Skip Navigation
  • English    English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • Sign In
  • 1 888 IC HOTELS
  • Book online or call:
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
  • 1 888 IC HOTELS
  • Book online or call:
 

Chicago Magnificent Mile

WELCOME TO

Chicago

Concierge Photo
Kathy McClanathan
Chef Concierge, Les Clefs d’Or, USA

Insider Tips

LOCAL CULTURE

CHICAGO DINING

Because Chicago is still growing and earning its reputation as a vibrant city there has been a tremendous influx of restaurant openings. Many great Chef's have been lured by the possibilities of our city.
THE JEWEL OF CHICAGO’S MAGNIFICENT MILE
Experience modern comfort with a touch of 1920’s splendour. This lovingly restored Chicago luxury hotel was once the 1929 Medinah Athletics Club. Part of Michigan Avenue’s architectural elite, luxury details include ENO for wine tasting, recreated gold leaf murals and an ornate pool once used by Tarzan actor Johnny Weissmuller. Discover the best of Chicago within walking distance of museums, upscale shopping and theatres. Navy Pier, Shedd Aquarium and Oak Street Beach are minutes away.

Guest Reviews

Hotel Specific Offers
Terms & Conditions
Discover the many benefits of becoming an InterContinental Ambassador.

HOTEL HIGHLIGHTS

  • Restaurant & Lounges

    Befitting its exclusive North Michigan Avenue address, the InterContinental Chicago Magnificent Mile offers some of the best downtown Chicago resta...
  • Amenities & Services

    One of Chicago’s largest hotel fitness centres energises you with a state-of-the-art cardio room, a strength circuit, free weights, personal traine...
  • SPECIAL PACKAGES

    There's always something special happening at an InterContinental hotel. Whether you are looking for a fun-filled getaway or a place to host your n...
Chicago Magnificent Mile
  • 505 North Michigan Ave
  • Chicago , IL , 60611
  • United States
  • Front Desk +1-312-9444100

  • Driving Directions
  • Transportation
  • Parking
   

Languages spoken by staff

Afrikaans, Arabic, German, Greek, English, Spanish, French, Hindi, Croatian, Indonesian, Italian, Japanese, Dutch , Punjabi, Polish, Slovene, Serbian, Tagalog, Chinese

Pet Policy

Guests with pets must reserve the Historic Tower. There is a 100USD fee, 50USD which is refundable. Dogs and cats without size restriction. Pets must be kenneled when guests are out of the room. Please contact hotel in advance to rent a kennel, if needed.
Pet Deposit $100.00 per stay
  • Local Time

    12:58 AM
    • CHECK-IN

      3:00 PM
    • CHECK-OUT

      12:00 PM Late Check out Available

    Currency

    • US Dollar $ (USD)

