Skip Navigation
  • English    English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • Sign In
  • 1 888 IC HOTELS
  • Book online or call:
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
  • 1 888 IC HOTELS
  • Book online or call:
 

Kansas City At The Plaza

Rated 4.1 out of 5 by 436 reviewers.
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 Hotel stay My wife and I thought that there should have been additional towel racks in the bathroom. Also, the bed and the TV were not in a compatible location. 11 September 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great place to stay We were there for a Rotary conference and the accommodations, facilities and meals were top notch. I would highly recommend the International Continental Hotel as a place for one night or a week long conference. PDGJWE Rotary, 10 September 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Wonderful stay I was there because of a conference for 6 days and this hotel is top flight. Thanks to all staff for the wonderful experience. 10 September 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Needs a mini bar Great facility. Was attending a conference and the staff was great, but no fridge or mini bar in the rooms. Had to travel to the gift shop (limited hours) for a three dollar soda. 10 September 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Overall Experience The entire hotel did an excellent job hosting our Zones 30-31 Rotary International Institute of app. 400 people. 10 September 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by 50 years later I had the pleasure of being in the Alameda Plaza Hotel on the Country Club Plaza in Kansas City the evening that it opened as a teenager attending the opening with my parents. It was the first major addition to the Plaza in 20 years and brought contemporary luxury in a modern hotel property to this part of the City. Last weekend I again had the pleasure of enjoying this hotel that is now the Intercontinental. It has aged well and experienced appropriate updates to keep the sense of style and luxury current. Although the Rotary International meeting that I attended stretched the capacity of the public areas of the hotel, the quiet comfort of the rooms and attention of the staff to every detail made it a memorable event. 10 September 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent service and luxurious accommodations I had such a wonderful time here. I originally booked another hotel but changed once I noticed that the Intercontinental was right in the center of everything. The gym was great, beds were amazing, and service was excellent. I'll definitely go back if I'm ever back in Kansas City. 10 September 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by A great hotel in a great location.. This is the best hotel in Kansas City. It greatest comes from the staff,the location and the hotel itself..From the carhops out front to the folks inside everyone wants your stay to be the best..The location in the Plaza gives you dinning,shopping,movies and museums..The hotel is great for meetings,dinning,drinks and musical acts that perform in the evening.. This my home in Kansas City.. 09 September 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Unsatisfactory The hotel staff gave me false information by telling me that I could check in at 1:30 p.m. The gal knew that we were setting up to meet guests at 2:00 p.m. on the day of arrival. She assured me that it would not be a problem. The girl at the front desk upon our arrival had a big stock of reservations that she could not get checked in. Our wedding party reserved 33 rooms and this was a poor way of accommodating our party. 05 September 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by great service treated us as family, always remember our names, personal attention 05 September 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by for a luxury hotel I was disappointed. We arrived @ 3:20 for check in and was told our room would be ready in 5 minutes...At 4 pm we were called to the desk to finish checking in. We were not offered any suggestions of where to go in the mean time, so we sat w/our luggage in the bar area. When we did check in the gal checking us in did not offer any information about any activities that were going on at the hotel, ie bar hours and live entertainment, restaurant hours, swimming pool hours, location for ice. We had a question about our rate(made our reservations online w/AAA rate)which clerk did not know anything about and when she asked a fellow desk clerk, the response was, "we are sold out tonight," Good for hotel but did not answer my question. After going in our room, the couches were thread bare and there was not a blow dryer for your hair. Entertainment in bar was loud enough for us to hear in our room and the next door neighbors could also be heard. Pool area was fine but the lounge chairs were shabby and few broken. There was also a sewer smell by the waterfall where we were sitting. 