Your session will expire in 5 minutes, 0 seconds, due to inactivity. Stay Logged In
Create PIN
All fields are required
If you joined IHG® Rewards Club at a hotel, then you will need to create a 4-digit PIN in order to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
Unexpected Server Error
Your session has expired. Please sign in to your profile
We are sorry, our system is temporarily unavailable. Please try again later or contact the IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care Centre for assistance.
The 4-digit numbers entered must match.
Forgot PIN?
All fields are required
Unexpected Server Error
Your session has expired. Please sign in to your profile
We are sorry, our system is temporarily unavailable. Please try again later or contact the IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care Centre for assistance.
Don't have an email address in your profile?

Contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address via www.ihg.com/updateemail.

InterContinental Kansas City At The Plaza

Book Now
MoreFewer Options

* Required Field

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Manage A Reservation
Need to make changes to your reservation? You've come to the right place!
Already an IHG® Rewards Club Member? to view reservations.
View This Reservation

* Required Field

Manage A Reservation
Need to make changes to your reservation? You've come to the right place!
Already an IHG® Rewards Club Member? to view reservations.
View This Reservation

* Required Field

Hotel Reviews for InterContinental Kansas City At The Plaza
Guest Reviews
Each review and rating that we receive is verified to ensure that we only display information provided by guests who have actually stayed in the hotel.
83%
Recommend This Property

Overall Experience

4.2

based on 974 reviews
83%
Recommend This Property

Ratings Breakdown

974reviews

  • 5 Stars
    554
  • 4 Stars
    182
  • 3 Stars
    117
  • 2 Stars
    80
  • 1 Stars
    41

Not Happy

By

15 July 2016

As I have stated, I was not happy with my stay. The room was not cleaned for two out of the 4 days I was there, the TV did not work, I ran out of toilet paper and towels. The staff said they would take care of things but never did until I had check on things several times and finally my room was cleaned and stocked with things there needed but by that time was fed up and ready to leave. I thought this was a four star hotel and I was excited about staying there but I will not be making the same mistake again.

Thank you

Posted byHotelStaff
20 July 2016
Dear Irish88, Thank you for your feedback. We certainly regret to learn you weren't satisfied with the timing of the cleaning of your room. According to our records, you requested service on July 1 after checking in and this service was provided during the turn down service. On July 2, no service was provided as you placed a do not disturb sign on your door and one of our housekeeping supervisors confirmed with you that you did not want service. On July 3, the service was provided at 1:53 pm. On July 4, when our staff went to your room to provide service, you asked that it be delayed until later that night. The service was then provide during turn down. Once again, we regret that you were not satisfied and I would be happy to discuss your stay with you directly. If you would like to do so, please feel comfortable in contacting me at dbreckenridge@kansascityic.com. Sincerely, Don Breckenridge General Manager
Read More
Read Less

Best Home away from Home

By

15 July 2016

club

Everyone I've encountered at the Intercontinental Hotel at the Plaza has been friendly and helpful. They make frequent trips away from home as great as they can. It's almost as good as being home.

Posted byHotelStaff
20 July 2016
Dear maagrie, Reading your review was a great way to start the day this morning! Thank you for sharing your experience on our website. It's always our goal to have our guests feel at home. We're very glad to learn you felt that way. We'll look forward to your next visit and be sure to contact me directly at dbreckenridge@kansascityic.com whenever I may be of service during any of your future visits. Sincerely, Don Breckenridge General Manager
Read More
Read Less

The only place to stay in Kansas City

By

11 July 2016

I love this place. The staff are fantastic, concierge are knowledgable and helpful, bar and restaurant is fantastic.
I had to stay in KC for 5 weeks recently and specifically chose to return here.
I will definitely be back.

Posted byHotelStaff
14 July 2016
Dear BobbyLee560, Thank you so much for your kind words and for choosing the InterContinental Kansas City for your recent five week stay! We're obviously very glad you enjoyed your entire stay and found our staff to be fantastic, knowledgeable and helpful. It's great to hear you will be back. It will be our pleasure to serve you again! Sincerely, Don Breckenridge General Manager
Read More
Read Less

Great location and hotel!

By

08 July 2016

Loved my stay here! The room was comfortable and large. The amenities were very nice and the location was great. I would stay here again.

Posted byHotelStaff
08 July 2016
Dear LRM2015, Thank you for choosing the InterContinental Kansas City and for posting your experience on our website. We're very glad you enjoyed your large guestroom, the hotel's amenities and our amazing location in the heart of the Country Club Plaza. Please stay with us again the next time you are in the area! Sincerely, Don Breckenridge General Manager
Read More
Read Less

Stay on the Plaza

By

08 July 2016

platinumelite

We were very pleased with the service at this hotel. We had a wonderful time

Posted byHotelStaff
11 July 2016
Dear Cairo01, Thank you for letting us know you enjoyed your stay with us. We appreciate you posting your comments on our website. We will look forward to welcoming you back as a returning guest! Sincerely, Don Breckenridge General Manager
Read More
Read Less

Great plaza location and views.

By

07 July 2016

platinumelite

Nice rooms. Only negative was badly broken tub liner in bathroom, and low water pressure for shower heads used.

Posted byHotelStaff
11 July 2016
Dear KC native couple, We're glad you enjoyed your stay with us and we appreciate your feedback. I do apologize for the tub liner and water pressure in the shower head. If you would like to contact me at dbreckenridge@kansascityic.com and let me know your room number, we'll be sure to make the corrections if they haven't already been done. Please stay with us again the next time you return to your home town! Sincerely, Don Breckenridge General Manager
Read More
Read Less

Relaxing pool and great service

By

04 July 2016

club

We had a wonderfully relaxing time at the pool! The service at the hotel was great.

