Skip Navigation
  • English    English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • Sign In
  • 1 888 IC HOTELS
  • Book online or call:
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
  • 1 888 IC HOTELS
  • Book online or call:
 

Kansas City At The Plaza

Rated 4.1 out of 5 by 444 reviewers.
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by SLEEP? GOOD NIGHT! My mattress was awful! Finally at 5:30am I requested a new or at least different mattress. The young man on duty was most sympathetic, even suggested an adjustment to the bill. Well. That wasn't going to happen. As a matter of fact I was told that afternoon, "We have no new mattresses. You can move to a different room, but all our mattresses are the same." In other words -WELL, YOU KNOW THE OTHER WORDS. and the gentleman at the desk wasn't very friendly. Quite frankly, I felt as if I stayed at a very overpriced moderate hotel. 17 January 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Beautiful View The room was really nice and the view was awesome.. We were disappointed in the front desk when we checked in. I had specifically ask if our reservation included the breakfast buffet and was told yes when I made the reservation. However when we checked in, I inquired of the breakfast and was told it didn't include it and that it would be $15.00 to $20.00 additional dollars per person. The individual checking us in basically blew off what I had been told. I am a Priority Club member and we have stayed here numerous times but the last 2 years had stayed at a competitor hotel in the same vicinity. We will re think our decision for New Year's Eve 2013. 07 January 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Intercontinental in Kansas City I can't believe you still charge for internet service. Every first class hotlel we stay at has free internet at least in the lobby area. It is time you changed. 07 January 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Service and accomodations excellent Had a great view of The Plaza from our room! The staff was very courteous and helpful! 06 January 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by new years eve we have stayed at this hotel many times and they continue to impress 05 January 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Wonderful experience. Our room was perfect. We had a great view of the Plaza lights. We will do it again next year! 05 January 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 Absolutely no recognition for platinum members The location for the hotel is perfect with the plaza and museums very near. The view from the room is fantastic but a bit outdated and you can hear you neighbor. Food was very good and the service there was great...my issue with the hotel is that they gave absolutely no reason to be loyal to the chain as they did not even recognize that I am a platinum member. Maybe the other hotels have set the bar too high but I would say this hotel is the worst at customer service in the chain and they make you feel like you are lucky to stay there. The check in was fast but not cordial and more like a number being processed. To keep it short, if you want a slightly outdated room with great location and little customer service, perfect hotel but if you want to be treated as a person and not a number, shop elsewhere...I will. 05 January 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent Service, Room is dated Every single aspect of customer service at the Kansas City Intercontinental was truly excellent, courteous, friendly, prompt. The room service was tasty and not overpriced. Unfortunately, though the room was a bit tired--patched drywall, cracked sink, dirty grout, carpet worn out here and there. If you're going to bill yourself as a luxury hotel then these things need to be fixed. The biggest no-no was charging for wireless internet access, I mean really folks, its 2013 not 1995. 03 January 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Not what it use to be I made a reservation for the club level and when I checked in, Nevada said my room was ready but no veiw. I was ok with that but she was not the warmest person. I made it up to club and we were Greeted by Ken, great guy. I talk to him some and found a good choice for a nice quiet dinner. We went shopping on the plaza and came back to the club for happy hour and it was PACKED...to many people in fact. It seemed that the someone was sending up people that were not even staying on club. I spoke to a few of these people and lets just say they were camping out and eating all the food and drink, it was a mess. My room was worn too, I had to call and have the sheets changed since they were not changed from the guest before. The room was very worn and I was not happy about that. We were going to stay two nights and we left after just one. You need to check into keeping club for club and not making it a catch all for everyone that stays at your hotel. Also you only had 1 server working the oak bar and it was packed, she was running her tail off and I felt bad for her. It seemed you did call someone in, but she got there after the rush. 02 January 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Friendly Staff We did not know our check out date for the last two nights of our stay and the Intercontinental was very accommodating each night we booked a following night (last minute). 02 January 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great room and all around fine time! We truly enjoyed our night! This is exactly what we had in mind. A nice night on the Plaza and dinner. 02 January 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by You are in Heaven The best place to stay and enjoy what life has to offer 02 January 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Best Property in City This hotel is the best property in the city, in my opinion. Especially for the views during Thanksgiving through mid-January when the Plaza Lights are on. The room I had on the western wing was very nice, expansive, with really nice bathroom marble, fixtures and tub. However, the water pressure was so-so, the temperature of the water varied and the heating mechanism in the room was not adjustable. Had to be an issue with the thermostat, and I did not complain about it or ask that it be fixed; I just turned it off. These are small things the maintenance staff should resolve. 02 January 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Average for upper end hotel The view overlooking the Christmas lights on the Plaza was beautiful. The problem with the older hotels is that they have central heating and air conditioning, I like my rooms to be cool when I am sleeping but we could not turn the heat down any further. We opened the balcony door for a while but I wasn't going to leave it open throughout the night and ended sweating by morning. 02 January 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Ok Experience I was spending the night here with my girlfriend for her birthday. The lights in the bathroom kept going off and took a while for them to come back on. This happend when we were trying to get ready and go out to dinner. Also, the shower did not drain at all. We both stood in 2"-3" of standing water during our showers. 07 December 2012