    Accessibility

    • Service animals allowed
    • 34 Room(s) with Accessibility Standards
    • Parking
    • Special Needs
    Guest Reviews
    Rated 4.1 out of 5 by 466 reviewers.
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great locaiton The hotel is in a great location, the interior is clean and the staff were friendly and helpful. everything lived up the the quality of Holiday Inn express and I would absolutely recommend staying here to friends and coworkers for business or leisure. This is a historic hotel, so the rooms are small. My room was behind the elevator so it was a little noisy, but I would still recommend staying here in the future. June 23, 2014
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great location, great value, modern rooms I will certainly be staying at this hotel if/when I return to Chicago. Great value for the location and the quality of the rooms. Historical building with modern renovations and comfort - delighted by extra comforts in the efficient room. Breakfast bar was unimpressive, but acceptable, and parking is at the many corner garages, but everything else was great. June 22, 2014
    Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent Staff and Cleanliness I've stayed here between 7-10 times in the past 5 years. The staff is very friendly and helpful. The business center is always convenient, especially with an available printer and paper all free of charge. When I do go for the free breakfast, there are always excellent choices and plenty of coffee and other beverages to drink. I do like the fact that the menu includes some southern dishes like grits for all types of visitors. I did not a slightly bad experience in getting up in the mornings every day with minor backaches though. I am not quite sure if it was the age/conditions of the mattress or if I was just suffering from various arthritic and female problems that weekend I stayed there. However, I am still willing to give this hotel a few more chances before writing this hotel off for future stays. This hotel is so great for my budget and room comfort levels that I am always optimistic about staying and booking future visits there. The only other complaint/concern I have is that these rooms tend to be small. However, one can always feel cozy if they're traveling by themselves and only need one bed. Cannot testify to those rooms with 2 beds, but I have heard one guest many years back commenting about the size of the room she stayed in with some of her family members. Best of all, this hotel is right along various bus, subway, and L-train routes. Wherever I go, I only have to walk no more than 1-2 blocks to get back to the hotel. Therefore, I can also say that it's centrally located to go just about anyway in and around Chicago. June 20, 2014
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Wonderful time in Chicago at Holiday Inn Express® We had a wonderful time in Chicago and the Holiday Inn Express was a great place to stay. The price was right, the staff was so friendly and helpful from the moment we walked in to the time we left. Thank you for a great place to stay. June 20, 2014
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Stay! My only concern is that parking is inconvenient. Everything else was excellent! June 18, 2014
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Perfect location on the magnificent mile! This hotel is in the perfect location to visit Chicago. After having your complimentary breakfast, it is about a 2 block walk to be in the heart of the Magnificent Mile. It is also a quick walk to reach the elevated train system or the river to take a river taxi or boat tour! All in all my family had a great time staying at this hotel! June 17, 2014
    Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great location, service and price Excellent location, very walkable to downtown attractions and convenience to public transportation, above average service and great price for downtown. Would stay there again without question. June 13, 2014
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Awesome stay at the Magnificent Mile Holiday Inn Express AWESOME time at the Magnificent Mile Holiday Inn Express These guys know how to make you fell right at home. Everything is within walking distance. The staff here are of the best that I have encountered. Front desk is so helpful along with the guys greeting you at the front door. Very recommended to others looking for a nice hotel downtown Chicago. June 13, 2014
    Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by great service, comfortable and wonderful location small room but quite comfortable. Bathroom tiny but serviceable. Terrific location. Staff extremely nice and helpful. June 12, 2014
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Pillows We loved the pillow selection. I want to buy the "soft" pillows! Fran was your best asset. Great personality and very knowledgeable and helpful. June 11, 2014
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 Great location and great staff Would definitely stay here again if the price is right June 10, 2014
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great service, great location. My recent stay at The Holiday Inn Express on Wabash Avenue was a very pleasant experience. I was particularly impressed with the staff and their willingness to accommodate me from changing money, recommending restaurants, using their freezer, and even finding a way for me to have refrigeration for my medication (a shout out to Princess for making this possible). I also loved the hotel's location. Trader Joe's across the street, the original Uno's a block away, PF Chang, shopping, Chicago History Museum, Navy Pier--all the sights and sounds that makes a native Chicagoan happy to be home. The room itself was very comfortable and yes, it is small, but considering the location, this is just a minor blip on the whole picture. June 10, 2014
