Skip Navigation
  • English    English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • Sign In
  • 1 888 IC HOTELS
  • Book online or call:
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
  • 1 888 IC HOTELS
  • Book online or call:
 

Chicago Magnificent Mile

WELCOME TO

Chicago

Concierge Photo
Kathy McClanathan
Chef Concierge, Les Clefs d’Or, USA

Insider Tips

LOCAL CULTURE

CHICAGO DINING

Because Chicago is still growing and earning its reputation as a vibrant city there has been a tremendous influx of restaurant openings. Many great Chef's have been lured by the possibilities of our city.
THE JEWEL OF CHICAGO’S MAGNIFICENT MILE
Experience modern comfort with a touch of 1920’s splendour. This lovingly restored Chicago luxury hotel was once the 1929 Medinah Athletics Club. Part of Michigan Avenue’s architectural elite, luxury details include ENO for wine tasting, recreated gold leaf murals and an ornate pool once used by Tarzan actor Johnny Weissmuller. Discover the best of Chicago within walking distance of museums, upscale shopping and theatres. Navy Pier, Shedd Aquarium and Oak Street Beach are minutes away.

Guest Reviews

Discover the many benefits of becoming an InterContinental Ambassador.

HOTEL HIGHLIGHTS

  • Restaurant & Lounges

    Befitting its exclusive North Michigan Avenue address, the InterContinental Chicago Magnificent Mile offers some of the best downtown Chicago resta...
  • Amenities & Services

    One of Chicago’s largest hotel fitness centres energises you with a state-of-the-art cardio room, a strength circuit, free weights, personal traine...
  • SPECIAL PACKAGES

    There's always something special happening at an InterContinental hotel. Whether you are looking for a fun-filled getaway or a place to host your n...
Chicago Magnificent Mile
  • 505 North Michigan Ave
  • Chicago , IL , 60611
  • United States
  • Front Desk +1-312-9444100

  • Driving Directions
  • Transportation
  • Parking
   

Languages spoken by staff

Afrikaans, Arabic, German, Greek, English, Spanish, French, Hindi, Croatian, Indonesian, Italian, Japanese, Dutch , Punjabi, Polish, Slovene, Serbian, Tagalog, Chinese

Pet Policy

Guests with pets must reserve the Historic Tower. There is a 100USD fee, 50USD which is refundable. Dogs and cats without size restriction. Pets must be kenneled when guests are out of the room. Please contact hotel in advance to rent a kennel, if needed.
Pet Deposit $100.00 per stay
  • Local Time

    1:33 AM
    • CHECK-IN

      3:00 PM
    • CHECK-OUT

      12:00 PM Late Check out Available

    Currency

    • US Dollar $ (USD)

