Skip Navigation
  • English    English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • Sign In
  • 1 888 IC HOTELS
  • Book online or call:
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
  • 1 888 IC HOTELS
  • Book online or call:
 

Stephen F. Austin

AUSTIN LUXURY HOTEL ON FAMED CONGRESS AVENUE
The Hotel finished a multimillion dollar renovation of all guestrooms, suites and public areas in March of 2013. Affectionately known as the ‘Stephen F,’ this Austin luxury hotel is ideally placed on Congress Avenue. The unique Art Deco façade is a famous Austin landmark and has been part of the city scene for more than 60 years. At the heart of the culture capital of Texas, this Austin luxury hotel is just blocks from art museums, the state capitol and right next door to Paramount Theatre.

Guest Reviews

Discover the many benefits of becoming an InterContinental Ambassador.

HOTEL HIGHLIGHTS

  • Restaurant & Lounges

    Perry's Steakhouse and Grille is located downtown in the historic Norwood Tower, within easy walking distance of the Capital Complex and other down...
  • Amenities & Services

    Enjoy laps in the lower level indoor swimming pool or relax and unwind in our heated jacuzzi after a full workout in the fitness centre.
  • SPECIAL PACKAGES

    There's always something special happening at an InterContinental hotel. Whether you are looking for a fun-filled getaway or a place to host your n...
Stephen F. Austin
  • 701 Congress Avenue
  • Austin , TX , 78701
  • United States
  • Front Desk +1-512-4578800

  • Driving Directions
  • Transportation
  • Parking
   

Languages spoken by staff

Arabic, German, English, Spanish, French, Italian, Turkish

Pet Policy

No pets allowed in this downtown Austin Hotel.
  • Local Time

    12:35 PM
    • CHECK-IN

      3:00 PM
    • CHECK-OUT

      12:00 PM Late Check out Available

    Currency

    • US Dollar $ (USD)

