Skip Navigation
  • English    English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • Sign In
  • 1 888 IC HOTELS
  • Book online or call:
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
  • 1 888 IC HOTELS
  • Book online or call:
 

Kansas City At The Plaza

Rated 4.1 out of 5 by 444 reviewers.
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Small room for price my wife and I try to stay as many times as possible in the summer months. after this stay though we're not sure if we will go back next summer. the room was small for the price we paid compared to some we have had in the past. In addition, the TV was not working the way it should. Probable the worst stay we have ever had there. 27 August 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Very nice experience Above all I felt the staff went above and beyond. It was a pleasure to receive good service. Everyone from front desk staff, Concierge, Valet to the gift shop was very friendly and willing to help. Nice, clean hotel with a nice pool area. I would definitely recommend this hotel and the location is super! If my travels bring me back, I will stay here again. 27 August 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by ICH KC the Plaza I found the facilities to be extremely satisfying. The rom was exquisitely fitted. The meeting facilities were well done for the business that I was there for. Breakfasts and lunches were well done. 25 August 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Very Nice Very well attended from the time I pulled in until I departed. Room was nice with a great view. Will stay there again. 25 August 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Stay This was my first experience at an InterContinental property. The staff, hotel and the guest room were much more than I had expected. I would highly recommend this property to anyone. 25 August 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by great time had by all I would recommend the hotel to everyone. We had an incredible stress free stay. The location and surroundings are second to none. 24 August 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable Bed Bed was very comfortable and room was nice size. Could have been a little cooler but realized that I could adjust the temp. 21 August 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Relaxing stay My visit to the Intercontinental Kansas City was very Nice. The hotel has a feel of peacefulness, except for the lounge on Saturday night!!, and constant attention to details by the staff. Very relaxing !! 21 August 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great pool and concierge room My family and I had a relaxing weekend. We like to add the concierge level access to our stay for all the great services they offer. It includes breakfast, soup and sandwiches for lunch, happy hour and then a dessert bar in the evening! We also enjoyed spending the afternoon by the pool with a bar and food available. 20 August 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by staff contact We dropped off the car at valet parking, I was greeted warmly and asked if I would need the car later. Went to get car later, different attendant was there, things went smoothly and when I returned the car greeted by the same attendant. Next morning when I went to get my car the attendant who was on duty when I first arrived greeted me by name and sent someone to get my car. He then asked about our stay and even made reference to a Very short conversation we had the day before. IMPRESSIVE!!!! 20 August 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Good service/good location on the Plaza. Stayed here on August 16th. Good staff, comfortable room/beds. The room and the property were clean. Sadly, the property is in need of an update. The surface of our tub was chipped horribly and this is not the quality I expect to find at an Intercontinental. 20 August 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Hotel management not helpful after earrings stolen from hotel room On July 19, I attended a wedding reception at the Intercontinental and stayed overnight at the hotel. Prior to attending the wedding, I took out my diamond earrings and placed them on the hotel bureau. After checking out of the hotel, I realized that I had not seen them on the bureau while packing up other jewelry items placed there. I contacted the hotel management, which informed me that there were no diamond earrings in the room, meaning that sometime between the afternoon of July 19 and the afternoon of July 20, a member of the staff had removed them from the room. Management was unhelpful and only "apologized for any inconvenience." I notice that, rather than allowing us to chose a nickname to associate with this review (as the instructions specify we should be able to do), they have assigned us the nickname "LostJewelry." Only the jewelry was not lost; it was taken. I am not impressed with this management team and would not recommend this hotel. 19 August 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Anniversary Weekend Away My husband and I have had the opportunity to travel to many interesting places in the world. We found that our stay at the Intercontinental was by far one of the nicest hotels that we have stayed. We will definitely be back to stay again someday. 