Skip Navigation
  • English    English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • Sign In
  • 1 888 IC HOTELS
  • Book online or call:
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
  • 1 888 IC HOTELS
  • Book online or call:
 

Kansas City At The Plaza

Rated 4.1 out of 5 by 400 reviewers.
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by nice room-need free wifi I enjoyed my recent stay, although my room on the fifth floor faced the Country Club, and the combined noise level from the Art Fair band across the street and the Brazilian band booked for a party on the patio below me neared obnoxious levels on Saturday night. I would rate my stay higher, but I believe internet service should be included in the price of a room. 25 September 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Poor Planning We arrived on a Friday evening to discover that their entire parking gsrage was filled by people attending a party (not necessarily guests). This was on the weekend of the Plaza Art Fair where they would expect to already have a full house. On the following Saturday evening they hosted an outdoor party that lasted until midnight. The very loud band was deafening to the guests on that side of the hotel and sleep was impossible. No help from the front desk. We have had similar experiences in the past but will no longer consider this our hotel of choice in Kansas City. 25 September 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Place, Great Location Wonderful views of and convenient walking access to the Plaza where the art festival was happening and where you'll see more fountains than anywhere else this side of Rome. Great room and service. 24 September 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by 5 star property Great upgrade to suite as a ra and great lounge and service 23 September 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Never received Ambassador perks Upon arrival, I had to remind the desk clerk that as an Ambassador member, I was eligible for a room upgrade at which time my room was changed. Had I not mentioned this amenity, I would not have received it. Also, I usually receive fresh fruit and mineral water throughout my stay (another of the Ambassador amenities). I did not receive either on any one of the 4 nights I stayed in Kansas City. Definitely not the stellar service I have come to expect from InterContinental. 23 September 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Intercontinental, Kansas City As a frequent traveler my stay as this hotel was exceptional! I would stay here anytime. The staff was friendly, courteous and professional. They called you by name and greeted you with a warm smile and a friendly greeting!! It's on my 10 Most Fascinating places to Stay!! 16 September 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Concierges' Magnificent - KC I wanted to take this opportunity to thank your entire staff for their great service during my many stays but especially Craig and Melanie as "magnificent concierge's". I take advantage of the 11th floor every trip and can say that both are truly caring and special in the way they make you feel at home. Craig in particular will remember the smallest detail about a past conversation, my family, whatever; so it really makes you feel good! Thanks to everyone for doing such a great job. 13 September 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Overall experience My husband and I have enjoyed staying at intercontinental during the years. It is a nice weekend getaway for us and we love the location. We especially appreciate the balcony overlooking the plaza. The registration person was very kind and accommodating. The room was small yet nice but in need of update. I was amazed by how quiet the room was - peaceful. The price is too high. 12 September 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Not as Positive Experience as Previously Our king suite was not as clean as usual. We usually stay here at least once each year. this year there was a champagne cork and wire left on the floor from prior to our checking in and was still there when we left. the woodwork looked as if it had not been cleaned in years. there were no water glasses in either bathroom. This hotel also has no king suites that are for handicapped visitors. also no walk in showers. I am not sure if we will continue using this facility or not. 11 September 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by improved Noticeable improvements from our stay in July 2013. Stronger checkin. Quality room. Even the weeds removed from the pool-side landscaping. Thanks for the great weekend. 10 September 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Outstanding staff and great service. The staff was exemplary. Outstanding in every way. From the moment we drove up to the hotel and throughout our stay, we were greeted and served by friendly, courteous, helpful professionals. They are an impressive group and are the first on the list of reasons why we will choose to stay at the InterContinental the next time we come to Kansas City. 10 September 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Amazing Weekend Traveled to KC for long weekend as my husband had a seminar to attend and it was also to be his birthday celebration. From the moment we stepped out of the car (valet staff awesome) we had the most pleasurable experience. First there was Nevada at the front desk who not only allowed us to check in early but upgraded us to a Jr. Suite and gave us access to the concierge floor. She is a true gem as first meetings usually set the tone for what's to come. The room was spacious and most importantly spotless! TV remotes don't work well, but not an issue in the overall experience. Bellman showed us around the suite and pointed out where and how many of the room's devices worked. Then there is Ken(t# on the concierge floor. We are early risers and were lucky enough to visit with him since the room was not yet busy. He is a one-man encyclopedia for the hotel and the area surrounding. The man tells a mean joke or two and makes you feel as if your presence is appreciated. If this hotel had only one particular thing or person to show its hospitality, it's Ken#t)! We couldn't walk through the lobby without being approached by a staff member wanting to actually make sure our