Skip Navigation
  • English    English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • Sign In
  • 1 888 IC HOTELS
  • Book online or call:
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
  • 1 888 IC HOTELS
  • Book online or call:
 

Kansas City At The Plaza

Rated 4.1 out of 5 by 400 reviewers.
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Christmas Tradition and Plaza Lights The hotel was very busy since our stay was in the height of the Christmas season but the staff were wonderful from the time they opened the front door. The check-in was friendly and efficient. We were in a concierge level deluxe room which was spacious and quiet. We had a view of the Plaza lights from our balcony. The concierge lounge was comfortable and offered a variety of refreshments, once again it has a great view of the plaza. The staff in the lounge were friendly and helpful providing information on local shopping and dining. The hotel location is perfect for an evening walk to the plaza for shopping or a festive carriage ride. We have visited the hotel during the Christmas Season in the past and look forward to continuing the tradition. 26 December 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Anniversary Trip The staff was very agreeable and helpful. We visit each year on our anniversary and the hotel makes it special. 23 December 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great overall stay I booked a room for my Parents, sister and I for an overnight stay after flying in from LA. Our room faced the Plaza. Gorgeous gorgeous view!!!!!! REALLY wonderful! Us 4 stayed in the 1 room. Was a bit small but we didn't spend a whole lot of time in the room so it was "ok". Took some amazing photos and a video at night from the hotel room balcony. Arrival afternoon there was free hot chocolate in the lobby, which I thought was a nice touch on a cold windy day! Staff was very nice on check in day. The following morning there was different hotel front desk staff, an older man and a woman. BOTH of them acted kinda crabby, cold and a bit rude, which I thought wasn't very professional or hospital on the day we were leaving. 22 December 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Best Views of the Plaza Lights We have been coming to the IC for several years to see the plaza lights after Thanksgiving. It is a Grand Hotel with many fine amenities. We had a few issues with the room this year that was a little disappointing especially since they are at premium prices. Customer service staff did finally help to resolve issues. The conceirge services were great. It is a grand hotel and highly recommended during the Plaza light season. 21 December 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Reconsider Used my priority club points which I have been saving for a special event like taking the the KC Plaza Lights. As a Platinum member I called ahead to see if an upgrade was available. Telling he host how important the view of the plaza was she said it would be taken care of. So I made the reservations. Showed up to find out I was put on the first floor. Not a very good view! In addition I was charged for internet that I would not have ever known about until I checked my bank statement. I did call and this was refunded, but could have easily of been over looked....check you statements. 21 December 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by High Price, average quality Was there for a wedding, booked two rooms over 9 months in advance, asked for adjoining rooms. Arrival: We arrived slightly early in an attempt to beat the weather on Friday. Rooms were not ready as expected but was able to leave baggage with bellman. Was told to wait until rooms were ready to complete check-in (all good so far) . Check-in: Only one room was found under wife's name. Took a bit but other room was found under mother-in-law name, still wife's address and credit card. This room was on a different floor with no balcony. Asked again for adjoining rooms and was informed that the hotel was fully booked. Since a block of rooms were booked for a wedding I would have expected most to be near other people who booked rooms for the wedding. We were spread out everywhere. Luggage: Our baggage was taken up by the bellman when our room was made ready but before we checked-in, since the rooms were not near each other and we had a lot of stuff I made a request with the front desk for the bellman to return. He never did. We managed. Our room: Next to the elevator, sounds like a roller coaster. Need to put utilities rooms there. Got a refrigerator when we requested one. Room was clean. One of the phones did not work but was not planning on using it much anyway, so did not request a new one. Bar: Only went to the bar on Saturday night. Was like I was back in college (crowded). Would have been nice if more staff was available so everyone was not crowding in on the small bar. Restaurant: Ate breakfast and brunch there both buffets. Food was good. Needs to be replenished more frequently. Many times it looked bare. Wait staff needs some training. Don't go into a room and ask loudly is everyone okay (efficient but not something you would expect) . Also need to pick up plates more often. Overall: The place was clean just older and in need of renovations. The staff was friendly just lacked some organization. The reservation process need to be improved for group events . The place is in a great location. It was a memorable experience, but that is not always a good thing. 19 December 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Plaza view This property first needs to make IHG members a priority. I waited in an "ambassador" line while 7 others were helped in a different line before I was. As a member since 1985 and with Platinum Elite status, there should be a defined line-much like I see at other properties, for Rewards Club members. The room we were upgraded to-most appreciated since I used points, had a great view. The carpet and room in general seemed tired. The bathroom tiles needs to be cleaned/regrouted in some areas. Bartender that night (14 Dec) was great and friendly. I enjoy that they have live music in the bar area. 18 December 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Plumbing We got back to our room to be greeted with a smelly backed up sink. I called the front desk and they quickly sent maint. They tried for 20-30 minutes to plunge the drain,??? I could see this was not the solution and called front desk to move rooms. They were very kind and helpful to get us another room at 11:30 pm. Other than this set back we had a wonder experience and would would return for another visit. 