Skip Navigation
  • English    English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • Sign In
  • 1 888 IC HOTELS
  • Book online or call:
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
  • 1 888 IC HOTELS
  • Book online or call:
 
Rated 4.1 out of 5 by 513 reviewers.
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Fantastic exoerience All around fantastic experience. Will stay at the hotel again when coming back to Kansas City 22 October 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Unhelpful Staff I was in town for the weekend for a wedding. Upon arrival and throughout the entire weekend the doormen were all extremely nice and accommodating, even offering me a water upon return from my run. When I checked in the front desk asked me for a credit card to hold for the room. I confirmed that I was supposed to get a room with 2 queen/full beds and she told me they had none and there was nothing they could do to help me out. I later found out that a couple of guests after I checked in had the same request and were granted the double beds. So we got a roll-a-way but were still left with one of my guests without a bed. When we got into the room there were some receipts and boxes left on the dresser which left me hoping it was just an oversight and they had cleaned the rest of the room. We called down for some extra blankets and the front desk oddly accused me of referencing the wrong room number. I responded that I had been able to enter the room with my room key so I wasn't actually sure how I could possibly be in the wrong room since my room key was working. On top of that, we never got the blankets until we were woken up the next morning by the cleaning crew. The The heating/cooling system was very annoying to sleep with as it seemed to be hissing all night. The next morning we had more wedding commitments and dropped off some dry cleaning on our way out of the hotel and were guaranteed the shirt would be back no later than 3pm. which was calling it close but doable since we were leaving at 3:30. The hotel eventually found the shirt and delivered it at 4:10 which caused us to miss the bus to the church. The hotel offered to pay for a cab but seemingly had an issue getting one to come around the corner ultimately we were late for the wedding. Yes, they paid for the dry cleaning but being late for a wedding is unacceptable especially since we were guaranteed the shirt would be done. That night I happened to get an alert from my bank the my account had a large deduction made cause it to bounce several other transactions. Turns out the hotel had charged my card that I originally submitted when I reserved the room online months prior. I went to the front desk to attempt to rectify and all they could do was say sorry about that and it wasn't their fault. They claimed they didn't take a credit card from me when checking in which I most certainly did and am positive of which one it was. So it is now 3 days later and I have 2 separate charges on 2 different accounts totally for more than double the amount of my stay. They told me there was nothing else they could do because it was an issue I had to take up with my bank in order to figure out how to release the money. They shouldn't have charged both cards if that was the case! I have been unable to use my debit card because the money charged is still held up. All in all the front desk staff was extremely unaccommodating and unwilling to help us out when we needed it. After further discussing this with about 20 people that also travelled with me to this wedding, many of them had some similar complaints about the front desk. It is disappointing to feel this way. 22 October 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Beautiful city, wonderful hotel We stayed two nights at the Intercontinental for a wedding. I had never been to Kansas City before and I was impressed from the second I walked in the door to the hotel. The staff was wonderful they made every effort to help us locate restaurants and shops. The executive lounge was wonderful ( worth the extra expense) and the views were amazing We also enjoyed the jazz trio in the lounge on the first floor, which was like being in a private club. 22 October 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great Location Nice hotel within short walk of many shopping and dining opportunities. 22 October 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Business Meeting Nice Hotel Nice Location Would love to come back again some time. 21 October 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Best Hotel In KC MO The staff was awesome, and I travel so much there that they know me on a first name basis. The atmosphere is awesome and we are right in the heart of the city. 20 October 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Experience could have been better I arrived late on Sunday, and I hadn't had a proper dinner. I called room service 2 times, no answer. I called front desk who referred me to room service again, no answer. I called again front desk and they told me room service would call me as soon as they were available. Well, I never got a call. I called again 20 minutes later and I finally could speak with room service. By then it was almost 1am. I asked them what was the fastest menu item they could bring me. That would be in 30 min at least as I had one order in front of me. I decided to not order and go to bed hungry, as I had to wake up at 6am the following day. The second day when I woke up I had the surprise that the cleaning service had taken the Shampoo and had not replace it. Too late to ask for another one, so I had to clean my hair with gel. How difficult is to either don't touch anything, or if you do, make sure you leave it better. I will be going to Kansas every week for a few months. This week I am trying a different hotel, I'll decide then where to stay the rest of the time. But intercontinental didn't provide a good experience. 19 October 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable Hotel Easy access to shopping dining and other attractions in Kansas City. I stayed at this hotel for business purposes and the staff was attentive an courteous. The lounge was a highlight. Try to get a room without a door adjoining an adjacent room. Noise easily transmits through and may cost you a few hours sleep as I experienced. 18 October 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great experience Very comfortable beds. Beautiful view. Close to wonderful part of the city. Enjoyed everything about this hotel and the area. 16 October 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Marshmallow bed We found the hotel to be very conveniently situated, very comfortable with great staff - good value for money all round. 16 October 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Fantastic wedding event We stayed for a family wedding. Our rooms were great. Anything we needed was done quickly and efficiently. The coffee and tea in the lobby in the morning was a blessing. The wedding held there was the best I have been to in a long time. The food and service fantastic. Event hall was cold for the older people but that is the only concern. We loved our time there. Thank you for a terrific experience. 16 October 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Good Comfort and great view Friendly staff, good food, comfortable bed, very quiet. A great experience 16 October 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent Conceirge Experience I booked a room that ended up being on the Conceirge floor. It had a great view looking over the river and all of the Plaza. I met some friends at the Conceirge Bar and had cocktails and apps on the house and was served by the very attentive Conceirge before going out to dinner. Our group walked out of the hotel and over to the Plaza for dinner and came back for another round at the Conceirge floor. Everyone was polite and I had no issues during my stay. It was an excellent experience and a great place to stay to enjoy KC and the Plaza. 