Skip Navigation
  • English    English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • Sign In
  • 1 888 IC HOTELS
  • Book online or call:
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
  • 1 888 IC HOTELS
  • Book online or call:
 

Kansas City At The Plaza

Rated 4.1 out of 5 by 344 reviewers.
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by None better in Kansas City The perfect place to stay, right next to Country Club Plaza. We were pleasantly surprised with an upgrade to the club floor, which was fantastic. Many thanks to Kent, a club floor employee, for making our stay even more enjoyable. 28 May 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Perfect location Comfortable bed. Great view. Excellent location for Nelson-Atkins museum, shops and restaurants. Disappointed that the pool was opening only from the day of our departure; would have enjoyed a dip as it was very warm during our visit. The club facilities were not the best we have experienced. However, overall we enjoyed our stay and will stay there again when we next visit KC. 26 May 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Wonderful Customer Service This was the 4th time I have stayed here and have to say it was my best! The staff was very helpful in finding restaurants and places to shop. LOVED the concierge lounge and the location was perfect. Even had great room service - try the burgers! :-) Thanks a bunch 21 May 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Hotel There for a wedding. Great location, great room, great breakfast, great staff, and great bar. 21 May 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Over all good but some staff not so nice Overall had a great stay- beautiful room, close to lots of walkable things to do. I have truly only two complaints - 1. I was not informed that in giving my debit card at check in I was going to be charged the full amount plus additional fee. THis resulted in an overdraft fee from my bank account. When I called to inquire about this the staff person I talked to was neither sympathetic, helpful, or apologetic. The following day I did notice a small stating as such, but in either case was frustrated that nobody told me at the get go. 2. While my room was very clean on one of the days I was away from my room from 7-400 and during that time my room was not cleaned. By the time they came to clean I was in the room and just said don't worry about it. 20 May 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Nice hotel, even nicer staff Really enjoyed our stay at the Intercontinental. The staff was exceptionally friendly and provided top-shelf service, especially Dave, the bell-man! The hotel itself is very nice and the rooms are fine. Plus, the location, adjacent to "The Plaza," is very convenient. We will definitely stay at this hotel again on the next trip to Kansas City. 17 May 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great hotel! I generally choose less expensive hotels, and I half expected the staff to be snoody. They were anything but that. Every single staff member greeted me with a smile and was eager to help me. They even upgraded my room so I could check in early. The bed was incredibly comfortable. I had a very pleasant experience and would definitely recommend this hotel! 16 May 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by So disappointed!!!!! The beds were comfortable, nice view of the Plaza, but for the price you pay for one night, I would recommend using the Hotel Tonight app, and find a just as cool if not cooler room for WAY cheeper! Plus on the computer, it said a shuttle one way was included, and we were denied our shuttle. I had a bachelorette party for my sister there and staff did not go out of their way in any way shape or form for anything. It was stiff, rigid and very expensive. I figured a hotel this price and on the Plaza would be warm, friendly and accommodating.....not the case, I was bigtime dissappointed, as I am from KC and this was my first time staying at the hotel. WiFi did not work, despite 2 calls to the front desk, and the railing on our balcony was a bit scary in places, the shower was dirty. 14 May 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Great location but attention to detail lacking Location was the best thing about this property. There were good running routes nearby, particularly in scenic Loose Park. I found it easy to get to Royals Stadium, Lego Discovery Center and the American Jazz Museums while using the hotel as a home base. Plus, there were good restaurants within walking distance over at Country Club Plaza. Unfortunately, this location was showing its age. The water temperature in the shower was erratic, fluctuating from cold to hot to cold again. The remote contract on the TV worked some times and not others. The A/C wouldn't go below 70 degrees and it was in the mid 80s in early May when cooler temperatures in the room would have been welcomed. If I wasn't here on business, I would not have chosen this hotel. It was serviceable. 