Skip Navigation
  • English    English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • Sign In
  • 1 888 IC HOTELS
  • Book online or call:
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
  • 1 888 IC HOTELS
  • Book online or call:
 

Kansas City At The Plaza

Rated 4.1 out of 5 by 390 reviewers.
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Paying for the view .... Old hotel Food is mediocre at best. We ate breakfast off the menu Sunday morning before checkout and had to send sausage back that came out cold and barely cooked. 23 October 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great customer service Nice clean hotel, great staff! Would recommend updating bathrooms for the price range. 23 October 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Staff and Service OMG from Ed at the door to Katrina at the front desk, and then back to Ed at departure, with whole lot of others in between, we had a three room party! WHAT A GREAT STAFF!!!!! 22 October 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Great location, poor front desk staff I stay here for all the Chiefs home games, and for the most part I love it. My only complaint, every time, is the front desk staff. I never get any of the ambassador benefits unless I ask multiple times and they always treat my family poorly. Its unfortunate, such a great location and drive staff. 22 October 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Nice hotel, with issues Overall, a nice hotel, but a few issues. The room was nice, though the bathroom could use some new paint, and more importantly, was not well cleaned upon our arrival. There were hairs in the bathtub and the toilet was dirty under the seat. Second issue, Room Service called our room at 6:30 am to inquire as to our preference for eggs even though we never ordered any and Housekeeping knocked on our door at 8:49 am for service even though we never requested any. This was on a Saturday morning and both instances woke us up. We complained to the Front Desk, who were apologetic and provided us access to the Club, which was appreciated and very nice. Our final bill showed a Room Service charge for the eggs we never ordered nor received as well as internet service that was supposed to be free for IHG members. Both we subsequently removed. 17 October 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable but pricey Staff was exceptional and room provided a good balcony view, however, was a little disappointing with the overall room vs price. Marble bathroom was nice but comparable rooms at Holiday Inn for about 1/3 the cost make it a little hard to justify re-booking this hotel. Overall, it was a relaxing stay coming in off an international flight but the size of the room vs the price was disappointing. Adding a bottle of Dom Pérignon and room service dinner was good but very pricey for the quality and experience. Would recommend utilizing some of the 5 star restaurants in KC and pocketing the change. 14 October 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Disappointed Disappointed that the hotel: 1) charged me 10 dollars per package as UPS handling charges for some books I had ordered on Amazon.have never been charged this at any other intercontinental hotel around the world. 2) concierge was rather useless. We had various questions about renting a car, shopping at legends and he was unable to answer any of them satisfactorily. 10 October 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Pet policy I stayed two nights and the room was fine, although starting to look a little tired. Also, I was told on the second night that the view was unobstructed,but a tree did, indeed, block the view. Also, no mini-bar the second night as they were cleaning up updating or some such which I hadn't been alerted to at check-in. The major problem was, at booking, I was told that you had pet-free rooms, and, in fact, they'd make sure that I wasn't even close to a room that had had pets in it. When I checked in, however, and double-checked that it was a pet-free room, I was told that no rooms were pet-free and that they couldn't even tell me if there had been a pet in it recently. I'd changed from another less-expensive hotel based on the quoted pet-free policy. So, I was very surprised to learn that, instead, you have a pet-friendly policy. I understand that people like to travel with their pets, but I'm very, very surprised when a hotel doesn't acknowledge that a large part of the population suffers from allergies and they aren't accommodated in some way. I'd love to talk with a manager about this because it's a huge problem when travelling! Best regards. 10 October 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great value and customer service We book our travel through a corporate web site, and I surprised by the rate for this caliber of hotel. The location is great (within walking distance of the Plaza and restaurants). I received a king room on one of the two Concierge Levels, which included access to a private lounge with hors d'oeuvres and open bar in late afternoon and a breakfast the following morning. The room was spacious with good climate control, lighting and decent toiletries. I definitely recommend this hotel for business travel, with its amenities and level of service. My only regret was that I didn't have another nights stay! 07 October 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Very comfortable room We loved our experience. This was our first trip to Kansas City and we thoroughlly enjoyed every minute. Friends recommended your hotel and we were very pleased to be there. THey asked us to request a view room and your staff was kind enough to comply with my request. It was lovely and the night there was rain, thunder and lightning it was even nicer to see these spectacular "acts of nature" from the comfort of our room. The only thing that would have been better is for the internet connection to be inlcuded. We travel all over the world and find that most fine hotes include this in their room rate. Thank you for taking good care of us while visting your lovely city. 07 October 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great comforters and room service My sister's 75th B.D. and my 70th B.D. celebration! She has never had room service so I got on line to see a good hotel to cater to us. I'm from Colorado but know the Plaza area. You were chosen! Nevada, at the front desk, was so terrific checking us in and making us feel at home and special. Then room service, Mafurtari & Jessica added warmth and friendship which again put us in a state of fun and pleasure for our 24 hour stay. We will always remember our time at your hotel with the fondness memories always. Thank you for training your staff so well with compassion and true caring. We think those 3 employees should be sent on a cruise for relaxing fun and to be catered to like we were. THANKS AGAIN!! Pj Ricker 05 October 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by The best in KC A small refrigerator would have been good. The space was available in the cabinet. 