Skip Navigation
  • English    English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • Sign In
  • 1 888 IC HOTELS
  • Book online or call:
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
  • 1 888 IC HOTELS
  • Book online or call:
 

Stephen F. Austin

Rated 4.3 out of 5 by 87 reviewers.
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Not Real Happy We were very disappointed first to find out that the hotel bar was closed, again for a private party and then we had a smoker across the hall and nothing was done to stop it. We well be back in Austin in February and may have re-think were we may be staying. 30 January 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Location and Service! We loved our visit to Austin and it all started with the InterContinental! Trish (concierge) was extremely helpful with restaurant recommendations and reservations and we felt very at home. We loved the club lounge as well, it was great to grab a cappuccino or coffee when we didn't want to leave the hotel. The location can't be beat, walking distance from pretty much everywhere we wanted to go. Have to also mention that the doormen were so warm and friendly and seemed genuinely happy to see us every time we returned. Thank you for a great stay! 29 January 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great stay! We had a wonderful time. Short stay but worth it. Everyone was friendly and helpful. 27 January 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 Luxurious and comfortable! Excellent guest services! We had a wonderful stay at this hotel last Sunday night. We were in Austin for a one night get-a-way. We checked in about 5pm and the valet came running to get our car and greet us. The front desk staff was attentive and friendly. The room was perfect- clean and everything in it's place. The furnishings were lovely yet comfortable. We enjoyed dessert from room service which was fast and delicious. The server was friendly and polite. The breakfast was delicious and plentiful even though we were not early risers on a holiday Monday. The staff at the breakfast buffet was also attentive. When we left right at check out time there were plenty of staff on hand at the desk and valet to help us depart efficiently. 23 January 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Good location, great staff. Right in the center of downtown, easy access to sixth street east and west, Town Lake, South Congress, the Drag... 16 January 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Awesome experience We chose this hotel because it had been recently remodeled and is in downtown Austin. It exceeded our expectations! The rooms were very nice and the beds was one of the most comfortable I've slept in. The best food I've had at any hotel. The service was phenomenol at every level. Even out meeting space was beautiful. It had an outdoor terrace with a view of the Capitol. We are already planning our meeting there for next year and I will stay here every time I go to Austin! 14 January 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 Great customer service makes for a great stay Big thank you to Mark and Jamiliah for welcoming me back to the Stephen F Austin. I had a comfortable, quiet room waiting for me (including the special pillows). The gym is one the best hotel gyms I've seen for a hotel its size. Great location and friendly bartender. 14 January 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Hotel is wonderful but staff are even better! We stayed at the Stephen F Austin Intercontinental for a couple of nights for a 23rd wedding anniversary. The staff were amazing. A bottle of very nice Champagne appeared in our room later with a personal note from the front desk..... very cool. Oh, and they upgraded our room for free to make our time there even more special. Thanks guys. 08 January 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Unbelievable Experience From the time I got online to research this hotel, until the very moment that I am writing this review, the excitement level that I have experienced form this stay has not subsided. From the ease of online booking, to the personal call to confirm the reservation, to the "Thank You" email I received, this is one 1st class group of people. I am sure they offer some of the same amenities that other "nice" hotels offer, but they deliver is a completely different way. I can't say enough great things about the hotel and staff. UNREAL! I can't wait to go again. It takes the guesswork out of where to stay, and what to do. One less thing that usually bogs down our travel experience. 08 January 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Love the SFA hotel We had a wonderful stay in Austin. the room was fabulous. Th 07 January 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Overall good experience. Both days of our stay from Dec. 25 at 11pm thru Dec. 27 @ 2pm. every person: Front desk, valet, Tammy, housekeeping and breakfast room consistently provided stellar customer service. Room was large,newly renovated and linens were clean. The cleanliness was lacking however, in the detail I expect from a hotel at this price point, i.e. walls, tables, doors, mirrors and fixtures were not dusted, cleaned and wiped down. The concierge on December 26 at 4pm allowed me to stand in front her for five minutes and then sit in the chair in front of her for another three minutes without ever once acknowledging my presence. I would have appreciated her placing her caller on a brief hold and saying "Ma'am I'll be with you in just a moment." I went to the front desk to receive help instead. 