    Accessibility

    • Service animals allowed
    • 34 Room(s) with Accessibility Standards
    • Parking
    • Special Needs
    Guest Reviews
    Rated 4.1 out of 5 by 493 reviewers.
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Easy Access and Great Stay I traveled with two of my children and felt safe in the area. We were on foot most of the time and the staff was great at letting us know where bus lines ran and how to get around. Our room was small but very nice and exactly what we needed to relax and sleep. September 3, 2014
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Small rooms but very comfortable stay People just need to understand your room at this hotel will probably be smaller than the same room at another Holiday Inn Express. That is because this hotel was converted to a HI Express. That does not keep the hotel from having excellent staff and breakfast that they usually have at their hotels. The only thing I do not like is the big, shallow, square type sinks in the bathroom. That is all I could find! September 2, 2014
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great location and Service We were a family of 6 people. We stayed in 2 rooms for 2 nights. Our experience here was excellent. The location is just several blocks from Michigan Ave. and about halfway between the Water Tower and Millennium Park. We walked to both locations easily from the hotel. We were able to take the trolley to Navy Pier and a short taxi ride to Shedd's Aquarium. For their free breakfast, there were cheese omelets, sausage, biscuits and gravy, warm cinnamon rolls plus oatmeal, various breads to toast, September 2, 2014
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Another Nice Stay I have stayed two times; separate occasions in the Cass Hotel. Enjoy staying here because it is so close to shopping, excellant restaurants, and a close walk to the Navy Pier. The rooms are nice; not huge; but that's part of it's uniqueness. Definitely all you need in a hotel room without the huge size. I always sleep well too despite the fact that it is downtown. I highly recommend this hotel for a stay. September 2, 2014
    Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Holiday Inn Express Hotel was fine except our guest room was very small - comparable to hotel rooms in Europe. The other issue was parking. It took 20 minutes to get our car using valet parking. The better bet is to self park at the parking lot just around the corner. September 1, 2014
    Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Bad bathroom Very bad shower and tub... And the rooms are clean until 6 pm. August 28, 2014
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Daughters birthday We have stayed at this hotel a number ot times due to the location and price point. The price point changes with the seasons and it was very expensive this time. The staff is extremely courteous and the rooms though small are always clean and functional. Whenever we visit our daughter in Chicago we stay at this hotel although we have also stayed out by the airport when we fly out of Chicago or if the price is too high at the downtown location. August 28, 2014
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Nice and convenient stay in Magnificent Mile area Convenient stay, hotel is of good quality, albeit small rooms. To be honest you will spend all of your time outside anyways. There is a range of shops underneath including a supermarket, convenient to stock up. August 27, 2014
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Rest between meetings Great location and hotel has everything needed. Staff is helpful and friendly. I won't stay anywhere else. August 26, 2014
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Overall experience was very good We enjoyed our stay. Hotel was excellent and the staff made the stay even better. The location is in the middle of all we wanted to do. We did struggle with the standby feature of the air conditioner. Too many times when the room was too warm. August 24, 2014
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by great customer service Loved the hotel! The food was outstanding and the room was very comfortable. August 24, 2014
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Location Located in the heart of the River North area, it is easy to walk to just about everything one would desire to see/do/eat in a 2-3 day stay. The rooms are small, but it's Chicago...you won't be spending much time in the room anyway! The hotel and rooms were clean and stylish; the staff were extremely friendly and helpful. I'll be looking to stay here again when I return to my favorite city. August 23, 2014
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Location Very friendly staff, the expected amenities of a Holiday Inn Express with an incredible location Downtown Chicago! August 22, 2014
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Right in the heart of downtown shopping I am a picky hotel consumer. This Holiday Inn was affordable, clean, and very close to everything in the city. I would stay here again. August 22, 2014
    Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Small room, expensive parking, slow elevators, but great location I'd booked this room for a business trip, hoping to finish up in the office early enough to enjoy some of the Chicago nightlife. Ended up working too late and just using the hotel to crash. The negatives: The room is SUPER-small. Just enough room for the bed. And overnight, the HVAC system (I think) kept WHOOSHing intermittently. I'm not a light sleeper, but it managed to wake me a few times. The elevators were also inadequate for the number of people at the hotel. LONG lines and wait for the elevator. Luckily, I had gotten a room near the ground floor and learned to use the stairs. Lastly, upon checking out, the parking deck around the corner charged $38 for an overnight stay. No validation or arrangements with the hotel. The service was fine, the problems are just with the facilities themselves. On the positive side, the hotel is located right in the middle of everything, so if you need to be IN the city, I guess it's a good value. But if you're looking to sleep or relax, find another place to stay. In the future, I'd stay a couple miles out and just plan a little mass transit time to see the sights. August 22, 2014
    Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great location Enjoyed staying at this property. You can't beat the price and location. The rooms and bathroom are small. I would not recommend more than 2 people in the room. The staff was extremely nice and pleasant throughout our stay. August 21, 2014
