Skip Navigation
  • English    English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • Sign In
  • 1 888 IC HOTELS
  • Book online or call:
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
  • 1 888 IC HOTELS
  • Book online or call:
 

Kansas City At The Plaza

Rated 4.1 out of 5 by 415 reviewers.
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by No Energy This hotel is mediocre at best.. There is no imagination and no energy anywhere on the property. The turndown service in the evening is very poor. 15 April 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great stay We styaed over the Easter weekend and we had a wonderful stay. The staff is so attentive and Easter brunch was fabulous. 05 April 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Outstanding Service I strongly recommend this Hotel, Is one of my very best stays ever, Outstanding in all areas besides located near great Restaurants and other venues to complement your stay. I will return to this Hotel without hesitation. Thank you Staff Armando 25 March 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great birthday weekend Returned once again to the IC on the Country Club Plaza for my husband's birthday weekend. This is about the best hotel in KC location can't be beat and the service & staff are wonderful. Anyone staying at any IC should book the concierge level accomodations...very nice breakfasts, noon snacks & tea, evening appetizers and cocktails, and then later desserts, cordial and coffees... fabulous and it's a great value considering the high-end dining in the areas of most of these fine hotels.....will save you a lot of $$$ elsewhere. Nicely appointed rooms and the suites are delightful... perfect for a couple or family for a longer stay 23 March 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Great front desk staff....downhill from there Staff is very friendly and outgoing. Rooms are dated and bathroom condition is not on par with past intercontinental experience. (Tub was cracked and pieces of whatever covering was on it were cracked and missing; toilet was rusty around fixtures, as was sink) Main room door had 1/2inch gap at bottom -- heard everything in hall. Disappointing for the price, and for the brand I expected better. 23 March 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Thank You The stay was amazing and the staff are very friendly!!! Had a great time at our event and would stay at this hotel again!! The band in the lounge was AMAZING and we had so much fun!! Thank you for a great weekend of being spoiled!! 23 March 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Love to stay there. Have access to the concierge level. The service is fabulous. I love the older gentleman who works there. (Lost his name). He makes us feel special. We always stay there now. 22 March 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good Overnight Stay at Conference The room was clean -- no complaints there. The location was excellent; located in downtown Kansas City, MO the hotel is within a block of "The Plaza". The Plaza is an outdoor shopping community with such stores as The North Face, Burberry, Michael Kors, Pandora, etc. A safe and well lit area, The Plaza is a compliment to the hotel's classy environment. You'll notice marble accents everywhere and swear you're in a luxurious establishment. 14 March 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great service! The check in process was superb! Not only did Nevada great me with a brilliant smile and welcome; she also was able to change my reservation from a double bed to a king room, which is what I am accustom to having when I travel for business. She invited me to call the front desk if there were any problems with the room, and while there were no problems with the first night; on the second night I just could not get the thermostat to raise the temperature in the room due to the outside weather conditions. Because of Nevada's hospitality upon my check-in, I did not want to call with the temperature concern, since she had done such a wonderful job with the room assignment! Hotel establishments need more customer-service oriented staff like Nevada...you have a jewel! 13 March 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great service at the front desk very fast check in process and helpful staff and the room is very comfortable This survey is a pain. Make it easier! 12 March 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Birthday Weekend I have stayed at the Intercontinential in the Plaza many times before but this time I reserved a room on the concierge floor and I will never stay on another floor again. You get so many amentiies, so much food and drinks all throughout the day and Craig was great, he is so knowledgable, entertaining and very helpful. I was a little disappointed about the rooms though. They were exactly like the rooms on the other floors and needed some repair, the paint was pealing on the ceiling in the bathroom and the marble countertops and shower was stained with what looked like rust. The rooms definately need to be remodeled. Aside from that I LOVE the hotel bar always fun and entertaining and 24 hour room service is the best. Will definately be back soon. 11 March 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Really nice bar in lobby Also very nice to have a balcony. Did not like paying for wifi. 09 March 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Special Feeling We recently celebrated my husband's birthday by booking a quick get away at the Intercontinental in Kansas City, MO. The staff and concierge made our stay memorable and made my husband feel special. It was one of those trips we will cherish for years to come, simple but unforgettable. 