04 October 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Darn elevators Everything was fine until we went to bed, and then we began to hear what sounded like someone rolling heavy objects around. At first we thought it was above us but it turned out to be next door at the head of our beds. It was the elevators going up and down. This went on all night & became almost constant Sunday morning. I'm not sure what you can do to buffer the noise, but I would recommend not using the room unless everything else is full & then I would offer it at a discount after disclosing that there will be elevator noise all night. Is it like that in that room on every floor, or just on the 8th floor? 02 October 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Very friendly staff concierge lounge excellent Nice hotel in very good location. Will stay again if in KC. Highly recommend. 28 September 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by very dissappointed with this hotel we chcked in on September 19th, the next morning I looked outside (we were in room 206) there was a patio outside of our room. There is cigarette butts all over the place, than my husband went to look outside noticed ants all inside the room near the door. I went to the desk, they moved us to 321 (the clerk knew about the events of the weekend but we didn't) From 1 in the aftersoon on the 21st, until midnight, the band played so loud it was like they were in our room. I called the desk they said there was scheduled event and they would stop playing at 11, but that wasn't true, they stoped at 11"55 PM sure was not a nice experience staying there this time. Whenever we are in KC again, I will definitely not stay at this hotel 27 September 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great location on The Plaza Great Plaza location close to shops, restaurants and great neighborhoods (for walking). Room was spacious and clean. Staff was very knowledgeable, courteous and helpful. Bed was comfortable. Nice to have a gym to use. Their rates included parking. Linens (towels) could be better. They were like towels from the gym. Decor and rooms seemed a bit dated and looked like they needed maintenance (touch up painting, etc.). Room was on par with other upper end business hotels and I guess I was expecting this to be very luxurious-and our room was not. I would stay there again-but at least in the future I'll know what to expect and will not want to over pay for this room. It's worth a business class rate but not worth a premium rate. 26 September 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Beautiful hotel and location Many features of this hotel make it worth the stay, primarily location. The bar is a nice size with good entertainment and view from outdoor patio. However for the price the room, which was a suite should have included more comfortable chairs and a pullout sofa for extra guests and comfrot. The living space in the suite was lacking alot for the price. 26 September 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by penny wise and pound foolish forgot iphone charger. needed short battery charge to make important call. willing to give it back in an hour. 2 different front desk clerks said they throw them all away and don't keep any. another front desk clerk said housekeeping has them and they are closed (6 pm). was told by 4 other staff members including housekeeping that there were boxes of lost chargers in lost and found and the front desk clerks have the reputation of being lazy and uncooperative. I am not cheap and was willing to drive to purchase one but needed it quickly and it would have been a nice gesture to allow me to use one from the box. I believe you should consider real human, helpful gestures as part of your customer service….(also change out your front desk staff…if they lie to guests then they are lying to you too). 25 September 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by superb location with excellent service and average facilities Our stay at the InterContinental on the Plaza in Kansas City was pleasant enough, but I have stayed in this same property several times since the mid-1970's, and it is getting a bit tired. To the best of my recollection, this is the fourth corporate owner. The room was acceptable, but with only a stand up shower, no tub. The last night of our stay, a band played just outside our window until midnight. When we complained to the desk, they provided a partial rebate on the room for that night. As a member of the Ambassador Club, I was led to believe that we would receive certain amenities such as "guaranteed room upgrade, fresh fruit upon arrival, mineral water in room, in room gift, and single room rate for double occupancy." I didn't notice any fruit or a gift; however, there was bottled water available. I recommend the concierge floor where the service was excellent and the hors d'oeuvres average, but there was no noticeable difference being an "Ambassador." All in all, you can't beat the location, and the staff was responsive, and obviously well-trained. Eventually, this owner, or a future one is going to have to spend some money on the facility. We plan to stay there again, but I'm not so sure about renewing my Ambassador Club membership. 