Skip Navigation
  • English    English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • Sign In
  • 1 888 IC HOTELS
  • Book online or call:
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
  • 1 888 IC HOTELS
  • Book online or call:
 

Chicago Magnificent Mile

WELCOME TO

Chicago

Concierge Photo
Kathy McClanathan
Chef Concierge, Les Clefs d’Or, USA

Insider Tips

LOCAL CULTURE

CHICAGO DINING

Because Chicago is still growing and earning its reputation as a vibrant city there has been a tremendous influx of restaurant openings. Many great Chef's have been lured by the possibilities of our city.
THE JEWEL OF CHICAGO’S MAGNIFICENT MILE
Experience modern comfort with a touch of 1920’s splendour. This lovingly restored Chicago luxury hotel was once the 1929 Medinah Athletics Club. Part of Michigan Avenue’s architectural elite, luxury details include ENO for wine tasting, recreated gold leaf murals and an ornate pool once used by Tarzan actor Johnny Weissmuller. Discover the best of Chicago within walking distance of museums, upscale shopping and theatres. Navy Pier, Shedd Aquarium and Oak Street Beach are minutes away.

Guest Reviews

Hotel Specific Offers
Terms & Conditions
Discover the many benefits of becoming an InterContinental Ambassador.

HOTEL HIGHLIGHTS

  • Restaurant & Lounges

    Befitting its exclusive North Michigan Avenue address, the InterContinental Chicago Magnificent Mile offers some of the best downtown Chicago resta...
  • Amenities & Services

    One of Chicago’s largest hotel fitness centres energises you with a state-of-the-art cardio room, a strength circuit, free weights, personal traine...
  • SPECIAL PACKAGES

    There's always something special happening at an InterContinental hotel. Whether you are looking for a fun-filled getaway or a place to host your n...
Chicago Magnificent Mile
  • 505 North Michigan Ave
  • Chicago , IL , 60611
  • United States
  • Front Desk +1-312-9444100

  • Driving Directions
  • Transportation
  • Parking
   

Languages spoken by staff

Afrikaans, Arabic, German, Greek, English, Spanish, French, Hindi, Croatian, Indonesian, Italian, Japanese, Dutch , Punjabi, Polish, Slovene, Serbian, Tagalog, Chinese

Pet Policy

Guests with pets must reserve the Historic Tower. There is a 100USD fee, 50USD which is refundable. Dogs and cats without size restriction. Pets must be kenneled when guests are out of the room. Please contact hotel in advance to rent a kennel, if needed.
Pet Deposit $100.00 per stay
  • Local Time

    6:18 AM
    • CHECK-IN

      3:00 PM
    • CHECK-OUT

      12:00 PM Late Check out Available

    Currency

    • US Dollar $ (USD)