08 March 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Room and Service We enjoyed our stay. The room was spacious and comfortable and the Staff, Front Desk, Valet and Bellman was very friendly and helpful. 05 March 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great service and friendly people. From the parking to the front desk where we were told that we could not have the concierge floor requested because of a plumbing problem to the efforts to make us feel better with lower room rate, drinks in the lobby bar, key to the concierge floor, and a sincere apology . Always love to stay here and will be back soon. 01 March 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by No hot water I did not have hot water for a shower on 2 out of the 3 days that I was there. I tried to call the front desk repeatedly and did not get an answer. On the third day, I stopped by the desk to tell them that I did not have hot water for a shower. The desk attendant asked if I had let them know earlier and I said that I had tried to call but no one would answer. Her reply was that if I had let them know earlier, I could have switched rooms or they could have let engineering know the problem. But since I was getting ready to check out, there was nothing she could do at this time. Again, I said that I had tried to call but no one would answer. I am not going to go down to the front desk with a robe on to report the problem. I was at the hotel for a conference and I heard several people commenting that they did not have hot water for a shower. I think when you stay at a 4 star hotel this should not be an issue. I also had problems with the wind whistling around the patio door one night. I checked if it was securely locked and it was. Needless to say, I did not enjoy my stay. 22 February 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent experience for business or pleasure!! I was attending a conference held at the hotel in addition to staying there. The meeting rooms were well suited to our groups' needs and were comfortable for our long sessions. Your staff were friendly and helpful to the nth degree. Our meals were outstanding and the restaurant was extremely attentive in accommodating our private group function. Overall, and in every aspect, an excellent visit not to mention close to the Crown Center!! 22 February 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Not worth the money I stayed here for a conference but would not recommend. The rooms are comfortable but check in is late, the staff appears busy and overworked and the sound in the ballrooms is really not appropriate for speakers. Food from room service was awful and expensive. Your money would be well spent somewhere else. 22 February 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Lovely stay We had a wonderful experience. My only comments were that the in house restaurant is very expensive. VERY Expensive. My point being that you choose this hotel because of location, and when you can literally walk across the road for any food choice, it would only make sense to have the in house choice be competitive. And it isn't, We typically order one or two meals as room service, just to relax, but it was cheaper to have delivered from outside...... they should re-think the restaurant pricing. The hotel otherwise was FABULOUS> 22 February 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good choice in the Plaza area of KC The Intercontinental is an older hotel building (1960's perhaps), but in excellent, updated condition. A three-day conference venue when I attended. I found the rooms spotless and the staff helpful and knowledgable. The queen bed in my room was great with extra pillows, a good writing desk with two AC outlets. The housekeeping staff for my room were very thourough, even folding a shirt I had thrown onto a chair. A nice touch - a lighted clothes closet. My only complaint was the lack of choices for in- hotel dining. On Valentines Day, there was a "$75 special" and no less expensive options, after spending most of the day in meetings. Even the little store was closed, so we could not even buy a snack. That being said, this is a nice hotel. 21 February 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great staff tired building Staff very welcoming and friendly. Hotel looks tired from the outside and was tired on the inside. 12 February 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Wonderful people We had a mix-up with our reservation and the front desk changed us from regular room to a suite. When the staff found it we were celebrating an anniversary, they sent wine and fruit. The suite was amazing and beautiful. The evening concierge was friendly and helpful. The breakfast , appetizers and desserts tasted delicious. You made a memorable anniversary. The only reason I cannot give a 5 star rating relates to the heating in our room. The living room portion of the suite was perfect but the bedroom was freezing and the thermostat has no effect. Thank you for a great stay. 09 February 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent customer service, and Craig in the concierge always goes the extra mile for his guests. I have been staying at The Intercontinental for many years for both business and pleasure. I truly feel welcome when I arrive. Staff is warm yet professional. A winning combination. I love the historic feel. The beds are extremely comfortable, room service efficient. Thank you for continuing to be excellent. 