04 September 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by for the cost it did not match expectations my daughter was celebrating her 16th birthday and I wanted her to be at a very nice hotel to do that.. while this hotel was nice I would not say it was any nicer than your standard Hotel.. they said the room was one of the largest in the hotel however it really was only mildly larger than a normal hotel room the pool was dirty the deck had trash towels everywhere newspapers scattered inside the pool two of the lights had popped out of the side of the wall in the pool and was just floating on top of the water and they didn't turn the lights on after dark. ..a lady was swimming with her little daughter who had floaties on and she had to ask if they would turn the lights on they said they don't usually do that but it was dark so that was crazy Plus part of the reason I chose the hotel was on their website the view at night in the pool toward the plaza was really beautiful there was no beauty with their pool area...bed and pillows were comfortable room was nice and cool did like that there was a balcony with table and chair to sit out and look at the Plaza bathroom was nice it had two separate areas one for bathing and toilet and one with the sink 04 September 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by So so at best Spent 4 nights here over Labor day weekend. Hotel is clean but ageing. Rooms are nice. Pool service is terrible (1 menu and 1 server for over 100 people). Room was not made up till nearly 4 pm on Saturday (Was told they were "busy", what do you expect on labor day weekend?). Bar service in lounge was terrible (Ordered coffee but was told they were out - at 4pm) 04 September 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by overwhelmed by quality We will never stay at any other hotel on the Plaza. This was the best experience we have had in our 6-7 visits 03 September 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Weekend Getaway The location of this hotel is ideal, and the hotel itself is well kept and pleasant. Issue to note: 1. Rooms are very small, specifically the bathrooms. We were on the Executive Level and would have thought the rooms were a bit larger. 2. Executive level lounge was outstanding. 3. Brunch was also outstanding. 4. The big issues with this facility are the pool and spa areas. The pool is poorly attended except if you want a drink. Very Very Very few lounge chairs, and also very few chair in general. They did not have any towels we had to wait a long time for a towel. Guest were saving chairs, and I hardly ever saw anyone sitting or lounging on them, but since no one was attending it was a mess. Cups, food everywhere. Even though the sign said no outside food or drink, I notice coolers, picnic baskets etc. And people were leaving trash all over. It was the most disorganized pool area I have ever been in. Also the fitness center has a mens and womens locker room. There was no attendant so towels were all over the place. It was not kept up to IC standards or even close. 03 September 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Our home away from home My husband and I chose to celebrate our wedding anniversary here for the third year in a row because we are always treated like royalty during every stay. Even though it goes without saying that the location and accommodations are 5 star, it's the service that makes this place so special. To start with, Mirella and Nevada at the front desk are wonderful. Craig and Kent, in the concierge lounge, are superb, and true gems in the service world. The pool bartenders (so sorry I can't remember their names ) are always happy and quick to serve. Jesus, in room service, makes the best ice cream sundaes ever and is such a doll !! Even though the fabulous Country Club Plaza is right across the street, one night we didn't even leave the property !! Thanks again for another relaxing, luxurious stay. We will be back soon. 02 September 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 Very good hotel; pleasurable and friendly We have stayed at the IC KC several times in the last few years. It is a very good hotel overall. Location is great, rooms are nicely decorated and in good shape, and many of them have nice views of the Country Club Plaza. Service is very good (and when it's not perfect at least it's very friendly), with particularly high marks to 11th floor lounge personnel (Ken, the weekend lounge wiz, is fantastic!). Loyalty recognition is normally outstanding. The Oak Room bar has character and is a good choice for drinks. Gym (including sauna) is adequate and swimming pool is very nice (but it gets too crowded on weekends). It does not have the grandeur, sophistication or cutting edge technology of some of the best ICs in the world, but it is a very pleasurable place to stay, and for us, the best hotel in the city. And since it is normally very reasonably priced, it is a great value. 02 September 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Training This was the site chosen for a training session. When i got my room and was ready for bed that night the sheets had bllod stains on them. I called front desk and it took over an hour for someone to just bring me new sheets. 