Skip Navigation
  • English    English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • Sign In
  • 1 888 IC HOTELS
  • Book online or call:
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
  • 1 888 IC HOTELS
  • Book online or call:
 
Rated 4.1 out of 5 by 471 reviewers.
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Rooms and Great Service Pretty much the only place we stay in Kansas City, especially if we have business in the Plaza area. We now know lots of people on a first-name basis, which is great. Can't say a bad word about anything connected with this hotel. One nice thing that might appeal to swimmers is that by 4:00 p.m. mid-summer, the pools are totally in the shade. KC is horrible in the summers, but you can swim all late afternoon in complete comfort. That's a HUGE plus. 31 August 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Exceptional Guest Experience with Nevada My husband and I stay with Intercontinental at the Plaza in Kansas City 3-4 times each year and it is one of our favorite weekend getaways. Last week my husband spoke with Nevada and she assisted us with our reservation. She was so gracious and as frequent guests she went out of her way to set us up with a premium room. We arrived on Friday and planned to stay through Sunday. Our plans unfortunately changed abruptly when we learned Saturday morning that my father-in-law was en route to the hospital in another city. We had the fortunate experience of finding Nevada at the front desk. She remembered my husband and was genuinely empathetic about our family situation. She allowed us to check-out early without penalty and we were quickly off to the hospital. We realize that not every hotel or agent would be so gracious. We appreciated the ease and kindness in which our situation was handled. We are excited to return later this Fall and will share our positive experience with others. Thanks so much. 29 August 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Beautiful Hotel, great Location, Bad Service I got this room for my Niece as part of her 21st Birthday gift. it was an easy walk to the Plaza where we had dinner. Check in was quick and easy. The only downfall of the visit was our visit to the Lounge for after dinner drinks. We sat at our table and watch a couple of servers walk back and forth past our table without even acknowledging our presence. We were within 3 tables of the bar, so in the 12 mins we sat there not being waited on, they passed by us numerous times. At this point the Lounge was not that busy. I found this rather annoying. I finally just went to the bar and got our drinks myself. We were half way thru with our drinks when finally one of the servers decided to ask if we were ok. You might let the staff know that 30 mins to greet a table is totally unacceptable and considering what someone pays to stay at this hotel, ignoring or failing to even acknowledge a guest is enough to make someone not want to stay there but try the luxury hotel across the street! And just an FYI, I am in this industry, so I probably have more patience than most when it comes to understanding what is busy and have no problem waiting IF it is busy and IF I am at least acknowledged. 28 August 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by A Destination Location I had the pleasure of stayng at Intercontinental's Kansas City At The Plaza property this past July. It is the ideal location if your business or personal travel brings you to the Plaza section of the city. You are just a few blocks from all that the Plaza offers and a short walk to the Nelson-Atkins Art Museum. Don't forget to explore just uphill from the hotel to discover Loose Park and Eggtc for a great breakfast place. My room was nicely appointed with a very comfortable bed. The general decour of the public rooms is a bit dated and the pool area is noticeably small for the size of the property. I was able to secure seating and enjoyed the very attentive bar staff. 27 August 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Wonderful Hotel I stay at this hotel a minumum of twice a year. Have been doing it now for over 9 years! It seems to get better each time I visit! Keep up the great work. 27 August 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Pool needs upgrade I stayed about a month ago and could not get lounges for my family group. The same thing happened this time but when we saved lounges for our family to get down there an attendant came by and said we could not save so lost our lounges and five minutes later the ladies in our party and did not have a place to sit. Many people were drinking alcoholic drinks that they brought in and were not purchased. I think the pool should be better supervised since this is one of the main reasons we come there in the summer. If it does not improve we will not be staying there. 21 August 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Enjoyed the stay, with one exception The only problem we encountered during our stay in Kansas City was an empty beer bottle on the floor of our room, under the curtains. It made me wonder just how clean the room was. 21 August 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Disappointing experiance We paid extra for a Plaza View room, but the view was obstructed by a tree. We could see the Plaza to the east but anything to the west was covered up by the tree. We complained to the front desk but got no satisfaction. 20 August 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Disappointing Experience The shower temperature was very inconsistent. It was very cold and the next minute it was extremely hot. After talking with the maintenance they determined the faucet was set up incorrectly and it was allowing too hot of water to be dispersed. The staff was very good, but the rooms seemed old and tired. 19 August 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Overnight getaway Clean and spacious room. Awesome location. The swimming pool is a major plus outdoors. Great drinks at the bar fun atmosphere highly recommend. Have stayed here multiple times and enjoyed each time. 18 August 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Can't beat the location! It is right on the plaza, so you can walk to everything from your hotel. That is the main reason why we chose to stay there. The rooms are very comfortable and the whole hotel is very nice. The only problem that I had was that you have to pay for internet. I mean practically every hotel has free internet and for the price that you pay to stay here it should be included. The parking is $15 a night, so it was good we only stayed 1 night. Overall, I really did like the hotel and will probably stay there again. The location of the hotel is just great to have an amazing time at the plaza. 