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by A fine visit Overall our stay at the hotel was great. We reserved a king deluxe room and had a great view of the plaza, very pretty at night. We began to notice things that made us finally realize that the room was an ADA room. The bathroon was huge, however there was no vanity or anywhere to put your toiletries on, just a small night stand in a corner that had towels stacked on it. Also, just one trash can, a small one in the bathroom. We spoke to the front desk about the ADA room differences from a regualy room and the trash can. He offered to have another trash can sent up. Although we did not get to see how the regular rooms were furnished it would have been nice to have been asked if the ADA room was OK. Again, it was a great stay, just a little dissapointed in the room we were given. 07 December 2012
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great view friendly staff We had a great view of the Plaza lights from our balcony. Love love love it 06 December 2012
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Kansas City in December I usually will stay at the Intercontinental Hotels if there is one available where I am traveling. Luckily, there was a convention I attended and the Intercontinental Hotel in Kansas City was the host hotel and conference facility. The room was wonderful and since they didn't have any upgrade room available for me they simply gave me the club level for no additional charge which was worth at least 45.00 per day. They truly do go out of their way for Ambassador members which I think is the best 150.00 dollars I spend in a year. 05 December 2012
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Disappointed We spent Thanksgiving weekend at the hotel and were very disappointed. We were told our room had a Plaza view, but only looking off the side of the balcony was any of the Plaza visible. We were on the consierge floor and both mornings, there was limited food, with many items unavailable and one morning there was no coffee. So, the second morning, we went downstairs to get something to eat in the restaurant and after being seated, waited 15 minutes and no one ever came to wait on us. On Saturday, we were out of the room most of the day and upon returning, discovered housekeeping had not been in our room. They never did come. We had to ask just to get clean towels. Being a new Platinum member, I am not impressed nor will we be inclined to stay at this hotel again. 03 December 2012
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Weekend Away My husband and I made a dicision during Thanskgivig to do a get away at the last minute. We decided on Kansas City Missouri. I went online thinking nothing would be available. The Intercontinental had availablity so I made my reservations choosing the Concierge level. We did not realize what that meant until we arrived. Everyone greeted us with a smile! Thanking us for chooing them for our stay. That was the Bell Men! The Front Desk was equally friendly and helpful. They handed me an envelope welcoming my husband and I to the hotel. They informed us we had daily Breakfast in the morning, daily newspaper, afternoon High tea, evening cocktails with appretizers and ended with desserts and after dinner drinks! The Concierge Room faced the Plaza. The Christmas lights were on and you could see the hustle and bustle of people shopping and the horse carriages. it was very magical. The staff that help in the Concierge Room were fantasic! Very friendly, talkitive, and very knowledgable about the Kansas City. We had dinner in the Oak Room at the hotel. The Filet was cooked to perfection! The staff was very friendly. Our room was very nice. The bed was great. We had a fruit plate and chocolates waiting for us.. We had a great time..We will making this a traditional trip. We loved it that much! And yes, we would recommend the Intercontinental to anyone going to Kansas City Missouri! 30 November 2012
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Wedding anniversary My wife and I first stayed there on our wedding night 39 years ago. The hotel had a different name but the same classy environment. It hasn't lost a step. We just stayed on our anniversary and it was as comfy and welcoming as ever. 29 November 2012
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Terrible room service This hotel is usually impeccable. But there was an incorrect room service menu in room, and I ordered from what was in the room at 9am. Food arrived at 10:30am and was NOTHING what I had ordered. Let's just say my 6 year old could have done better. I called and they had informed me I ordered from an old menu (Hmmmm why is that still in the room then). Once we got the correct menu we received AMAZING food. Finally ate at 11:45am. So disappointing! 29 November 2012
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Just Great This is the only place to stay in Kansas City... I have been going to this hotel for years..The staff is the best ..The location in the Plaza is perfect..When I go back there it's like coming home to see old friends... 23 November 2012
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Convenient but Lack Amenties This is a very high class hotel (price wise), but there was no refrigerator, microwave, etc. in the room. For the price, this was expected. It is convenient, and we could walk to most places including the art museum. The restaurant was over priced; however, he people working at the hotel were friendly, helpful, and gracious. 17 November 2012
