Skip Navigation
  • English    English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • Sign In
  • 1 888 IC HOTELS
  • Book online or call:
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
  • 1 888 IC HOTELS
  • Book online or call:
 

Stephen F. Austin

Rated 4.4 out of 5 by 188 reviewers.
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Location and customer service The Intercontinental Stephen F Austin is within easy walking distance of the various entertainment districts in the downtown area of Austin. I stay exclusively at The SFA when I'm in Austin because I never feel like just another number when I'm a guest. I feel like I'm staying with friends. 14 September 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Stay, great location We stay often at the SFA Intercontinental. We love the location, the Roaring Fork and the bar. We love staying at SFA!! 10 September 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Historic hotel with good staff I am a seasoned traveler. I would stay here again. it is usually out of my price range, but I book it when the price comes down... 07 September 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable and great location Easy to get to in downtown Austin and overall service by the hotel was great. 06 September 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Only thing 4-Star about this hotel was the price The location of the Stephen F. Austin Intercontinental Hotel was excellent for our weekend getaway to Austin; it was very close to the state capitol and local attractions. The front desk accepted us for early check in, which was a plus. The room itself was poorly laid out - the TV was not very visible from the couch or the bed, only the chair directly in front of it. The bathroom was very nice; I had expected a bathtub from the booking through IHG, but the room descriptions were very poorly written and not descriptive, so I may have mistaken it for another room. The shower was one of the biggest issues with our stay. The plastic articulated shower head stuck out of the wall, fell on your head while you showered (you couldn't tighten it enough to keep it in place), and had broken free from the grout on the wall. Also, the place were the old shower head had been was just a pipe sticking out of the ceiling. The bathroom mirror had a crack in it and the bathroom door had a large chip missing. I had a really hard time sleeping in the bed; by about 1:30 AM was making comparisons to a piece of plywood. I have stayed in many IHG properties, and this bed was by far the worst. We visited both the bar and the restaurant; they were both pretty good. I was overall just disappointed with the attention to detail in our room; most of the little things that I would have expected from many of the more economical IHG choices were overlooked in a place I expected to be worth the money (as it is with other IHG luxury properties). I would not stay here again. 04 September 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Birthday Surprise Stay Had a wonderful time....GREAT CUSTOMER SERVICE and EXPERIENCE!!! 03 September 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Location and Sophisticated Feel The hotel is centrally located in downtown Austin. The hotel has a very sophisticated feel that is perfect for business or leisure. I would definitely stay here again. 03 September 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Experience it for yourself I've stayed several times and I keep coming back. The location is great, in the heart of downtown Austin, and the staff provides a personal attention that makes you feel that you are being tended to properly. 31 August 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Stellar experience After six weeks in Europe (12 different beds), I can unequivocally say that my night here was the most comfortable I experienced. The mattress and linens were top notch and extremely comfortable. The room itself was lovely, well maintained, well-light and thoughtfully decorated. There was everything I needed and not much in the way that I didn't, including room in the mini-bar fridge for my own items. The bathroom was sparkling clean with a huge granite seated vanity, several lit magnifying mirrors and two large mirrors. Toiletries were good quality and many nice touches were included, like a mini sewing kit, Q-tips, etc. The staff was gracious (got a free upgrade when she saw our large suitcases), helpful and warm. The bar and dining are looked great; I wish we had eaten there instead of the place on 6th that we got a mediocre taco! Everything about the stay was wonderful, including the location and ease of getting to and from the airport. We only stayed here because of a flight scheduling change, but I am very glad we did! 28 August 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Exeeded our expectations. Looked old in the pictures on-line, but it is very modern inside with several features that I have not seen in other high-end hotels, particularly the bedside lighting and a/c controls. The room was large and roomy, the chairs were actually comfortable (a rarity in many hotels), the water pressure in the shower was great and the shower massage actually worked as it should. The pillows were very comfortable and the a/c cooled quickly and quietly. The conceirge was super helpful and really knowledgeable, and the desk staff was also knowledgeable and very helpful. The only complaint I have about the room is that the bathroom lights ALL go on when you turn the switch on, giving about a zillion watts of bright CFL light. I wish there had been some way to turn on only some at a time, especially at night.. Oh, and we never had to wait for an elevator. There's three of them and they're smart and fast. And the restaurant in the hotel was really excellent. If he hadn't felt compelled to visit places like Stubb's barbq and the recommended mexican restaurant, we could have eaten in the hotel every night. 