18 December 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Location and Great Concierge Level/Staff Have stayed in this Hotel multiple times. I am always greeted with a warm and inviting Bell service. Front desk has always been very efficient, even in busy times. The location is great for views/shopping on the Plaza or seeing a show/game downtown. The concierge level has great views and the service is wonderful. I highly recommend this Hotel if staying in KC...not a better place. 18 December 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by No housekeeping Dec 14 even after requested at front desk I've stayed dozens of times in this property dating back to 1973. This was my worst experience ever. Understaffed. Central reservations made no attempt to meet requests. Restaurant was too busy for staff. No housekeeping even though requested at front desk. 17 December 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Not worth the price If all you are seeking is a great view of Kansas City during the holiday season, then this is the place for you. You have the ability (depending on the location of your room) to have a wonderful sight out your window of the Plaza - which is even nicer if the Christmas lights are in full regalia as it was during my stay. However, just about everything else left a lot to be desired when you factor in the price of the stay. In particular, the dining was atrocious. We had breakfast at the hotel and received absolutely nothing that could be considered good service. Luckily for the wait staff, an 18% gratuity had already been included for them or they would have received far less from us for the job that was done. All in all, the chances of me ever staying at this hotel again are 0% - even if someone is willing to foot the bill for me. 17 December 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by The bar area was cold. the bed was soooooo comfortable but the bar area was too cold 12 December 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Not so happy The telephone and the television did not work. The charges were high for such a small room. 11 December 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Room not ready and bathroom unclean Our room was not ready upon check in and we had wedding shuttle to catch. Also we arrived an hour past check in time. We were given another room but not one we reserved and the toilet had feces, gum wrapper, and coffee filter in it. We were not pleased with cost or response by staff, it is unfortunate. Great view of plaza lights. As natives to Kansas City we chose not to stay the full night and left after wedding festivities were done, however we were given breaskfast coupons ( for room not being ready) that were not used. 11 December 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Double charged our credit card AND NO HOT WATER Nicest hotel in Kansas City? I have had better service at a La Quinta. They double charged our credit card, were contrite when we asked them to correct the error, AND there was no hot water on Sunday morning. Their response, "let the water run 10 minutes." Like my dorm in college? What a dump. 11 December 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Maybe this was just a bad weekend I was extremely disappointed with this hotel. The weekend my family and I arrived it was bitterly cold. When we got to our room it was 60 degrees! We were able to get that fixed but it took more than an hour. The hotel restaurant was AWFUL, and I mean awful! Our waitress was also the hostess which didn't make for a good evening. She never refilled our glasses, brought out our food or drinks. She was too busy cleaning off all the tables around us. Her service was so bad that another waiter took pity on us and served us. We waited 35 minutes for our meal, which was medicore at best. The next night we ordered room service and the experience was the same. At either place was the wait staff familiar with the menu, courteous or friendly. The best thing about this hotel is that it's on the Plaza but even that's not enough to get me to go back there. 11 December 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great location Great location for getting to the downtown area, many restaurants and stores. Hotel is a bit tired and could use a facelift but it still has its charm and class. Room was a bit dusty and could use a good cleaning. The staff in the concierge lounge was super helpful and friendly . 07 December 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Service All staff provided great service, from valet, to check-in to bellmen. 06 December 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Wonderful, beautiful Kansas City Plaza Hotel Words can not express the wonderful memories of the KC Plaza Hotel with an gorgeous view of the Christmas lights outside the windows. The staff was excellent. We had my grand daughter's bridal luncheon in the Oak Room with overflow in main dining. The staff put fresh flowers on the tables and the food was so good and the staff made all feel so welcome. The hotel is so lovely. Once again, THANK YOU!