16 August 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Nice Hotel Beautiful inside. I stay at alot of high end hotels. This has a good location. The cost value per the type of room and amenities are average, in my opinion. The inside of the hotel itself is exquisite. They charge too much for self parking, in my opinion, which is $7/day, but it is next to the pricey Kansas City Plaza. 15 August 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Dated Worn Rooms My wife and I stayed here for our anniversary. When we 1st arrived we were told by the lady at the desk that they could not give us the room we reserved because other guest had decided at the last minute to extend their stay and that they had actually overbooked the rooms. We were downgraded to another room in which we stayed about 5 minutes because the bedding was dirty. The dust ruffle was torn and covered with dirt and hair. When we told the front desk about this they found a way to give us our original room we reserved. The new room was clean, but the bedding, towels, carpet and furnishings were worn and in need of replacing. I can see at one time this Hotel could have rated 5 stars and can again if they do some renovating, but in it's current condition I can only rate it as 2 stars. 14 August 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by KC Intercontinental on Aug 4-6, 2013 First problem happened at Check-in. I have an Ambassador Membership, but the attendant at the Ambassador Desk was helping others as the lobby was full of people trying to check in on Sunday at 4 PM. I asked the Bellman to help. He called her, but I still had to stand in line for almost 30 minutes just to check in. The room was ready with fruit basket and water as promised. Second, there was a professional sports team staying at the hotel and one night we were out on the balcony have a cocktail and started to talk to some of them as they were seated at the table next to us and the security guard almost came unglued. We were unaware of who they were until the security guard made a huge deal out of the situation. The players were making no complaints and we had just casually started a conversation with them like you would with any other stranger. I guess you are not allowed to talk to them in the hotel. It was just bizarre and very uncomfortable as the guard just stood behind our two tables up against the wall with his arms crossed after basically telling us to leave them alone. We got up and left and that was the last cocktail we ever had at the hotel. Eat and drink some place else in the plaza in you stay at the Intercontinental. 12 August 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Visit The room was very nice and the bed was very comfortable. The only complaint I have is that the room is next to the elevator and you can hear it going up and down all night. 12 August 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by love this hotel Wonderful hotel, great location & great service by all the staff! 09 August 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great Location, Comfortable Bed and Wonderful Pool We always celebrate our anniversary at the Intercontinental because it has a great location so we can walk to dinner. We love to come back and listen to music being played in the lobby. During the day we lay by the fabulous pool and read. They have great pool side service. Our only disappointment was not being upgraded to a better room and we are platinum elite. Our room was nice. No refrigerator. 09 August 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Location was great! We did enjoy our stay at the Intercontinental! The staff was very nice and helpful! I love the location too! The only thing we were disappointed with was the fact that there was no refrigerator in our room, and that we had to pay 15.00 per day for parking! I think that is outrageous! We are already paying to stay at your hotel, we shouldnt have to pay to park there too. 02 August 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Anniversary getaway We have stayed at your hotel for many years on our anniversary. The view of the Plaza from the Deluxe room accommodations is spectacular. The pool is very nice and the waiting staff at the pool are very courteous and helpful. The food and beverage service is very timely. We will continue to visit your hotel each year and highly recommend it to our friends and others we come in contact with. 02 August 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Relaxing quick getaway! My husband and I were looking for a quick kid-free getaway within driving distance from OKC. My only "must" was an outdoor pool by which I could drink an adult beverage and read a good book. A friend recommended the Intercontinental and it totally delivered. Comfortable room for relaxing, sleeping, and sitting on the balcony overlooking the plaza. Beautiful pool area with food and drink service and an attentive and friendly staff. There were plenty of seating options for snoozing in the shade or sunning. Two pools, one of which is perfect if we return with our children. (But that also allows for those avoiding playful little ones to remove yourself from the action and still totally enjoy poolside R&R). All that and still walking distance from shopping and eating at the Plaza, and a quick drive from the wonderful art museum and Kauffman Stadium. We've decided to make Kansas City and the Intercontinental our quick getaway destination of choice! 