Skip Navigation
  • English    English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • Sign In
  • 1 888 IC HOTELS
  • Book online or call:
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
  • 1 888 IC HOTELS
  • Book online or call:
 

Kansas City At The Plaza

Rated 4.1 out of 5 by 434 reviewers.
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Disappointing experiance We paid extra for a Plaza View room, but the view was obstructed by a tree. We could see the Plaza to the east but anything to the west was covered up by the tree. We complained to the front desk but got no satisfaction. 20 August 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Disappointing Experience The shower temperature was very inconsistent. It was very cold and the next minute it was extremely hot. After talking with the maintenance they determined the faucet was set up incorrectly and it was allowing too hot of water to be dispersed. The staff was very good, but the rooms seemed old and tired. 19 August 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Overnight getaway Clean and spacious room. Awesome location. The swimming pool is a major plus outdoors. Great drinks at the bar fun atmosphere highly recommend. Have stayed here multiple times and enjoyed each time. 18 August 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Can't beat the location! It is right on the plaza, so you can walk to everything from your hotel. That is the main reason why we chose to stay there. The rooms are very comfortable and the whole hotel is very nice. The only problem that I had was that you have to pay for internet. I mean practically every hotel has free internet and for the price that you pay to stay here it should be included. The parking is $15 a night, so it was good we only stayed 1 night. Overall, I really did like the hotel and will probably stay there again. The location of the hotel is just great to have an amazing time at the plaza. 16 August 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Nice Hotel Beautiful inside. I stay at alot of high end hotels. This has a good location. The cost value per the type of room and amenities are average, in my opinion. The inside of the hotel itself is exquisite. They charge too much for self parking, in my opinion, which is $7/day, but it is next to the pricey Kansas City Plaza. 15 August 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Dated Worn Rooms My wife and I stayed here for our anniversary. When we 1st arrived we were told by the lady at the desk that they could not give us the room we reserved because other guest had decided at the last minute to extend their stay and that they had actually overbooked the rooms. We were downgraded to another room in which we stayed about 5 minutes because the bedding was dirty. The dust ruffle was torn and covered with dirt and hair. When we told the front desk about this they found a way to give us our original room we reserved. The new room was clean, but the bedding, towels, carpet and furnishings were worn and in need of replacing. I can see at one time this Hotel could have rated 5 stars and can again if they do some renovating, but in it's current condition I can only rate it as 2 stars. 14 August 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by KC Intercontinental on Aug 4-6, 2013 First problem happened at Check-in. I have an Ambassador Membership, but the attendant at the Ambassador Desk was helping others as the lobby was full of people trying to check in on Sunday at 4 PM. I asked the Bellman to help. He called her, but I still had to stand in line for almost 30 minutes just to check in. The room was ready with fruit basket and water as promised. Second, there was a professional sports team staying at the hotel and one night we were out on the balcony have a cocktail and started to talk to some of them as they were seated at the table next to us and the security guard almost came unglued. We were unaware of who they were until the security guard made a huge deal out of the situation. The players were making no complaints and we had just casually started a conversation with them like you would with any other stranger. I guess you are not allowed to talk to them in the hotel. It was just bizarre and very uncomfortable as the guard just stood behind our two tables up against the wall with his arms crossed after basically telling us to leave them alone. We got up and left and that was the last cocktail we ever had at the hotel. Eat and drink some place else in the plaza in you stay at the Intercontinental. 12 August 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Visit The room was very nice and the bed was very comfortable. The only complaint I have is that the room is next to the elevator and you can hear it going up and down all night. 12 August 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by love this hotel Wonderful hotel, great location & great service by all the staff! 09 August 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great Location, Comfortable Bed and Wonderful Pool We always celebrate our anniversary at the Intercontinental because it has a great location so we can walk to dinner. We love to come back and listen to music being played in the lobby. During the day we lay by the fabulous pool and read. They have great pool side service. Our only disappointment was not being upgraded to a better room and we are platinum elite. Our room was nice. No refrigerator. 