Skip Navigation
  • English    English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • Sign In
  • 1 888 IC HOTELS
  • Book online or call:
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
  • 1 888 IC HOTELS
  • Book online or call:
 

Athenaeum Athens

Rated 4.5 out of 5 by 165 reviewers.
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Nice hotel with good location It is nice 5 star hotel with good location quite near to Acropolis and old town. And if you do not want to walk then they have shuttle bus to downtown. Good service and good food 26 July 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Nice the customer service provided by your staff is excellent, starting from the doorman, room service, front desk. The price on food is to high, also liquor on the pool. 25 July 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Enjoyable Stay We had a lovely stay in Athens the hotel was great good location and breakfast was an added benefit. We used the pool and spa and both were excellent 18 July 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Superb stay and superb dining experience Superb stay and superb dining experience is just the title of this review. I would like to stress two facts about the dining experience both at breakfast and dining in the evening. I was totally impressed with the following. While I was at the breakfast buffet the chef showed up and checked personally each and every one of the prepared meals on display. He made a comment to one of the staff that food should be renewed every 15 minutes! "How long have these been here? " he said pointing at the pancakes. The lady answered " they have just been served sir" "Ok he said make sure you change them every fifteen minutes!" To me that was quite impressive and I have been sharing this experience with my friends. Usually, at a breakfast buffet, you don't encounter this kind of policy! We also had the chance of dining at the restaurant and the meals there were excellent too, and the personnel very knowledgeable in providing information about the dishes served. Thank you! 18 July 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by comfortable room nice room + god breakfast-buffet +perfect location 18 July 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Perfect stay in Athens. We stayed at the Athenaeum Intercontinental for a total of 6 nights over two visits to Athens in July. It was a perfect choice of hotel. The rooms are so very spacious (on the second visit three of us shared), clean, well equipped and comfortable - mattresses and pillows ensured a great night's sleep every night. The breakfast buffet was exceptional with a great variety and all the staff were so very welcoming and courteous from the front desk, concierge, guest relations to the porters, room service and hospitality staff. It was great to be able to have a swim at the hotel after a big day shopping or sightseeing in the hot Athens summer - the pool attendant was fantastic delivering an ice cold glass of water to us as soon as we arrived and making sure we were in the shade of an umbrella. Before arrival we were a little concerned about the hotel's location not being within reasonable walking distance of the main tourist sites and city centre but with the hotel shuttle bus running to and from the city so frequently and on time, we never had to think about it. On the nights we were out late or not close to the shuttle pick up point, cab fares in Athens are so reasonable it really didn't matter. The rooftop bar and Premier restaurant have stunning views of the city and Acropolis. They were a little out of our price range so we didn't dine there but the staff were so very courteous offering us a glass of iced water whilst we sat and enjoyed the view for a short time. Thank you to all at the hotel for a perfect stay in Athens. 15 July 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Wonderful Experience My first stay at this hotel was for a very special family celebration and the staff made it a most memorable stay.We ate in the rooftop restaurant which ,though expensive, is very ,very good,The food, the ambience and the staff were excellent. We were so impressed that we stayed the very next weekend too.This time we booked a bed and breakfast rate and once again everything was perfect. I have to say that,as a resident of Athens i have never encountered such professionalism at any other hotel or restaurant.Well done to all who work at this wonderful hotel. I will definitely stay again before summer is over so that I can enjoy the relaxing pool,great service and Elite Member status.Thank you. 14 July 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by When in Athens.... Friendly staff, excellent arrival experience and solid location made this a perfect place to stay for two nights in Athens. During the day it is a colorful walk to downtown. At night the taxi or hotel shuttle does the trick. Rooftop bar is beautiful and concierge team is spot on. While internet is very slow, there are other things to do in Athens than be stuck online. Hotel room is great value for an ICH, but rest of amenities are certainly at a premium. Gym and pool are in great shape and seem to have had general remodel. For me the highlight of this hotel was the incredible customer service and the staff at