Skip Navigation
  • English    English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • Sign In
  • 1 888 IC HOTELS
  • Book online or call:
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
  • 1 888 IC HOTELS
  • Book online or call:
 

Kansas City At The Plaza

Rated 4.1 out of 5 by 393 reviewers.
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Beautiful Hotel I was originally born in KC, MO. I had always wanted to stay at the Intercontinental Hotel so found that when I had this trip coming back to KC that this would be a good time to do it. It is a beautiful hotel, the room was very spacious, comfortable bed, great view of the Plaza. Your service was wonderful with one exception - the Oak Room. On my first morning there I waited at least 20 minutes for service after being seated. Then, when I did get service I explained that we had a time crunch and I ordered for both my husband and myself. My husband'sfood was over cooked, if we had more time he would have sent it back. My breakfast was fine. The second day was just as bad, I am not sure why I had to wait 20 minutes for someone to come and give me water and coffee? My husband ordered eggs again for breakfast and this time he did send them back, overcooked again. He was not impressed. That would be my only comment, please have someone greet the people when they sit down, at least that way they won't think that they are being ignored. 07 May 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Nice hotel This is a nice hotel in a great location. Room was clean and very comfortable, staff friendly and helpful. 07 May 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Date We have stayed at this location on 33 previous occasions. This is the second time we have stayed on a concierge level , But this time in particular, we found the experience to be well worth it. Both of the concierges that we encountered (Craig and Kent) really made our visit special and memorable. 30 April 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by This place needs a makeover The location is great but the facilities are worn. Needs new paint and carpet in the room I used. Nicks and dents everywhere you looked. Toilet handle dripped water when flushed. For the money we spent, we expected nicer facilities. We did forget our laptop when we checked out and by the time we returned, it was safely locked up in housekeeping so the staff receives an excellent rating. 27 April 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by In town for a conference My client reserved the hotel for me. It was fantastic! Wonderful, courteous staff with check-in, Housekeeping and the Gift Shop. Beautiful room with a beautiful view from my balcony. Quick and convenient access to parking and local dining. My only regret was that it was just for one night. I would certainly come back here on my own dime. 16 April 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Accomodating and Hospitable My room was not done being cleaned when I arrived, but the staff was very accommodating and gave me an upgrade. I liked the fact that they wanted to wait until the room was up to standard before letting me stay in it. They even gave me free drinks while I waited. I only waited about 30 minutes. Overall great experience, especially because it is right on the Plaza. 15 April 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great concierge service After having some trouble wi/our keys, one of the desk personnel upgraded our new key to the concierge floor. There, we enjoyed the breakfast as well as the happy hour. All the staff in that area were extremely polite and friendly. 14 April 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by So So stay Stayed at hotel for conference that was at hotel. Went to check in at 3 and room wasn't ready, went back a half hour later and room still wasn't available. Guy at front desk said they were still cleaning room, but would upgrade the room because we had been waiting for over two hours. When I went back up to the front desk after 7 pm the room was finally available, but I didn't receive upgrade that he stated earlier. So we waited 4 hours for a room and all we got were drink tickets. 13 April 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Beautiful hotel in a beautiful location This was my third stay and, once again, it was a wonderful experience. The staff is professional and helpful. The rooms are spacious, updated, and comfortable. If you are looking for a hotel on the Plaza, I don't think you can beat the experience. 11 April 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great stay! Just returned from a two night stay. Had a great experience. Staff was wonderful and friendly. Room was clean and comfortable. Would highly recommend this hotel to others. 11 April 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable bed great staff The conceirge found out it was our wedding night and gave us access to the 11th floor for happy hour and complimentary breakfast next morning. Great staff and very attentive. 11 April 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by View, Room, Concierge We come to the Intercontinental for a vacation and we always enjoy our room, the view, but we especially enjoy the service and kindness on the concierge suite. Kent always ensures everyone is taken care of. He is a true tribute to the hotel and wonderful ambassador of KC. 02 April 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Classy value - Perfect location in KC, Meet clients there and do business, come back with family and relax. Precessional is what the service team is all about. VERY nice people - the people working in the bar, restaurant and front desk could not make you feel more welcome. 