19 August 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Nice hotel Very nice rooms, pleasant staff, and very good food made it a pleasant stay. 18 August 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by disappointing on many fronts Upon checking in to the Intercontinental in Kansas City I was underwhelmed by the service and attitude of the 2 woman at the front desk. No personality or welcoming attitude. Upon entering the room, my first impression was that the hotel was as bad as the last time I had stayed back in April. The rooms are dark, dingy and didn't feel or smell clean. The Bathroom is very small and tired. The phone next to the bed and the remote control didn't work. I called about the remote and the phone and went to my business dinner. Upon returning the phone was repaired, but the remote still didn't work. Also, I was very disappointed that there was a cheap flimsy chain on the door rather than a u-bolt for added safety and security. My cell phone stopped working at dinner, so it is a good thing the phone in my room was repaired upon my return. I made 5 calls all to my home in Texas upon my return from dinner. 3 of them were for less than one minute each becasue no one answered. The last 2 calls lasted a few minutes each and the hotel charged me over $79.00 for these domestic calls. A little excessive and unacceptable from my perspective. 18 August 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great stay I just wanted to say thank you, for following up regarding the room service issue I had on August 11, 2014. I really appreciated the personalized service, within our meeting I neglected to tell you that I appreciated the outstanding service I received from Lucas and the woman who delivered my order on August 11, 2014. They were both polite and professional and despite having a food temperature issue the service level was outstanding and the follow-up customer service by Mr. Lamrani. 17 August 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by small room Location was perfect, the hotel exterior was beautiful. But the price of the room was ridiculous for how small the room was. Also only two small, prepackaged coffee that was at best, a colored water flavor. Also the window had a large, face print at eye level. The staff was wonderful. 16 August 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Expected Better from InterContinental Hotels I was here on a group trip with Giants Vacations (a fantastic outfit, BTW) so I did not actually choose this hotel. It was very average. I expected better than average. 1. No mini fridge in the room. Seriously? They have mini fridges in the rooms at Holiday Inn Express, one of your other hotels. 2. Unsecured parking, The parking structure was accessible from the side street at top and the round drive at bottom. No access control was in place. 3. Unsecured hotel. Since the 5-story parking structure was not secure, direct access to the hotel was easy on the lower 5 floors. 4. The fitness center was small, under equipped and unmanned. 5. When the rest of our group checked out (we stayed for several more days) BOTH of our key cards suddenly stopped working. They obviously killed all the group cards en mass. When I went to the front desk and pointed that out the man said, "No, you must have demagnetized your cards." Right, both cards, kept on separate bodies spontaneously demagnetized at the same time. I don't think so. 6. The pillowtop bed was nice. The sheets high quality. But the mattress felt a bit worn out. A bit saggy. It seemed my back-side was at a lower elevation than my head and feet. 7. Worst Internet connection EVER. Constant drops, slow. This hotel seems to have lost its way. It feels oldish, dingyish, not old money (which I love) but old funky. Hospitality is not their prime directive. Bottom line, when I return to KC I will not be staying here. 16 August 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Best Anniversary Ever! My wife and I had the pleasure of staying at the Intercontinental in Kansas City for one night to celebrate our second wedding anniversary. We booked the reservation using our annual free night certificate that comes as a reward with the IHG Rewards Club Credit Card. All that being said, I was expecting to have wonderful night at one of the better hotels in Kansas City but nothing our of the ordinary. What I received was anything but ordinary. Upon checking in, the front desk staff greeted us kindly and asked us what brought us to their hotel this evening. We simply replied that is was our second wedding anniversary and we wanted to stay somewhere close to the Plaza. The front desk attendant said, "I have something special for you. " My wife and I were upgraded to the Presidential Suite and given access to the concierge floor! I have always been treated very well from staff at any IC hotel I have stayed at but this was an amazing gift. You all really made our second anniversary one that we will never forget. Thank you so much! 14 August 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Best staff, great location, luxurious accomodations Definitely the best bang for buck. Between being right across the street from the plaza, the luxurious ambience, the incredibly courteous staff, and figure the price, the value can not be beat. If ever going back