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Small room but convenient location and comfy I was very impressed bu the food choices for their free continental breakfast... including omelet, sausage, oatmeal and juice. The room itself was very small.. you walk in and there's the bed two feet away... however, the bed was comfortable and we slept well.. aside from the group of drunk party goers returning to the hotel at 1am and banging on my door, I slept well. It was very quiet, but if anyone were to talk loudly in the hallway, it would be very easy to hear. This place is right by the Magnificent Mile.. it's a really great location. June 9, 2014
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellant Chicago hotel We stayed here to be close to downtown Chicago and it worked out perfect. Everything was in walking distance as we had not rented a car and the suggestions made by the concierge, doorman etc. were all excellent. We had a wonderful visit to Chicago and this hotel couldn't have been any better. Recommend it highly. June 6, 2014
    Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Cleanliness lacking My room was not adequately cleaned, which includes the fact that the toilet was not thoroughly cleaned. Although this hotel is in a good location for walking, the lack of cleanliness was not acceptable, and I know that other hotels are better serviced in the downtown area for a decent price. Not worth the stay. June 2, 2014
    Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by May on Chicago This hotel has always been a good plase to stay if making bussiness at the McKormick Center. At only 10 usd from thair in taxi and at walk distance of all the Magnificent Mile this is perfect for Bussiness and families. The actual room rates have gone out of proportion, you can get better for less in the same area. June 2, 2014
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Clean rooms, wonderful breakfast, and great location. The hotel was very clean and the staff were very friendly and helpful. I did not feel unsafe in the hotel and the parking, check-in, and checkout were all very simple and user-friendly. The complimentary breakfast exceeded my expectations as well. June 2, 2014
    Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by I was charged more and have not received my money back I made my reservation for two room long time ago for the expo held in Chicago. First they did not want to give me one of the rooms, because they said I had just one room, even though they had charged me already for both rooms. I decieded I was not going anywhere until I had the other room I was already charged for. Finally, I was given the other room. Next morning, I found out that they had charged to my credit card another charge for 400 USD. When I ask what this charge was for, they said it was because of a sudden change of rate, EVEN THOUGH I HAD RESERVED BOTH ROOMS FOR THE SAME RATE!!! I show the email with both reservations and they said they were going to change them. Next day I asked if the changes were done and they were not. The manager said she was taking care of that, and that she was changing the "mistake" right away. When I checked out, both bills appeared to be correct. I called the bank today, and no money has been refunded. I called the hotel, and they said no changes have been done (so no money refunded) and the manager is not available. WHAT A JOKE! May 28, 2014
    Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Tiny Room My son and I were visiting Chicago and planned a 2 night stay at your hotel. The staff was extremely friendly which was such a nice welcome after a 13 hour car drive from Long Island. When we got to our room it was so small I was so happy we put all of our belongings into one bag for the stay, I don't know where we would have put a second piece of luggage! The carpet in the room and the bench where I set down the bag was filthy!! I think the streets of the city were cleaner! The beds were clean and comfortable but the gymnastics that one had to perform taking footware off at bedside so as to not touch the dirty carpet was crazy! The bathroom while clean did not have a counter to rest any of our toiletries...made it quite interesting trying to dry ones hair with the sink being the only place to rest the dryer. The location as other reviews have said was perfect. Someone just needs to pay more attention to room makeovers! May 28, 2014
    Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Well appointed, very small room with VG bed. The good points: The staff is first-rate; friendly, helpful, understanding. Breakfast is excellent: a good variety of hot and cold options. The room is attractive and the bed very comfortable. The bad: The room was tiny--the smallest we have ever been in, and we have been stuck with a couple "closets" in the past, all outside North America. It was so small there was no room for a desk and chair, so we had to sit in bed to use our laptops. The bath is large enough--if they would put a couple shelves on the wall next to the sink. The biggest problem was noisy guests. Two nights in a row we were awakened 2-3 times well after midnight by people boisterously exiting the elevator, going to their room, then moving to another room--and back again. Moral: ask for a room as far from the elevator as possible. It won't eliminate the problem but it will help. In the end, the manager gave us a credit on the room for lost sleep and we were grateful for her understanding and willingness to make amends. May 27, 2014
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by A good choice This hotel is well located for a visit to Chicago. We parked our car in the parking garage next door and walked everywhere. Parking is expensive, $44.00 per night for self parking. $49.00 for valet. But, this is Chicago and there is no cheap parking. The hotel was very nice, and our room was nice, but very, very small. The room would be suitable for a single person, but for a couple, it was extremely crowded. Breakfast was very good and seating was adequate. We found the staff to be friendly and helpful. I have no complaints, except for the room being too small. We would gladly stay in this hotel again on our next trip to Chicago. May 27, 2014
    Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Great Location but Too Small a Room Before staying here our considerable experience with Holiday Inn Express was all at Interstate Hwy Holiday Inn Expresses. Nice big rooms with room to relax (uphostered chair and footrest for example). We were shocked when we saw how small the room was at this location - more like a European Hotel than American. Maybe all hotel rooms in a big city like Chicago are this small, but I doubt it. You could barely move around, and unless you wanted to nap, there was certainly no way to relax in the room between sightseeing and dinner. To save space there was a beside table and proper lighting on only one side of the bed. Too bad if your companion wanted to read or set anything next to the bed. The bathroom was also very small with a toilet that was just the right size for a 7 yr old, but was a pain for an adult. The sink competed with the toilet for the "small" prize. On the plus side, we loved the location which was perfect fpr us. We would recommend this hotel if you are on a budget, want a great location, and don't plan on spending much time in the room. May 26, 2014
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great location and room The location is perfect, the room was great and clean. I would definitely recommend and go back. May 26, 2014
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Easy Pick I stay here almost weekly for work and the staff here is really friendly and helpful. The rooms are always clean, though I try to avoid the smallest size of their rooms as they are a bit tight and some don't have a desk. Wifi is fast. The only thing I wish the hotel would change is to switch from using Styrofoam during breakfast. I think paper plates/bowls/etc would do the trick and be a bit more environmentally friendly. Thanks! May 26, 2014
    Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great staff, convenient location and enduring style You'll notice this no ordinary Holiday Inn, even though it has the usual conveniences. The staff are exceptional, which helps guests past the quirks of an older property. With private bathrooms in each room and a high rise design, this was a very luxurious hotel when it opened in 1927 as Hotel Cass. Our expectations of luxury have changed, but this hotel delivers a comfortable stay today. Rooms are small for families, but adventurous couples will enjoy the charming personality of this hotel. Road warriors like me will appreciate that this place has a soul and connection to its neighborhood that makes for a memorable stay. May 26, 2014
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by housekeeping and staff Housekeeper Lorraine was very helpful. Front door staff and bell staff were friendly and helpful. Thanks for a pleasant stay! May 18, 2014
    Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Small but comfortable and convenient We were four hours late via Amtrak. When our taxi arrived at the hotel, the bellman was right there and helped with our bags. Check-in was quick and we were soon in our room. The room was small but very clean. There was a window, but it looked into a solid concrete wall. and there was no light. I had a problem with a stuck zipper on my luggage and they had a service person help with that quickly and efficiently. The restroom was clean and supplied. The bed was extremely comfortable and the TV, Wi-Fi and coffee maker worked, Also the climate control worked as we like it so we had a good night sleep. The breakfast met our expectations which is why I always choose this chain. Unlike most Holiday Inns there was no swimming pool so I didn't get my morning workout. They had a fitness room, but as I am handicapped, I can't use the kind of equipment. Overall it was not the best HIE we've stayed in, but the basic needs were well met. I would stay here again. May 15, 2014
    Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by worst hotel and service - EVER!!! Arrived very late due to weather issues at Midway Airport.. When checking in at 3am I was told that the custodian would have to let me into my room due to key programming issues and they would slide my key card under my door once programmed. Never heard of this ever! After arriving at 3am in the morning I was put on the 14th floor where I was woken up at 7am due to construction going on rooms around my room, I called front desk and spoke to a gentleman who said they were not to start that early and he would handle it. Well...it continued. 9am...knocking on my door for maid service...note...I was just there for that night for a conference in Chicago (maid service should have a list of rooms of people checking out same day) I informed them I was checking out at noon that day - 10am, knock on my door - maid service - surprise!!! REALLY...after this I spoke with my wife and she travels 3 weeks out of the month and she made a call to the front desk and spoke with Jackie (Manager) who was very rude to say the least...and have left a call for the GM - Todd and no call back as of yet! I WOULD NOT RECOMMEND THIS HOTEL TO ANYONE!!! May 14, 2014
    Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Staff were bullies when told what needed to be done Staff told how to handle billing, told no problem then when problems were confronted they appeared surprised. Asked for cleaning the room before check out, should check which guests are about to leave avoiding to ask for room serviced to the ones who are about to leave within hours May 10, 2014
    Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Small, but comfortable rooms. The location is great. The hotel is well maintained and clean. Rooms are small with no comfortable seating. However, the beds are very comfortable and can easilty watch the large screen TV. May 9, 2014
    <<prev 2 3 4 5 6 ... 17 next>>