Skip Navigation
  • English    English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • Sign In
  • 1 888 IC HOTELS
  • Book online or call:
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
  • 1 888 IC HOTELS
  • Book online or call:
 

Chicago Magnificent Mile

WELCOME TO

Chicago

Concierge Photo
Kathy McClanathan
Chef Concierge, Les Clefs d’Or, USA

Insider Tips

LOCAL CULTURE

CHICAGO DINING

Because Chicago is still growing and earning its reputation as a vibrant city there has been a tremendous influx of restaurant openings. Many great Chef's have been lured by the possibilities of our city.
THE JEWEL OF CHICAGO’S MAGNIFICENT MILE
Experience modern comfort with a touch of 1920’s splendour. This lovingly restored Chicago luxury hotel was once the 1929 Medinah Athletics Club. Part of Michigan Avenue’s architectural elite, luxury details include ENO for wine tasting, recreated gold leaf murals and an ornate pool once used by Tarzan actor Johnny Weissmuller. Discover the best of Chicago within walking distance of museums, upscale shopping and theatres. Navy Pier, Shedd Aquarium and Oak Street Beach are minutes away.

Guest Reviews

Hotel Specific Offers
Terms & Conditions
Discover the many benefits of becoming an InterContinental Ambassador.

HOTEL HIGHLIGHTS

  • Restaurant & Lounges

    Befitting its exclusive North Michigan Avenue address, the InterContinental Chicago Magnificent Mile offers some of the best downtown Chicago resta...
  • Amenities & Services

    One of Chicago’s largest hotel fitness centres energises you with a state-of-the-art cardio room, a strength circuit, free weights, personal traine...
  • SPECIAL PACKAGES

    There's always something special happening at an InterContinental hotel. Whether you are looking for a fun-filled getaway or a place to host your n...
Chicago Magnificent Mile
  • 505 North Michigan Ave
  • Chicago , IL , 60611
  • United States
  • Front Desk +1-312-9444100

  • Driving Directions
  • Transportation
  • Parking
   

Languages spoken by staff

Afrikaans, Arabic, German, Greek, English, Spanish, French, Hindi, Croatian, Indonesian, Italian, Japanese, Dutch , Punjabi, Polish, Slovene, Serbian, Tagalog, Chinese

Pet Policy

Guests with pets must reserve the Historic Tower. There is a 100USD fee, 50USD which is refundable. Dogs and cats without size restriction. Pets must be kenneled when guests are out of the room. Please contact hotel in advance to rent a kennel, if needed.
Pet Deposit $100.00 per stay
  • Local Time

    1:13 PM
    • CHECK-IN

      3:00 PM
    • CHECK-OUT

      12:00 PM Late Check out Available

    Currency

    • US Dollar $ (USD)