    Accessibility

    • Service animals allowed
    • 7 Room(s) with Accessibility Standards
    • Special Needs
    Guest Reviews
    Rated 4.2 out of 5 by 216 reviewers.
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 Good hotel for the area Great hotel, just 10 minutes from downtown Austin. You feel safe and comfortable inside the hotel, given that there is not much around the area. Definitely recommended for a short stay in Austin. September 5, 2014
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by The people stand out Best front desk staff I've experienced at any level of hotel in all my years of business travel! September 4, 2014
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Good service Overall, it was a good experience. Was not a big fan of the pillowtop mattress in the room, as it is too soft; but that is a personal preference. Other than that, it's what's expected from a Holiday Inn. September 4, 2014
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Real Nice Excelent hotel - friendly staff - real comfortable rooms. September 3, 2014
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Exceptionally clean and excellent service excellent hotel with friendly service. highly recommend September 3, 2014
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Service Expectations Exceeded!! I stay here often and the staff consistently exceeds my expectations. During a recent visit, I was checked in late at night by Ben who could not have been more helpful, friendly, knowledgeable and accommodating! I felt as though I was a guest in his own home! REALLY! I have always felt the true test of a professional operation is how the business operates when someone needs help or a correction is needed. I was the one that caused the issue, by leaving my phone charger and battery behind when I checked out! I was 200 miles away and was not going to return any time soon. When I called, Ricky took my information, researched it, located the equipment and called me back to confirm he had it. In the morning, I called and talked with Porsche (always professional and a real delight!) who already had the "hand-off info" from Ricky, so there was no re-explaining of everything. Porsche contacted FedEx in my behalf and the equipment was on its way to me at my home in Houston. Sounds like it should go this smooth always, but, when does it?! Well, these folks do it right all the time! Whether it's a stay that goes great from start to finish, or when something or someone needs help...THIS IS THE PLACE TO STAY! Bill September 2, 2014
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Clean Friendly Staff and Great Rooms We could have not asked for a better experience with this hotel. The bed was comfortable. There was a great view from our room. Everything was clean and in its place. The staff was friendly and both check in and check out was easy. September 2, 2014
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Good value Great value. Awesome staff. I will definately book this hotel again when traveling to Austin. September 1, 2014
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great place Great place to stay. great price Rooms are clean and very friendly staff August 27, 2014
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Surprising breakfast An all-day seminar I needed to attend for work was being held in the ballroom of the hotel. I'm from Houston August 26, 2014
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent location, service and appearance. Excellent location, service and appearance. Friendly service and great breakfast. August 25, 2014
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by OUTSTANDING STAFF!! My name is Bill and I have stayed at this location for about 15 days over the last 45!The staff at this location is knowledgeable, helpful, and eager to make sure you are satisfied! As a business traveler with several specific needs, these folks have consistently done was necessary to ensure that those needs are met. Porsche and Josh are extremely knowledgeable; Kevin and Rickie are committed to a great service experience. You need to stay at this location! The only aspect of the entire property that could be improved is the breakfast buffet. The staff is also very friendly and helpful, but the food is cooked too far in advance and is bland. The addition of self-made panckes or waffles could be a plus. August 23, 2014
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great interior upgrade spaces and in a great area I came to austin for the first time and this was the hotel for me. Althought a little hard to get too, the space was worth the trip. If you are there for work or for recreational. the hotel has a pool,gym and conference spaces on site. Located at one of Austin major intersections and just 10 min from the capital building you can get a great experience for an affordable price. Although one thing I would take away would be the parking spaces. Behind the hotel they, they are all marked for as if for a compact. August 21, 2014
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Exelent Facilities Texas Style Had a pleasant stay. Rooms are Texas size and fairly new to my surprise. Great vibes all around. August 19, 2014
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Overall great experience The room was comfortable, very clean with all the amenities one could have asked for. I had no complaints whatsoever. On my first day of my stay, I was upset that the hotel restaurant was not open for lunch, I was forced to eat a salad at the small deli counter in the lobby. I, along with other conference attendees, were not happy with the small selection and slow service because the two people working this counter were overloaded with work and couldn't handle the influx of orders. August 18, 2014
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Staff This is a comfortable hotel, but what makes it special is the staff. Everyone is very accommodating, and if you stay there a couple of times they really get to know who you are. We stay here anytime we have to go to Austin. August 17, 2014
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Service Great Group of employee's at this location. will stay there again if I am in the area. August 15, 2014
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Amazing stay I was very pleased with my stay at this hotel. Great staff regarding the front desk, restaurant, and the maids. The hotel seems to be recently remodeled. The hotel is pretty close to downtown and UT. I'll be back next time I am in Austin. August 14, 2014
    Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by murky pool The weather was HOT! My son lives nearby and we were visiting, he said it was the hottest week of the summer so far. I went down to the pool but it was murky, the only time I've seen a Holiday Inn pool with water that was not clear. I've been a Priority Club member for over 25 years. It was probably just fine to swim in, but just not appealing to jump into and I got my legs wet but did not go in the water. I wonder if the pool was left this way to discourage use? There was an Animae convention, lots of mostly 20's-30's fans, many in costumes/makeup. My daughter is a 19-yr-old college student, and SHE thought them a bit odd. To be fair, she is very conservative. But I imagine a large crowd of those folks could have made quite a mess at the pool so I wonder if the murky condition was a management-inspired deterrent to use of the pool? The room, staff, service, food were great! August 14, 2014
    Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Sloooow internet Room was fine and the staff was great the only complaints I had was that the internet was so slow that it was virtually unusable. Also in order to take a hot shower I had to barely turn the water on which only left me with a trickle of water to shower. August 14, 2014
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Awesome Stay I had a wonderful stay. Theresa Campos is an excellent representative of your organization. Thank you for the excellent service. August 10, 2014
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by excellent this property is excellent. very easy to find off 35. property is always maintained. its not a luxury hotel but because its so well maintained it feels like one and you dont have all the fan fare of the luxury places. it may be the managers that are able to find great people with a quality sense of worth. beds are awesome showers are great. love the full glass wall and walk out balconies just the best to find! in room dining is great with excellent options. i have stayed here maybe 6 times in the past 4 months and 10 in the past year. August 10, 2014
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Late arrival, restful night Arrived late and tired on a Sunday night. Front desk staff was attentive, friendly and professional. I asked for a quiet room if possible and the desk receptionist helpfully explained my options. Great night's sleep, just short. Very convenient to my early morning meeting the next day. I definitely will rebook at this hotel in the future. August 7, 2014
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Outstanding! This might as well be a 5 star hotel. It's beautiful, clean, the staff is excellent, great fitness center, convenient location, and a good value. I can't wait to stay here again! August 6, 2014
    Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Birthday getaway This location is within minutes of downtown. Staff is very friendly and attentive. Breakfast was great and I love the fact that you have until 2pm for checkout! August 6, 2014
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Place to Visit ! My room was clean and the bed was comfortable. Best place ever for having meetings. Meeting room had lots of space and room to spread out our books. I would suggest our organization to use this facility again. The hotel furnished us a meal for lunch on Saturday and it was Italian food and it was the best for buffet style I have ever had..... August 6, 2014
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by comfortable beds missing continental breakfast, but they have very good service and the number one for me is the comfortable beds that they have, the price is very good and the customer service is excellent. August 4, 2014
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Weekday stay in Austin Love staying here....I am always taken care of. Customer Service in excellent. July 28, 2014
    Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Check In Process was slow! Checking was slow.. was told it would be a few seconds to check me in.. after 3 minutes I asked if I should go sit in the lobby and wait instead of standing at the front counter and the front desk person said "yeah". He went on to say that he would come and get me when he was able to check me in.. about 25 minutes later I walked up and people were being checked in and given room keys....... ???? Staff didn't offer any of the IHG rewards club member items at check in (based on my status), didn't know until the next day (after bfast) that breakfast was included, front desk did not even acknowledge my status. It appears as if they were more concerned about getting my credit card to pre authorize for Incidentals than welcoming me or expediting the check in process. I will also note there were 3 font desk people working when I checked and 3-4 guests checked in within a 45 minute time frame. This HI as been updated and is nice.. There are not a lot of dinning options within a reasonable proximity to this hotel , but the hotel offers a restaurant, room service a pantry and an actual "grab and go" food section with a decent selection.. Great example Holiday Inn Corp. anticipating their guests needs and having solutions. July 27, 2014
    Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by restless in Austin While traveling on business, I've stayed at HI-Austin Midtown several times and prior to this visit, I have been extremely pleased. The problem(s) encountered were minimal; but, still had an impact on my next day business. There were children everywhere and it appeared that most [at least the noisy ones] were on my floor. It made for a very difficult next day because I was in a training class and I did not sleep much. When the noise finally stopped, it was almost time for me to get up. Adjusting the water temperature in the shower was difficult. The water was extremely, if not dangerously hot. I finally got the temperature to somewhat tolerable, but the waterflow was slow. The rooms are always immaculately clean. July 25, 2014
    <<prev2 3 4 5 ... 8 next>>