Skip Navigation
  • English    English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • Sign In
  • 1 888 IC HOTELS
  • Book online or call:
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
  • 1 888 IC HOTELS
  • Book online or call:
 

WELCOME TO

Chicago

Concierge Photo
Kathy McClanathan
Chef Concierge, Les Clefs d’Or, USA

Insider Tips

LOCAL CULTURE

CHICAGO DINING

Because Chicago is still growing and earning its reputation as a vibrant city there has been a tremendous influx of restaurant openings. Many great Chef's have been lured by the possibilities of our city.
THE JEWEL OF CHICAGO’S MAGNIFICENT MILE
Experience modern comfort with a touch of 1920’s splendour. This lovingly restored Chicago luxury hotel was once the 1929 Medinah Athletics Club. Part of Michigan Avenue’s architectural elite, luxury details include ENO for wine tasting, recreated gold leaf murals and an ornate pool once used by Tarzan actor Johnny Weissmuller. Discover the best of Chicago within walking distance of museums, upscale shopping and theatres. Navy Pier, Shedd Aquarium and Oak Street Beach are minutes away.

Guest Reviews

Anywhere Check-In is a simple process that will help you start enjoying your travel earlier.

HOTEL HIGHLIGHTS

  • Restaurant & Lounges

    Befitting its exclusive North Michigan Avenue address, the InterContinental Chicago Magnificent Mile offers some of the best downtown Chicago resta...
  • Amenities & Services

    One of Chicago’s largest hotel fitness centres energises you with a state-of-the-art cardio room, a strength circuit, free weights, personal traine...
  • SPECIAL PACKAGES

    There's always something special happening at an InterContinental hotel. Whether you are looking for a fun-filled getaway or a place to host your n...

InterContinental Chicago Magnificent Mile

  • 505 North Michigan Ave
  • Chicago , IL , 60611
  • United States
  • Front Desk +1-312-9444100

  • Driving Directions
  • Transportation
  • Parking
   

Languages spoken by staff

Afrikaans, Arabic, German, Greek, English, Spanish, French, Hindi, Croatian, Indonesian, Italian, Japanese, Dutch , Punjabi, Polish, Slovene, Serbian, Tagalog, Chinese

Pet Policy

Guests with pets must reserve the Historic Tower. There is a 100USD fee, 50USD which is refundable. Dogs and cats without size restriction. Pets must be kenneled when guests are out of the room. Please contact hotel in advance to rent a kennel, if needed.
Pet Deposit $100.00 per stay
  • Local Time

    6:38 PM
    • CHECK-IN

      3:00 PM
    • CHECK-OUT

      12:00 PM Late Check out Available

    Currency

    • US Dollar $ (USD)

