Skip Navigation
  • English    English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • Sign In
  • 1 888 IC HOTELS
  • Book online or call:
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
  • 1 888 IC HOTELS
  • Book online or call:
 

Kansas City At The Plaza

Rated 4.1 out of 5 by 358 reviewers.
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Security Staff Your security staff's behavior was irrepressible during my stay June 9-11.. Their attempt of keeping baseball players (Detroit Tigers) away from guests was a joke.. Your security staff was the problem and I witnessed colleagues and family members physically tossed out of the lobby bar for being too close to players while they were only trying to get a beverage... A piece of advise if you high dollar celebrities staying in your hotel, treat them as if they were leader of our country - MOVE THEM to your private bar on the roof away from the common folk don't put them on display in your lobby... Trust me I am not the only one of 140 people who attended this Annual conference and were very disappointed at the behavior out of your security staff... I will not be staying at your hotel in the future... 17 June 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great location and service We stayed for a Royals/Astros game. The room was nice, as expected, but the location was great----walking distance to shopping at the Plaza stores and restaurants. Had breakfast at the restaurant, overlooking the river and Plaza nearby--- beautiful view. (The food and service were great as well.) Parking was very reasonable, and easy to get and out of hotel. 14 June 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Poor staffing I had to wait over an hr until my room was ready when check is at 4pm and I didn't get checked in unitl 6:30pm 13 June 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Daughter's Wedding The space was beautiful (roof-top ballroom) and the food and service and everything about the wedding was just perfect!!!! Absolutely wonderful!!! 13 June 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Overall Experience There was a mix up in our arrival night. My bride and I either arrived a day early or a day late. Our room was not available so the front desk put us on the 10th floor, overlooking the Plaza! The view was magnificant!! This exceded expectations! 12 June 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Wedding Weekend We were at the hotel for 4 nights for a wedding. Everyone we encountered was extremely friendly and helpful. My wife even had an event with catering, and was very pleased. During our stay, we were in almost every area of the hotel. Everything was perfect!! Our children have been moving to the area, and this hotel has become our new "go to" place to stay. Thank you for a wonderful experience. 10 June 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by A great experience! This was my second stay with Intercontinental and both were wedding receptions. Very nice accommodations! I would like to suggest that the chairs used at the reception should be checked over. 1. My husband has silver stripes on his suit coat - appears that possibly the chairs may have been touched up prior to the reception? 2. I snagged my sweater on a chair that had rough edges. Other than a few "wardrobe" issues this is a very nice hotel! 07 June 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by conference experience Staff was not knowledgeable or accomodating. Poor service. Comfortable bed. 07 June 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Nice location and staff but noisy and bad internet connection I loved the large windows that could actually be opened! However, it was a pretty noisy hotel - I had to wear earplugs to be able to sleep. The wireless internet was not free and was very slow. The staff were very friendly and helpful though. Great top-floor bar and reception area, cool first-floor lounge with occasional live music. Nice pool. Across the street from a plaza with cool shops and restaurants. 05 June 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by excellent KC hotel Perfect location, high quality service. Excellent value 03 June 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great service I had only one small complaint, I left a note to the room service people to leave me extra decaf coffee packets and they left regular coffee instead two days in a row. I do not think the person could read English, she did appear to not speak English but Spanish instead. 02 June 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Best way to visit Kansas City You can't miss when you choose this Hotel, everything was top- notch! Would like to see free Wi-Fi 02 June 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Wedding Experience We attended the Fogarty Fairchild wedding. The room was terrific. The reception rooftop was sensational except the bar. It should of been bars as the young couple had been told and if not there should of been adaquate help not 2 over worked men. For the price they paid that was a disservice to the event. The food and everything else was remarkable. In spreading the word the bar issue will be told so others make sure they get what was told or have enough help. We had been to Jack Stack the night before and they had 2 bars open for us and 8 servers. It was amazing. I hope those 2 bartendars were rewarded. 