01 August 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great stay Had a great stay. Very relaxing. Great location and great staff 01 August 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Best Service and Comfort I stay all over the world, choosing Intercontinental whenever possible. The IC Kansas City is may favorite hotel from anywhere in the world (IC or no IC). The staff is outrageously friendly and helpful. The hotel is in the perfect location. The Oak Room, Restaurant and Rooms leave no real room for improvement. You are classy, cool and just a pleasure to be around. Can't wait for my next stay. I appreciate all you do. Jake 31 July 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Disappointed on an Anniversary Weekend... First of all, I love the brands of the ICHotels group. I use them for both domestic and international travel. I stay at Crowne Plaza & Intercontinental while overseas, so I was excited to plan an Anniversary weekend overnight at home. After making my reservation, I received an email from the concierge to which I replied about having some flowers in the room for my wife and billed to my room. I also asked if the carriage rides at the plaza nearby would pick up at the hotel. Unfortunately, by the time of my arrival, I never received a response - and my hope of finding flowers in the room were dashed. I certainly could have followed up, but I would think the service level of an Intercontinental would be better. We were also very disappointed that in the shower, the bathtub had peeling enamel around the drain and there were 2-3 patched of peeling paint above the tub as well. We had used points to book, so it seemed like we were relegated to the 'older' part of the hotel. Overall, I was just disappointed in the brand... I was looking for that Intercontinental experience and was let down. 29 July 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Best pillows in the world. The bed and pillows were wonderful. We enjoyed the balcony with a view of the Plaza. Didn't hear any noise from adjoining room. Staff that we dealt with were very pleasant. Bathroom should have an exhaust fan. Air conditioner was loud; we had to turn the TV volume up when the air was running. Also, the air conditioning vent was directly across from the couch - brrr. 27 July 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by great weekend Came to KC to watch our team the Tigers and brought our kids Trip was great Room Service food was unreal best I've ever had Had the Turkey bacon club and ordered it again the next night Only complaint was staff a little uptight around the pro ballplayers they need to relax a tad otherwise great hotel great time great people 27 July 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Disappointing! For a hotel that claims to be elite, I was very disappointed. I booked two rooms for a family weekend and requested 2 beds for each room. I was told there were no guarantees in advance. I paid a non-refundable rate (3 weeks in advance) to save on the price of 2 rooms. I called the day before our stay because I only got a confirmation reminder for one of the rooms and reiterated my 2 bed per room request. When we arrived the following day, I was told there were only single bed rooms available and I would have to get a rollaway bed for a second bed in each room. I would expect guests who pay in advance would get some priority over room assignments. Also, one of the rooms had no mini refrigerator and the other had one which was sealed shut with zip ties. Additionally, I was charged for snacks in one of the rooms when neither was stocked with anything. I ordered soft drinks in the lounge one evening and was told that we would have to consume them in the lobby because one of our party was a minor. This was not a problem until a security guard ordered us to leave the lobby because ballplayers were entering the building. None of my party did anything to interfere with them but the hardnose security guard rudely insisted we leave. We have stayed at several hotels where ballplayers also stay but have never been asked to move for simply sitting in the lobby. On a positive note, a front desk clerk who overheard our problem with the sleeping arrangements did offer us breakfast coupons for one morning. The waiter and the cooks at breakfast were exceptional. The housekeeping staff was very nice and left extra towels. The location is very close to shopping and restaurants. I could have rated the overall experience much higher if not for the above problems. 26 July 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Awesome front desk staff Unfortunately we had several issues. Usually our stay is effortless, relaxing with great food. Sleeping was uncomfortable due to the room thermostat not functioning, very warm. Showering was hot cold hot cold! Our room keys were not functioning, but when reset, they issued them to the incorrect room number!( 2 families with same name staying at hotel) This was such a pain, after several attempts to get up to Amassador level and or our room, they realized the error. ( one key worked but we had 3, 1 for our daughter) Finally we ordered Salmon salad for lunch. The salmon was raw so waiter took it back only to return with it 7 minutes later after we ate our salads! No compensation offered and our ice tea and water was never refilled! Again we usually have no issues and Love this Hotel and staff and do plan to return. 26 July 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Service Great experience, but very disappointed that rooms for wedding families were not ready until 5:30 when checkin was to be at 3;00. 26 July 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Love this place My husband and I stay here every year for our anniversary. LOVE IT!! 26 July 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Disappointed We reserved a suite/concierge with a view weeks in advance. Our reservation stated that we could not cancel our room without loosing our deposit. When we arrived our room was no longer available and we were downgraded to a different suite. The suite we were given was dirty and stained. The walls had food stuck on them and overall it was pretty disgusting. The only reason we didn't pack up and leave is because we were only staying one night and decided to go out for the evening and make the most of it instead of wasting time complaining and moving to a new hotel. We always try to stay in a nice place. This was not one of them. Staff was friendly... no complaints there. Will not return. Spend your money elsewhere. 25 July 2013
<<prev 10 11 12 13 14 ... 17 next>>

InterContinental Kansas City At The Plaza

  • 401 Ward Parkway
  • Kansas City , MO , 64112
  • United States
  • Front Desk +1-816-7561500

  • Driving Directions
  • Transportation
  • Parking
   

Languages spoken by staff

English, Spanish

Pet Policy

Small pets under 25 pounds are allowed with 25 dollar nonrefundable cleaning deposit. Pets left unattended must be in a kennel. Guest will be held responsible for noise or other complaints about their pet.
Pet Fee $25.00 per night
  • Local Time

    4:06 PM
    • CHECK-IN

      4:00 PM
    • CHECK-OUT

      11:00 AM Late Check out Available

    Currency

    • US Dollar $ (USD)

    Accessibility

    • Service animals allowed
    • 15 Room(s) with Accessibility Standards
    • Parking
    • Special Needs