    Accessibility

    • Service animals allowed
    • 34 Room(s) with Accessibility Standards
    • Parking
    • Special Needs
    Guest Reviews
    Rated 4.1 out of 5 by 238 reviewers.
    Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Good staff; very noisy room We stayed here to attend a Bears game so the location was important. The hotel staff was very friendly and helpful. However, the noise in our room was very loud. Late in the day of our first night, the people staying in the room next to ours were having a loud argument, complete with screaming and door slamming. While I certainly don't hold the hotel accountable for that, the walls were thin enough that we could hear every word spoken and feel every door close. Early the next morning, we were greeted by the sounds of drilling from the floor above us and, when taking a shower, the voices of the people in the room next to ours could be very clearly heard through the exhaust vent in the shower. The traffic noise from the street below was also loud enough to wake us. January 3, 2014
    Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Room for 4 My daughters won tickets for a local concert at the United Center and asked if I would reserve a room at a Holiday Inn located near the concert site, so I reserved a room with 2 full size beds for my family of 4 at this location. We found the room to be very small. When we arrived, we found hair and toothpicks in the bath tub drain that was not cleaned out by the cleaning staff. The TV had no satellite signal and we had to have hotel maintenance come up to fix the problem. With this package we purchased the Chicago parking plan along with a $20 breakfast voucher for the following day. The valet parking was adequate but the restaurant breakfast service was very poor. We waited (30) minutes for our order when there were only 2 other customers in the restaurant area, and the order was incorrect when it finally arrived. I have been a Priority Club member since 1994, and found our stay to be disappointing. December 23, 2013
    Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by HI Chicago-Downtown Stayed here while I was in town for an interview. In terms of reaching the rail, this location was more convenient for than the other Holiday Inn (Chicago-Mart) located nearby. This location is near the Blue line, which offered greater access to where I needed to travel, while the other one was located near the Brown line. Having said that, the Chicago-Mart location is just a nicer facility. This location has a small lobby, where I was greeted with very friendly and knowledgeable staff. My room was nice enough, but smelled like cigarette smoke, despite the fact that it was listed as a non-smoking room. Complimentary Wi-Fi was reasonably fast. I did have an issue with the TV; the HD channels had poor transmission. The staff was great. Always very nice, smiling, and got me whatever I needed. December 17, 2013
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable bed and suite In a suite style room that was very spacious for the five of us. Restaurant on property was reasonable considering the area. The staff was friendly and responsive. Public transportation was close by and convenient when we did'nt want to spend money on taxis. The restaurant and bar were open a lot and convenient for when we had family come to visit December 15, 2013
    Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Nice and easy The hotel was nice and easy to get to via the highways and was clean and friendly. I enjoyed my stay and would recommend it. However the location from where the hotel was compared to where we went to spend the evening was an expensive cab ride. Not the hotels fault. December 14, 2013
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Ongoing use of this facility What a great experience at this facility! I have been staying at this location for several weeks. The front desk staff not only does their job, but makes you feel “welcome” and “happy” to be at their location. The valet is always quick to retrieve your vehicle, and greets you with a friendly smile and welcoming comments as he presents your vehicle. Sometimes, while staying in a large metro city hotel, you feel like a number. The staff at the Chicago location treats me as a friend, rather than a customer. They always greet me even when passing through the building. In summary, it's the little things that make a difference. This facility makes you feel like a friend, and you are happy to return "home" as you return to the Chicago area. December 10, 2013
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Stay again I would stay again at this Hotel. The staff was really helpful in every way! They were really nice about letting us stay a little longer because our train was later. They all were very accomodating!! Thank you!! December 4, 2013
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great service I definitely would like to recommend this hotel. The service was excellent, friendly and really kindness. December 3, 2013
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great place to stay with friendly staff This is a great place to stay. The staff is always helpful and friendly. The food is good and the rooms are quite comfortable and always clean. From the resturant staff, front desk, valet, and everyone else that makes the experience great... they all work hard to make sure your needs are met. Try this hotel, you will not be disappointed. They have a great exercise room as well. December 3, 2013
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Customer Service the tops Having arrived early before scheduled check in due to our train's arrival time, we were waiting for our room. Jesus the doorman made sure we were made comfortable, and checked our bags. While we were sitting waiting, the manager came over and inquired about us. The desk clerk also checked on us and gave us a room asap. Each time we passed through the lobby, the staff greeted and chit chatted with us. Food at the restaurant was excellent and staff also very friendly. Room comfortable and clean. Even provided with ear plugs in case the city noise was disturbing; which it wasn't. The fitness room had plenty of space and machines. Enjoyed my stay. December 3, 2013
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great service and friendly staff Very good and friendly staff. Enjoyed my stay. Will recommend to my friends and family. December 3, 2013
    Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great place to stay near the Loop Room was very comfortable, and I was pleasantly surprised to learn that the hotel is only a block from the Blue Line. It made getting around Chicago very easy. I will probably stay here again. November 29, 2013