    Accessibility

    • Service animals allowed
    • 34 Room(s) with Accessibility Standards
    • Parking
    • Special Needs
    Guest Reviews
    Rated 4.1 out of 5 by 528 reviewers.
    Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Solid, but overpriced This is a solid hotel, but the value was not what I've come to expect from a HI Express. However, a music festival was in town and they may have bumped up the rates due to the festival. Front desk staff was extremely nice and helpful, a few of the valet/porter staff were not as nice. Breakfast was a standard complimentary HI Express offering. Room was very compact, due to the property being a historical hotel. However, the space was sufficient for what we used it for...sleep...it was clean and comfortable. Bathroom was clean. Internet was fast enough, but a little quirky to connect. Parking charges were in my view, excessive, but in line with other hotels in the area. August 11, 2014
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Room Room was small but adequate. Bed was too soft. Staff was helpful. Tried to reach the hotel from the airport and the system needs improvement. Called another Holiday Inn Express at the airport for information and they were totally unhelpful. August 11, 2014
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Extremely professional I would return to this hotel just to be treated so nicely by the excellent staff again! Always helpful with local recommendations and quick and polite when inquiring about guest services. Clean, quiet and friendly! August 11, 2014
    Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Room My stay in the hotel was very satisfactory, excellent location and excellent treatment from the staff of the hotel, my only complaint is about the room, i expecting a room more bigger than it was, I found it quite small ( in the picture of the page web don't look like really is or was) August 11, 2014
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Litttle Hotel for a Great Price Loved this hotel, the service was great, nice little room, thoroughly enjoyed my stay in Chicago. Had a great sleep here as well!!! August 10, 2014
    Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Terrible experience Tiny rooms. Poor service. Price fluctuates wildly from day to day. I will never return here again. Ever. August 10, 2014
    Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Disappointed Extreme small room without a wardrobe, not even a hanger. The carpeted floor urgently needs to be renewed (nobody knows what else lives in this carpet). Toilet paper seems to be a luxury good in this hotel. I strongly recommend to bring your own! If used towels are put on the floor they usually are exchanged - this is not the case in the Holiday Inn Express in Chicago. Staff was friendly but not always cooperative (I asked to help my wife with her luggage as I had already mine and the two of my children, but nobody felt the need to assist her). They don't recognize your IHG membership if you did not directly book with them. Breakfast was very good. Broad variety of things. That is probably the best thing in this hotel! All in all: bad rooms, bad room service, personnel not always helpful, breakfast almost perfect - not my first choice and definitely no recommendation. August 9, 2014
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Best location and value in Chicago Staff and location are best in Chicago. Any attraction, theater, dining experience that you visited Chicago for are just steps away. When in Chicago, this is the only place to stay. August 8, 2014
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Perfect place to stay if the Mile is your destination The hotel was perfect for my stay. Both business and pleasure on the Magnificent Mile. Free breakfast was great. The bed was comfy. The room was warm and inviting. Makes for a great trip. August 8, 2014
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Service, Perfect Location Rooms are very small. We had to book two rooms for our family of four. restrooms are very small, the shelf to place toiletries would not hold two people's belongings. Regardless, when in Chicago, you don't spend that much time in the room, so these are only minor challenges. All other aspects of the room were fine. Although you do have to log in to access the wifi each time you close out the device you were using, again a minor detail. Now the good stuff. Staff was awesome. Very friendly and engaging. offered great recommendations for dining and entertainment to fill in gaps we had not already planned. We utilized valet parking all week and rode public transportation to all the sites. Location is great. August 8, 2014
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Outstanding staff and soft bed. I will stay in this hotel and other Holiday Inns because of my experience in Chicago. The staff paid attention to every detail from the moment we walked in the front door, and the service was excellent until checkout. August 7, 2014
    Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by NEAT PLACE TO STAY loved the staff, the biscuits and gravy were great. the SIZE of the room is a bit small but when you learn the history of the hotel you understand why then. everything was great. August 7, 2014
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Choice for us We had a great stay! Everything was taken care of for our weekend in downtown Chicago for pizza tasting... Giordanos won 3-2! We will be back. August 6, 2014
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 Very nice and very good service Hotel is bit small but it's super convenience location. Staff are super kind and I was quite surprised. In the morning I have to checked out early in the morning and one of lady front desk staff gave me fruits and drinks. Thank you so much I should ask her name...it was "T" something...I don't remember. Anyways, I would like to visit this hotel again and I had super good memories.. August 5, 2014
    Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great staff and nice hotel We got in really late and got put in a room that was facing a wall with no view. Since this was my wife and my vacation we wanted to be able to see a bit of Chicago and the sun and the staff was amazing about it and got us switched the next day. Throughout the whole stay the staff was great. Everything else was good and breakfast was great. Awesome stay. August 4, 2014
    Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Holiday inn express My husband and I checked out immediately after seeing the room . It was very small and cramped. They advertised a queen bed but there is no way that bed was a queen. We laid on it and there was hardly any room in between us. We are not large people either. There was a hair on the sheet inside the bed which grossed me out. The staff was nice but we weren't spending that kind of money to stay in a shoebox. August 4, 2014
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Gute Raumaustattung, feundlicher Service, WIFI Freundlichkeit, Kompetenz, Sauberkeit, nicht sehr komfortable Frühstrück August 3, 2014
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great place to Stay The staff is wonderful nice hotel location is great for the Magnificent mile will stay again. August 1, 2014
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent service My husband is claustrophobic. We were unaware of the elevator, hallway, and rooms being very small. Our fault because we didn't even think about this issue because of the downtown facility. We were placed in a room on the 9th floor and he just could not make it to the room. After alerting the staff about the fact he couldn't make it to our room they accommodated his needs immediately. We were placed in a room on the 2nd floor where he could use the stairs to get to the room. The staff were sympathetic and excellent in making our stay as pleasant as possible. It would be difficult to find a staff as friendly and efficient as this one! July 31, 2014