25 September 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Noisy salsa party on hotel patio til midnight My stay would have been a 5 had a party on the patio below my window not gone on until after midnight. I would recommend asking if a party will be held on the patio late at night before making a reservation. It was noisy and the constant pounding beat of salsa music got old after three hours. I'm not sure when they started. Then after the party ended there was a bit of noise and yelling with the band and staff cleaning up. Fortunately I was able to sleep in the next morning, but I can't imagine how frustrating it was for others who had to get up early. The bands at the Plaza across the canal stopped at 10 p.m., which was reasonable. I called the front desk to complain after I had fallen asleep around 11 pm thinking the band had quit, but then was awakened around 11:20 when the band started up again after a break, playing even louder. The front desk said they should be ending soon. I asked if others had complained and they said a few others had called. I complained also when checking out but there was little acknowledgement or empathy. The band finally quit at midnight. Maid staff was excellent and bed and room were very comfortable. Could have had more information in the room about the amenities and check out times, etc. 25 September 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by nice room-need free wifi I enjoyed my recent stay, although my room on the fifth floor faced the Country Club, and the combined noise level from the Art Fair band across the street and the Brazilian band booked for a party on the patio below me neared obnoxious levels on Saturday night. I would rate my stay higher, but I believe internet service should be included in the price of a room. 25 September 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Poor Planning We arrived on a Friday evening to discover that their entire parking gsrage was filled by people attending a party (not necessarily guests). This was on the weekend of the Plaza Art Fair where they would expect to already have a full house. On the following Saturday evening they hosted an outdoor party that lasted until midnight. The very loud band was deafening to the guests on that side of the hotel and sleep was impossible. No help from the front desk. We have had similar experiences in the past but will no longer consider this our hotel of choice in Kansas City. 25 September 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Place, Great Location Wonderful views of and convenient walking access to the Plaza where the art festival was happening and where you'll see more fountains than anywhere else this side of Rome. Great room and service. 24 September 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by 5 star property Great upgrade to suite as a ra and great lounge and service 23 September 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Never received Ambassador perks Upon arrival, I had to remind the desk clerk that as an Ambassador member, I was eligible for a room upgrade at which time my room was changed. Had I not mentioned this amenity, I would not have received it. Also, I usually receive fresh fruit and mineral water throughout my stay (another of the Ambassador amenities). I did not receive either on any one of the 4 nights I stayed in Kansas City. Definitely not the stellar service I have come to expect from InterContinental. 23 September 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Intercontinental, Kansas City As a frequent traveler my stay as this hotel was exceptional! I would stay here anytime. The staff was friendly, courteous and professional. They called you by name and greeted you with a warm smile and a friendly greeting!! It's on my 10 Most Fascinating places to Stay!! 16 September 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Concierges' Magnificent - KC I wanted to take this opportunity to thank your entire staff for their great service during my many stays but especially Craig and Melanie as "magnificent concierge's". I take advantage of the 11th floor every trip and can say that both are truly caring and special in the way they make you feel at home. Craig in particular will remember the smallest detail about a past conversation, my family, whatever; so it really makes you feel good! Thanks to everyone for doing such a great job. 13 September 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Overall experience My husband and I have enjoyed staying at intercontinental during the years. It is a nice weekend getaway for us and we love the location. We especially appreciate the balcony overlooking the plaza. The registration person was very kind and accommodating. The room was small yet nice but in need of update. I was amazed by how quiet the room was - peaceful. The price is too high. 12 September 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Not as Positive Experience as Previously Our king suite was not as clean as usual. We usually stay here at least once each year. this year there was a champagne cork and wire left on the floor from prior to our checking in and was still there when we left. the woodwork looked as if it had not been cleaned in years. there were no water glasses in either bathroom. This hotel also has no king suites that are for handicapped visitors. also no walk in showers. I am not sure if we will continue using this facility or not. 11 September 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by improved Noticeable improvements from our stay in July 2013. Stronger checkin. Quality room. Even the weeds removed from the pool-side landscaping. Thanks for the great weekend. 10 September 2013
<<prev 6 7 8 9 10 ... 14 next>>
Kansas City At The Plaza
  • 401 Ward Parkway
  • Kansas City , MO , 64112
  • United States
  • Front Desk +1-816-7561500

  • Driving Directions
  • Transportation
  • Parking
   

Languages spoken by staff

English, Spanish

Pet Policy

Small pets under 25 pounds are allowed with 25 dollar nonrefundable cleaning deposit. Pets left unattended must be in a kennel. Guest will be held responsible for noise or other complaints about their pet.
Pet Fee $25.00 per night
  • Local Time

    1:36 PM
    • CHECK-IN

      3:00 PM
    • CHECK-OUT

      12:00 PM Late Check out Available

    Currency

    • US Dollar $ (USD)

    Accessibility

    • Service animals allowed
    • 15 Room(s) with Accessibility Standards
    • Parking
    • Special Needs