06 January 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Awesome Austin If Austin isn’t on your lists of places to visit don’t put it on your list - put it at the top. The hotel is great. The hotel has just been renovated. The room was a little small but we’ve found that that’s a price you’re going to pay for staying in a historic hotel. Being a historic building the walls are a little thin so noise was a problem one night. Between the bar staff and the Concierge Tricia we got great recommendations for what to do, see and where to eat in Austin. The location couldn’t be any better. It’s right in the middle of everything making it easy to walk everywhere. We were there for eight days and only took a cab twice. Make sure you put South Congress, the Capital and a city tour on your list of things to do. 04 January 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Very accommodating We used this hotel as the base for all our family attending a wedding. The hotel did a great job meeting all our needs and the rooms were great value. 03 January 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by BEWARE OF MATTRESS- Applaude the staff and service The hotel is beautiful, clean. The staff is polite and attentive. The rooms are modern and decorated beautifully. However ; if you value a good mattress this is not the hotel for you. I should mention I have a temperpedic and need it because I have had several spinal surgeries, but the mattress did a disservice to my stay and literally could not sleep in it. . Everything else in the hotel is amazing, but if its a comfortable place to sleep you want. you will not get it here. 01 January 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent Service, especially Chenisse, the amazing Concierge! We stayed at the Intercontinental in downtown Austin this past weekend for our 8th year marriage anniversary. Chenisse, the concierge, truly made this a memorable experience; her customer service skills are just amazing! She is truly the type of employee, that herself alone, would make people want to come back and stay at your hotel, so please thank her on our behalf and know that she is invaluable to your hotel's success! The corner king suite had nice south-facing views of city and the room was large, clean and cozy. The location of the hotel is also excellent should you want to stay within walking distance from all the hot live music spots and restaurants Austin has to offer. Also would like to thank Jose in Security for kindly gathering my watch/ring which we forgot in the room upon check out and returning to us. Overall, a great experience and would most definitely stay there again should we come back to Austin for a fun weekend! 01 January 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Extra Charge For Air and Water Nice hotel, the price seemed fair until you get there and are charged extra for Parking, WiFi, and other stuff that should be included in the price of the room. At 2:00 AM we were awakened by the people above us having a knock down drag out fight, yelling horrible things to one another throwing heavy objects about. Very disturbing. This went on until 3:30 AM. I reported it at 2:15. I mentioned this to the desk clerk while checking out and the response was "how interesting" in a very soft tone. In a very loud voice the same desk clerk announced to everyone in the lobby what I had used out of the beverage refrigerator during my stay. Classy. Had to get up and travel the next day. We really needed a good nights sleep, but didn't get one. The restaurant and bar were very nice. Really good food reasonably priced and a nice atmosphere. I would recommend this hotel to friends. I know it's not the hotels fault that people argue, however after a few minutes they should demand they leave or be quiet. 31 December 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Two thumbs up!! Our 43rd anniversary. Arrived and found a lovely fruit and cheese plate complete with a bottle of champagne. It only went UPhill after that. Room, staff, food couldn't have been more perfect. 30 December 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Wonderful as always My grilfriend and I stayed for 2 nights over Christmas this year. We stay here whenever we are in Austin. This is our favorite hotel in Austin. The service was terrific. Other places we went over the holiday clearly had their B-Team in place because the service was below par, but not the Stephen F! Everyone from the valets, to the front desk, to room service was fast, friendly, and efficient. The room was clean and cozy, with very comfortable linens, and a great mattress. They even had warm apple cider (SO delicious) and cookies in the lobby which was a really nice treat. We ate breakfast there on Christmas morning and the service and food were really excellent. I very much recommend this hotel when you are in Austin. They are just really good folks in a nice hotel. 29 December 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Awesome Staff We stayed for our 20th anniversary. The ENTIRE staff was wonderful! We have also stayed at the Four Seasons in Austin and from now on we will be at the Intercontinental! Loved our stay! 21 December 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by terrific hotel for a terrific city Excellent staff, friendly, very helpful, made us feel welcome. Spacious rooms and very good patio/lounge. Everything downtown is walkable. 5 stars. 