27 August 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Stephen F. in Austin This is THE place to stay in downtown Austin, due to central location, excellence of the hotel staff and facilities, and the loveliness of this historic property. 27 August 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by NIce stay We didn't need any staff assistance (and that is good). Our room was perfect and we had no problems. 27 August 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Nice Hotel! Great location and beautiful accommodations. Would definitely stay again! 26 August 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by We will definitely be back!!! Our company hosted a business event at the Stephen F. Austin (Intercontinental Hotel). We were provided with friendly, responsive and knowledgeable service from start to finish. Most of the time, you are greeted by name from the hotel staff, all the way from Valet to the front desk. Special attention goes to Viviana at the front desk as she was helpful and informative for all of our needs. She always greeted us with a warm smile and made us feel at home. Hotel rooms were very clean and comfortable. Very modern and up to date with our ever changing technology needs. Thanks to everyone at SFA, you hit it out of the park for our event! 22 August 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by construction noise at 6:15 on a Sunday This was our 2nd time to stay at the Intercontinental. We live in Austin, but stayed after a wedding for a peaceful night. Everything was wonderful at check-in and everyone was helpful. The reason for the low rating after this stay was that at 6:15 the next morning (Sunday) we were woken up by loud banging. We weren't sure what it was at first, but when it continued we asked the front desk (as we were leaving to go home to get away from the noise). We were told it was the construction on the Roaring Fork. We were both very disappointed to have spent the money to stay overnight only to be woken up by construction in the hotel. 20 August 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by comfort and convience nicely located, effect staff , clean room, well amended would do again when in the Austin area. 20 August 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great location. Great staff. GREAT hotel. Everything at this hotel went well. From the moment I check in, to the moment I left, everyone was cordial, courteous and on point. The bar downstairs is a good one, but what's better than sitting on the second story balcony, having a cocktail and watching the world go by? 19 August 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Room not ready at 6:30pm We book club floor a suite n a King room. We checked in 5:30pm. Suite is ready but not the King room which is expected to available shortly. One hour later the room is still not ready, so the manager offer a discount to other floor. The water from the shower is a bite funny or oily ?? After check out there is no discount to the bill. The manager may forget what he said. We stay only two nights. We go to Austin from time to time, we try six to seven different hotel already. The experience of this stay is not as expected. 18 August 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Phenomenal customer service with an exceptionally clean rooms. We were wanting a nice hotel stay in a downtown location. We received both and much more. The front desk personnel went out of their way to make our stay pleasant and memorable. We would recommend this hotel to any of our friends 18 August 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by 44th anniversary. wonderful experience Hotel front desk staff, excellent in all aspects. They excel at their position. The only disappointment we had with service was with the Club. the afternoon of the 14th, my wife and I went in at 5:45 for a glass of wine. We did not see a server until I knocked on the kitchen doors @ 7:45 to ask someone to open a bottle of wine. Other guest were having same problem. Concierge service, also excellent. 18 August 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable room & great breakfast; POOR TECH SERVICE Upon arrival, I experienced almost 24 hours of no Wi-FI. While the Tech support was very eager to helpl and escalate to a senior member, the Hotel kept insisting that the issues were resolved yet it was not true - according to the Tech support. My other colleagues in other rooms on the same floor and other floors did not experience any wi-fi connectivity problems. Therefore, I was greatly disappointed with the hotel for a) not offering immediately to check the connection in ANOTHER ROOM in which I COULD HAVE BEEN moved in to and b) not offering immediately anything to ameliorate the HUGE inconvenience of not having wi-fi conneciton. The front desk told me no one else on my floor complained yet they did nothing to help alleviate the issue for me. It was only the day after, did Roulande the tech support came to confirm the problem