reservations, front desk and loyalty check in. 13 July 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by OVERALL GREAT STAYS BOTH DATES Stayed there twice within two weeks and both stays were very enjoyable. Beside the beautiful view of the Acropolis quality of room appointments,cleanliness and employees service and friendliness were exceptional.Although the hotel is nearly 30 years old it is extremely well maintained and contains some fabulous Art Works Compared to a few years ago the addition of the terrace overlooking the Acropolis and can take up to three hundred people for cocktail and the Spa are really a plus.One has also to mention the new Premiere Restaurant on the top floor and not only for its beautiful view but for its exceptional cuisine and attentive service. Would recommend to anybody. 12 July 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good choise for business trip All you need for a conference. Food is fresh and enough of variety. Room is very large and quite, no noise from outside. Perfect view from the restaurants on terrace. Large enough swimming pool near the bar. What is not so perfect - about 5 min walk to the nearest metro-station. A tram is closer but goes not so frequently. On the other hand - a free hotel shuttle bus brings you to the city centre just in 15 min! 10 July 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great service and competent staff Relatively large rooms and clean. Professional staff. Excellent concierge. Outstanding view and atmosphere at the bar on the top floor. A bit too far from the airport: 40 minutes by taxi. Watch out for price gauging by taxi drivers. 06 July 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great Hotel, Overvalued services Generally the hotel was very nice. Large rooms, nicely decorated, one of the best I have ever been. Very comfortable beds and a large bathroom were a plus. Totally unacceptable though were the extreme charges for breakfast and wifi. €34.50 for an extra breakfast for my guest.???? And the wifi situation was totally unheard of. No free wifi in the rooms is something not so uncommon but no free wifi in the lobby and a very expensive fee of €21 per day (if I am not mistaken) is totally unacceptable. living in a digital world full of smartphones, tablets and computers relying on the internet to work, how is it possible to pay such an expensive fee for it? From all the 5 star hotels I stayed so far I was under the impression that you pay more but you get more services for your money. This is a big minus because for a business traveller as myself the above results in high roaming charges. I hope it gets fixed soon and it will be a perfect hotel. 25 June 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by poor attention to ambassador members hotel staff made errors at check in given I am an AMBASSADOR member ; I had to change rooms, I was not immediately offered the paid up-grade fopr the room. por attention for the elite members 18 June 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Outdated rooms We stayed at this hotel for our honeymoon and were disappointed with our room which was outdated. The receptionist tried to upsell updated/refurbished rooms for a premium price at the time of check-in. No free Wi-Fi available either (which these days is commonly available at even lower star hotels elsewhere) and there were no perks offered for Priority Club members. On a positive note, the lobby, elevators and the main restaurant has been refurbished. Breakfast food quality, selection and service is excellent. "Vasso" at the egg station will certainly make you feel welcome with her smile and should be an inspiration for other staff members. The location is great with close proximity to the Acropolis. 02 June 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great location, wonderful service. Stayed on the 9th floor with a great view of the Acropolis. Very comfortable and well serviced room. Lots of suggestions provided by efficient staff on sights and tours. Shuttle to the center of Athens every 30 mins was efficient and very handy. Only suprise was no shuttle to or from the airport. 31 May 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Club team Arriving tired and hot after an early morning flight, we welcomed the oasis that is the Athens Athenaeum. Escorted to the Club floor by charming front desk staff, the Club team were friendly, professional and helpful -all you could ask for. Spacious, typical ICH room (but ask for a Parthenon-facing room if you haven't stayed before). The whole Club experience was excellent and very good value with refreshments throughout the day and what better way to start than with breakfast on the club balcony overlooking the Acropolis and Parthenon? We've stayed in lots of 'boutique' hotels with cool (ie unfriendly) and unhelpful staff and this visit is making us better appreciate the value of 'old school' options. Thanks to all the team and for confirming that our 'little grand tour' of the Peloponnese was a good choice! (BTW: the location is ok: you can walk up to the Metro at FIX and then turn in and up through quiet suburbs to get to the foot of the Acropolis in 20 mins and avoid the noise and dirt around Syntagma and Plaka) 27 May 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by OVERALL GOOD EXPERIENCE