    Accessibility

    • Service animals allowed
    • 34 Room(s) with Accessibility Standards
    • Parking
    • Special Needs
    Guest Reviews
    Rated 4.1 out of 5 by 488 reviewers.
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by comfortable beds, great staff very friendly staff, very accommodating. the room was very clean and comfortable. July 12, 2014
    Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Mixed Feelings The location of the hotel is great, the staff are very friendly and responsive, but I cant get past the fact that the room size is extremely small. If you are traveling alone or with just one more person I would say they are adequate. Any more than two and you are tripping over each other. The hotel it's self does not offer the same amenities I am accustomed to at a Holiday Inn Express. Less is not always more! July 12, 2014
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent service and location Staff was excellent, very friendly and helpful. Location is also excellent. Very pleasant stay. July 10, 2014
    Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by great location, but..... Very excellent location. Rooms are really, really small....family of four very crowded, can't hardly move in room and bathroom is like a closet. Nice and clean though. Heard a lot of street noise into the night. Breakfast a bit sub-par for HIE, kept running out of things and had to ask staff to replenish. No cinnamon rolls at all on Sunday! However, I would stay again for location and price. July 9, 2014
    Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Zealous (Targeted?) Parking Enforcement Area Beware Out-of-State Visitors! This hotel seems to be in a targeted city parking enforcement zone. Soon (5 min) after arrival, while car in possession of valet, received $60 city ticket for one missing tag (my State does not enforce front tag requirement). Welcome to Chicago (not)! Staff claimed surprise, but seemed too coincidental. Rooms are small and street noise provided a few unwanted wake-up calls. Won't be back....with or without a car July 8, 2014
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Awsome Front Desk service As visitors for two days, we can not say enough good things about the ability and desire to assist us in directions and recommendations by the front desk staff. They helped us with directions, suggestions on places to eat and drink...entertainment, parking, and local favorites. July 6, 2014
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by everystaff member was wonderful- every staff member we saw said good morning. all had smiles! you could see that everyone loved their job. room was so clean! after being out all day-we came back to our room being cleaned- even our dirty laundry left on the floor was neatly folded. fresh sheets,and towels and refilled coffee packs ready. you can feel the staff cares about the whole experience we had. the front desk even helped my son find the perfect place to have lunch. they knew what bus # and the stop to use, to get us every where we wanted to go. from the early check in to the last minute- this hotel went way above my expectations. thank you so much for everything you all do. ms.virginia you rock! July 3, 2014
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 Wonderful Stay My spouse is disabled. We had the best customer service and room conditions we could have ever asked for! The rooms were clean. The staff was more than helpful with everything from information about the area to assisting with transportation, shuttles, etc. July 2, 2014
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Wonderful Staff and Location Location is great for shopping in Chicago and the staff is very helpful and friendly. Room was small, but well designed and clean. Hard to get room to keep a comfortable temp and the windows didn't really block outside noise very well. But, would tell others to stay at this hotel based on price, staff and location. July 2, 2014
    Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Won't be back! The overall design of the rebuild was based on getting as many people as you can into a small space. I would have paid more for a larger and more comfortable room. It reminded me of the "sleeper" compartment on Amtrak. The staff were great, but the accommodations were unacceptable. chuck hodge Maine July 1, 2014
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Good location and good value My stay was consistent with other HI Express locations: good location and good value based on the services offered. June 30, 2014
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Family Vacation - great location and service We have a family of 5 and used reward points to book 2 rooms on the 8th floor. The rooms are small but clean and served our purpose. The service from the front desk to the cleaning staff was great. They made us feel welcome and assisted as needed. The breakfast allowed us to eat for free before starting each day with a variety of items. The location is great for walking to shops and various places to eat. We ate across the street at Pizzeria Due and really enjoyed the food and service. The parking situation was not clear to me until arrival. Its a public parking garage around the corner for $44 per day or valet for $48. We chose the public parking and the walk was minimal but still a bit of a hassle - probably should have went with valet. Overall we would definitely recommend it based on the location, service and price. June 29, 2014
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable bed and great service Staff was friendly and attentive. Hotel lobby and room were very clean. Rooms were small. Nice breakfast buffet. Close to all the attractions of downtown Chicago. June 29, 2014
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by small but nice room was a bit cramped but qwas told that on check in . got checked in at 10am since our roomwas ready get since got to the city then. June 28, 2014
    Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Superb Cleanliness, Very Comfortable Bed, Great Breakfast and Service Overall, my wife and I were very pleased, due to what I noted in my review title above. All the same, we had a few minor quibbles. 1) the single bed, greatly comfortable as it was, was NOT the queen size bed we had promised to us in our reservation, and which we had confirmed earlier that very same day - it was only a double size bed. 2) the furnishings, clean and adequate as they were, seemed rather sparse. Luggage had to be placed on the floor and there was very little room for toiletries on the bathroom sink. I suppose this is what comes with an "Express." 3) the thermostat was a bit of a challenge. Any setting over 70 degrees would trigger the heater. Any setting at 70 or less would trigger the air conditioner. We finally settled on 70 as the most comfortable, definitely better than the 68 it was at upon arrival. 4) parking must be a problem in this part of Chicago. I don't know how it compares to other hotels in the area, but we had to pay a large extra parking fee for a public garage adjoined to the hotel. Upon arrival, it took a little convincing of the valet person that I was okay with parking my own car if he could simply direct me to the entrance of the public garage. Otherwise, staff was very courteous and eager to be helpful. Everything else about the bathroom was excellent, as well as everything else connected to the bedding. Small as the bed was, it was very clean and very comfortable. I ironed a few items of clothing, and the iron worked very well. Though I had to search for the blow-dryer, it was predictably located and found in the enclosure under the bathroom sink, seeing as there was no room for it to be located on or around the sink above. June 26, 2014