was resolved and he was the one to request if he could offer something like a complimentary breakfast. NO ONE FROM THE GUEST SERVICES OFFERED THIS. There is a great DISCONNECT between the Tech support and the Hotels Guest services. I mentioned this is specifically to Rouland as I thanked him. 18 August 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Best Location in Downtown Austin Location, Location, Location...this hotel is a walk from the Capitol building, the bridge to see the bats at night, and obviously 6th Street entertainment. Skip the car and use a taxi for any destinations bordering downtown. The staff is helpful and friendly. And while I didn't have anything go wrong during my stay, I did witness the front desk going out of their way to accommodate a guest who did have problems. The rooms are clean and comfortable. This is my second stay here and the executive style king and the traditional double rooms both were decorated in more traditional styles. The beds are comfortable and I think the pillow firmness varies so you can choose the right pillow for yourself. I didn't eat or drink at the hotel, as I went to the various offerings just a short distance from the hotel. Being downtown, there are convenience stores a close walk to, which can help compensate for the parking fee to valet your car. I didn't find a corkscrew in my room, but guess there was one available at the front desk (a pain to have to ask for one)...the wine in the room comes with screw tops. 15 August 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent Stay Hotel is ultra modern with amenities, but yet decor is in keeping with theme of Austin, TX and the overall feel of hotel. Great for business in downtown Austin. Roaring Fork steakhouse connected to main lobby. Upscale bar/lounge on second floor. 14 August 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by sirens and drunks was on the ninth floor and heard sirens all night, then about 2:30AM the drunks show up in the room next to us and partied the rest of the night, tried calling the front desk but no one picked up the phone. got NO sleep, had better experiences at motel ... at a lot cheaper price...........this by far is the worst IHG hotel ive ever stayed in. 13 August 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Clean rooms, excellent sleep amenities, courteous staff My room was clean with extra care taken to welcome me. I had the choice of firm or soft pillows, and the pillow chocolates were just the added touch to my long stressful day. The courteous staff members were always available to assist. I will definitely stay at this hotel the next time I am in downtown Austin. 11 August 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Always friendly staff I enjoy staying at SFA when in town for business. I know I have other choices though with the great location (across the street from our office), surrounding amenities and friendly staff. I will be back! I truly enjoy relaxing in the SAF 2nd floor bar before retiring for the night. 11 August 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Kein kostenloses Trinkwasser! Ich war geschäftlich Unterwegs. Auf Nachfrage an der Rezeption hat man mir mitgeteilt, dass es auf den Zimmer kein kostenloses Trinkwasser gibt. Das ist meiner Meinung nach ein großer Mangel der nicht zu unterschätzen ist. Schließlich war es außerhalb des Hotels über 37°C heiß und der Preis von über 6 Dollar pro Flasche ist mir zu hoch. Kostenloses Wasser ist eigentlich eine gewöhliche Sache in anderen Hotels in Austin bzw. in jedem Restaurant dort. Sonst gab es nichts zu beanstanden. 11 August 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Lovely room and so close close to great downtown eateries This hotel was chosen for a 2 day school I attended. It was very nice and comfortable. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The overall location was great for experiencing some of the delicious restaurants close by and other nightlife. I would love to visit Ausitn again on a non business trip and stay at this hotel. 08 August 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Wow what a great Staff! My wife and I selected the hotel because of the location of hotel on Congress street. What were surprised about the quality of all of the staff! From the waitress in the lounge to the front desk, valet team to our phenomenal Concierge. Pleasant, Efficient and Courteous they made our 34th Wedding Anniversary a memorable event. We will be back again. 07 August 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Son's wedding weekend and reception Every aspect of the week-end was excellent including front desk, timely laundry service (had several requests for wedding attire services) bar, restaurant, and wedding reception! Congrats to all staff and especially wedding planner for guest accommodations and reception! 07 August 2014
<<prev2 3 4 5 ... 7 next>>
Stephen F. Austin
  • 701 Congress Avenue
  • Austin , TX , 78701
  • United States
  • Front Desk +1-512-4578800

  • Driving Directions
  • Transportation
  • Parking
   

Languages spoken by staff

Arabic, German, English, Spanish, French, Italian, Turkish

Pet Policy

No pets allowed in this downtown Austin Hotel.
  • Local Time

    6:11 AM
    • CHECK-IN

      3:00 PM
    • CHECK-OUT

      12:00 PM Late Check out Available

    Currency

    • US Dollar $ (USD)

    Accessibility

    • Service animals allowed
    • 7 Room(s) with Accessibility Standards
    • Special Needs