every need was met. The pool area is to die for and the staff out there are divine. The entire weekend we were treated like royalty and the experience was so wonderful that we booked a weekend in December to return with our mother's and take in the Christmas lights. Thank you to the entire staff for making our experience more than we could ever hope for! 09 September 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Great location We were in town for a wedding. Upgraded our room to a larger room with a view of the Plaza. The mattress was terribly uncomfortable. The shower was only running scalding hot water. It took 3 calls to get a key to another room to take a shower so that we could attend the rehearsal dinner..... The shower was never repaired properly 06 September 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Self-Park or Valet? For those of us who travel frequently, one decision to make when driving to a hotel is whether to self-park our car or use the hotel valet. I typically consider the proximity of the self-parking area and the quality of the service of the valet staff including average wait time to get my car. If you are driving to the Intercontinental Kansas City at the Plaza, I have one recommendation: USE THE HOTEL VALET TEAM. While the service experience from every department was great, it was the valet team that set the tone for us to have a remarkable experience. Ironically, self-parking is very easy and convenient, but to do that is to miss the opportunity to meet and interact with incredible people like Ed, Brandon, Ben and Bob who are knowledgeable gentlemen an ambassadors for the hotel and the city. My wife and I were in a great mood when we entered the hotel an then both Nevada at the front desk and Phillip at the bell stand exceeded our expectations for exceptional service. We will return and we will recommend this property to our friends and to you. 06 September 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great weekend get-away on the Plaza This is our second stay for a long weekend and we have no desire to try anywhere else. The bed was very comfortable and the room was really "roomy". We love the view from the private balcony and could sit out there for hours, sharing a bottle of wine. The service was great and the staff was very friendly and helpful. Our only complaint would be the lack of water pressure in the otherwise really nice shower and a "musty" smell upon entering the room. 05 September 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Bachelorette Weekend Disaster I booked a two bed suite at the Intercontinental over Labor Day weekend for a Bachelorette Party. I booked this suite over 4 months in advance. Prior to my arrival at the hotel I experienced great customer service. I spoke with the lead concierge on the Thursday before my arrival and she assured me she could have the room set up with extra chairs and glassware so we could open gifts in the suite before we went out for the night. The morning of my arrival I spoke with the front desk and was able to get early check in so we could decorate the suite for the bride. Once I arrived I found out the bad news, our suite had flooded. Now instead of being upgraded, or given a comparable suite or even being sent to another hotel with an available suite, we were downgraded to two rooms with a connecting door. For this inconvenience we were promised a fruit and cheese tray, access to the club level, and a discounted rate on the rooms. As nice as that all sounded it still didn't give us space to host 10 girls to open gifts. Which was exactly the reason we booked the suite, space. The staff was very short and aggressive with us, as if it was our fault the suite had flooded. We had to ask ten different staff members for a total of 2 hours before we were able to get glassware delivered to the room we hosted the shower in. All we needed was 10 martini glasses and 10 champagne glasses. The "fruit tray" was a bowl of fruit. The cheese tray had 4 pieces of cheese on it. Everyone at the front desk and concierge's desk was rude to us and acted bothered every time we asked for something. This caused stress not only for me but for the bride as well. For such a prestigious hotel I was horrified by the way we were treated. I have told my story to many other friends who will be hosting bachelorette parties in the near future as well as friends from out of town. If you want great customer service go somewhere else. The only people who treated us well were the valets and the doormen. They deserve a thumbs up. 04 September 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Amazing staff - room a little older We stayed for a 'girls weekend' in one of the King bedroom suites. The view was amazing, the room beautiful, and staff incredible. The pool was lovely and nice big towels and comfortable lounge chairs. Our room did have a few issues which was disappointing for the price we were paying to have a suite: telephone in bedroom did not work, remote control for television in sitting room didn't work, usb port didn't work, toilet wasn't flushing. All issues were resolved very quickly - just kind of bothersome to have so many problems. Teenage daughter thought the balconies could have been cleaner (mostly spider webs.) Absolutely loved the staff from the valet to the excellent concierge (Kent) on the 11th floor. Perfect location on the Plaza. We will be back! 04 September 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Amazing The Ultimate place to visit and enjoy the comfort of a fine Facility the staff is amazing 03 September 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Nice perks and pool My wife and I recently celebrated our anniversary at your hotel and much to our surprise we were upgraded to the concierge level. What a treat!! We really appreciated this gesture and the special treatment. We also enjoyed the pool area as well. We will definitely be back again!! 