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Good location for leisure traveler The location in the Magnificent Mile/River North area is excellent for leisure travelers--Convenient to Magnificent Mile and the Loop. Rooms are fairly small which is typical for the age of the building, but comfortable. Would be nice to have some counter space in the bathroom. Staff was friendly and helpful. Breakfast was standard Holiday Inn Express fare--very adequate but not outstanding. Wireless is free but constantly drops out, so you continually have to login. Certainly would recommend to others and would stay there again if opportunity arose. June 26, 2014
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Cheerful, Smiling, Helpful employees Great customer service. Great location. Comfortable bed, clean rooms. Employees were very knowledgable about the area and gave great tips for sightseeing and places to sightsee and eat. June 25, 2014
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great location! The location of this hotel was perfect for our vacation in Chicago! Only a few blocks from just about everything. The rooms were not huge, but they served their purpose and the bed was very comfortable! June 25, 2014
    Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Only if it is your last option The best part of this property is its location --- June 25, 2014
    Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Nice Hotel- Small Room, Breakfast Bar needs help The Hotel was nice and in a good location. Staff was very friendly The room was small and not very noise insulated from hallway noise. The breakfast was good other than they were always out of juice and a few other items. I stayed 4 nights. June 24, 2014
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Experience of Stay at Hotel Staff was friendly and very helpful. Went out of there way to answer our questions and help us with planning our day.. Room was very small, but this was expected from reviewing comments on hotel website. No different than staying in older European city hotels. The location of hotel is perfect for visiting Chicago and taking advantage of tourist and entertainment sites and restaurants. June 24, 2014
    Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great location, fabulous value, good service We enjoyed our stay and loved the location. We were able to walk to nearly every attraction that interested us and there were plenty of food and shopping options nearby! June 23, 2014
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great locaiton The hotel is in a great location, the interior is clean and the staff were friendly and helpful. everything lived up the the quality of Holiday Inn express and I would absolutely recommend staying here to friends and coworkers for business or leisure. This is a historic hotel, so the rooms are small. My room was behind the elevator so it was a little noisy, but I would still recommend staying here in the future. June 23, 2014
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great location, great value, modern rooms I will certainly be staying at this hotel if/when I return to Chicago. Great value for the location and the quality of the rooms. Historical building with modern renovations and comfort - delighted by extra comforts in the efficient room. Breakfast bar was unimpressive, but acceptable, and parking is at the many corner garages, but everything else was great. June 22, 2014
    Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent Staff and Cleanliness I've stayed here between 7-10 times in the past 5 years. The staff is very friendly and helpful. The business center is always convenient, especially with an available printer and paper all free of charge. When I do go for the free breakfast, there are always excellent choices and plenty of coffee and other beverages to drink. I do like the fact that the menu includes some southern dishes like grits for all types of visitors. I did not a slightly bad experience in getting up in the mornings every day with minor backaches though. I am not quite sure if it was the age/conditions of the mattress or if I was just suffering from various arthritic and female problems that weekend I stayed there. However, I am still willing to give this hotel a few more chances before writing this hotel off for future stays. This hotel is so great for my budget and room comfort levels that I am always optimistic about staying and booking future visits there. The only other complaint/concern I have is that these rooms tend to be small. However, one can always feel cozy if they're traveling by themselves and only need one bed. Cannot testify to those rooms with 2 beds, but I have heard one guest many years back commenting about the size of the room she stayed in with some of her family members. Best of all, this hotel is right along various bus, subway, and L-train routes. Wherever I go, I only have to walk no more than 1-2 blocks to get back to the hotel. Therefore, I can also say that it's centrally located to go just about anyway in and around Chicago. June 20, 2014
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Wonderful time in Chicago at Holiday Inn Express® We had a wonderful time in Chicago and the Holiday Inn Express was a great place to stay. The price was right, the staff was so friendly and helpful from the moment we walked in to the time we left. Thank you for a great place to stay. June 20, 2014
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Stay! My only concern is that parking is inconvenient. Everything else was excellent! June 18, 2014
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Perfect location on the magnificent mile! This hotel is in the perfect location to visit Chicago. After having your complimentary breakfast, it is about a 2 block walk to be in the heart of the Magnificent Mile. It is also a quick walk to reach the elevated train system or the river to take a river taxi or boat tour! All in all my family had a great time staying at this hotel! June 17, 2014
    Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great location, service and price Excellent location, very walkable to downtown attractions and convenience to public transportation, above average service and great price for downtown. Would stay there again without question. June 13, 2014
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Awesome stay at the Magnificent Mile Holiday Inn Express AWESOME time at the Magnificent Mile Holiday Inn Express These guys know how to make you fell right at home. Everything is within walking distance. The staff here are of the best that I have encountered. Front desk is so helpful along with the guys greeting you at the front door. Very recommended to others looking for a nice hotel downtown Chicago. June 13, 2014
    <<prev 2 3 4 5 6 ... 17 next>>