Skip Navigation
  • English    English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • Sign In
  • 1 888 IC HOTELS
  • Book online or call:
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
  • 1 888 IC HOTELS
  • Book online or call:
 
Rated 4.1 out of 5 by 470 reviewers.
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Temperature The only slight problem was that it was difficult to control the temperature of the guest room. It was reasonably comfortable for me, but I heard others mention that it was really cold in their rooms. 15 October 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Sense of history right on the Plaza We had a nice stay at the InterContinental. The bathroom was tiny but overall it was a comfortable room. The room service staff were terrific and the food was outstanding. It is a lovely facility, well decorated and comfortable. 15 October 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Very Courteous and Convenient This was a shopping weekend at the Plaza and close to my son who is in college down in Kansas City 14 October 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Stop Charging for Internet The room and hotel were good. The turkey club and fries were awesome!!! The only complaint is that you charge $11.95/day for internet....it's the principle of it.....nobody does that anymore! And it is really annoying. I travel every week. And if I have a choice, I'd pick a different hotel based on this. It may sound petty, but your hotel is not a differentiator in service; and that the is the key difference. So, it actually makes a very grand hotel come across as very "nickel and dime." Just tacky. 14 October 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great getaway! It's always enjoyable to stay near the Plaza. However, the Intercontinental Hotel 13 October 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by terrible checking-in When I checked in and got the room, someone else has already got in the same room. It was a terribly bad experience. The location is great, just along with the shopping and eating area. Room, facilities and breakfast are just fine. 13 October 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Location is everything! This was our annual "girls' trip" and the last several years we have stayed in the suite in this hotel. Great accommodations with two baths, two beds, concierge level, etc. However, this year we had a few issues. The room wasn't very clean, dust on the a/c grate and baseboards and very dirty windows. The sliding door would not open. We were out shopping all day and when we returned at 5:30 PM they were just beginning to clean our room! Luckily, we weren't in a rush to freshen up for a night out. We still love this hotel but think there should be some "attention to detail" on housekeeping. Also, the staff in the concierge room is excellent. The morning gal (think her name is Melanie) is awesome. She remembers us from year to year and we always look forward to seeing her. What a great representative of your hotel. We will stay again next year, as we love the location and the suite. 13 October 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 Meeting Facilities Comfortable, spacious, and conducive to productive discussions. 10 October 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Stay We were in KC for a friend's son's wedding and stayed at the Intercontinental along with other out of town guests. The hotel and staff are great and the property is situated perfectly to enjoy the downtown Plaza District. This is a great hotel property with friendly staff that made our weekend stay a real pleasure. 09 October 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by So-so The atmosphere was great here, but for an upscale hotel I was surprised by a few things: 1) You have to pay for internet access, although you can use internet kiosks for free. Printers available at kiosks weren't working, and there was intermittent problems with internet access. 2) Something was wrong with the water in the room: I made coffee and had to throw it out. Thought it was the coffee maker, but tried water from the faucet and it tasted bad, too, and had a strong odor. Running the water for a bit got rid of the odor. 3) There was an in-room bar list, but since there was no refrigerator, none of the items were stocked. I asked about it at the front desk and was told they were updating the refrigerators and had not gotten them replaced yet. I was asked if I needed one: I guess they would have gotten one to me if I needed it. 4) I liked the lounge and entertainment, and the hotel's close proximity to shopping and restaurants. 08 October 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by concierge Floor We had several really good days with the staff of the Concierge level. VERY helpful and professional. The lobby Concierge was also very helpful. Check in was hampered because the staff was on the phone and not serving check-in customers. Shouldn't someone else be taking phone reservations? 07 October 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Nice facility. Poor service The rooms were spacious, clean and comfortable. However it was difficult to reach anyone at front desk We called several times at different days/ times but no one picked up There were mistakes in our bill as well 07 October 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Disappointed this time. I travel to Kansas City frequently and always stay at the Intercontinental. I have always had a great experience and will return again I am sure. However, this time we found our room was not clean and there was visible water damage and mold along the top of the door frame to the patio. To add insult to injury, my Jaguar's hood ornament was stolen while packed in the hotel garage. 07 October 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Enjoyed staying at the Intercontinental Hotel I appreciated the short line and quick service at check in. My room was clean, comfortable, and quiet. Thank you to the staff for an excellent stay. 06 October 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Guest Rooms Although my room was clean, the poor painting took away from the general appearance. When the ceiling and trim was painted, the painter left lot of paint stains on the wallpaper. This made the room appear dirty. 06 October 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great location Went for pleasure and loved the location. Had a great room with balcony overlooking the plaza. Had a great breakfast the morning we left on the patio overlooking the pool. Felt there should be wireless access in the room and furniture on the patio. Other than those suggestions, we loved our stay. We would not stay anywhere else. 02 October 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great location and beautiful hotel We actually live in town but only stay here when we want to stay on the Plaza for the weekend. Its like being on vacation. 