After reading other reviews online before booking our stay, we decided to reserve a room on the Club Level. Some reviewers said that the food in the Club Lounge was good enough and plentiful enough to make small meals, thereby saving money on the VERY EXPENSIVE food in the hotel restaurants. We did not find this to be the case. The breakfast "buffet" was far from a buffet, with extremely limited selections. Tiny appetizers were put out in the evening and a small selection of desserts. Save your money for dinner and book a room on a regular floor. The hotels location is a bit questionable, with many "strip" clubs in the area. I wouldn't feel comfortable walking around there at night. However, the hotel does offer a free shuttle to the Plaka shopping and restaurant district, which we used. It runs right on time and is a great service and convenience. Because of the hotel's good appearance, cleanliness, good service and friendly staff, we would consider staying there again. 23 May 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by We were not impressed We've stayed in your hotel on May 11th 2013. We rented 2 KING DELUXE ACROPOLIS VIEW ROOM. Our impression was that the pictures on your website were more appealing that the reality. Room was average. Bathroom was 20 years-old+. Upon our arrival, front desk staff upsell the CLUB package for 53 Euros saying we wold find canapés and drinks in the afternoon and drinks at night. We went there in the afternoon but we were disappointed. Not a lot of food, only abouth 10 canapes. When we returned to the hotel the same night, the CLUB was closed. In addition, we found the limit of 1 hour for the wi-fi to be ridiculous! It shoud be included and unlimited in the CLUB package. Lastly, we were not advise that a big party was organize on the roof and that loud music would play till 23h45! At least, front desk could have advise us of the situation. In summary, we were disapointed and will not be back in this hotel on our next trip to Athens. 22 May 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by verry good stay in athens Thank you for the good stay in athens, it will me every time remember 10 May 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Very nice room, expensive breakfast Thanks to priorityclub I got an upgrade to deluxe level room. The room was large, clean and beautiful. What makes me giving only 3 stars: - Internet is really slow, hard to work. Keep in mind if you are a business traveller - breakfast costs 34.90. At my previous stays it was around 25 "only" (average hotel price). I was shocked looking at my bill, nowhere on planet earth I'm not willing to pay 34.90 for a breakfast. 30 April 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Another great stay at InterContinental Athens! The balcony suite with Acropolis view is pretty large (around 70 sqm). Living room with table, seating area, separated toilets and entry room Bedroom with comfortable bed, desk. Flat screen television with large selection of international channels Bathroom with bathtub. Korres amenities and now Agraria soap (a nice selection of natural soaps was offered as a welcome gift). Large terrace with very nice view over Athens and Acropolis Recently renovated in an elegant contemporary design Fast wifi Very quiet (2 double glass) The Club lounge offers very good breakfast. Nice selection of evening hot meals, drinks and afternoon pastries Great staff Nice view and pleasant terrace 2 PCs with printer Quiet Dated decor Good Wonderful staff , from reception, customer relation manager, club staff and housekeeping (smiling, responsive, proactive) Large and elegant suite, great terrace Club lounge Superb weather (outdoor pool was not unfortunately already open) Bad Nothing really 23 April 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great atmoshpere and service We stayed at the Club intercontinental in late march (2 adults and 1 toddler). It was the 2nd time and we confirmed our view of it being a great place to stay. We had the feeling that we stayed at a hotel inside a hotel and we enjoyed the great service, the friendliness of the personnel and the warm atmosphere. We certainly recommend it and we intend to stay there next time we visit athens. 04 April 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excelent hotel!!! We spent last week in the hotel during our vacations with my husband. Is true that is not in downtown but with the low cost of the taxis in Athens it wasn't an issue. We had breakfast in the room, it was xpensive but was huge so we can share just one for both of us. It was full of choices and delicious. We went in the evening for the tea in the first floor and the environment was amazing, the pianist vey good. We ate in the 9th. Floor the menu degustation and was the best, even not so expensive. The conciergue and all of the staff excellent. We really love it! Being Royal Ambassador we didn't had access to the lounge club that should be reconsidered, is not big deal for the hotel and very comfortable for us and a recognition for the loyalty. 