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great location, excellent service This address is within walking distance of many fine shops and restaurants. The staff is very friendly and helpful. Price is reasonable compared to other hotels in the vicinity. August 19, 2014
    Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Great location, wonderful staff but room is incredibly small We recently stayed at the Holiday Inn Express in downtown Chicago. The staff at the hotel were wonderful. Very helpful and went out of their way to make sure you were comfortable and had everything you needed. The location was also great. However, the rooms were so small that it was a bit uncomfortable staying for three nights. There were two adults in the room and we had to climb over each other and our luggage to get anywhere in the room. If you are staying for one night, it is probably OK. However, if you are staying for more than one night, you may want to look at spending perhaps $10-$20 more per night to get a standard sized hotel room or forgo a hotel that provides breakfast. August 18, 2014
    Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Room small but good! Our room was a corner room facing Wabash Ave. Although the room was quite small, it was very comfortable. The coffee maker was on a very small table between the bed and the bathroom wall. The bathroom was a standard size and quite nice and clean, but there was no hair dryer (at least I couldn't find one). Otherwise the hotel was quite nice in a good location and the staff was excellent! August 18, 2014
    Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Good value, but really small cramped rooms This Holiday Inn Express is in an old historic hotel. Rooms are clean, staff is pleasant, but rooms are small, elevators are small and very slow. This hotel has absolutely no extra amenities. You get a clean room and a free breakfast...nothing else. Good for short overnight stays. Rooms are too small for families. August 15, 2014
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Chicago's Best Kept Secret Perfectly located, close to everything and an excellent staff and services for a very reasonable price, what else can you look for?! August 15, 2014
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by good place to stay Strong recommend and easy to access downtown. staff are very friendly and kind. love this place and I will definitely visit again. August 15, 2014
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great hospitality and amazing night's sleep! The staff was beyond exceptional. From the housekeeping, to the breakfast staff (they make great coffee), to the front desk staff. It was our first time in Chicago. We were intimidated by the city and it's train system. The front desk staff helped us navigate our way through the city and the train system. We had a blast and got to experience more of Chicago because of it! The location of the hotel was perfect. We were so close to everything. We also loved the firm and soft pillows. The bed was so comfortable. We rested well! The room was smaller than we had expected (ONLY reason for the 4/5 rating), but we weren't in it much. We also got the most affordable room, so what did we expect?? I called to see if they could bring a fridge in the room. The did so right away. We were impressed. In the morning, they had a delicious breakfast. We went to breakfast at different times each morning. It was always fresh. We can't wait to go back and stay here. We had an amazing time. We felt like we were well taken care of. Kind of like we were part of a large family. It was nice and unlike any other hotel stay we have ever had. August 14, 2014
    Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Great Location Watch out------ROOMS ARE VERY SMALL elevators are slow....the hotel os 100 years old and looks it August 13, 2014
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great service and location From the minute we walked in the front door the staff made us feel welcome and comfortable. They went out of their way to answer all our questions. Made reservations for us on the tour boat and a very nice restaurant. The location of this hotel was great, we were able to walk to almost everything we wanted to do. The room was clean and quiet, beds were comfortable and we were able to control the temperature to our comfort. This was my daughters first trip to Chicago and the hotel staff helped make it a great trip. August 12, 2014
    Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Solid, but overpriced This is a solid hotel, but the value was not what I've come to expect from a HI Express. However, a music festival was in town and they may have bumped up the rates due to the festival. Front desk staff was extremely nice and helpful, a few of the valet/porter staff were not as nice. Breakfast was a standard complimentary HI Express offering. Room was very compact, due to the property being a historical hotel. However, the space was sufficient for what we used it for...sleep...it was clean and comfortable. Bathroom was clean. Internet was fast enough, but a little quirky to connect. Parking charges were in my view, excessive, but in line with other hotels in the area. August 11, 2014
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Room Room was small but adequate. Bed was too soft. Staff was helpful. Tried to reach the hotel from the airport and the system needs improvement. Called another Holiday Inn Express at the airport for information and they were totally unhelpful. August 11, 2014
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Extremely professional I would return to this hotel just to be treated so nicely by the excellent staff again! Always helpful with local recommendations and quick and polite when inquiring about guest services. Clean, quiet and friendly! August 11, 2014
    Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Room My stay in the hotel was very satisfactory, excellent location and excellent treatment from the staff of the hotel, my only complaint is about the room, i expecting a room more bigger than it was, I found it quite small ( in the picture of the page web don't look like really is or was) August 11, 2014
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Litttle Hotel for a Great Price Loved this hotel, the service was great, nice little room, thoroughly enjoyed my stay in Chicago. Had a great sleep here as well!!! August 10, 2014
    <<prev2 3 4 5 ... 18 next>>