Posted byHotelStaff
07 July 2016
Dear kare14, Thanks for your feedback. We're glad you enjoyed the pool. There's no better place to relax on a summer day. We appreciate your comment about the great service provided by our team. Please stay with us again soon. Sincerely, Don Breckenridge General Manager
Read More
Read Less

Great Location

By

03 July 2016

club

walking distance to The Plaza. Wait staff at breakfast went above and beyond. They overheard my daughter deciding between the buffet and the pancakes, she decided on the buffet. The waiter came out a few minutes later with a plate of pancakes for her.

Posted byHotelStaff
07 July 2016
Dear travelingfools01, Thank you for letting us know you enjoyed the hotel and the service provided by our team. We hope your daughter enjoyed the pancakes! Sincerely, Don Breckenridge General Manager
Read More
Read Less

Nice bed

By

03 July 2016

club

I stayed one night for a concert. First, the good-I was impressed with the exterior of the building as well as the lobby. The bed was great, very comfortable. The private balcony was nice and the view was pretty good. Now, the bad-The shower was nice looking marble, with no water pressure at all. The Keurig they provided in room was stocked only with decaf. The room didn't seem any larger than a standard hotel room. I just did not see any special touches that made the hotel worth what I paid for it. There was really nothing special about it at all. I was definitely underwhelmed.

Posted byHotelStaff
07 July 2016
Dear bubycakes, Thank you for your feedback. We're glad you enjoyed the exterior, the lobby, your comfortable bed, the private balcony and the awesome view. Please accept my apologies for not all aspects of your stay exceeding your expectations. Water pressure is rarely an issue at the hotel. Our 24/7 on-site engineering staff can generally correct it right away when notified. Our standard for the Keurig coffee makers is two coffees, one decaf and one tea. Our Director of Housekeeping will remind our team of this. The hotel has many different room types and sizes. If you would prefer one of our larger rooms, please do not hesitate to contact me at dbreckenridge@kansascityic.com prior to your next visit and we'll reserve a room for you that best fits your needs. Sincerely, Don Breckenridge General Manager
Read More
Read Less

Best of Kansas City

By

29 June 2016

This IC property provided excellent recognition of Ambassador status. Everything was swift and perfect at check in with an incredible suite upgrade, lounge access, breakfast vouchers, and drink vouchers provided to make our stay special.

This was a birthday occasion and the above and beyond service was such a nice treat. This is an excellent hotel in the Kansas City area and I look forward to my next stay!

Posted byHotelStaff
07 July 2016
Dear planKC, Thank you for choosing to celebrate the birthday at the InterContinental Kansas City. We certainly appreciate you sharing your experience on our website and rewarding the hotel with a 5-star rating. It's never a surprise, but it is always great to hear that our staff went above and beyond. Service is everything! We greatly value your loyalty to IHG and we'll be anxious for the next opportunity to serve you. Sincerely, Don Breckenridge General Manager
Read More
Read Less

Angel Eyes

By

28 June 2016

This was our third year staying here to celebrate our anniversary. We've considered going other places but like the geographic location and love the hotel. We like the higher views on the towers side but the east side has larger balconies. Not sure which side we'll stay on next time but we will be back.

Posted byHotelStaff
01 July 2016
Dear Angel Eyes gets away! Happy Anniversary! Thank you for choosing the InterContinental Kansas City at the Plaza to celebrate your special occasion! Please know we appreciate your loyalty to the hotel. You are not the only guest who has mentioned the dilemma of choosing a room in the "Tower" or in the "Wing". We have some guests who have a definite preference , and others who enjoy the different features of each choice. My personal preference depends on the time of year. It's hard to beat the "Wing" when the weather is conducive to relaxing on the over-sized balconies, with the small table and two chairs, and taking in all the activity on the Plaza. Once again, congratulations and we will all look forward to welcoming you back for the 4th time! Sincerely, Don Breckenridge General Manager
Read More
Read Less

Nice hotel but could be better.

By

27 June 2016

Although this is a nice hotel, it doesn't quite keep up with the quality that the Intercontinental brand is known for. I've stayed at countless Intercontinental locations all over the world and this one is falling behind the pack.

This hotel is located in an area referred to as The Plaza. It's an outside mall area dedicated to high end shops and restaurants. I just wanted to point that out just in case you thought you were staying in downtown Kansas City. The hotel is huge and I think that is one of its downfalls. In order to truly be considered a luxury hotel there has to be attention to detail in all phases of the stay. Unfortunately this was not the case. In my opinion the hotel is too large for the staff to keep up with. My room wasn't ready at check-in, and while impressive in size, the suite had old and discolored furniture and wasn't particularly clean.

The concierge lounge is nice in theory but again it had outdated and tired furnishings. It would be much more enjoyable if it was renovated. The lounge staff was great, however. I did enjoy having a cocktail and snack in the evening.

There is a lot of potential at this hotel but I think it will slowly decline unless a major refurbishment is started soon. Attention to detail needs to be a focus.

Posted byHotelStaff
30 June 2016
Dear emurray077, Thank you for your feedback. We're glad you enjoyed the size of your guestroom and the service provided by our staff. Beginning January 4, the hotel will begin a major renovation of all guestrooms & corridors, the 11th floor Concierge's Lounge, the lobby, and the bar & restaurant. We have set-up a model room to showcase the new look of the guestrooms, and guest feedback thus far has been very positive. We would enjoy the opportunity to provide you with a tour of the model room during your next visit. Once again, thank you for your feedback. Sincerely, Don Breckenridge General Manager
Read More
Read Less