31 March 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Place to Stay with a Trustworthy Staff I regularly stay at the Intercontinental in Athens for business and always have a very pleasant stay. I almost never write reviews, but the staff at this hotel has proven itself over and over to be very accommodating and trustworthy. On this past trip I sent a shirt to be laundered and forgot that I had tucked my expensive ear bud headphones into the shirt pocket. When I got back to my room that evening, my shirt was neatly laundered, pressed and packaged, along with a separate package for my headphones. On a prior trip I had been rushing and actually left my platinum wedding band on the counter in the bathroom. When I returned in the evening, my wedding band was right where I left it. Thank you very much, and keep up the high standards! 21 March 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Family getaway Great experience overall. Was there with wife and 2 kids, surprised at the large size of our room. Staff was very friendly. They have a free shuttle that takes you into the tourist area, this was very convenient and a real plus. I suggest you pay the extra 10 Euro and include breakfast with your stay as it is a very good buffet and it really saved us quite a bit of money as it was included for all four of us!! Would definitely stay here again. 10 March 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Not up tp InterContinental standard Very nice hotel but not an ideal hotel for weekend getaway. Two problems I would like to highlight: 1>, Arrived one day before my birthday and specified in my request as birthday celebration. Despite the fact that the passport was seen by check-in staff. No efforts were made in recognition. 2>, The sauna and steam room in the hotel is not free. For this reason, I think this is not a hotel for weekend getaway. However, it is still one of the best hotel in Athens with great views to Acropolis. Besides the expensive restaurant and lack of personal touch, the hotel operates multiple shuttle every day to city centre which is very useful. The tram stop nearby is great to go around the city as not very much going on around the hotel. 08 March 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by very good hotel we stay often for bussiness and relax trips its a very good hotel good location,rooms are very clean and comfortable the stuff very polte,the deluxe rooms and the rooms on the intercontinental club are nice very clean and spacius.Its a very decent hotel!!! 01 February 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Memorable stay and first class service I would usually stay at another hotel nearby but this time decided to try the intercontinental which I had visited for functions in the past. I was very pleasantly surprised, facilities remain of a very high standard, the reception area is decorated and maintained to a very high standard. The staff are very helpful and attentive to residents needs. But the real diamond which the Hotel has is the restaurant on the Rooftop. This was a truly fabulous experience from the cocktails until desert! Words can do it no justice except to simply go and experience a five star menu! I feel privileged to have had such an experience. Thank you. See you next time. 25 January 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by New Years Eve in Athenaeum ! The name Intercontinental all alone reminds us Internationally well expected&accepted standards .In some cases great disappointments ,especially if you are planning to spent your very special days at the premises as I did recently in Athenaeum. Good Luck with your stay! 08 January 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Wonderful staff, elegant suites, great view over the Acropolis The balcony suite with Acropolis view is pretty large (around 70 sqm). •Living room with table, seating area, separated toilets and entry room •Bedroom with comfortable bed, desk. Flat screen television with large selection of international channels •Bathroom with bathtub. Korres amenities •Large terrace with very nice view over Athens and Acropolis •Recently renovated in an elegant contemporary design •Fast wifi •Very quiet (2 double glass), which was much appreciated as there was a night party at the top floor restaurant The Club lounge offers a very good breakfast. Nice selection of evening hot meals, drinks and afternoon pastries Friendly staff Nice view and pleasant terrace 2 PCs with printer Quiet Dated decor Good •Wonderful staff , from reception, customer relation manager, club staff, pool staff and housekeeping (smiling, responsive, proactive) •Large and elegant suite, great terrace •Good club lounge •Pleasant outdoor pool Bad •Nothing really Greece is in massive economic troubles, but I was very impressed how people are welcoming and making their best (airport staff, metro staff, staff at restaurants and boutiques, and of course wonderful InterContinental'staff). 04 January 2013
<<prev 3 4 5 6 7 next>>
Athenaeum Athens
  • Syngrou Avenue 89-93
  • Athens , 11745
  • Greece
  • Front Desk +30-210-9206000

  • Driving Directions
  • Transportation
  • Parking
   

Languages spoken by staff

German, Greek, English, French, Italian, Russian

Pet Policy

No pets allowed except guide dogs
  • Local Time

    11:06 PM
    • CHECK-IN

      2:00 PM
    • CHECK-OUT

      12:00 PM Late Check out Available
    • Evening Reception Desk Open

    Currency

    • Euro € (EUR)

    Accessibility

    • Service animals allowed
    • 10 Room(s) with Accessibility Standards
    • Parking