Skip Navigation
  • English    English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • Sign In
  • 1 888 IC HOTELS
  • Book online or call:
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
  • 1 888 IC HOTELS
  • Book online or call:
 

Stephen F. Austin

AUSTIN LUXURY HOTEL ON FAMED CONGRESS AVENUE
The Hotel finished a multimillion dollar renovation of all guestrooms, suites and public areas in March of 2013. Affectionately known as the ‘Stephen F,’ this Austin luxury hotel is ideally placed on Congress Avenue. The unique Art Deco façade is a famous Austin landmark and has been part of the city scene for more than 60 years. At the heart of the culture capital of Texas, this Austin luxury hotel is just blocks from art museums, the state capitol and right next door to Paramount Theatre.

Guest Reviews

Discover the many benefits of becoming an InterContinental Ambassador.

HOTEL HIGHLIGHTS

  • Restaurant & Lounges

    Perrys Steakhouse and Grille is located downtown in the historic Norwood Tower, within easy walking distance of the Capital Complex and other downt...
  • Amenities & Services

    Enjoy laps in the lower level indoor swimming pool or relax and unwind in our heated jacuzzi after a full workout in the fitness centre.
  • SPECIAL PACKAGES

    There's always something special happening at an InterContinental hotel. Whether you are looking for a fun-filled getaway or a place to host your n...
Stephen F. Austin
  • 701 Congress Avenue
  • Austin , TX , 78701
  • United States
  • Front Desk +1-512-4578800

  • Driving Directions
  • Transportation
  • Parking
   

Languages spoken by staff

Arabic, German, English, Spanish, French, Italian, Turkish

Pet Policy

No pets allowed in this downtown Austin Hotel.
  • Local Time

    1:51 AM
    • CHECK-IN

      3:00 PM
    • CHECK-OUT

      12:00 PM Late Check out Available

    Currency

    • US Dollar $ (USD)

