Skip Navigation
  • English    English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • Sign In
  • 1 888 IC HOTELS
  • Book online or call:
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
  • 1 888 IC HOTELS
  • Book online or call:
 

Chicago Magnificent Mile

Rated 4.0 out of 5 by 933 reviewers.
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Spiders in the bed I woke up and found spiders in the bed I killed two. Then grabbed my things and left. I inquired about my meeting scheduled in the hotel and was given erronus information. I was very disappointed for the price is paid. Would not stay there again. 09 October 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great location, great service, odd decor We stayed at the Intercontinental Hotel Chicago for three days. The location is the best: convenient to all sights, shopping, theaters, etc. The service from Will who greets you as you arrive, to Robert, the concierge who got us reservations at excellent restaurants, third row seats at the theater and a recommendation to a beauty parlor (Anna George) for the best haircut I've gotten in years, to the maids, who cleaned our room the minute we went out for breakfast, is the finest imaginable. There is a nice restaurant across the street for excellent breakfasts and lunch and a Starbucks in the hotel for coffee breaks. The decor in the new part of the hotel leaves a lot to be desired. There is no real seating in the lobby(odd) and the brand new carpeting in the hallways is truly hideous: it looks as if it were the victim of an industrial accident (peculiar blotches all over the design), some of the rooms are very small (the drawers when pulled out almost hit the foot of the bed.) In the old tower building, however, the pool is gorgeous (Moorish tiles on the walls, high arched Moorish ceilings), the pool itself is large and the party rooms are gracious and spacious. All in all, we enjoyed ourselves immensely. The location and the marvelous service made up for the oddities of the design and Chicago, is after all, a wonderful city to visit. 09 October 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Cigarette smelling room It's a nice hotel but our non-smoking room smelled strongly of cigarette smoke. I called the front office and they brought in an oxidizer which was supposed to purify the air. We were there 2 full days and the odor never improved. I suggest the hotel do a thorough cleaning that's specific to smoke removal. The hotel offered to move us but I didn't want to do that since my elderly mom was right next door. Hotel reduced our room $50 nightly but I really felt the reduction should have been more. I smelled like cigarette smoke as did my expensive clothing (wedding attire) which will now have to be drycleaned. 09 October 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Exquisite This review could be two pages long if I included every detail of this historic gem. Our suite was on the 34th floor and surprisingly very large. It should go with out saying the suite was beautiful. We had windows and views of three directions. Special note of thanks to Charlie. We met Charlie while riding the elevator. He was exiting the car on the third floor. I ask him if tours were available for the lower floors. Charlie motioned and said he would be more than happy to show us a few parts of the King Arthur's Court. After a few minutes and greatly appreciating his kindness (not wanting to hold him up) I ask if I was. He said no, he had just ended his shift. I was humbled he would do that and I have been pondering it now for a week. It also pretty much sums up entirely the type of service professionals that await you at this Intercontinental property. I would like to thank the entire team at the Intercontinental whom exceeded our expectations during our special weekend. Noting Mrs. Margret M-R, our Ambassador servicing specialist and Remzije, for making everything just so perfect during our stay. Needless to say, we are looking forward to the next stay. 07 October 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Fair Property I was greeted and immediately asked if I wanted to purchase an alternate membership type for $200.00 for services that are commonly offered by other properties reward programs. Room was small and dark. The Wi-Fi was free, however the Fitness Center was fee based for some and not others. As a Platinum Elite I was asked to pay which I opted to not use the Fitness Center at is was not particulary noteworthy. The refrigerator did not allow for personal use as it was stocked with extremely overpriced products (even for Hotels) which could not be moved without purchasing the product to allow for "doggy bag" storage. I have stayed at other properties in Chicago and feel that there are better values within a short walking distance that are more guest friendly. The cleaning staff was extremely helpful in providing additional supplies for the coffee maker each day. 07 October 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Another FABULOUS Stay! I have stayed at this hotel a number of times and it is always excellent. The staff from the front desk to housekeeping are always friendly and professional. The room was clean and nicely updated. Breakfast on the 2nd floor was delicious. This is my 'go to' hotel when I'm in Chicago! 