31 March 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent Service and Very Comfortoable Room The staff were very friendly and attentive, and my bed was very comfortable. The Plaza location is in close proximity to great dining, shopping and museums. My only compliant was the Internet connection was very poor in my hotel room. 31 March 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent Experience We went to the Intercontinental at Country Club Plaza to celebrate our anniversary. Our stay was everything we hoped for and more. The staff did an outstanding job of making our experience very memorable. We will be back - loved it all. Pam & Victor 27 March 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by This is a Great Hotel Enjoyed our stay. We had a great room looking over the Plaza. Very clean, comfortable, room. Excellent, and very helpful staff. I will return. This is an outstanding location. You can park at the Hotel and walk to the Plaza for drinks and dinner. Outstanding Hotel. We loved it. 24 March 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by InterContinental Kansas City At The Plaza The InterContintental Kansas City At The Plaza was the first stop on our Spring Break trip and it couldn't have been better! The staff at IHG is outstanding! Every person we had contact with was very friendly and make us feel welcome and happy to be there. Our rooms were clean and comfortable and check-in and check-out was quick and easy. And you're within easy walking distance of some great restaurants and shopping! We will definitely be returning! . 24 March 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by The ONLY place to stay in KC Loving making memorable weekends on the Plaza and the at home feeling of this wonderful Hotel I have stayed at this property since I was a small child so 35 plus years... 20 March 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Third Time is a Charm I wrote a review after our last visit in August 2013 before the birth of our first baby and feel inclined to write again. This visit was our first getaway as new parents so we were looking forward to some R&R. The Intercontinental at Kansas City Plaza did not disappoint. Nevada at the front desk greeted me with a smile as always, and was so kind to send us a basket of fruit upon our check in to help relax. We also had access to the concierge lounge which was lovely as usual. I was surprised however on Friday night when we had to ask more than once for the appetizers and snacks to be replenished. I think the person on duty was Craig (?). He seemed more occupied with the computer and phone to notice. Besides that, it was a nice addition to our stay. Even with a busy weekend with the Big 12 tournament we never felt crowded or noisy. I can't wait to return again for our 10 year anniversary this summer! Thank you for always providing wonderful service. 19 March 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Quiet Room The room was nice, but it was the lack of outside noises including the hallway that really impressed me. 14 March 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Exceptional Front Desk and other Staff I have traveled all over the world and stayed in many hotels and I have to say that your staff - especially the front desk staff that were there in the evening (around 7pm - 11pm) and in the early morning - were by far the most helpful and thoughtful I have ever encountered. I arrived late the evening of 3/5/14 after a grueling flight experience and the two women at the front desk went out of their way to ensure I received a large, quiet, secure room and got settled in quickly and comfortably. Later in my stay they made excellent recommendations for a restaurant and provided a coupon to reduce the cost. Finally, when my flight home was cancelled and I wasn't able to get a flight out until much later, they reassured me that I would be provided a room if necessary and, without my even needing to request it, gave me a late check out so I could stay comfortably in my room as I tried to obtain a new flight. When I did check out, the gentleman at the front desk the morning of 3/7/14 went out of his way to divide my bill as I requested even though it took extra work on his part. The friendliness and enthusiasm for their jobs and for providing considerate service were evident in all the staff I encountered throughout my stay. Your hotel is fortunate to have staff that exemplify the meaning of customer service. Thank you! 12 March 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Bad technology I like my stay but some things are crucial when your on the other side of the globe. Such as Wifi that was horribly bad here. Also way to expensive for a non member and annoying to be forced reconnect all the time. Also the connection was really bad. About calling an American cell phone I had to do it on my Swedish phone because the hotel price was way too expensive. 10 March 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Wonderful front desk, older rooms. Very attentive staff. There was a problem with my bill and the front desk corrected the problem very quickly. Rooms were showing age and the bathroom was a little small. 