02 September 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 excellent property very beautiful property, beautiful staff. Thanks so much 02 September 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by entertainment in lounge I looked forward to enjoying the singer/band in lounge. They were excellent. However, children were allowed in the lounge. For a romantic, adult evening, it was less than ideal. They danced and were extremely loud. Could you not ban children from lounge area? 31 August 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Less than stellar experience The Intercontinental was the site of a relative's wedding, so I chose to stay there for the convenience. I was underwhelmed by some aspects of the level of service. Check-in took a long time because of the line; there were three weddings that weekend, and insufficient check-in staff. I was given a gift bag for the wrong wedding, which I didn't catch until a day later. When I tried to swap it, I again encountered a long wait at the counter and gave up. The dining room was understaffed at breakfast time for the number of guests. There was a long wait for service and the buffet was not kept well stocked. Worse, the staff refused to accommodate our party of 7. The first 4 were seated, but when the next 3 showed up, staff refused to provide extra chairs (which would have fit) for our table. Thus, our planned family breakfast gathering was ruined. Housekeeping replenished my towels, but somehow "forgot" to make by bed. On a positive note, the concierge and front door staff were friendly and helpful. 27 August 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Very Disappointed Thankfully the wedding party we were affiliated with had negotiated a lower rate as I would have been very disappointed to have paid full rate for this experience. The rooms were extremely hot. While seated in the Oak Room having a beverage we were sweating and the wait staff was less than friendly. I can't really blame him though as he was drenched in sweat from waiting tables. Apparently the room we checked in to had already been assigned to another member of the wedding party as when we returned from the ceremony and went back to the room to change we walked in on another individual that had a key to our room. Thankfully we knew him and he was at least half dressed. needless to say we were all quite surprised. The full size beds, somewhat a thing of the past in a hotel of this caliber, were not comfortable at all as we found ousrselves rolling to the middle all night long. One bright spot was the food that was served at the wedding reception. It was excellent 27 August 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Small room for price my wife and I try to stay as many times as possible in the summer months. after this stay though we're not sure if we will go back next summer. the room was small for the price we paid compared to some we have had in the past. In addition, the TV was not working the way it should. Probable the worst stay we have ever had there. 27 August 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Very nice experience Above all I felt the staff went above and beyond. It was a pleasure to receive good service. Everyone from front desk staff, Concierge, Valet to the gift shop was very friendly and willing to help. Nice, clean hotel with a nice pool area. I would definitely recommend this hotel and the location is super! If my travels bring me back, I will stay here again. 27 August 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by ICH KC the Plaza I found the facilities to be extremely satisfying. The rom was exquisitely fitted. The meeting facilities were well done for the business that I was there for. Breakfasts and lunches were well done. 25 August 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Very Nice Very well attended from the time I pulled in until I departed. Room was nice with a great view. Will stay there again. 25 August 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Stay This was my first experience at an InterContinental property. The staff, hotel and the guest room were much more than I had expected. I would highly recommend this property to anyone. 25 August 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by great time had by all I would recommend the hotel to everyone. We had an incredible stress free stay. The location and surroundings are second to none. 24 August 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable Bed Bed was very comfortable and room was nice size. Could have been a little cooler but realized that I could adjust the temp. 21 August 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Relaxing stay My visit to the Intercontinental Kansas City was very Nice. The hotel has a feel of peacefulness, except for the lounge on Saturday night!!, and constant attention to details by the staff. Very relaxing !! 21 August 2014
<<prev2 3 4 5 ... 16 next>>
Kansas City At The Plaza
  • 401 Ward Parkway
  • Kansas City , MO , 64112
  • United States
  • Front Desk +1-816-7561500

  • Driving Directions
  • Transportation
  • Parking
   

Languages spoken by staff

English, Spanish

Pet Policy

Small pets under 25 pounds are allowed with 25 dollar nonrefundable cleaning deposit. Pets left unattended must be in a kennel. Guest will be held responsible for noise or other complaints about their pet.
Pet Fee $25.00 per night
  • Local Time

    8:01 PM
    • CHECK-IN

      4:00 PM
    • CHECK-OUT

      11:00 AM Late Check out Available

    Currency

    • US Dollar $ (USD)

    Accessibility

    • Service animals allowed
    • 15 Room(s) with Accessibility Standards
    • Parking
    • Special Needs