06 October 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Large room, comfortable bed, no free wi-fi We stayed for 3 nights at the end of September 2013 and were pleased to find such a large room. Room was clean, bathroom was clean, bed was comfortable. This would have been 5 stars except the hotel charges for wi-fi. We've stayed in several other hotels in Chicago and in other large cities and were surprised to find the hotel did not provide free wi-fi. 04 October 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by High Expectations Led to Some Disappontment I admit that I expected this hotel to be fabulous based on its reputation, location and price. Those expectations resulted in my disappontment, not because it's not a nice hotel; it is, but because it wasn't exceptional. The room was very small, but clean, and the bed was comfortable. I liked that there weren't a lot of decorative bed coverings that don't get washed between customers; just clean white sheets, pillowcases, and only two decorative pillows. How small was the room? There was no room for a room service cart but by the side of the bed, and if the office chair was pulled out from under the desk, you could not get by it to sit on the narrow couch. There was not enough room between the couch and the bed to have a coffee table or footrest. The rest was fine but not exceptional. My room had a comupter monitor with an intranet showing the hotel's features and local hotspots. The phone numbers to the restaurants were incorrect, probably because the Michael Jordan Steakhouse was formerly two things, a lounge, (bar) and a restauraunt, which seem now to have merged into only one entity. Fine, but update the phone number so that it works. Also, the menu on the in-room computer was out-dated, so many of the items were no longer available. I called for a luggage stand because I didn't want to use the floor, but none was forthcoming, which I guess was OK since there was nowhere but inside the dark closet to put it. I ended up using the couch, so no place to sit but the bed or office chair. The fitness room was excellent, but the pool was closed for renovations. 03 October 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great Place to Stay Went to Chicago for long w/e for some R&R. This hotel has a great location and a very pleasant and attentive staff. Stayed in the old Tower. Rooms were spacious and well appointed. Ask for view of Michigan Ave. if you can. Two small issues which I wish they would fix. They charge a daily fee to use the gym, which has limited space and equipment, and Wi-Fi is extra in the room. Only free at the Starbuck's next door. 03 October 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by 6 star stay I recently wrote a very detailed review of the InterContinental Magnificent Mile, but it was rejected. Apparently it contained information that I was not allowed to talk about. I do not have the time to rewrite it all, but here it is in a nutshell. The staff here is top notch. They far exceed my expectations and go out of their way to take care of me. The building is just beautiful. I love walking around and looking at the craftsmanship. The Ambassador Program is well worth purchasing. I don't know how anyone could not fall in love with this hotel. I give it my highest recommendation. 03 October 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by OK room clean, small, well-appointed, expensive, not friendly Experience was OK. Front desk had no info on wedding shuttle and breakfast plans. Unfriendly--mini bar had notice that you would be charged for anything out of the bar for 30 seconds. Parking was $65.00 each night (outrageous)! $30. charge if you wished to have the mini-bar over-priced items removed so you could use the mini-bar as a refrigerator Not sure about charges for internet, but didn't use it. Overall feeling of unfriendliness and willingness to gouge at every place possible. Room service charges totally out of sight. Realize that location is on the magnificent mile, but completely out of sight. Have traveled to many countries, stayed in many wonderful hotels--this is the most unfriendly and costly. Chuck and Betty 02 October 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by More than one Glitch on a recent stay Although the hotel is in a fantastic location, and the check-in process was very good, there were a couple of items that left a bad taste in our mouth about this property. 1. After check-in, I roamed around city a bit, and when I came back to my room, there was water all over the bathroom toilet and floor. Engineer promptly arrived and found that water was leaking from the overhead light (directly over the toilet) from somewhere above my room. Investigated and called housekeeping to freshen up and replace towels. I assumed he was taking care of problem and was pleased with prompt attention and details. Next morning at 8am we awoke to water running out from around light in bathroom ceiling again. Engineers called again (two different ones showed up), and we were given another room once one became available (there were no alternative shower locations offered, as they were booked the night prior - we were told a bathroom was available in the lobby area for using the restroom and brushing our teeth). I think this is horrible service for the price paid, and if the problem was not fixed the day prior, they should have contacted us to relocate BEFORE we experienced the problem again the next morning and had to contact them and be inconvenienced further. 2. Booked architecture cruise through concierge, who was very friendly, but was overcharged deposit. We didn't notice until we were at the cruise ticket window, so I had to go back to front desk to request refund for the difference. Waited for quite a while for them to sort it out and give refund, which they did. The bathroom issue was bad enough, but coupled with the overcharge, it's enough to make me pause in the future when thinking about where to stay in Chicago. 