sized room. Get slow internet that hardly works and thats about it. No Club access, and when you ask they will deny you in a pretty mean way. Overall pretty decent property. 09 October 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by the top as usual breakfast is superlative, the staff is devoted to clients, the environment is luxury, rooms are fantastic 08 October 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by the best 5 stars hotel in Athens I have been several times and always the athmosphere is great and I have everything I may wish 07 October 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Ideal base for Athens Check in welcome ,friendly and informative. Breakfast great ,all staff friendly . Wi Fi. Strong and easy to access 06 October 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Athens Wonderful hotel loved the room very quiet facilities grand Dropped earring in sink drain and the plumber came up and got it out for me loved the special treatment The concierge was extremely helpful with restaurant recs We would stay there again very good value for your dollar 02 October 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Made to Feel Special It doesn't matter who you are, whether you are wealthy or not quite, the staff at the Athenaeum make you feel special in a way that is pitched just right. 22 September 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent hotel This is an excellent hotel with great service from very helpful staff, an excellent room and very good food. A complimentary shuttle bus is provided to take guests in and out of the city. Would have loved more time to get a chance to experience more of the amenities.. Overall one of the best hotels I have stayed in.. 14 September 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by A very stay in this excellent resort Our cruise with Silversea was topped ending with our accomdation in the luxery balcony suite at Intercontinental Atheneum. Everything was perfect. 10 September 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Enjoyable stay I experienced an enjoyable stay at the Intercontinental in Athens. The room was very comfortable and the staff were very helpful. My only negative comment is that, for a hotel of this category, the internet and Wifi should be free as it is in hotels of a much lower category. It is incomprehensible for a hotel of this level, that claims to be the right choice for the astute businessman, to charge for the access to the internet. I can understand a charge for the business centre, but the internet? In today's world it is like charging for the use of the phone in one's room 40 years ago!!! Also the voucher for a free drink that all guests receive upon registration should be allowed to be enjoyed at any bars of the hotel, including the roof garden bar. Kind regards, Katia Tavernier 01 September 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by well-meaning, but ill-informed With the exception of the guest relations staff, all the other people at the hotel were quite friendly and tried to be helpful, the information provided was often incorrect or misleading.The women at guest relaltions were outright rude and obnoxious 01 September 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by 3-Night Stop-Over We stayed here for a 3 night stop-over before heading off on a cruise. The hotel is situated a little out of the centre of town. You can walk in and it will take approx. 1/2hr. The hotel has a lovely foyer, however I feel the rooms are a little dated especially for an Intercontinental. The hotel staff was amazing and we were very fortunate to be upgraded to a suite. The room was comfortable and clean and suitable for a stop-over. The view from the roof top restaurant has an amazing view and ambiance. Unfortunately didn't get to eat there as we were on the run most days. We did have dinner downstairs and was very happy with the meal. 30 August 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Friendly, helpful staff, great service The warm welcome and helpful staff made our visit memorable. 29 August 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Fabulous hotel! Wonderful professional and knowledgeable staff. Five perfect sleeps in a large and super clean room. Highly recommend this fine hotel! 27 August 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by The Place to Go ... Beyond expectations Perfect Location Spacious rooms Amazing stuff they made my experience in Athens such a wonderful one 27 August 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent place to stay We stayed 3 nights and that was perfect. Best room confort since long time. Thank you very much 26 August 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great experience We enjoyed our stay at Athenaeum Intercontinental Hotel. It was very comfortable, clean, with everything we needed for a restful night. The food was great. It was quiet and we really love the atmosphere. Thank you for a nice experience, Ed and Rae 26 August 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Fantastic room for a family of 4 A lovely modern and clean hotel. Excellent value if you can get a deal that includes breakfast, as at 39 euros per person breakfast and food at the hotel is expensive. There is not much around the hotel which was the only drawback but the courtesy bus service takes you into town with a host of tavernas and shops. Staff were very friendly and attentive. There is an outdoor pool at the hotel which was great to cool down after a days sightseeing in the centre. We were offered an upgrade (at a cost) when we arrived, but when we saw our room, it was more than we could have imagined, A large bedroom with 2 double beds and TV, a sitting area with 2 sofas and TV, and also a dining table and chairs. An excellent arrangement for a family of 4 and I would not hesitate to stay here again. 25 August 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Fantastic, but... Staff were very friendly and efficient... Everything you'd expect from a hotel in this price range. Bed was extremely comfortable and amenities fantastic. Also liked that the hotel had interesting pieces of art. However, there were just two points that my husband and I were not happy about: 1) we were boarding the last evening shuttle back to the hotel and politely let others who were there board first. When it was our turn to board, there were no more seats so we stood in the middle aisle, which we didn't mind doing. But the driver told us that this was not allowed and were made to leave the shuttle! My husband and I were rather miffed over the fact that we waited, were polite to other passengers, then were made to leave and take a taxi back to the hotel. 2) I am a vegetarian and ordered a vegetarian omelet at the club lounge. When the omelet came, there was ham in it! Very poor form from a hotel of this standard. 