10 December 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 3rd floor We arrived late (3am) to the hotel and the doorman was very helpful in the parking that late at night, thank you for that. Front desk staff was informed that we were arriving late and all went quick and easy for check- in and out. Our room was on the 3rd floor looking at the huge AC unit. We arrived so late that when I opened the curtain to see the city lights all we got was AC unit! Not very happy about that. Hotel is lovely, we would stay again if we come back to Austin, but not on the 3rd floor 10 December 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great Experience! (Except for the noisy residents across the hall) My wife and I stayed here on our wedding night. The hotel itself was very nice and very clean. We weren't there very long, so I can't really speak to much else. They did leave a bottle of champagne in our room to celebrate the wedding, which was very nice! The valets were very prompt and efficient too. Only problem was a group of people staying across the hall who were very loud, very early in the morning... not the kind of experience we were expecting in a nice hotel like this. We notified the front desk, but it took a while for security to come and quiet them down. Otherwise, would have been 5 stars :\ 02 December 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Not favorable The only good thing was the location. The room was small and totally overpriced. I have stayed at many Holiday Inns and was pleased in most cases. If I did not have the points, I would not have stayed there. I felt that the staff did not care that I was a member of Priority Club. Valet was also overpriced. I have stay in four-star hotels in Hawaii and the Valet Parking was one-third the cost. When I checked the coffee there were two one-cup packs; one regular and one decafe. Both my wife and I drink regular coffee. Most hotels have two of each. Why must I enter an e-mail address below when where it says nickname it says not to enter your email address! The toilet paper was cheap also! 13 November 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Poor Service for IHG Platinum member Not impressed with the level of service or perks as an IHG Platinum Member who spent over 150 nights in IHG hotels in 2013. 11 November 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Housekeeping was below expectations Service was poor. Housekeeping left bath towels but nothing else. I had to call for hand towels, washcloths, etc. We did not receive turn-down service our last evening at this property. Not a 'real' club. The club was open to the public for breakfast. We had to pay for it and then go to the desk to have the charge removed. Location is excellent. 07 November 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Wonderful Game Weekend The Stephen F. Austin Hotel in Austin, Texas is elegant and perfectly located for access to the University of Texas football games and the exciting 6th Street nightlife. With our Intercontinental Gold Ambassador membership, we were treated to an upgrade, a luxurious suite. My husband, who rarely raves about anything, raved about the comfortable room. While we were excited to see our son and cheer the Longhorns with him, the added pleasure of our stay at the Stephen F. Austin made it a weekend to remember. 06 November 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Intercontinental In Austin We arrived around 2:15 PM and advised that it would be at approx. 1hr. before our room would be ready. We had to check our bags at the front desk and returned later to check in. We found our room to be somewhat cramped in size and the bath had not been properly cleaned...Toilet seat lid with unknown marks and hair in the bathtub, but everything else seemed to be in order. We would gladly have waited a few more minutes for the room to have been properly cleaned. Front desk was courteous but appeared to be disorganized, evidently due to a full house the previous day. It seemed like a lot of people who wanted to check in had to wait with their luggage in the lobby. We had an excellent dinner at the Roaring Fork adjacent to the hotel. I would recommend this hotel, but with some reservation, based on this experience. 01 November 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Balcony bar is a delight--but don't order the food. In Austin to attend a wedding with long-time friends, we chose the Steven F Austin hotel because it was a special occasion. Unfortunately, the hotel was a huge disappointment. The rooms were small, and at the fortune they cost, not particularly special. Towels were rough and a gray--I've had softer cleaner towels at a much lesser hotels. The power charging icon on the bedside tables and desks was very confusing; it looked like you could place your device on the circle to charge, instead it was pointing to outlets on the side of the furniture. Worst of all was the terrible food and service in the 2nd floor bar. Every single food item we ordered, at 3 different dining times, was ice cold. The outside service was also slow and inattentive--we usually ended up walking to the bar (great bartenders, by the way) to get a drink rather than wait. That being said, the balcony is a lovely place to sit on a fall evening and that is why it was disappointing to have such below standard service. 31 October 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by wonderful stay The room was lovely and large. We had the king deluxe with a couch. The bathroom was beautiful. Everything was spotless. The staff was very friendly and knowledgeable. The location is perfect for experiencing downtown Austin. We loved it and would highly recommend it. 20 October 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by wonderful experience We stayed at this hotel for 3nights, sorry it couldn't be longer. Perfect experience from arrival to check-out. Bellhop, front desk, concierge, and bar service all outstanding. Hotel was spotless, well-kept up, even pool area. Location was fabulous, walking distance to everything! Can't wait to sell it to my clients, Intercontinental never disappoints 03 October 2013
<<prev2 3 4 next>>
Stephen F. Austin
  • 701 Congress Avenue
  • Austin , TX , 78701
  • United States
  • Front Desk +1-512-4578800

  • Driving Directions
  • Transportation
  • Parking
   

Languages spoken by staff

Arabic, German, English, Spanish, French, Italian, Turkish

Pet Policy

Contact hotel for details
  • Local Time

    4:29 PM
    • CHECK-IN

      3:00 PM
    • CHECK-OUT

      12:00 PM Late Check out Available

    Currency

    • US Dollar $ (USD)

    Accessibility

    • Service Animals Allowed
    • 7 Room(s) with Accessibility Standards
    • Special Needs