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Nice Option for Short Stay We stayed in this hotel for an overnight after a local concert and it met our needs just fine. The staff was warm and welcoming and the room was very comfortable. The only potential shocker is that the room size itself is very small but it's perfect when a couple of people just need a nice room to sleep and shower in while out and about visiting Chicago. I'd definitely stay here again. July 30, 2014
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent stay This is a great hotel so close to all the things Chicago has to offer. The staff are wonderful and always greet you with a smile and "hello" as you come and go. Fran at the front desk is great at helping with anything you need and booked us last minute tickets for the Wrigley Field tour. The rooms are small, but give you everything you need. My only tiny complaint would be some type of bedside table in the room we stayed in. Other than that - its all you need and was clean and quiet (we stayed on 12th floor). I would definitely recommend this hotel and if I ever return to Chicago, it would be my first choice! Thank you to the staff for making our stay a great one. July 29, 2014
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Choose a room with 2 beds We really enjoyed our family vacation in Chicago while staying at the Holiday Inn Express Downtown. Very convenient location for shopping and nightlife. Staff is fabulous. Each staff member we came in contact with was kind, polite, and helpful. This included Front Desk, Doorman, cleaning, and food service. Only complaint was that one of our rooms was very close quarters. I realize it is an old building that has been renovated, but when 2 people cannot hardly walk past each other without touching, that is cramped. The room with 2 double beds had ample room. Even though our room was cramped, I would stay there again, just request a room with 2 beds. July 28, 2014
    Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Superior Staff!!! Let me preface my comments with the fact that we were not acquainted with this facility prior to our making our reservation. That said, we were not prepared for the small size of the rooms. All things being equal however, the size of the room was not a critical factor. What I do want this review to reflect is the superior service provided by the entire staff. That to me should speak volumes. The staff went to great lengths to ensure that all of our requests and needs were met with expedience and satisfaction. For that reason alone, this location should be considered by anyone visitng the Windy City. The location is ideal for travelers doing business in the vacinity of the Magnificaent Mile. July 28, 2014
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent hotel We vacation in Chicago every summer and have stayed at a variety of hotels. Staff was extremely friendly and helpful no matter what time of day or night. While rooms may be small, we don't spend much time in it, they have everything we need. Easy off/on access to I-90 and close location to the L makes this an amazing place to stay. This just became our hotel of choice!!!! July 28, 2014
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Leisure Trip to Chicago We found the hotel, quaint, on a relatively quiet street and not too far from anything we needed to enjoy while exploring Chicago. From check-in to our final day we had fantastic service. it felt like a home away from home. Fran is an amazing, friendly and personable employee and we really appreciated everything he told us and helped regarding tickets and transportation. You rock!!! Across the street is Starbucks and a Trader Joes if you need anything, how convenient. The beds were very comfortable and pillows were awesome. The rooms were small but seriously, we weren't planning on performing cartwheels during our stay ha ha ha. Resting your head in a place that feels comfortable after a long day of exploring is exactly what they offer. Never a problem getting a cab out front, the door men certainly took care of that, and fast! Breakfast was delicious each morning, offering something for everyone, no disappointments. A lounge with big screen tvs to enjoy your coffee/tea and breakfast before heading out the door. Thanks again for a wonderful stay. If travelling to Chicago again . . we will definitely stay with you! July 28, 2014
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by We will definately stay again. My daughter and I stayed for a fun girls trip. We loved the location and could walk to everything. We will definitely return. July 26, 2014
    Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable and good service We were there for a long weekend and everything was good. The only comment is about the bathroom having the closet door broken and only bath amenities for one person and we were two. Breakfast good, as always. Good location and very kind staff. Recommended. July 24, 2014
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent as always This is a great little hotel that is well positioned for workers and travellers alike. A clean environment from the moment you walk in the front door right through to your bathroom. The staff are great and welcoming and will help you out with local knowledge too on how to get somewhere are places to dine. July 24, 2014
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by The staff is this hotels greatest asset!! Short cab ride from the Union Station. We were greeted by an extremely polite and helpful staff. All of them were very helpful with directions, bus schedules and suggestions for local events and attractions. We were greeted everytime we entered the hotel. The doormen\baggage handlers were polite and helpful as well. I will certainly stay here when I return to Chicago. July 22, 2014
    Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by poor custom service The problem with this hotel is not the small rooms or the limited breakfast; it is the custom service. I will certainly never stay at this hotel again. My original booking was made in March for a stay in July. At that point, I made an online reservation for a standard room. I called that day or the day after to request two double beds as it was not an option to do so online. In early June I called to add an additional night and again requested two double beds. I was told this request would be guaranteed. I arrived at the hotel last Friday (over an hour before stated check-in time) only to find out that my room contained a queen bed (which was actually the size of a double). After inquiring about my specific request for two doubles, I was told there was no record of any of my phone calls. That response was quickly taken back when I stated there had to be some confirmation that I called to add an additional night. Clearly I called, and it is not my problem that my preference was not noted. After much back and forth, I was told by an extremely rude manager that my preference could only be guaranteed had I paid an extra rate. As I see it, I never had a chance for anything other than a queen bed since my preference was never recorded. I was told I could not move to a room with two double beds as the hotel was sold out but I would be the first to be called if another room became available. I was put in a room that accommodated a roll-away but then we had absolutely no room to move around. I received a phone call around noon the next day stating that another room with a king bed had become available. When I went down to get the key, I was greeted by an apologetic front desk clerk who said she had called the wrong room and the newly available room was actually going to be given to the family next door. I should note that she used my name in the original phone call and I had been told the previous day that I would be the first to be notified. I was furious at this point and, after a few more phone calls, got an additional room. I was grateful for that but, honestly, this should have been offered in the first place. Or, if the hotel was truly full, a room with two double beds should have been found for me at a nearby hotel. July 21, 2014
    <<prev 2 3 4 5 6 ... 19 next>>