Skip Navigation
  • English    English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • Sign In
  • 1 888 IC HOTELS
  • Book online or call:
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
  • 1 888 IC HOTELS
  • Book online or call:
 

Chicago Magnificent Mile

WELCOME TO

Chicago

Concierge Photo
Kathy McClanathan
Chef Concierge, Les Clefs d’Or, USA

Insider Tips

LOCAL CULTURE

CHICAGO DINING

Because Chicago is still growing and earning its reputation as a vibrant city there has been a tremendous influx of restaurant openings. Many great Chef's have been lured by the possibilities of our city.
THE JEWEL OF CHICAGO’S MAGNIFICENT MILE
Experience modern comfort with a touch of 1920’s splendour. This lovingly restored Chicago luxury hotel was once the 1929 Medinah Athletics Club. Part of Michigan Avenue’s architectural elite, luxury details include ENO for wine tasting, recreated gold leaf murals and an ornate pool once used by Tarzan actor Johnny Weissmuller. Discover the best of Chicago within walking distance of museums, upscale shopping and theatres. Navy Pier, Shedd Aquarium and Oak Street Beach are minutes away.

Guest Reviews

Hotel Specific Offers
Terms & Conditions
Discover the many benefits of becoming an InterContinental Ambassador.

HOTEL HIGHLIGHTS

  • Restaurant & Lounges

    Befitting its exclusive North Michigan Avenue address, the InterContinental Chicago Magnificent Mile offers some of the best downtown Chicago resta...
  • Amenities & Services

    One of Chicago’s largest hotel fitness centres energises you with a state-of-the-art cardio room, a strength circuit, free weights, personal traine...
  • SPECIAL PACKAGES

    There's always something special happening at an InterContinental hotel. Whether you are looking for a fun-filled getaway or a place to host your n...
Chicago Magnificent Mile
  • 505 North Michigan Ave
  • Chicago , IL , 60611
  • United States
  • Front Desk +1-312-9444100

  • Driving Directions
  • Transportation
  • Parking
   

Languages spoken by staff

Afrikaans, Arabic, German, Greek, English, Spanish, French, Hindi, Croatian, Indonesian, Italian, Japanese, Dutch , Punjabi, Polish, Slovene, Serbian, Tagalog, Chinese

Pet Policy

Guests with pets must reserve the Historic Tower. There is a 100USD fee, 50USD which is refundable. Dogs and cats without size restriction. Pets must be kenneled when guests are out of the room. Please contact hotel in advance to rent a kennel, if needed.
Pet Deposit $100.00 per stay
  • Local Time

    7:05 AM
    • CHECK-IN

      3:00 PM
    • CHECK-OUT

      12:00 PM Late Check out Available

    Currency

    • US Dollar $ (USD)