31 May 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Cannot really recommend this property I recently booked two king deluxe rooms for two nights. When I spoke with Reservations, I explained that my English husband had never been to Kansas City before, so I wanted a nice view of the Plaza for him. The second room was for my father and I specifically requested that the bill for this room be put on my credit card. When my father arrived, he was asked for a credit card for his room, which he finally gave them and I had to straighten out the billing later. Also, the rooms we were given did look toward the Plaza, but we were on the second floor right behind some trees, so couldn't really see much. The rooms were very dirty, the walls in the bathroom had big white splotches of unknown origin in many many locations, and the floor between the minibar and the wall had caked-on, built up dust that was disgusting looking. It was easily found because that's where I had to reach to access the plug to use my hair drier. The in-room safe was locked and therefore unavailable for my use. When I went to the front desk to mention it, they seemed totally uninterested and didn't offer any alternatives or options, such as sending someone to unlock it. For the price, and the brand, I was extremely disappointed with this property. I would stay here only if you need the location next to the Plaza and find that the other properties are simply unavailable. 28 May 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by The best of service from maid to wait staff. Get the physical building out of the 1950's. Especially the individual rooms!!! We paid up front for the five day room stay and yet were charged a $75.00 early check-out fee when we left after third day. Bad taste. I'll miss the dining room. With two adullt children w/families we'll need to find more comfortable rooms/baths for future visits. 25 May 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Always Amazing I visit Kansas City about six times a year, and I have only stayed at the Intercontinental for the past decade. It is my favorite place to stay, it has the best location, and the most amazing staff. I would recommend a room on the 10th or 11th floor to take advantage of the Concierge Lounge. The three people up there (Kent, Craig and Ruben) are all absolutely irreplaceable. Please do everything you can to ensure they remain at their positions. Every person at the front desk will bend over backwards for you and are all very sweet. I would also recommend becoming a Ambassador. It's an amazing deal, and you always get fruit and water in your room at checkout, a complimentary newspaper, and room upgrades. Overall, I've never been happier with a hotel than I am with this one. 24 May 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Room and Location This was the 4th time I've stayed at the Intercontinental Kansas City at the Plaza while attending the annual KU Med anesthesia symposium. As always, the location (5 minute walk to Country Club Plaza, $5 cab to Westport), room (Plaza view) and service was excellent. The Oak Room Bar is great - you just can't top live music just an elevator ride from your room every Thursday, Friday, and Saturday evening. I highly recommend this hotel. One concern though... This was the first time I've brought my laptop with me for this conference. I was surprised to find that the Intercontinental doesn't provide free wi-fi for guests. Accessing wi-fi requires that you sign in with your room number and adds $11.95 per day to your bill. More and more establishments; coffee shops, restaurants, airports, even the cheapest hotel brands; offer free wi-fi today. The Intercontinental is NOT a cheap hotel. At this price point, I can't believe guests have to pay extra for wi-fi. Despite my concerns in regards to paying for wi-fi access, the Intercontinental remains myvhotel of choice in the Kansas City. 22 May 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Almost Perfect We love the concierge lounge. It is a good value and the staff are excellent. We have noticed lately the lounge is overfull and has too many kids running around. The experience has deteriorated and some consideration should be given to limiting access a bit or to an age minimum. The quality of the wine served could also use some attention. Otherwise, it is still our favorite hotel in the Midwest. 17 May 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Ambience The room was very nice and the concierge level was definitely worth the extra. Only negative was one night when there was a wedding reception I could hear the music quite well in my room. 17 May 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great Place for Special Occasion Our room was spacious, beautifully decorated, and comfortable. The lobby and Oak Room lounge were lovely----we really knew we were someplace special when we walked in. The staff did an amazing job of preparing a friend's gift of wine and iced beer by displaying the gift on a silver tray that was waiting for us when we returned after dinner on our first night. The only negatives were cleanliness---lots of dust on the top of the lampshades, especially in the bathroom. There was a spider web in the upper corner of the bathroom sink area, and the bathroom mirror was pulling away from the wall. These things made me wonder how clean the bathroom floor and carpets were. 13 May 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by