12 May 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Beautiful hotel The decor and mix of modern updates with original fixtures and theme were very enjoyable. The spaces were adequate and the environment welcoming. The only downside was a lack of instructions from the staff regarding the conference I was attending (i.e. internet access) as others who checked in did get information. 09 May 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Great Location- Could use a refresh I stayed at the Intercontinental Kansas City as part of a wedding room block. While the views over the plaza from my room were amazing and the marble lobby is beautiful, the guest rooms could really use an update. The bed was the hardest and most uncomfortable hotel stay in memory. The King room was large with a chair and desk, but lacked a mini fridge and had peeling wallpaper. It was clean and adequate but I'd hate to spend full price on this room. They also failed to deliver our wedding gift basket to our room and instead gave it to us at check in. Not a big deal if I hadn't known that the bride had paid $3 per basket to have them waiting in the rooms. My only interaction with staff was at 2:30am. I lost my key card and didn't have my ID with me at the end of the night so they sent a security officer up to my room with me to fetch my ID. I know of a number of different KC hotels I'd recommend over this one. I would definitely go back to utilize the pool though. 07 May 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Beautiful Hotel I was originally born in KC, MO. I had always wanted to stay at the Intercontinental Hotel so found that when I had this trip coming back to KC that this would be a good time to do it. It is a beautiful hotel, the room was very spacious, comfortable bed, great view of the Plaza. Your service was wonderful with one exception - the Oak Room. On my first morning there I waited at least 20 minutes for service after being seated. Then, when I did get service I explained that we had a time crunch and I ordered for both my husband and myself. My husband'sfood was over cooked, if we had more time he would have sent it back. My breakfast was fine. The second day was just as bad, I am not sure why I had to wait 20 minutes for someone to come and give me water and coffee? My husband ordered eggs again for breakfast and this time he did send them back, overcooked again. He was not impressed. That would be my only comment, please have someone greet the people when they sit down, at least that way they won't think that they are being ignored. 07 May 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Nice hotel This is a nice hotel in a great location. Room was clean and very comfortable, staff friendly and helpful. 07 May 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Date We have stayed at this location on 33 previous occasions. This is the second time we have stayed on a concierge level , But this time in particular, we found the experience to be well worth it. Both of the concierges that we encountered (Craig and Kent) really made our visit special and memorable. 30 April 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by This place needs a makeover The location is great but the facilities are worn. Needs new paint and carpet in the room I used. Nicks and dents everywhere you looked. Toilet handle dripped water when flushed. For the money we spent, we expected nicer facilities. We did forget our laptop when we checked out and by the time we returned, it was safely locked up in housekeeping so the staff receives an excellent rating. 27 April 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by In town for a conference My client reserved the hotel for me. It was fantastic! Wonderful, courteous staff with check-in, Housekeeping and the Gift Shop. Beautiful room with a beautiful view from my balcony. Quick and convenient access to parking and local dining. My only regret was that it was just for one night. I would certainly come back here on my own dime. 16 April 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Accomodating and Hospitable My room was not done being cleaned when I arrived, but the staff was very accommodating and gave me an upgrade. I liked the fact that they wanted to wait until the room was up to standard before letting me stay in it. They even gave me free drinks while I waited. I only waited about 30 minutes. Overall great experience, especially because it is right on the Plaza. 15 April 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great concierge service After having some trouble wi/our keys, one of the desk personnel upgraded our new key to the concierge floor. There, we enjoyed the breakfast as well as the happy hour. All the staff in that area were extremely polite and friendly. 14 April 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by So So stay Stayed at hotel for conference that was at hotel. Went to check in at 3 and room wasn't ready, went back a half hour later and room still wasn't available. Guy at front desk said they were still cleaning room, but would upgrade the room because we had been waiting for over two hours. When I went back up to the front desk after 7 pm the room was finally available, but I didn't receive upgrade that he stated earlier. So we waited 4 hours for a room and all we got were drink tickets. 