    Accessibility

    • Service animals allowed
    • 34 Room(s) with Accessibility Standards
    • Parking
    • Special Needs
    Guest Reviews
    Rated 4.1 out of 5 by 612 reviewers.
    Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Terrible Manager of the Hotel The Front Desk manager had a very bad attitude. He ignored the status of Priority Membership and did not listen to the issues raised by the customer. I was very disappointed for my stay. Big mistake. June 17, 2014
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by comfortable setting older property but done nicely nice view of river from room June 16, 2014
    Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by nice staff, eh room We stayed in Chicago because of a child's graduation. The location was convenient, the lobby was attractive, the staff very friendly but the room was quite outdated. It merited the 3 out of 5 rating that most had given. June 11, 2014
    Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by great location very nice hotel and great location; hotel has gone through nice update ... lobby and rooms look very nice June 11, 2014
    Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Outdated Disappointment I was really disappointed with this Holiday Inn property, particularly for the price I paid. I know it is competitively priced with other downtown Chicago properties, but it is not furnished accordingly. The furniture was mismatched, damaged and outdated, appearing to have been purchased used circa 1985. Bed was okay but not to the standards of other Holiday Inns and HI Expresses in which I have recently stayed. Thin linens and doll-size pillows. Toilet in the bathroom was cracked at the base and, annoyingly, the space for the toilet itself was extremely tight for a 200 lb. man. The toilet paper holder poked me in the side whenever I moved. Only one phone in the room was in working condition and, again, circa 1985. I could go on but that's the idea. Discovered I was placed next to the service elevator, so perhaps they just don't care about outer rooms. Would have requested a room change but I was only there for a short amount of time and for one night. Will not return to this difficult-to-access property. June 11, 2014
    Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Holiday Inn Chicago Mart Plaza We came to Chicago to celebrate our 30th anniversary and were very pleased with the hotel room. It was spacious and had a wonderful view. The bed was comfortable and after a long day, fell right to sleep. Another impressive item was the silence in the room. We did not hear other guests or outside traffic. The only complaint of the hotel was how plain it was. Looking over the balcony, the walls and hallways were plain with no décor at all. We ate breakfast at the hotel restaurant and chose the buffet. We did not ask the price and were shocked at the $24.95 per person charge. The buffet was not impressive enough to warrant the price nor was the service. Avoid the hotel restaurant or order off the menu. June 10, 2014
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by The Best of the Best, if you want less, stay with the rest! I had a great experience. My room had great views of the Downtown. Room was very modern design. Room Service was a real standout, Dee made ordering food a fun an memorable experience, not something you would expect. Great Location and Front Desk staff was friendly. June 9, 2014
    Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great place to stay I had a great stay at the Holiday Inn but the one issue I had with my room personally was the wifi service. It was not good at all and even when connected (which my devices could barely do), I could hardly work on the wifi (from both my phone and my laptop). That made it tough when traveling for work and trying to get some work done in the room. That would be my only complaint with my stay, everything else was great - staff, service and the Cityscape bar were great. Comfort of the room otherwise was great also. June 9, 2014
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Amenities Awesome location for going to evening show.. and view from the bar great. Fabulous little pizza Fennel sausage pesto pizza.. Great mixed Drinks. June 8, 2014
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great view Staff was extremely pleasant and corner room with view was amazing. June 3, 2014
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Overall great value for Chicago! The staff was very accommodating, we took Amtrak to Chicago and arrived by 11 am. The front desk had a room for us immediately. We were also given a late checkout for no additional charge and they stored our luggage until our train left in the evening. The pool was nice, the room was on the small side but it had a wonderful view of the city! Overall it was a great trip to Chicago with my husband and our 3 year old! The hotel's staff and customer service definitely meet our expectations with excellent service from all! June 2, 2014
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Best Staff Accommodated early check in. The standard room was a bit substandard as my view was a very large vent from the restaurant. Fortunately the desk was able to change my room and the room was very nice. Very friendly staff in both restaurants and food was good. Will stay here again when I bring my wife back for a special occasion Thanks June 1, 2014
    Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Bath Tub Never worked + food was burnt I stayed three nights and during my stay the bath plug never work. The worker that came to fix twice was rude. I did get a reduction at of $50 off my bill, which is lik4 $15 a night. Not good. I expected to enjoy a bath at the prices. The food in the restaurante was burnt. At this point I decided this hotel is not worth the money. Location is great. June 1, 2014
    Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by 5 stars apart from the noise..... I first went to Holiday Inn Mart Plaza 4 years ago with my family as I wanted to try something else that the Crowne Plaza or Intercontinental and since then I am regularly returning to this property every time I come to Chicago. And until today I did not experience the noise that I have been experiencing being in room 1612! The hotel is great, the room is also great (corner room - many thanks for the nice upgrade...) and was refurbished I believe, all staff are gentle and courteous so everything is right here apart from the many noises that come through the windows and only seem to stop between 2 to 6 am. The fact that the room faces the iron bridge used by CTA's Green and Pink lines does not help at all although I have already been on this side of the building but closer to the other end and did not suffer from the noise then. Today's rating for Room and comfort and Ability to relax are impacted by the noise factor and would otherwise have been 5's. This is the first time that I have such an experience. Still I will return here at my next stop in Chicago as the place is well worth it. But I will put a note asking to be placed on this side if possible but at the other end of the block and if possible at a higher floor!! June 1, 2014
    Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Dude, where's my car The valet lost the keys to my car. Took an hour to locate. The solution "take a cab"!! Are you kidding me? Good thing I was not on a tight schedule. Still, very, very bad. Since I'm an honored "Awards" member, I get goodies when I check in. Problem is, they give one lousy bottle of water and a packet of awful trail mix per room. Not per guest! Used to at least give one per guest. Now, you have to share one bottle of water between all of you. Somehow, I don't feel like an honored guest. The restaurant is poor quality and overpriced. There's no coffee shop. Oh well, at least it's inexpensive for downtown Chicago. May 31, 2014
    Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Convenient location The location was good, but I was disappointed with the room quality for the price. I booked a room in a suite, corner room. If I had stayed in a Holiday Inn Express Suite I would have had a microwave and fridge. I had neither in this room. For the price I thought the room was a little small. However, it was Chicago so maybe my expectations were a little too high for the price of the room. I will say the conceirge was the best.....he provided us with great information and really made our stay enjoyable. May 30, 2014
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Downtown Style at Competitive Rates My wife and I stayed at the HI River North this past Memorial Day weekend for the second year in a row. It's conveniently located in the heart of downtown Chicago with some great views of The Mart, Loop, Wacker Drive, and Chicago River below. Our 20th floor room was quiet, immaculate, and freshly updated with a captivating skyline vista. And the Cityscape Bar on the (main) 15th floor is a must-see-do for guests and visitors alike. For price, convenience, cleanliness, and staff courtesy in downtown Chicago, this is hard to beat. May 29, 2014
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by great customer service My daughter and I were very impressed with the high level of customer service that was provided by every employee we came in contact with during our stay. Everyone seemed to possess a "can do" attitude which made for an exceptional stay. Clearly, the employees are happy where they work so kudos to the management! We would like to extend a very special thank you to Russell at the concierge desk. He did an exceptional job connecting with us, and helping us choose activities that were "right" for us. May 29, 2014
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Love Staying Here I have been to Chicago 3 times for business in the last year and I have stayed here every time. The rooms are spacious and clean. The staff is always friendly and the food in the restaurant is delicious. Only thing I could complain about is the speed of the free wifi, but then again its free. May 27, 2014
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great location and contemporary decor Great location, indoors walk to Merchandise Mart which has just about everything you would need from smoothies to haircuts. Lots of excellent restaurants within walking distance. May 26, 2014
    Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Staff should make or break the experience Still cannot believe the check-in experience I had and for my embarrassment and difficulties, was offered an ice pack?? Not even an offer to buy my dinner in addition to the manager ringing my phone into the evening to do the perfunctory apology... The dirty glasses outside of my room greeting me at check-in was unpleasant as well. Room service staff was excellent; perhaps their attention to my comfort should be shared with the front desk and management staff. Meeting room was freezing most of the day and beverage/refreshments during breaks of poor quality and limited. The staff on duty was very rigid and alienated several colleagues by not offering to find solutions beyond "what was ordered". The room accomodations were comfortable and clean. May 25, 2014
    Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 Lots of good, but two major "bads" Room and view were incredible (see photo). Staff was nice. Room service was great. Downtown location unbelievable. The two "Bads": Bad #1) Wireless Internet in our room (2315) was sporadic. Kept going out. I lost partially finished documents and had to start over, and lost hours of productivity because of it. Went to the desk and they said they couldn't do anything about it, and gave me a business card of the people that handle their internet. As I was on a business trip, it was a major problem for me. I ended up having to sit in the lobby when I went online. Bad #2) "On-site" parking was really two blocks away from the hotel entrance. How it can say "on-site" on the website is a complete mystery. Had to deal with rain (twice), hail (once), and wind (regularly) on my trek back and forth to the public parking garage down the street. It could have been a fabulous experience, except for these two issues. I cannot recommend the hotel. May 25, 2014