02 October 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Girls's weekend My friends and I spent a girls' weekend here. The Michigan Avenue location is perfect for shopping and great restaurants. We were sad that the pool was not open. This information was not given on the website at all. We enjoyed dessert and wine at Eno and the Starbucks was great to grab a coffee. Be sure to check your bill at the end though. We had all kinds of charges that had to be corrected The front desk was helpful with this but I feel like they should not have occurred in the first place. 02 October 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Staff was exceptional! It was my first time in Chicago!The hotel location was wonderful. The staff could not have been better! I was there for a conference and the facilities were comfortable. The foodat Micheal Jordon's Staekhouse was so good I ate there twice! I would love to return and spend more time! 02 October 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Can Not Say Enough Nice Things... Had a block of 30 rooms for our daughter's wedding- Lizette in reservations made sure they all were perfect. Everything and everyone at the Intercontinental was outstanding. From the valet at the front door (Will is so nice), to the bellman (Vincenzo you really made us feel welcome & took such care with the wedding gown) , to the Bell Captain (Hassan you handled all our requests & guest baskets), to the event staff (Jaclyn, Chris & Santos-you guys are amazing)...Every one was exceptionally helpful, professional and went out of their way to take care of every detail of our stay and our event.The rooms were all clean, updated and perfect. For the wedding weekend we hosted 30 guest rooms, a large wedding reception and a small Sunday brunch, all in the hotel, and do not have a single complaint! That shows how organized this hotel is and how much it cares about its guests. Jaclyn, our catering coordinator, was outstanding at making sure everything went smoothly. All in all a fairy tale wedding weekend at a top notch property. Happy bride, happy guests, happy weekend. Can't say enough nice things about this place. Coming back to stay for some holiday shopping. 01 October 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by More like an airline than a hotel - everything was extra. We come to Chicago for two three-day weekends per year to attend the Chicago Lyric Opera and stay at one of the smaller, boutique hotels near the Civic Opera House. For a considerably lower price we get a much bigger room (2-room suite actually), a complimentary wireless connection, a free exercise facility and valet parking at nearly half the cost. So in comparison, the Intercontinental represents a very poor value. 01 October 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Looking forward to next visit This review could be two pages long if I included every detail of this historic gem. Our suite was on the 34th floor and surprisingly very large. It should go with out saying the suite was beautiful. We had windows and views of three directions. Special note of thanks to Charlie. We met Charlie while riding the elevator. He was exiting the car on the third floor. I ask him if tours were available for the lower floors. Charlie motioned and said he would be more than happy to show us a few parts of the King Arthur's Court. After a few minutes and greatly appreciating his kindness (not wanting to hold him up) I ask if I was. He said no, he had just ended his shift. I was humbled he would do that and I have been pondering it now for a week. It also pretty much sums up entirely the type of service professional that await you at this Intercontinental property. I would like to thank the entire team at the Intercontinental whom exceeded our expectations during our special weekend. Noting Mrs. Margret M-R, our Ambassador servicing specialist and Remzije, for making everything just so perfect during our stay. Needless to say, we are looking forward to the next stay. 30 September 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Property showing its age This property is showing its age. The rooms are dark and the showers are leaky. The bathroom looks dated and things seemed to be failing. During peak hours, it can take ages for the escalator to arrive. 29 September 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Weekend Good hotel EXEPT, they charge you for, wireless internet in the room, the GYM, etc. 28 September 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 Started out Great Ended Bad My stay at this hotel in Chicago started good, had to wait a little to get my room and they never called me like they said but I got over that. Nice room and plenty of towels, lots of TV channels, nice view as well. It is a pretty quiet hotel being on Michigan Ave you didnt hear much from the street at all or around the hotel. I will say that paying for the gym, not great. I did get my taken care of but still that is costly if you are staying for a long time. Now when I checked out NOT GREAT! First I came to find out that when I made the reservation I was not told about needing a auth faxed to them for the credit card I was using, so they took it upon themselves to charge my personal cc ( I was there on business) once the front desk tells me this, I get a auth faxed to my office then back to them. They charge my company card AND my personal for the room! So they charged two cards at the same time for the same