10 March 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by freezing room and bathroom Quite frankly this was the absolute worst hotel experience I have ever encountered. After braving sub-zero temperatures from the airport and the 30+ minute taxi ride to the hotel, I arrive to a room that was at least 55 degrees and a bathroom that was even colder. Add to that the water in the shower took at least 10 minutes to warm up to a temperature that would actually be warm enough to shower in, and I was left with a terrible overall experience. Even after cranking the thermostat in my room to 90 (the highest it would go), I still had a barely tolerably warm room. Forget that bathroom, I had to put towels down to even step on the tiled floor and left the shower running 15 minutes before even attempting to get in. And I'll also add that the hallways (on the first floor anyway) and the lobby were also frigid the entire stay. 07 March 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Great Staff Short and sweet, our last stay was not a very good experience. A variety things led to this but the staff was courteous and professional and took great care of us. The location is great, the views are good, and the staff is exceptional. I would only recommend upper floors though, lower floors can be very noisy. 26 February 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Oak Room The Oak Room is the right combination for dining and socializing. 26 February 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by HORRIBLE Experience at KC Intercontinental on Plaza This hotel stay was a horrible experience and I have been an extremely loyal IHG customer for years. The room was to be prepared for my family's arrival as I called 3 times in advance to make sure of this. This trip was for my wife to get away and relax before having a very serious surgery. Upon arrival, the room was not prepared, I was not recognized as a priority club member, let alone as a platinum member. We left the room at 11:00am the next morning and returned at 10:00pm to find the room hadn't been cleaned or attended to in any manner. When I called to tell the manager on duty about this and that the trash was overflowing, dirty towels were still on the bathroom floor, the beds were not made and we were out of all toiletries, her response was that I must have put the "do not disturb" sign out. I never put the "do not disturb" sign out during the entire weekend! I then had to go to the front desk and ask to speak to the manager on duty. After waiting about 5 minutes, she finally came forward. I, again, went through all the mistakes that had been made and her response was "what should I do about that?". I was floored with the lack of professionalism and attitude. We also had to request a blanket and was told there was an extra in the closet. After checking again, and confirming there wasn't, they said they didn't know if they could find one! After about 45 minutes, a gentleman showed up with a ratty dirty looking blanket draped over his shoulder. Unbelievable! I will not be staying at this IHG property every again and may not remain a loyal customer. I don't recommend this property to anyone. The facility is also very outdated in decor and the beds very uncomfortable for the price and location. 17 February 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Awesome Winter Getaway The comfort and service provided by the staff was top-rate,from start to finish. I was amazed at the convenience of the hotel to the Kansas City CC Plaza's amazing shopping. No need to drive the car even though a snow shower moved in. The view of The Plaza from the room was stunning in the snow. 15 February 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Our favorite place to stay This hotel is a fantastic place to stay. My wife and I go to Kansas city each year for a long weekend and we love the Intercontinental. From the knowledgeable and warm greeting to the cleanliness of the rooms to the Concierge floor, we like it all. Extremely comfortable and welcoming. I especially enjoy the welcome and service we have received from Craig, Kent, and Reuben on the concierge floor. They are to be truly commended for going above and beyond. Thanks for a great experience and we will be back next year! 13 February 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Romantic Weekend Spent an early Valentine's Day at the hotel so we could catch Romeo and Juliet at the KC Rep before it closed. Generally the room was very nice and the view excellent. However, the water in the shower was luke warm at best. When we returned from dinner, the lock on the door wouldn't work and someone had to come and let us in. We were told engineering would look at it. When we returned from the play around 11:00 pm, it still didn't work. Called from the phone by the elevator and waited ten minutes without a response. Called again and someone finally showed up about five minutes later and had to fiddle with the knob to get the door to open. Our dinner in the Oak Room was really good, however, we had to wait about 15 minutes after being seated to have our order taken. There were only six other guests at two tables at the time. I was really expecting something better than that from a KC icon and facility that advertises itself as a "luxury" hotel. Also would have expected a fridge in the room. 12 February 2014
<<prev 3 4 5 6 7 ... 14 next>>
Kansas City At The Plaza
  • 401 Ward Parkway
  • Kansas City , MO , 64112
  • United States
  • Front Desk +1-816-7561500

  • Driving Directions
  • Transportation
  • Parking
   

Languages spoken by staff

English, Spanish

Pet Policy

Small pets under 25 pounds are allowed with 25 dollar nonrefundable cleaning deposit. Pets left unattended must be in a kennel. Guest will be held responsible for noise or other complaints about their pet.
Pet Fee $25.00 per night
  • Local Time

    9:26 AM
    • CHECK-IN

      3:00 PM
    • CHECK-OUT

      12:00 PM Late Check out Available

    Currency

    • US Dollar $ (USD)

    Accessibility

    • Service animals allowed
    • 15 Room(s) with Accessibility Standards
    • Parking
    • Special Needs