30 September 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great Location Location of Hotel is great. Hotel itself could be updated, however staff and service are great. The breakfast was not the greatest and was the only time I would give a negative rating on service. 28 September 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Weekend at the Plaza Intercontinental The Kansas City Intercontinental is an elegant property. We have stayed at Intercontinentals in Prague, Vienna, New Orleans and other locations around the country. The quality of the stays is consistently good and exceeds our expectations each time we visit. We usually stay on the concierge level, and it's a great experience. Your staff in the concierge room are always professional, and the snacks and drink are very good. We are always shocked that we can get a reservation for the Plaza Intercontinental during the time of the Plaza Art Fair when we don't plan adequately ahead. What a great weekend. The perfect getaway! 26 September 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great location We've used this hotel due to its great location across from the Plaza (within walking distance). It's expensive (aren't they all?) and some amenities, like free WiFi, would have made it a bargain. They do have a great staff. 24 September 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by BAD ROOM LAYOUT THE ROOM WAS NOT LAID OUT FOR COMFORT. THEY HAD A RECLINER THAT WAS COMFORTABLE BUT THERE WAS NO PLACE TO SET A DRINK, YOU HAD TO HOLD IT ALL THE TIME. FROM THE BED YOU WERE UNABLE TO VIEW THE TV. THE DESK WAS NICE BUT IN THE WRONG PLACE. THE WHOLE LAY OUT OF THE ROOM MADE NO SENSE MAKING IT UNCOMFORTABLE. THIS WAS MY YEARLY FREE STAY, IF I HAD PAID FOR THE ROOM I WOULD NOT HAVE BEEN A HAPPY CAMPER. PILLOWS WERE BAD, BED GOOD, BUT WITH BAD PILLOWS SLEEPING CAME HARD. 23 September 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Anniversary Stay I couldn't have picked a finer hotel for an anniversary celebration. We were traveling to KU for parents weekend from the east coast and decided to sped our anniversary "off campus" in Kansas City. The staff surprised us with a bottle of champagne and chocolate covered strawberries upon our arrival. They couldn't have been more attentive and helpful! Dinner reservations were made at Plaza III and we enjoyed a wonderful meal. The suite was spacious, clean, comfortable and quiet. We thoroughly enjoyed our brief stay and will no doubt return again in the future! 23 September 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Need To Decide Luxury or Not This property was once a Ritz Carlton and then a Fairmont prior to it now being the Intercontinental. Seems to me the hotel needs to decide if they are committed to being a luxury hotel or something comparably less. The rooms are not luxurious and the hotel lobby needs work done to improve/update. The east side entrance to the hotel was never closed completely leaving it open to anyone off the street. The elevators were not working properly such that anyone could access the club levels. The staff, while very freindly and courteous, do not seem to be properly trained for a luxury hotel, and the bar/lounge area is ridiculous. Understaffed on a saturday night of an event like the Art Fair is poor. And the lobby lounge serves food but staff allowed guests to bring their dog in to the lounge and sit on a chair!!! 23 September 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Good location Reserved two adjoining rooms (great!), one for my son and his wife, and one for granddaughter and me. Hoping the kids could have a memorable evening. My room was okay, a little worn looking. Their room had not been cleaned properly (bathroom smelled and was dirty); housekeeping quickly rectified and gave us tickets for free breakfast (good save). Kids came back at 10:30P.M. and not only could they not get room service to answer the phone, they couldn't even get a can a soda. Next morning they went on the balcony and found vomit on the deck, multiple trash overthrown to the deck below. Disgusted, to say the least. We checked out and told front desk. They apologized. Yay. We won't be going back--could have stayed at a cheaper hotel and had better service. The doorman was very nice!!! 22 September 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Location and Experience Can't beat the location, hotel is nice, staff is experienced and courteous. 22 September 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Really comfortable place to stay The staff here are really friendly and attentive and the rooms are very clean and quite pretty. I feel very comfortable staying here and it's so close to the Plaza and restaurants and shopping. The pool area is nice, too, and the lounge is a cool place to hang out and relax. 20 September 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by property worn, food terrible, inadequate housekeeping staff if we were not at this destination due to a wedding I would have moved out of this property. 18 September 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Horrible Value and Nothing Special This hotel was a horrible value with nothing special. An extremely tiny refrigerator packed full of over-priced amenities. Bed was a standard spring mattress - nothing special. Pick another hotel. 18 September 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Room comfort There was only one small waste basket for the entire room. The sliding door could not be opened by my wife, didn't lock Quality of TV channels was poor, lower channels were fuzzy A/C was not working well, slept with door open No refrigerator 17 September 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by InterContinental Kansas City Excellent facility located in an ideal location on Kansas City's Plaza. 16 September 2014
<<prev2 3 4 5 ... 17 next>>

InterContinental Kansas City At The Plaza

  • 401 Ward Parkway
  • Kansas City , MO , 64112
  • United States
  • Front Desk +1-816-7561500

  • Driving Directions
  • Transportation
  • Parking
   

Languages spoken by staff

English, Spanish

Pet Policy

Small pets under 25 pounds are allowed with 25 dollar nonrefundable cleaning deposit. Pets left unattended must be in a kennel. Guest will be held responsible for noise or other complaints about their pet.
Pet Fee $25.00 per night
  • Local Time

    6:49 PM
    • CHECK-IN

      4:00 PM
    • CHECK-OUT

      11:00 AM Late Check out Available

    Currency

    • US Dollar $ (USD)

    Accessibility

    • Service animals allowed
    • 15 Room(s) with Accessibility Standards
    • Parking
    • Special Needs