amount! I didnt find out about this mess until 2 days AFTER I got home, when I called I had to go thru lots of push this number and that number leave a message kinda thing. Finally I got accounting dept (not the nicest of people) then onto the front desk manager who told me he was sorry over and over again. Let me just say this get your credit card auth done before checking in because if not watch out! 28 September 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by worst IHG hotel stay ever This was the worst hotel stay at any IHG hotel I ever stayed at, and I've been Platinum Ambassador for years, staying at probably over 50 IHG hotels worldwide. The management made several mistakes for which they never apologized. I understand that mistakes are sometimes made, and I understand that the management doesn't have control of everything that goes on in a hotel. But I find that this property handled their mistakes very poorly. I'd definitely not recommend staying at this hotel. 27 September 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Fabulous! My cousin came in from LA for a wedding. I was able to make reservations for us to stay at the hotel. I have always wanted to stay here. It was beyond my expectation! I was had a wonderful time I able to upgrade to a room on the Michigan Avenue side. Love love. We were also very impressed with Sam the bellman who was extremely helpful! He made the stay even better. The Turner's 26 September 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great Locattion and Great View Got upgraded to an Executive Suite for this Saty, and the view is Excellent. Location of Hotel is one of the best in Downtown Chicago. Room condition slightly old, especially the Carpet. 24 September 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Attention to Detail The room was comfortable as expected but a bit cramped. There were extra charges to use the fitness center. For the rate it seemed a little excessive. Also there was a limit of equipment available. There was not enough floor space to do some simple exercises in the room. The tile in the bathroom had holes that were not filled suggesting something had been pulled off and not replaced. Extra charge for internet service. The concierge was knowledgable about the area for dining. 24 September 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Disappointing Unfriendly, makes you feel uncomfortable Ambassador Room Upgrade disappointing 24 September 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 Wonderful room, amenities and excellent staff. Great experience from the beginning to the end! We celebrated our 25th anniversary at the Magnificent Mile location, and had exceptional concierge service from Robert, Bob, Sylvia and Michele. Every desire was fulfilled with a smile, perks and tips! A first class hotel with the BEST service of any other we have visited! Will was also friendly and cheerful as he placed our luggage in the cab and asked us to return again. We certainly will! 23 September 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by My Home Away from Home I stay here often, always in the historic tower. Nothing compares. Great staff, great service, great rooms. And the Lobby Bar is actually Michael Jordan's - love it! 23 September 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Memorable Stay After 3 night stay in this hotel, I just got a great experience. Besides the Historic and great location reputation of Intercontinental Chicago, We received great treat from the staff and once this was an anniversary trip, I received a bottle of champagne and many ammeninties besides an upgrade to 33 floor great view room. I just want to thank the concierge and all involved on this WOW! 23 September 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Wonderful welcome to Chicago This was out first trip to the United States and Chicago. We were greeted by wonderful staff and provided with a lovely room that more than met our needs for our six night stay. The concierge staff were knowledgeable and gave us sound advice about where to go and what to do. We also had dinner at the Michael Jordan Steak Restaurant which was exceptional and the wine bar became our second home. I would recommend the Chicago Intercontinental and would be pleased to return on our next visit. 21 September 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Best location on Michigan Ave We return to this hotel whenever we are in Chicago, usuall 3 to 4 times a year. We meet our family from Wisconsin at the hotel for a weekend visist. The grandchildren love the swimming pool. 19 September 2013
<<prev 16 17 18 19 20 ... 32 next>>
Chicago Magnificent Mile
  • 505 North Michigan Ave
  • Chicago , IL , 60611
  • United States
  • Front Desk +1-312-9444100

  • Driving Directions
  • Transportation
  • Parking
   

Languages spoken by staff

Afrikaans, Arabic, German, Greek, English, Spanish, French, Hindi, Croatian, Indonesian, Italian, Japanese, Dutch , Punjabi, Polish, Slovene, Serbian, Tagalog, Chinese

Pet Policy

Guests with pets must reserve the Historic Tower. There is a 100USD fee, 50USD which is refundable. Dogs and cats without size restriction. Pets must be kenneled when guests are out of the room. Please contact hotel in advance to rent a kennel, if needed.
Pet Deposit $100.00 per stay
  • Local Time

    4:00 PM
    • CHECK-IN

      3:00 PM
    • CHECK-OUT

      12:00 PM Late Check out Available

    Currency

    • US Dollar $ (USD)

    Accessibility

    • Service animals allowed
    • 34 Room(s) with Accessibility Standards
    • Parking
    • Special Needs