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Hotel Great Hotel! The hotel staff make you feel like you're staying at a Bed and Breakfast! The staff always greets you when you enter the hotel, leave the hotel or if you're just coming down from the room to eat breakfast in their convenient cafe. The front desk staff are more than accomodating. When we needed directions to ride the subway, Tommie was more than helpful in helping us naviagate Chicago's subway system. When we decided to stay an extra day, because the hotel was just wonderful and there still was more we wanted to see, the front desk were more than helpful in accomodating our request. The valet didn't rush you when you checked in to get all your belongings out of the car, they allowed you to park your car and get your belongings and then hand in your keys when you were ready. It's only a short walk to restaurants and the neighborhood Starbucks, which you'll need in Chicago when it's cold! Also, loved that hotel was only steps away from the Blue Line, so we were able to hop on the subway and go anywhere we wanted in Chicago and return home tired but knowing the train would let us off almost right in front of the hotel. We had a two room suite, which was wonderful with a teenager. And our room was right next to the interstate and we didn't hear any noise at all. One of the great perks of the hotel was having a business center so I could print off tickets to events or maps to the many places that my husband wanted to see. And finally, it was so wonderful to come back each day and find my bed made and room tidied up. As a stay at home mom who cleans the house everyday, that was such a blessing to me! We will stay at this hotel whenever we are in Chicago again! November 29, 2013
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Friendly staff Staff was very accommodating including check-in, dinner, breakfast. Also the barmaid was a real gem, interacting with all of the guest in the bar. November 24, 2013
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Anniversary stay Being a downtown hotel I was quiet impressed on how amazing the hotel and amenities turned out to be! Shout out to the restaurant very tasty food both on the buffet and menu, Candice was very helpful on recommending places to visit,definitely a hard working employee you have. Front desk was very friendly especially Alina! Will definitely stay here again was worth every penny. November 21, 2013
    Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 Disappointed Looks nothing like the photos on line , charged extra for parking , toilet overflowed 4 times, not within walking distance to downtown , overpriced snacks from the 24hr shop and was told vending machines not reliable so for same thing they charged three to Times more than what machine had it for and nothing wrong with vending machine. Room dirty and old and we actually had a suite. Not enough towels of shampoo for the number of guests room was reserved for. Friendly staff except for rough Caucasian lady with long black hair who made me wait to ck out . November 15, 2013
    Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by well done The hotel looks newly renovated. The staff are polite and thoughtful. Toiletries were excellent. November 14, 2013
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by high quality for price Nice clean, quiet place to stay for a very reasonable rate downtown Chicago! Valet parking only, makes up the difference. November 13, 2013
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Wonderful Stay! I was so impressed from the beginning to the end of our stay! Sam and the staff went over and above the call of duty to check us in early and recommended some fabulous eateries to which just added to the experience. Our waitress (wish I could remember her name) at Sunny's dd a fabulous job of bringing us drinks as well. A heartfelt thank you and we'll be sure to return on our next trip to the Windy City! November 9, 2013
    Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Average. Nothing special. I picked this hotel because of the location and it met my demands for that and a place to sleep. Nothing fancy, no "wow" factor - just a good place to stay. November 3, 2013
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Greatr Room Had a suite and it was quiet, roomy and clean, Staff at desk were helpful and delightful. Will stay there again when in Chicago November 2, 2013
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Pet-Friendly My stay was SUPERB! This hotel is pet-friendly and the staff is excellent. The room was wonderful. The beds were comfortable. I am very picky when I travel. I have no complaints about this hotel. Stay here! October 21, 2013
    Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great Location This hotel is conveniently located to the Clinton subway stop on the Blue Line. It is also close to other restaurants on Clinton. The staff is very friendly and willing to help with suggestions about places to eat and go. October 21, 2013
    Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by poor location and worse service Location is very poor. The abandoned post office is right next door and if you are planning on walking anywhere downtown, you will have to walk past it which is not pleasant especially at night. Hotel was not very clean and we especially enjoyed the cleaning staff leaving out TV turned on all day while we were out. Management was not really interested in addressing or solving our issues. October 17, 2013
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great, convenient hotel We came for the chicago marathon. The hotel was very quiet (our room was facing traffic) . Front desk was very kind. Room was better than expected! We will definitely stay here again! October 17, 2013
    Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by guest overall pretty good but the hotel is going to have to make the walls more soundproof. You can here everything just above a whisper in adjoining rooms. I tried to keep my tv volume low because I know I could hear it from the other rooms next to me. October 14, 2013
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great place to stay! I have stayed here a couple times and have had great service both times I have stayed. I take the train into town and the hotel is within walking distance of Union Station, and there is also a Blue Line Station right down the corner so it is extremely easy to get around town. There is parking available for what looked like a reasonable rate for Chicago. Getting a cab was very easy as well. I think the most we ever waited to take a cab was 3 minutes. Plus if you are an IHG Rewards Club Member you can also get a late checkout if possible. Usual checkout time is noon and our train didn't leave until 2 and we were able to check out at 2 which was also really nice. If you're in the area check out a great diner down the street called White Palace, it's amazing! October 13, 2013
    Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Date night My wife and I came to Chicago for a concert at the Chicago Theater on 10/6/13. The staff was friendly, at check-in. The room was adequate for one night, so I thought. We went downstairs to eat and after being left at our table for 30mins, we paid for our drinks and left. We had a great time at the concert and returned to our room. The bedding is horrible. My wife and I hardly slept due to the obviously poor mattress and the 4 lumpy pillows that you could not get flat if you tried. The location is convenient, but a good nights sleep it is not!! October 10, 2013
    Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Outstanding Service I brought my young children with me on a Chicago area vacation and stayed at the Downtown Holiday Inn. The staff was wonderful and extremely helpful. They were the best part of our stay. The room was average because the furniture is older and well worn. The hotel location was perfect for the 'Sears' tower and other site seeing walks we took around downtown. It was also nicely located to the popular attractions like Shedd's and the museum of science. It is also only a short block from the train station. The roof top pool was a fun way to end the evening. October 5, 2013
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great job Very nice stay. Staff was super friendly. Would stay there again. enjoyed my stay very much. October 4, 2013
    <<prev 3 4 5 6 7 ... 9 next>>