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 04 December 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by What's the fuss? I spent the Saturday/Sunday after Thanksgiving at the Intercontinental. It is a beautiful hotel - very grand and luxurious in all the public areas. The staff is very friendly and helpful and gracious - from the front desk to the staff you meet in the elevator to the cleaning personnel in the hallways. We had a view of The Plaza from our room - which was gorgeous, even before they turned on the Christmas Lights. The Sunday Brunch in the Oak Room was to die for - vast in choices of food and everything I tried was delicious. So you definitely can make the Intercontinental your food and beverage spot of choice. Those are the Pros. The Cons: Our room was not ready when we arrived. I realize it was the weekend after Thanksgiving - but that's why you do staffing analysis. Everyone else in town is ramped up - why aren't you? We got a free drink (delicious margarita# and got to sit in the beautiful bar w/ our luggage - and a bunch of other very nice people whose rooms also weren't ready. Our room: a nice room overall - a bit small it seemed - but fine. But here's the thing. For the price/night of this room it should be better than Fine. I have stayed in more moderately priced hotels that had mini kitchens #sink, microwave, mini fridge# and a Jacuzzi in the room. I seriously don't even remember seeing an ice bucket in this room, let alone a mini fridge. Additionally the lighted makeup mirror in the bathroom did not light - so please cut the cord off so I at least think I'm getting a nice makeup mirror for my Four Star price tag. The bed was fine - the room was a comfortable temperature and we couldn't hear the neighbors. What we could and did hear was EVERYTHING that was going on in the hall. Doors, people, carts, herds of zebra #it seemed). Again - I have been in moderately priced hotels on the plaza where the sound is gone the minute you close the door. Conclusion: Beautiful public areas, perfect Plaza location, fabulous food and drink. But the room and the experience has been better at every other hotel I have stayed in on the Plaza and in Westport. 04 December 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Needs a little attention! Not much a review writer, but the deluxe rooms are getting a little tired and beat up. Stayed in room 161. The toilet was hard to flush, zero water pressure in the shower, door lock was inoperable, blankets were dirty and had to request a different one, the alarm was not un-set and woke us up at 6am, and the coffee cups were dirty. The overall feeling of the room was its about time for another remodel or refreshening. Love the hotel, staff is wonderful, but it's just time for some upgrades. 04 December 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Outstanding Way to Experience "The Plaza" in Kansas City If you're looking for a truly luxurious and pampered stay on the renowned Country Club Plaza in Kansas City look no further than the International Hotel on Ward Parkway. The hotel's beauty is only surpassed by the incredibly passionate manner in which each guest is served by an extraordinary staff. Make sure your stay includes a Friday night so you can enjoy the wonderful music and charm of the main lounge. 04 December 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Hotel Was Not Good Experience Room 831 right by a loud elevator shaft. Kept us up all night. I can not believe the room could not be insulated. We actually live in a Suburb of KC. I am really embarrassed for Kansas City that we do not have any 5 Star Hotels. Going to try Raphael next time. Have no idea if it would be any better. This hotel is old, outdated and rough. Too bad for KC. It becomes apparent why Ritz did not want this property. 03 December 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Service Fun times however very expensive. Nice hotel, but overpriced for the evening. Although, we will do it again. Angela does a good job with planning, call backs, and follow thru on commitments. 02 December 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by A favorite hotel, here's why We have stayed at the IC Kansas City many times and always enjoy it. Guest coordinator Angela M. is super helpful in arranging our family stays, and concierge Melanie goes out of her way to satisfy any desire and remembers preferences Views of the Plaza are lovely and the concierge lounge beats many others. 02 December 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by fabulous view of the plaza The most Memorable Experience and the entire staff just the best in the world when it comes to service 27 November 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Fantastic Hotel Love when I stay here. Almost 20 stays so far.... Great staff. Craig and Mel in the upstairs lounge are by far the best of the best! Thank you for making my stay so enjoyable. 23 November 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Memorable Experience What a beautiful facility. Our room was lovely with an amazing view of the Iconic Plaza lights shining below. Great location easy walk to shops and great restuarants. Every staff member was helpful and friendly...your Bellmen win the prize...they are awesome! Thank you to all of them. Only one small complaint, our room was located behind elevator... need soundproofing there. 20 November 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Convenient location, friendly courteous staff, quiet I would definitely rank the Intercontinental in my top 10 of favorite places I have stayed. It is in a great location - walking distance to lots of shops, restaurants, art museum, etc. All of the staff I encountered were helpful, extremely courteous and friendly. There were a lot of events happening in the hotel during my stay but the staff made me feel that I was the only one that was important to them - that is not easy to achieve across the board with all the employees who come in contact with customers - so great job on customer service training! I also enjoyed that, even though the hotel was busy, it was very quiet and relaxing. 14 November 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by NIce room and great location Enjoyed the stay the stay. Staff was friendly and the entertainment in the lounge was terrific. 13 November 2013
<<prev 5 6 7 8 9 ... 15 next>>
Kansas City At The Plaza
  • 401 Ward Parkway
  • Kansas City , MO , 64112
  • United States
  • Front Desk +1-816-7561500

  • Driving Directions
  • Transportation
  • Parking
   

Languages spoken by staff

English, Spanish

Pet Policy

Small pets under 25 pounds are allowed with 25 dollar nonrefundable cleaning deposit. Pets left unattended must be in a kennel. Guest will be held responsible for noise or other complaints about their pet.
Pet Fee $25.00 per night
  • Local Time

    9:55 AM
    • CHECK-IN

      3:00 PM
    • CHECK-OUT

      12:00 PM Late Check out Available

    Currency

    • US Dollar $ (USD)

    Accessibility

    • Service animals allowed
    • 15 Room(s) with Accessibility Standards
    • Parking
    • Special Needs