09 August 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Location was great! We did enjoy our stay at the Intercontinental! The staff was very nice and helpful! I love the location too! The only thing we were disappointed with was the fact that there was no refrigerator in our room, and that we had to pay 15.00 per day for parking! I think that is outrageous! We are already paying to stay at your hotel, we shouldnt have to pay to park there too. 02 August 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Anniversary getaway We have stayed at your hotel for many years on our anniversary. The view of the Plaza from the Deluxe room accommodations is spectacular. The pool is very nice and the waiting staff at the pool are very courteous and helpful. The food and beverage service is very timely. We will continue to visit your hotel each year and highly recommend it to our friends and others we come in contact with. 02 August 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Relaxing quick getaway! My husband and I were looking for a quick kid-free getaway within driving distance from OKC. My only "must" was an outdoor pool by which I could drink an adult beverage and read a good book. A friend recommended the Intercontinental and it totally delivered. Comfortable room for relaxing, sleeping, and sitting on the balcony overlooking the plaza. Beautiful pool area with food and drink service and an attentive and friendly staff. There were plenty of seating options for snoozing in the shade or sunning. Two pools, one of which is perfect if we return with our children. (But that also allows for those avoiding playful little ones to remove yourself from the action and still totally enjoy poolside R&R). All that and still walking distance from shopping and eating at the Plaza, and a quick drive from the wonderful art museum and Kauffman Stadium. We've decided to make Kansas City and the Intercontinental our quick getaway destination of choice! 01 August 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great stay Had a great stay. Very relaxing. Great location and great staff 01 August 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Best Service and Comfort I stay all over the world, choosing Intercontinental whenever possible. The IC Kansas City is may favorite hotel from anywhere in the world (IC or no IC). The staff is outrageously friendly and helpful. The hotel is in the perfect location. The Oak Room, Restaurant and Rooms leave no real room for improvement. You are classy, cool and just a pleasure to be around. Can't wait for my next stay. I appreciate all you do. Jake 31 July 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Disappointed on an Anniversary Weekend... First of all, I love the brands of the ICHotels group. I use them for both domestic and international travel. I stay at Crowne Plaza & Intercontinental while overseas, so I was excited to plan an Anniversary weekend overnight at home. After making my reservation, I received an email from the concierge to which I replied about having some flowers in the room for my wife and billed to my room. I also asked if the carriage rides at the plaza nearby would pick up at the hotel. Unfortunately, by the time of my arrival, I never received a response - and my hope of finding flowers in the room were dashed. I certainly could have followed up, but I would think the service level of an Intercontinental would be better. We were also very disappointed that in the shower, the bathtub had peeling enamel around the drain and there were 2-3 patched of peeling paint above the tub as well. We had used points to book, so it seemed like we were relegated to the 'older' part of the hotel. Overall, I was just disappointed in the brand... I was looking for that Intercontinental experience and was let down. 29 July 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Best pillows in the world. The bed and pillows were wonderful. We enjoyed the balcony with a view of the Plaza. Didn't hear any noise from adjoining room. Staff that we dealt with were very pleasant. Bathroom should have an exhaust fan. Air conditioner was loud; we had to turn the TV volume up when the air was running. Also, the air conditioning vent was directly across from the couch - brrr. 27 July 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by great weekend Came to KC to watch our team the Tigers and brought our kids Trip was great Room Service food was unreal best I've ever had Had the Turkey bacon club and ordered it again the next night Only complaint was staff a little uptight around the pro ballplayers they need to relax a tad otherwise great hotel great time great people 27 July 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Disappointing! For a hotel that claims to be elite, I was very disappointed. I booked two rooms for a family weekend and requested 2 beds for each room. I was told there were no guarantees in advance. I paid a non-refundable rate (3 weeks in advance) to save on the price of 2 rooms. I called the day before our stay because I only got a confirmation reminder for one of the rooms and reiterated my 2 bed per room request. When we arrived the following day, I was told there were only single bed rooms available and I would have to get a rollaway bed for a second bed in each room. I would expect guests who pay in advance would get some priority over room assignments. Also, one of the rooms had no mini refrigerator and the other had one which was sealed shut with zip ties. Additionally, I was charged for snacks in one of the rooms when neither was stocked with anything. I ordered soft drinks in the lounge one evening and was told that we would have to consume them in the lobby because one of our party was a minor. This was not a problem until a security guard ordered us to leave the lobby because ballplayers were entering the building. None of my party did anything to interfere with them but the hardnose security guard rudely insisted we leave. We have stayed at several hotels where ballplayers also stay but have never been asked to move for simply sitting in the lobby. On a positive note, a front desk clerk who overheard our problem with the sleeping arrangements did offer us breakfast coupons for one morning. The waiter and the cooks at breakfast were exceptional. The housekeeping staff was very nice and left extra towels. The location is very close to shopping and restaurants. I could have rated the overall experience much higher if not for the above problems. 26 July 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Awesome front desk staff Unfortunately we had several issues. Usually our stay is effortless, relaxing with great food. Sleeping was uncomfortable due to the room thermostat not functioning, very warm. Showering was hot cold hot cold! Our room keys were not functioning, but when reset, they issued them to the incorrect room number!