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Personal Service!!! Love the bed--comfort, comfort, comfort-- and I especially love the citrus water all day and especially after traveling a long day and getting a good gulp of refreshing citrus water while checking in. 13 November 2012
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Lovely room with a great view My room was very comfortable with great linens, lighting, and bathroom amenitiies. The food in the restaurant was very good but quite pricey. Staff were friendly and knowledgeable about the local area. The hotel was a good venue for the conference I attended, and its proximity to the many nearby shops and restaurants was a big plus. My biggest complaint about the hotel was the fact that the WiFi cost $11.95/day but did not even work when I was in the workshop sessions in the Ballroom. I really think this was unacceptable, especially in a hotel which clearly wants to be known as being a good place to hold a conference. 11 November 2012
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Why do hotels place towels inside the shower? Very nice hotel experience overall. My only suggestion regards a pet peeve about placing towels on racks inside the shower. I find it unhygenic and unpleasant to place towels where the will certainly get wet with shower splash. And given most hotel's attempt to reduce their towel laundering, what if someone leaves unused towels in the shower, do they get changed between guests? Probably not. So I will likely dry off with someone else's shower splash. At this hotel there was a completely bare 5 foot wall next to the shower that would have been the perfect place to place towels - rather than inside the shower. And maybe a glitch, but my room had only 1 wastebasket and it was in the bathroom, Again, these issues aside, a nice hotel, friendly helpful staff, large rooms, and a good place for a conference. 11 November 2012
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Employee Commitment To Customer Experience While excellent customer service is an expectation of luxury hotels the experience during this visit surpassed expectations. Two people in particular should be mentioned. The first is Brianna (Sp?). She asked a few welcoming questions during the check in process and while speaking with her about my room and the attributes I preferred beyond the normal comforts, she immediately selected a room for me that meet all of my criteria (which the initial room assignment lacked). I appreciated her personal responsibility for my customer experience and her having the authority to make the changes without approval of anyone beyond the customer and my satisfaction. The second person I believe the name was Ken or Kent. A stately gentleman who took the extra time to engage with me and my family, after learning one of the primary purposes of our visit was to celebrate my daughter's birthday; Ken went out of his way to make my daughter's celebration a more memorable experience. These efforts assured a quality customer experience and were particularly appreciated because each one personalized the experience in their own special way. My family and I look forward to future stays and enjoying the wonderful atmosphere and experience. 05 November 2012
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by My Favorite Hotel in Kansas City I have been visiting this hotel for twenty years. It is always exciting to have the door-man open the door and say "Welcome back, Ms. Egeland. The location is so convenient . Across Brush Creek is the historic Country Club Plaza. From a Plaza-view room, I can overlook the beautiful tiled roofs and decorative domes and towers. The staff is the best part of all. Everyone treats me as if I were a guest in their home. The beds are so comfortable that I almost don't want to get out. I love to sit in the Oak Lounge and just enjoy the view from the floor-to-ceiling windows. This is my home away from home. 04 November 2012
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by 1 King Bed DELUXE ROOM - NOT A DELUXE!!! With a View Yeah Right????? Alright. We have stayed here before but it was the Fairmont. We had to come out for a funeral and I book a room for my husband for the first 2 weeks (read review on that). A week later, since I was coming with our child out for the funeral to meet up with my husband I upgraded the room to a King Deluxe Room (2 adults, 1 child) which was suppose to have a view of the Plaza. 1. The room was suppose to have a refrigerator, no refrigerator. 2. The room was suppose to have a view of the Plaza, we overlooked the Plaza alright but there was a giant tree in the way and we couldn't see anything! What????? 3. Room Service was horrible. Every day we ordered breakfast three breakfast meals. The food came COLD, and with only two sets of silverware not three. I called down to get the other set of silverware since I didn't feel like eating my food with a spoon. They arrived 30 min. later. 4. Room Service forgot one of our breakfast orders one morning, so again, we had to wait an additional 30 min. for them to bring it up and guess what NO SILVERWARE!!! 5. I made sure when I booked the room that I booked it for 2 Adults 1 Child. I made the agent notate that our child would be sleeping on the pullout sofa. NO BED SHEETS WERE IN THE CLOSET NOR WERE THERE ANY PILLOWS. 6. I called down, we waited for 45 min. until they brought up pillows and bedsheets. 7. Towels - I couldn't get them to bring extra towels and when I did the cleaning lady took them out of the room after cleaning up. 8. The King bed had a dip in the middle so my husband kept rolling into it, the bed was super uncomfortable!!!!! 04 November 2012
<<prev 12 13 14 15 16 next>>
Kansas City At The Plaza
  • 401 Ward Parkway
  • Kansas City , MO , 64112
  • United States
  • Front Desk +1-816-7561500

  • Driving Directions
  • Transportation
  • Parking
   

Languages spoken by staff

English, Spanish

Pet Policy

Small pets under 25 pounds are allowed with 25 dollar nonrefundable cleaning deposit. Pets left unattended must be in a kennel. Guest will be held responsible for noise or other complaints about their pet.
Pet Fee $25.00 per night
  • Local Time

    1:21 PM
    • CHECK-IN

      4:00 PM
    • CHECK-OUT

      11:00 AM Late Check out Available

    Currency

    • US Dollar $ (USD)

    Accessibility

    • Service animals allowed
    • 15 Room(s) with Accessibility Standards
    • Parking
    • Special Needs