13 April 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Beautiful hotel in a beautiful location This was my third stay and, once again, it was a wonderful experience. The staff is professional and helpful. The rooms are spacious, updated, and comfortable. If you are looking for a hotel on the Plaza, I don't think you can beat the experience. 11 April 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great stay! Just returned from a two night stay. Had a great experience. Staff was wonderful and friendly. Room was clean and comfortable. Would highly recommend this hotel to others. 11 April 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable bed great staff The conceirge found out it was our wedding night and gave us access to the 11th floor for happy hour and complimentary breakfast next morning. Great staff and very attentive. 11 April 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by View, Room, Concierge We come to the Intercontinental for a vacation and we always enjoy our room, the view, but we especially enjoy the service and kindness on the concierge suite. Kent always ensures everyone is taken care of. He is a true tribute to the hotel and wonderful ambassador of KC. 02 April 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Classy value - Perfect location in KC, Meet clients there and do business, come back with family and relax. Precessional is what the service team is all about. VERY nice people - the people working in the bar, restaurant and front desk could not make you feel more welcome. 31 March 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent Service and Very Comfortoable Room The staff were very friendly and attentive, and my bed was very comfortable. The Plaza location is in close proximity to great dining, shopping and museums. My only compliant was the Internet connection was very poor in my hotel room. 31 March 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent Experience We went to the Intercontinental at Country Club Plaza to celebrate our anniversary. Our stay was everything we hoped for and more. The staff did an outstanding job of making our experience very memorable. We will be back - loved it all. Pam & Victor 27 March 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by This is a Great Hotel Enjoyed our stay. We had a great room looking over the Plaza. Very clean, comfortable, room. Excellent, and very helpful staff. I will return. This is an outstanding location. You can park at the Hotel and walk to the Plaza for drinks and dinner. Outstanding Hotel. We loved it. 24 March 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by InterContinental Kansas City At The Plaza The InterContintental Kansas City At The Plaza was the first stop on our Spring Break trip and it couldn't have been better! The staff at IHG is outstanding! Every person we had contact with was very friendly and make us feel welcome and happy to be there. Our rooms were clean and comfortable and check-in and check-out was quick and easy. And you're within easy walking distance of some great restaurants and shopping! We will definitely be returning! . 24 March 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by The ONLY place to stay in KC Loving making memorable weekends on the Plaza and the at home feeling of this wonderful Hotel I have stayed at this property since I was a small child so 35 plus years... 20 March 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Third Time is a Charm I wrote a review after our last visit in August 2013 before the birth of our first baby and feel inclined to write again. This visit was our first getaway as new parents so we were looking forward to some R&R. The Intercontinental at Kansas City Plaza did not disappoint. Nevada at the front desk greeted me with a smile as always, and was so kind to send us a basket of fruit upon our check in to help relax. We also had access to the concierge lounge which was lovely as usual. I was surprised however on Friday night when we had to ask more than once for the appetizers and snacks to be replenished. I think the person on duty was Craig (?). He seemed more occupied with the computer and phone to notice. Besides that, it was a nice addition to our stay. Even with a busy weekend with the Big 12 tournament we never felt crowded or noisy. I can't wait to return again for our 10 year anniversary this summer! Thank you for always providing wonderful service. 19 March 2014
<<prev 2 3 4 5 ... 13 next>>
Kansas City At The Plaza
  • 401 Ward Parkway
  • Kansas City , MO , 64112
  • United States
  • Front Desk +1-816-7561500

  • Driving Directions
  • Transportation
  • Parking
   

Languages spoken by staff

English, Spanish

Pet Policy

Small pets under 25 pounds are allowed with 25 dollar nonrefundable cleaning deposit. Pets left unattended must be in a kennel. Guest will be held responsible for noise or other complaints about their pet.
Pet Fee $25.00 per night
  • Local Time

    1:21 PM
    • CHECK-IN

      3:00 PM
    • CHECK-OUT

      12:00 PM Late Check out Available

    Currency

    • US Dollar $ (USD)

    Accessibility

    • Service animals allowed
    • 15 Room(s) with Accessibility Standards
    • Parking
    • Special Needs