April in KC It is a great location and a hotel that is in need of freshening up. Also, if this were to be a truly green hotel, there would be ample towel racks/hooks in the bathroom on which to hang wet, used towels so that they can be reused. There is more than enough wall space in the bathroom to accomplish this. 07 May 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by what a wonderful weekend i checked in at the same time some friends did, this was about 430, they got their room immediately, they searched for about ten minutes to find a room for me. they were courteous rooms were clean and nice, the maids did a nice job, location near the plaza excellent a bit noisey on sunday morning with the blare from the race food at the wedding and monday brunch was excelllent 06 May 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Vanguard Operations Conference 2013 The hotel was lovely and located conveniently within walking distance were restaurants and other convenience stores. The hotel staff could not have been friendlier or more accommodating. I thoroughly enjoyed my stay. My room was very large and tastefully decorated and had a small balcony which verlooked the plaza. The restaurant was a pleasure as well, my waiter was attentive and gracious. The conference room was well set up and comfortable and the lunches provided were delicious. Should I happen to be in Kansas City again I know just where to stay. Thank you. 06 May 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great experience We stayed at the Intercontinental for a wedding from 4/25/13 thru 4/28/13. Our room was great with a great view (#259). The staff were most accomodating and gracious. The exercise room was very nice. The "head of the Valet parking" made the experience great from the get go. Ed welcomed us, asked where we were from, etc,etc. I spoke with him numerous times during our stay and you could see and feel his enthusiam as he greeted other guests. By the by, he was most helpful in giving me directions to the airport so that I would niss the construction. The rates were a little pricy but then after frequenting other places in the city they were comparable. The wedding was held in the "Grand Ballroom" for about 375 guests. There were more than enough staff to handle the crowd and they kept up a superb pace with the dinner. Great Job.. I would consider staying again if my travels bring me to Kanas City. The location is great for shopping and dinning. Hats off to Ed and the other Valet staff for making a great first impression. 03 May 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by exceptional service Everyone from grop reservations to the doormen and front desk made the triip exceptionally great 03 May 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent location This is our favorite hotel in Kansas City especially when we want to stay at the plaza. Easy hastle free parking, walking distance to all the shopping and dining. We love the charm of this elegant hotel, professional staff, great attention to detail. If you want a great experience and not "just a place to lay your head" this is the hotel to stay at! 01 May 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Event at Intercontinental-Plaza Our firm hosted a meeting at the hotel. We had about 70 attendees, 80% our clients, 20% staff. The hotel staff went out of the way to accomodate our clients and odd demands. (like pizza at 2 am) We usually host our meetings at 'Destination' locations. Several of our clients said they would gladly come again, that they enjoyed the hotel and the area. 29 April 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by The best room service menu ever After a long day nothing was better that to return to an amazing room service menu. Most hotels have the old, high calorie, super dated menus and deliver overpriced fare. Certainly not the case here, an amazing pork belly appy and a crisp delectable salad. Paired with a great glass of wine, an in room movie, comfy pillows and I was ready to charge into yet another 15 hour day. Kudos to the entire staff! 29 April 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Disappointing Sad to say that I was disappointed with my stay. The room was not well maintained, issues with the telephone, Internet, bathroom. The entire hotel seemed tired, in need of repair/renovation. Not what I had experienced with this location or other hotels in the Inter-Continental chain. 25 April 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Very nice room and courteous staff A great overall extended stay (3 nights) for the conference! 22 April 2013
<<prev 8 9 10 11 12 13 next>>
Kansas City At The Plaza
  • 401 Ward Parkway
  • Kansas City , MO , 64112
  • United States
  • Front Desk +1-816-7561500

  • Driving Directions
  • Transportation
  • Parking
   

Languages spoken by staff

English, Spanish

Pet Policy

Small pets under 25 pounds are allowed with 25 dollar nonrefundable cleaning deposit. Pets left unattended must be in a kennel. Guest will be held responsible for noise or other complaints about their pet.
Pet Fee $25.00 per night
  • Local Time

    12:21 PM
    • CHECK-IN

      3:00 PM
    • CHECK-OUT

      12:00 PM Late Check out Available

    Currency

    • US Dollar $ (USD)

    Accessibility

    • Service animals allowed
    • 15 Room(s) with Accessibility Standards
    • Parking
    • Special Needs