( 2 families with same name staying at hotel) This was such a pain, after several attempts to get up to Amassador level and or our room, they realized the error. ( one key worked but we had 3, 1 for our daughter) Finally we ordered Salmon salad for lunch. The salmon was raw so waiter took it back only to return with it 7 minutes later after we ate our salads! No compensation offered and our ice tea and water was never refilled! Again we usually have no issues and Love this Hotel and staff and do plan to return. 26 July 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Service Great experience, but very disappointed that rooms for wedding families were not ready until 5:30 when checkin was to be at 3;00. 26 July 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Love this place My husband and I stay here every year for our anniversary. LOVE IT!! 26 July 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Disappointed We reserved a suite/concierge with a view weeks in advance. Our reservation stated that we could not cancel our room without loosing our deposit. When we arrived our room was no longer available and we were downgraded to a different suite. The suite we were given was dirty and stained. The walls had food stuck on them and overall it was pretty disgusting. The only reason we didn't pack up and leave is because we were only staying one night and decided to go out for the evening and make the most of it instead of wasting time complaining and moving to a new hotel. We always try to stay in a nice place. This was not one of them. Staff was friendly... no complaints there. Will not return. Spend your money elsewhere. 25 July 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Extremely Disappointed Stayed there in March with an ok experience but not great so I gave it a try again. Problems from check in to check out. Asst Manager frustrated with us because they edited our reservation and changed the check out day on one of the reservations. Too upsetting to discuss the number of issues and frustration. There won't be a third time though, for sure. 23 July 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by i love the hotel thanks very much for a great stay. finally after trial and error i seem to receive the particular requests i prefer. it's a great hotel for a stay in KC. always try to stay on the 11th floor overlooking the plaza. the freshening up of the pool area is a succes...hopefully the rooms wont be far behind for a redo....Angela, Nevada and all the front desk really try to accomodate my special request and don't seem to "cringe" any longer when they see me coming....many thanks for a great stay....Joe 17 July 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Hotel Needs to upgrade carpet and replace outside furniture or clean 17 July 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Nice service and comfortable but excessive extra charges Chose the hotel to be central to family while visiting in KC. Everything was lovely except the "extra charges". By the time all the taxes are added to the bill along with extraneous fees the quoted price balloons. We have grown to accept this from other hotel experiences. However, there seems to be a "free" parking arrangement for everyone except those on the honor system. We paid $15 a day for a "free" parking lot to others just because we were "honest" about parking our car there. If we had known that, maybe we wouldn't have been so "honest". No car information was retrieved by the hotel desk---just our openness about leaving it in the garage----hence, a daily fee. And with the room prices as they are, could this not include free WiFi? Yes, an additional fee!! It would be nice to go to a hotel and not be nickeled and dimed. Otherwise, lovely place. 15 July 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by what a difference a year makes made decision to stay at same property ss last summer, night & day 15 July 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by There for us again Less than a week after our first trip to Kansas we had to come back; my mom had passed away. After our first experience at the Intercontinental there was no way I was going to stay anywhere else. A called the hotel to make a reservation with Katrina but she was off that day. Instead I talked to Natallie. Natallie was able to look up our last stay and again get us a good rate. When we arrived there was a letter at the front desk from the general manager. Right away we felt like we were with family again. This stay was just as pleasant as the first. All of the same peole where there and all of them were just as kind and compassionate as the first time. At the front desk we saw Katrina, Jared, Kelly and Natallie. In the morning at breakfast we saw Adam, Hisham and Tim. In the evenings at the restaurant/bar we saw Rob, Brittney, Ray, Ben, and Jessica. And the managers Dennis and Jesse were around as well. All of them were very caring and gave us their condolenscenes on the loss of my mother. Their kind caring attitudes made the whole expierence less stressfull. My family will definietly go back to the Intercontinental in Kansas City. There is no better place to stay in Kansas. 14 July 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by not quite Fond memories of the hotel, so we had high expectations. Yet some little things stood out -- difficult check in, television down, smeared window, broken end table, pool landscaping overgrown. But nice staff and superb location. 14 July 2013
<<prev 9 10 11 12 13 ... 16 next>>
Kansas City At The Plaza
  • 401 Ward Parkway
  • Kansas City , MO , 64112
  • United States
  • Front Desk +1-816-7561500

  • Driving Directions
  • Transportation
  • Parking
   

Languages spoken by staff

English, Spanish

Pet Policy

Small pets under 25 pounds are allowed with 25 dollar nonrefundable cleaning deposit. Pets left unattended must be in a kennel. Guest will be held responsible for noise or other complaints about their pet.
Pet Fee $25.00 per night
  • Local Time

    6:05 AM
    • CHECK-IN

      4:00 PM
    • CHECK-OUT

      11:00 AM Late Check out Available

    Currency

    • US Dollar $ (USD)

    Accessibility

    • Service animals allowed
    • 15 Room(s) with Accessibility Standards
    • Parking
    • Special Needs