07 February 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Changes at the Hotel I used to stay at this hotel every time I traveled to Kansas City. My last stay was OK overall, but not at all what I had experienced in the past. They took all the minibars out of the rooms (which isn't a huge deal, but a surprise after a long day and just wanted a coke without having to walk downstairs). The drapes were falling down in my room so I asked for another room and specifically requested a mini-bar. The front desk attendant was not friendly, looked like he was studying for a test behind the front counter and put me in another room without a minibar. Not dramatically bad, but certainly far from the way things used to be at the hotel. Except from the valet who is always there and extremely polite and professional. 06 February 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by No hot water Stayed on the 9th floor in late Jan 2013. No hot water in the shower as of 6:30am. Front desk and the maintenance man implied it was my fault for taking a shower in the morning when everyone else is. One of my colleagues down the hall had the same problem, plus a clogged drain. That evening the toilet wouldn't stop flushing no matter how much I jiggled the handle. I decided to call the general manager rather than deal with the front desk again. The GM called them instead and they got the maintenance guy to fix it, at which point he said the hot water problem might be due to them forgetting to bleed the air out of the system after installing new boilers. The layout of the room is poor. The TV is on the left hand side of the bed - means you can't watch TV from bed without lying sideways and holding your neck at a 90 deg. angle. What would it take to locate the TV to the foot of the bed or move the bed to the wall opposite the TV? There are not sufficient towel racks in the bathroom - what would it take to install an extra towel rack? The carpets need changing as well. I was afraid to walk on them barefoot but fortunately my room had some slippers provided with the hotel bathrobe. Other than these issues, the stay was average. The management puts a letter in the room from Guest Services saying to call them or the GM if you have any problems - this could suggest they are aware of the above problems. 04 February 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great location, fair service Great location and good level of service that you can expect at any intercontinental property. The staff however did not had any recognition or the basics for Ambassador member and the breakfast selection is very poor. Overall fair experience but you won`t walk out amazed. 04 February 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Weekend with the parents My boyfriend and I took my parents to Kansas City for one night before heading to Lawrence for a game. We wanted a nice hotel to make their first visit to the area special. My parents loved the free happy hour, late night "desert" happy hour, and breakfast that was offered with their "Executive Room". and the concierge (Craig) was even able to get us a last minute reservation at a booked restaurant. The hotel has an older feel, but the rooms are nice and the staff was very courteous. The plaza is a short cab ride to any bar or restaurant, as this hotel is across the street/creek from the main shops. I wouldn't suggest walking if it's cold. Overall good experience and nice place to stay. 03 February 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by A great venu for our 50th anniversary We were looking for an exceptional hotel to celebrate our 50th wedding anniversary. We were not disappointed. When we checked in, the lady behind the desk engaged us in casual conversation. When she found out it was our 50th anniversary, she upgraded us to a suite on the concierge level. It included a free cocktail hour and hors doeuvres and a cntinental breakfast in the concierge lounge. The service was impecable,the saff was knowkledgable and helpful and the suite was large, well furnishe and clean. The whole experience couldn't have been better. 02 February 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 great room up graded to consiege had conf so didnt use but was nice to have up grade great overall experience for first time in KC 28 January 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by memorable trip We celebrated our anniversary with a stay in KC. The Intercontinental was a perfect spot to celebrate. Breakfast at the Oaks was fantastic..the blue berry polenta pancakes were excellent! The staff was very attentive, treated us with champagne and chocolate strawberrys, also complimentary cocktails!! The Kansas City strip steak at the Oaks was amazing! Room service was prompt and the food was hot and so very good...i can still taste the Norwegian eggs benedict, truely memorable!! Our room was comfortable and had a nice view of the plaza. I am looking forward to the next opportunity to stay at the Intercontinental KC Plaza! 25 January 2013
<<prev 11 12 13 14 15 next>>
Kansas City At The Plaza
  • 401 Ward Parkway
  • Kansas City , MO , 64112
  • United States
  • Front Desk +1-816-7561500

  • Driving Directions
  • Transportation
  • Parking
   

Languages spoken by staff

English, Spanish

Pet Policy

Small pets under 25 pounds are allowed with 25 dollar nonrefundable cleaning deposit. Pets left unattended must be in a kennel. Guest will be held responsible for noise or other complaints about their pet.
Pet Fee $25.00 per night
  • Local Time

    3:58 PM
    • CHECK-IN

      4:00 PM
    • CHECK-OUT

      11:00 AM Late Check out Available

    Currency

    • US Dollar $ (USD)

    Accessibility

    • Service animals allowed
    • 15 Room(s) with Accessibility Standards
    • Parking
    • Special Needs