25 August 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by No coffee No coffee served on roof garden. I can't imagine what is thereason not to. We had to find another place with acropolis view to enjoy a coffee. 22 August 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Aircondition is warm We stayed at the renovated section of the hotel (Room 704 & 706) . Aircondition is not very cold. Hotel location is excellent. Overall it was a nice stay. 21 August 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Perfect View, Perfect Hotel The Athenaeum Athens InterContinental Hotel is a wonderful hotel that makes any visit to Athens special. It is beautiful, full service, and staffed by some of the nicest people I have ever met. The Club Level is a real value, as the Club Lounge is lovely, with a fantastic view of the Acropolis, and a staff that is simply excellent. Any and every need is met, and every question answered with a smile. My thanks to each of them for making our stay so wonderful. This was our second stay as a family group, and next year we will return for a third stay. There is no place in Athens that would be as good, as clean, as friendly... 5 stars in every category. 21 August 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great serhotel and service We were a family of four and stayed at this hotel for over a two week period. We had reserved two club level rooms in advance. The staff was courteous and proffesional at all levels from reservations to housekeeping. The breakfast buffet selection at the club lounge in the morning was good as well as the canapes and open bar in the afternoon. Our rooms were comfortable and well appointed. We were made aware that all rooms are not updated or look the same. Also all rooms do not have the view of the acropolis as shown on their web site due to the construction of a new highrise building a few blocks away from the hotel. Finally, there has been much to do about the location of the hotel from some reviews and the number of gentlemens clubs found in the vicinity. Going out to dinner in the neighboorhood late evening we walked safely by few of these establishments with my wife and kids and did encountered any outside activity that would be considered offensive or made us uncomfortable to walk by these establisments. 19 August 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Hotel to relax and enjoy the view Had a cracking time at this hotel - great and friendly staff and excellent club level benefits which is worth paying the little extra for - nice relaxing pool side too. Will visit again! 19 August 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Excellent accommodation, great value, excellent staff, it was an excellent way to end our trip in Greece 15 August 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Nice hotel my room was on the 7th floor, facing the acropolis (unfortunately I had a blocked view). the room itself was great and recently renovated. the pool and associated facilities are first class although it was inundated with kids. I feel that the sauna and steam facilities should be part of the gym and complimentary for hotel guests, in line with the standard i have experience at other 5 star hotels in the world. the concierges should also know the surrounding area better - a few did not know the full extent of dining options in the immediate area, some of which were excellent 15 August 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Athens experience Great start, from check in to room entry, but downhill from there. Pull out bed was ridiculous, misshapen, flimsy, bent down towards the floor at the foot of the bed and not the way I want to sleep prior to getting on a plane bound for North America. Noisy hallway with high school kids yelling frequently. Call to front desk met with dismissal that it would not last all night. It did continue sporadically but my family did not want to move at that point knowing we had an early flight the next morning. Room service was good but crazy expensive as was the 18E movie that we watched. Unfortunately we felt trapped with nothing in apparent close walking distance to satisfy alternative dining needs. Only upside would be the 2000 point credit that has not appeared anywhere in my account, so not sure if the person at front desk spoke out of turn or not. Disappointing overall. 14 August 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 5 Star Quality at a 3 Star Price We will stay at the Intercontinental for all of our future travels to Athens. The price was very reasonalble, which included a full buffet breakfast each morning! Every staff member from the concierge to the cleaning staff was friendly and very helpful. The location is perfect - near all the sites and the shuttle bus to and from the sites made sightseeing easy. When we did not feel like waiting for the shuttle bus - which was not a long wait - a taxi cab back to the hotel was only 3-4 euros. The pool, spa and gym were incredible! The shops and restaurants, in the hotel, were reasonably priced and worth the money. Staying at the Intercontinental made us feel like royalty. It was a wonderful experience and we have already recommended the hotel to many family members, friends and business associaltes. 12 August 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Deluxe room better although service is lacking the top notch The newly renovated deluxe room is much better and a great improvement compared to the Club room I stayed in January. Service seems to be improved but in the express eatery Vienna Cafe I had to wait for 30 minutes for a waiter to be appeared to order the bill which is a shame for this experience. However the initial service from the waiter was great. 10 August 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great value for money but problems with the air conditioner We stayed at the intercom last week and it was really great, however we had problems with adjusting the air conditioning temperature. 09 August 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent hotel- highly recommened We stayed here for a vacation while visiting Athens and were delighted with the service, the comfortable rooms and the ambiance. Delicious breakfast buffet was a plus! Also appreciated the complimentary shuttle to the Plaka area which saved us from cabbing it daily. If in Athens, we will return! 09 August 2013
<<prev 3 4 5 6 7 next>>
Athenaeum Athens
  • Syngrou Avenue 89-93
  • Athens , 11745
  • Greece
  • Front Desk +30-210-9206000

  • Driving Directions
  • Transportation
  • Parking
   

Languages spoken by staff

German, Greek, English, French, Italian, Russian

Pet Policy

No pets allowed except guide dogs
  • Local Time

    3:24 PM
    • CHECK-IN

      2:00 PM
    • CHECK-OUT

      12:00 PM Late Check out Available
    • Evening Reception Desk Open

    Currency

    • Euro € (EUR)

    Accessibility

    • Service animals allowed
    • 10 Room(s) with Accessibility Standards
    • Parking