15 October 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Temperature The only slight problem was that it was difficult to control the temperature of the guest room. It was reasonably comfortable for me, but I heard others mention that it was really cold in their rooms. 15 October 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Sense of history right on the Plaza We had a nice stay at the InterContinental. The bathroom was tiny but overall it was a comfortable room. The room service staff were terrific and the food was outstanding. It is a lovely facility, well decorated and comfortable. 15 October 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Very Courteous and Convenient This was a shopping weekend at the Plaza and close to my son who is in college down in Kansas City 14 October 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Stop Charging for Internet The room and hotel were good. The turkey club and fries were awesome!!! The only complaint is that you charge $11.95/day for internet....it's the principle of it.....nobody does that anymore! And it is really annoying. I travel every week. And if I have a choice, I'd pick a different hotel based on this. It may sound petty, but your hotel is not a differentiator in service; and that the is the key difference. So, it actually makes a very grand hotel come across as very "nickel and dime." Just tacky. 14 October 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great getaway! It's always enjoyable to stay near the Plaza. However, the Intercontinental Hotel 13 October 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by terrible checking-in When I checked in and got the room, someone else has already got in the same room. It was a terribly bad experience. The location is great, just along with the shopping and eating area. Room, facilities and breakfast are just fine. 13 October 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Location is everything! This was our annual "girls' trip" and the last several years we have stayed in the suite in this hotel. Great accommodations with two baths, two beds, concierge level, etc. However, this year we had a few issues. The room wasn't very clean, dust on the a/c grate and baseboards and very dirty windows. The sliding door would not open. We were out shopping all day and when we returned at 5:30 PM they were just beginning to clean our room! Luckily, we weren't in a rush to freshen up for a night out. We still love this hotel but think there should be some "attention to detail" on housekeeping. Also, the staff in the concierge room is excellent. The morning gal (think her name is Melanie) is awesome. She remembers us from year to year and we always look forward to seeing her. What a great representative of your hotel. We will stay again next year, as we love the location and the suite. 13 October 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 Meeting Facilities Comfortable, spacious, and conducive to productive discussions. 10 October 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Stay We were in KC for a friend's son's wedding and stayed at the Intercontinental along with other out of town guests. The hotel and staff are great and the property is situated perfectly to enjoy the downtown Plaza District. This is a great hotel property with friendly staff that made our weekend stay a real pleasure. 09 October 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by So-so The atmosphere was great here, but for an upscale hotel I was surprised by a few things: 1) You have to pay for internet access, although you can use internet kiosks for free. Printers available at kiosks weren't working, and there was intermittent problems with internet access. 2) Something was wrong with the water in the room: I made coffee and had to throw it out. Thought it was the coffee maker, but tried water from the faucet and it tasted bad, too, and had a strong odor. Running the water for a bit got rid of the odor. 3) There was an in-room bar list, but since there was no refrigerator, none of the items were stocked. I asked about it at the front desk and was told they were updating the refrigerators and had not gotten them replaced yet. I was asked if I needed one: I guess they would have gotten one to me if I needed it. 4) I liked the lounge and entertainment, and the hotel's close proximity to shopping and restaurants. 08 October 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by concierge Floor We had several really good days with the staff of the Concierge level. VERY helpful and professional. The lobby Concierge was also very helpful. Check in was hampered because the staff was on the phone and not serving check-in customers. Shouldn't someone else be taking phone reservations? 07 October 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Nice facility. Poor service The rooms were spacious, clean and comfortable. However it was difficult to reach anyone at front desk We called several times at different days/ times but no one picked up There were mistakes in our bill as well 07 October 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Disappointed this time. I travel to Kansas City frequently and always stay at the Intercontinental. I have always had a great experience and will return again I am sure. However, this time we found our room was not clean and there was visible water damage and mold along the top of the door frame to the patio. To add insult to injury, my Jaguar's hood ornament was stolen while packed in the hotel garage. 07 October 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Enjoyed staying at the Intercontinental Hotel I appreciated the short line and quick service at check in. My room was clean, comfortable, and quiet. Thank you to the staff for an excellent stay. 06 October 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Guest Rooms Although my room was clean, the poor painting took away from the general appearance. When the ceiling and trim was painted, the painter left lot of paint stains on the wallpaper. This made the room appear dirty. 06 October 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great location Went for pleasure and loved the location. Had a great room with balcony overlooking the plaza. Had a great breakfast the morning we left on the patio overlooking the pool. Felt there should be wireless access in the room and furniture on the patio. Other than those suggestions, we loved our stay. We would not stay anywhere else. 02 October 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great location and beautiful hotel We actually live in town but only stay here when we want to stay on the Plaza for the weekend. Its like being on vacation. 30 September 2014
<<prev 2 3 4 5 ... 18 next>>

InterContinental Kansas City At The Plaza

  • 401 Ward Parkway
  • Kansas City , MO , 64112
  • United States
  • Front Desk +1-816-7561500

  • Driving Directions
  • Transportation
  • Parking
   

Languages spoken by staff

English, Spanish

Pet Policy

Small pets under 25 pounds are allowed with 25 dollar nonrefundable cleaning deposit. Pets left unattended must be in a kennel. Guest will be held responsible for noise or other complaints about their pet.
Pet Fee $25.00 per night
  • Local Time

    7:45 PM
    • CHECK-IN

      4:00 PM
    • CHECK-OUT

      11:00 AM Late Check out Available

    Currency

    • US Dollar $ (USD)

    Accessibility

    • Service animals allowed
    • 15 Room(s) with Accessibility Standards
    • Parking
    • Special Needs