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Top of Chicago Location....location. This Holiday Inn has a floor #15 lobby, with rooms above the Chicago Street noise. We had an east side room, which also had no train noise. This was our fifth stay--it feels like home. The hotel has a street bridge into the Merchandise Mart with a large food court--including Garrett's popcorn. The elevated train is right there--on our visit, giving shelter from the rain. Chicago weather during our visit was cold and rainy--they'd had two weeks of rain. On our first morning, there was a rain leak above the heater. The staff moved quickly, very concerned to accommodate us. They moved us to a similar room, checked to see that all was well, and gave us extra points for the inconvenience. The front desk and concierge are friendly, welcoming, helpful. Rooms are recently updated, spotlessly clean, and the beds always comfortable. The beds had built in LED reading lights--a nice plus. May 20, 2014
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Practically perfect with amazing view I originally picked this place because of its proximity to downtown and the ease of access through the Merchandise Mart to one of the CTA stations. Ended up loving the room, which was a bit larger than I had expected for the price, and the views were phenomenal. Pretty sure that will hold true for all rooms as the hotel was located on the top half of the building. Pool was really nice as well. Only real downside was how the multipurpose building had a somewhat confusing series of elevators for getting around. I ended up having a chance meeting with a former college friend who informed me of a much easier way of getting from the hotel lobby down to the pedestrian bridge across to the Merchandise Mart, but until then it was a very circuitous walk up and down escalators and elevators. Although I suppose I could have asked someone with the hotel. And if a guest was using the main entrance to retrieve their car or hail a taxi, this wouldn't even be an issue. I was there with family and we had CTA passes so we walked back and forth to the nearest "L" station. May 20, 2014
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by GREAT SERVICE I would like to thank the staffs for EVERYTHING. My stay at the hotel was just great. I actually had purchase the deal through Groupon and ended up getting an upgrade when the staffs heard that I was proposing to my now fiancée. I had a reservation for a double room skyline view and they provided us a king size room along with a plate of chocolate covered strawberries. They helped me out with my scavenger hunt which went really well despite the fact that we were cutting close to our time. I had a staff help me out by stalling my fiancée while a staff member who works with valet parking hide me until my fiancée was picked up in a carriage ride. Overall their participation and the comfort of our room was extremely amazing. The view was gorgeous! The only thing I would recommend is that you make sure there's a mini-fridge in the room. Also, when guests are ordering food late at night, you might want to request someone from the hotel to deliver or have the guest meet downstairs. For a minute, I was scared because you just never know if something can happen....you see it a lot in the movies!! Either way, I do look forward to staying again! Thanks for the rewards point too. I look forward to learning how to accumulate more points to enjoy some free stay. May 15, 2014
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by FUN WEEKEND Great value for a hotel near Michigan Ave. We had great views of the city. Since 8 people had traveled together, we able to gather for conversation in the common area that overlooked the 15th floor lobby and restaurant. May 14, 2014
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Very nice and clean room, great service Everything was great, except for the heating/cooling fan cycling rather loudly which woke us up a few times. May 14, 2014
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Unexpected Gem I really did not expect a breathtaking view of the river and downtown, newly renovated rooms or an awesome bar and restaurant - but we got it. Concierge is super helpful. Hotel very nice and overall a great experience. Everything was clean and comfy. Wish the beds were as comfortable as Hamptons but they weren't bad. Would stay here again in a heartbeat. Evening view from bar is incredible! May 13, 2014
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 Always a perfect choice I am an Ambassador Gold with IHG and have stayed at plenty of hotels. I love this hotel because of its location and wonderful staff. From the views in the bar to the comfortable rooms, overall this property is a great choice. The subway is connected to the building as well as the Mart plaza. It is right on the river and walking distance to everything. The Art Institute of Chicago is located downstairs and offers a museum. The staff I'd very friendly, accommodating and knowledgeable. I am a return guest each time I visit Chicago. The only disappointing feature is there is no gift shop in this hotel. I was looking to purchase some personal items and snacks and bill them to the room, but was informed that I couldn't since there was none and the nearest shops were in the Mart across the way. Small inconvenience, but not a deal breaker. May 13, 2014
    Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by River view with a cracked window One of the more affordable options close to the Loop and Magnificent Mile. We were on the 19th floor overlooking the bend in the river. This provided awesome nighttime city views. But the effect was marred by large cracks in the glass of one of the room's center windows. To get to the hotel, you must enter through a large but sparsely furnished lobby, and go to the back and around the corner to find the elevator to the 15th floor lobby. This is fine, but back by the elevator area there is not a single plant, any artwork or any furnishings at all. I suggest something be put in this very large, completely empty space. I guess because I am a Platinum Elite member, I was offered a choice of 500 points or a "goody bag." I chose the bag, which was a mistake. It contained only one small bottle of water and one small bag of trail mix. Service in the bar area was so-so, but the nice view compensated well. May 11, 2014
    <<prev 2 3 4 5 ... 22 next>>