    Accessibility

    • Service animals allowed
    • 7 Room(s) with Accessibility Standards
    • Special Needs
    Guest Reviews
    Rated 4.1 out of 5 by 240 reviewers.
    Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Bed was comfortable Management, should conduct employee training for proper attitude towards guest, and make some changes in the quality of service being rendered to the public. August 13, 2014
    Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by NEEDS IMPROVEMENT STAYED HERE FOR HALF THE MONTH AUGUST 2014 OK: THIS IS A OLD BUILDING BUT IS KEPT UP PRETTY GOOD HOWEVER MY ROOM NEVER GOT BELOW 76 DEGREES. COMPLAINED BUT NEVER GOT REPAIRED STAFF IS FREINDLY FOR THE MOST PART EVEN BEING A PLATUIM MEMBER I NEVER GOT UPGRADED TO KING SUITE. DECIDED TO GO TO STAY BRIDGE FOR THE REST OF MY SUMMER IN AUSTIN August 13, 2014
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great location and value We come into Austin from Houston to visit our son at UT and always stay at Crowne Plaza. The location is perfect and price reasonable. They offer everything we need. August 13, 2014
    Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by comfortable bed, great breakfast and service The only discomfort was the walls too thin.. I was going to wake up at 6 am but the guest next door had phone/alarm set at 5:30 am each morning.. I would appreciate that extra 30 minutes.. Front desk was very helpful, kind and professional when I checked in. Breakfast Cook/Chef very helpful.. and willingness to say go ahead what would you like today.. August 9, 2014
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Hospitality Room is a Plus We stayed on the seventh floor so we had the executive hospitality room with the drinks and snacks and breakfast. Wanda is the Crown Jewel of this Crowne Plaza. She makes us want to come back for more. The service was great. August 7, 2014
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great First Experience Front desk was very helpful in putting me on the quietest area possible so I could rest and prepare for my TEAS V for Nursing School. Room was spacious and comfortable, with only minor issue being the A/C taking a while to cool the room down (I blame Texas summer for that). I will certainly use Crowne Plaza again, if not this location, the next time I need to stay in Austin. August 7, 2014
    Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by clean room but lunch buffet not well organized The room was clean and very relaxing. The lunch buffet on Saturday should not have been served in the bar, There has very limited seating, very uncomfortable chairs and the tables are to small for serving a meal. The kids enjoyed the pool. August 6, 2014
    Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by How does a hotel run out of towels? Not a bad hotel. Located close to UT. You can tell it used to be a top notch hotel but needs a bit of updating. Front doors are a bit rickety...leaves a bad first impression. After the first night the hotel ran out of bath towels and we were assured they would be replenished while we were out for the night...they never were. August 6, 2014
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Austin weekend trip As expected Staff was excellent . The room was updated and clean. August 6, 2014
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by AC issues Hotel was excellent. All you need is easily located within the Crowne Plaza Hotel. I have slept better at Crowne Plaza Hotels, but for some reason, this particular room 648, air conditioning was not functioning as it should, therefore I had poor sleeping. However, being the professional that I am, I adjust and adapt. I did not have time to report front desk at time however reported it during check out so I hope this fix the problem before the next time the room is assigned to a customer. August 6, 2014
    Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Friendly and Welcoming Staff The staff was great. Friendly and very helpful with directions and restaurant suggestions. The lobby was impressive; expansive, yet quiet, and well taken care of The room we stayed in was quite nice; however it had no microwave, no mini fridge, and very few accessible wall outlets which we found to be problematic. The mattress was firm and the pillows fluffy, but the top coverlet was not very warm. I would have liked a free hot breakfast as we had in other hotels, instead of having to pay $8 for 1 pancake and 4 sausages and $4 for a pot of coffee. August 5, 2014
    Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Concierge not too concerned but check in ppl great! My check in was fantastic. The gentleman who helped me was very sweet and accommodating. He recognized my status and offered a welcome gift. I was able to get into my room with no problem. The elevator was a different story. I went to the concierge to discuss the problem and he didn't seem to really care. He said to email the GM. He went behind the counter to get the GM's email address for me was not able to find it. When he told me what he "thought" it was, he looked at what I notated and left it at that. He had commented they all knew the elevators were not working correctly and that they had ordered new elevators to replace them. I asked about what to do in the meantime. He didn't answer me. It wasn't until I was leaving the hotel for some errands until he showed "genuine" concern. August 4, 2014
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great place to stay The hotel and everything was very nice. Room service was great and very easy to contact even so close to them being closed. The front desk staff was very nice when I went to ask for a toothbrush and details about breakfast the next morning. It was a great time and experience I will be back again. August 3, 2014
    Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Sleepless nights Guest-children were running halls past midnight knocking on doors and opening and slamming doors one night and the next I had to notify the front desk that people were gathered at poolside partying at 4:30 in the morning and my room was just one floor above noise. Very poor costumer service. July 30, 2014
    Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Consistent Quality Overall this Crowne Plaza stay was about average. The property is older but well maintained. This visit also required us to book an accessible room which is not typical to our stays. Expecting a roll-in shower we were disappointed to find tub / shower combination. Although properly equipped with grab bars the room really did not fit the needs for elderly mother. Older hotel property that is well maintained and comfortable stay. July 30, 2014
    Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Worn Hotel Nice place to stay but worn out in places. My A/C has something to be desired...it did cool but a very slow rate. It took it more than 4 hours to bring the temperature down 10 degrees. Also the cleaning staff would set it back up to 75 thus allowing the room to be HOT when I returned from my day o f business. Thus it would take 4 hours to bring the air temperature down to 69. One elevator was a pot shoot as for it to work or not. Otherwise the other two would work. One thing and this sounds silly, but A/C your hallways in the afternoon, I know that when the Maid service was in the hallways it was cooled, from the doors being held open but after that, it would be stifeling when you go the elevator at your floor. Do not stay one weekend if you are wanting peace and quiet late in the evenings, as I was on the 7th floor which is PARTY MECA on weekends till the wee hours of the morning. July 28, 2014
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent property friendly staff Very nice rooms staff was friendly from desk to the cleaning staff July 27, 2014
    Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Austin Briefing Enjoyed the stay and will stay here again when in Austin. July 26, 2014
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Fit for a King This was the best stay I've had in the many many years that I have been since I became a Priority Club member. The care of the staff, the excellent room, the must appreciated upgrade to the Executive Floor was the best upgrade I've ever received. The amminites with the Executive upgrade were unbelievable the evening snacks and beverages and the morning breakfast in the executive lounge or full breakfast in the restaurant was excellent. i am looking foward to my next stay here again. July 26, 2014
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by GREAT STAY Staff was great. Rooms were clean. Overall GREAT STAY! July 23, 2014
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Bar Lounge It will be very much appreciated by most people to have some music in the bar to dance or just listen to as well as complimentary munchies for people to enjoy. Many times we have to bring our own to have with our drinks. We noticed a few people that asked for snacks as they saw us eating ours; bartenders should ask if you care to have complimentary snacks. July 23, 2014
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Best Hotel In Austin The staff are incredible. The hotel is beautiful. Breakfast is the best in Austin. Love the cranberry chicken salad for lunch or dinner. This is by far my favorite place to stay in Austin. July 22, 2014
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable stay and great service Always enjoy staying at the Crowne Plaza. A Great Hotel experience. July 22, 2014
    Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Good for business travelers Neither good nor bad -- it is clean, convenient and the price is fair. July 21, 2014
    Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by An Enjoyable Stay I highly recommend the Crowne Plaza if you are in the Austin area. CC July 21, 2014
    Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by OVERALL GREAT STAY STAFF WAS VERY ACCOMPANYING IN MAKING A ROOM CHANGE FROM SINGLE T0 DOUBLE BED ROOM FROM ONE NIGHT TO THE NEXT. TIM WAS VERY AT THE FRONT DESK. THEY ALSO ARRANGED MY TRANSPORTATION TO AND FROM THE AIRPORT WITH NO PROBLEM. I GREATLY APPRECIATE IT!!! July 18, 2014
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Very frienly staff and comfortable room. Needs major repairs. Front entrance needs major repairs. Pool was one of the dirtiest and outdated I've experienced in a while. The only accessable outlets were in the bathroom. The curtains were fixed in place and would not close. Other than the above mentioned, this was a nice stay and I will stay here in the future. July 17, 2014
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Service Dora at the front desk checked us in and took very good care of our needs as far as room accommodations, room type and roll-away bed. Cynthia who works the front desk in the morning did not hesitate to replace our breakfast coupons when my wife accidentally took them to the hospital. Augustine in the restaurant took care of our needs in the restaurant despite my three daughters failing to eat just about anything I put in front of them although they had a big selection for breakfast. Lee our van driver took us to the hospital later that morning. He kindly waited a few extra minutes for us at the hospital pick up zone while they were conducting a last rights ceremony for my niece who tragically died from a car accident. The hotel itself was very nice but the excellence of the staff is what made our stay the most enjoyable given our circumstances. July 16, 2014
    Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Great shuttle driver Our shuttle driver, Ken Tops was so accomidating & helpful. July 16, 2014
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Night Had a very busy day with travel and a meeting that lasted quite late. Was so nice to reach the comfort of my room with the ability to have a comfortable area to wind down. The bed was so nice and I enjoyed a very restful night. The buffet breakfast was fast and filling. Look forward to a return visit to this hotel very soon. July 15, 2014
    <<prev2 3 4 5 ... 9 next>>