to the area, this is my place to stay. Best overall experience in Kansas City. 13 August 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great service and staff! I generally don't write reviews but I was impressed with the accommodating staff while in town on business. The first night my room was directly above the bar area where a live band performs. Normally I love a good party but I needed sleep to get up very early for meetings. The hotel staff was very accommodating and upgraded me to the valet floor at no charge. This was enormously appreciated and would count all the staff to be above par. Keep up the good work guys! 13 August 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good first impression Valet staff are a great first impression of this hotel. I had some small admin issues that were handled in an acceptable manner. No recognition of either Platinum or Ambassador status here but, that is a small perk that is appreciated versus required. Great location and mostly personable staff. Club lounge personnel were great. 13 August 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by perfect getaway Celebrating our anniversary for a night out simply was beyond memorable. The front desk manager greeted us with a smile and a room upgrade as well as a couple drink tickets to use at the pool or bar. The margaritas at the pool were the best I have had. The concierge lounge was stocked with food and drinks and warm professional service. We love this hotel for its location and easy walk to many great restaurants, great pool with live music and clean quiet rooms. 12 August 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Needs better service and quality For the price of our stay I was expecting much better service and quality. Instead, we experienced the following: 1. Long line/wait to check in upon arrival. 2. No map or information about the layout of the hotel. (Example: was NOT told that the hallway to the left provided a way to the garage elevators. Instead we found out after running out in the rain.) 3. Asked for a simple steam iron to steam a dress. None available. Instead told laundry could do it, but that it would require an hour, after they picked it up. 4. While waiting in check-in line noticed there was lemonade available, but no cups. (Also wondered how long it had been sitting there.) 5. Much cheaper hotels provide free wifi. Why, when paying so much more, do I have to pay for wifi? 6. No facial wash cloth for women. Only 2 wash cloths for 2 people. 7. Tub would not drain due to drain plug kept closing while taking a shower. 8. Last, but not least, our room did not have a mini-fridge. Simply not in the cabinet. Pro: thoroughly enjoyed the steel drum player by the pool. He was by far the best part of this stay!! 10 August 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by THE WORST STAY OF MY PROFESSIONAL CAREER It was the worst stay EVER! AND, no one, except for the valet manager, even cared. Very disappointing weekend. I will definitely not recommend this place to my colleagues for future stays in Kansas City. 09 August 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent expereince I loved this property and all that it and the staff had to offer. I highly recommend this hotel. 09 August 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Dinner The food was prepared very well and was nice and hot when it arrived at our table. Our grandson enjoyed the pool and television selection. 08 August 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Could not sleep With construction across the street (during the night) and a mattress that was too soft, I could not sleep during my stay. Also internet connectivity was VERY slow and connection was lost multiple times. 07 August 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Wedding Weekend Stay We had a wonderful night! We were attending a wedding reception and decided to stay instead of driving home. We checked in after the wedding, relaxed a little! Great view of the Plaza. Attended the reception in the ballroom downstairs. We had an after reception drink in the bar. Very lively atmosphere in the bar. Had a great time. Room was great! Thought about having breakfast in bed but decided to go downstairs and look over the pool while we ate. Great Experience 07 August 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Wonderful experience We would recommend this hotel to everyone that wants a first class experience. Right on the Country Club Plaza with access to great shopping and restaurants. 05 August 2014
<<prev 2 3 4 5 ... 16 next>>
Kansas City At The Plaza
  • 401 Ward Parkway
  • Kansas City , MO , 64112
  • United States
  • Front Desk +1-816-7561500

  • Driving Directions
  • Transportation
  • Parking
   

Languages spoken by staff

English, Spanish

Pet Policy

Small pets under 25 pounds are allowed with 25 dollar nonrefundable cleaning deposit. Pets left unattended must be in a kennel. Guest will be held responsible for noise or other complaints about their pet.
Pet Fee $25.00 per night
  • Local Time

    1:50 AM
    • CHECK-IN

      4:00 PM
    • CHECK-OUT

      11:00 AM Late Check out Available

    Currency

    • US Dollar $ (USD)

    Accessibility

    • Service animals allowed
    • 15 Room(s) with Accessibility Standards
    • Parking
    • Special Needs