31 August 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Rooms and Great Service Pretty much the only place we stay in Kansas City, especially if we have business in the Plaza area. We now know lots of people on a first-name basis, which is great. Can't say a bad word about anything connected with this hotel. One nice thing that might appeal to swimmers is that by 4:00 p.m. mid-summer, the pools are totally in the shade. KC is horrible in the summers, but you can swim all late afternoon in complete comfort. That's a HUGE plus. 31 August 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Exceptional Guest Experience with Nevada My husband and I stay with Intercontinental at the Plaza in Kansas City 3-4 times each year and it is one of our favorite weekend getaways. Last week my husband spoke with Nevada and she assisted us with our reservation. She was so gracious and as frequent guests she went out of her way to set us up with a premium room. We arrived on Friday and planned to stay through Sunday. Our plans unfortunately changed abruptly when we learned Saturday morning that my father-in-law was en route to the hospital in another city. We had the fortunate experience of finding Nevada at the front desk. She remembered my husband and was genuinely empathetic about our family situation. She allowed us to check-out early without penalty and we were quickly off to the hospital. We realize that not every hotel or agent would be so gracious. We appreciated the ease and kindness in which our situation was handled. We are excited to return later this Fall and will share our positive experience with others. Thanks so much. 29 August 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Beautiful Hotel, great Location, Bad Service I got this room for my Niece as part of her 21st Birthday gift. it was an easy walk to the Plaza where we had dinner. Check in was quick and easy. The only downfall of the visit was our visit to the Lounge for after dinner drinks. We sat at our table and watch a couple of servers walk back and forth past our table without even acknowledging our presence. We were within 3 tables of the bar, so in the 12 mins we sat there not being waited on, they passed by us numerous times. At this point the Lounge was not that busy. I found this rather annoying. I finally just went to the bar and got our drinks myself. We were half way thru with our drinks when finally one of the servers decided to ask if we were ok. You might let the staff know that 30 mins to greet a table is totally unacceptable and considering what someone pays to stay at this hotel, ignoring or failing to even acknowledge a guest is enough to make someone not want to stay there but try the luxury hotel across the street! And just an FYI, I am in this industry, so I probably have more patience than most when it comes to understanding what is busy and have no problem waiting IF it is busy and IF I am at least acknowledged. 28 August 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by A Destination Location I had the pleasure of stayng at Intercontinental's Kansas City At The Plaza property this past July. It is the ideal location if your business or personal travel brings you to the Plaza section of the city. You are just a few blocks from all that the Plaza offers and a short walk to the Nelson-Atkins Art Museum. Don't forget to explore just uphill from the hotel to discover Loose Park and Eggtc for a great breakfast place. My room was nicely appointed with a very comfortable bed. The general decour of the public rooms is a bit dated and the pool area is noticeably small for the size of the property. I was able to secure seating and enjoyed the very attentive bar staff. 27 August 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Wonderful Hotel I stay at this hotel a minumum of twice a year. Have been doing it now for over 9 years! It seems to get better each time I visit! Keep up the great work. 27 August 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Pool needs upgrade I stayed about a month ago and could not get lounges for my family group. The same thing happened this time but when we saved lounges for our family to get down there an attendant came by and said we could not save so lost our lounges and five minutes later the ladies in our party and did not have a place to sit. Many people were drinking alcoholic drinks that they brought in and were not purchased. I think the pool should be better supervised since this is one of the main reasons we come there in the summer. If it does not improve we will not be staying there. 21 August 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Enjoyed the stay, with one exception The only problem we encountered during our stay in Kansas City was an empty beer bottle on the floor of our room, under the curtains. It made me wonder just how clean the room was. 21 August 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Disappointing experiance We paid extra for a Plaza View room, but the view was obstructed by a tree. We could see the Plaza to the east but anything to the west was covered up by the tree. We complained to the front desk but got no satisfaction. 20 August 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Disappointing Experience The shower temperature was very inconsistent. It was very cold and the next minute it was extremely hot. After talking with the maintenance they determined the faucet was set up incorrectly and it was allowing too hot of water to be dispersed. The staff was very good, but the rooms seemed old and tired. 19 August 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Overnight getaway Clean and spacious room. Awesome location. The swimming pool is a major plus outdoors. Great drinks at the bar fun atmosphere highly recommend. Have stayed here multiple times and enjoyed each time. 18 August 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Can't beat the location! It is right on the plaza, so you can walk to everything from your hotel. That is the main reason why we chose to stay there. The rooms are very comfortable and the whole hotel is very nice. The only problem that I had was that you have to pay for internet. I mean practically every hotel has free internet and for the price that you pay to stay here it should be included. The parking is $15 a night, so it was good we only stayed 1 night. Overall, I really did like the hotel and will probably stay there again. The location of the hotel is just great to have an amazing time at the plaza. 16 August 2013
<<prev 7 8 9 10 11 ... 15 next>>
Kansas City At The Plaza
  • 401 Ward Parkway
  • Kansas City , MO , 64112
  • United States
  • Front Desk +1-816-7561500

  • Driving Directions
  • Transportation
  • Parking
   

Languages spoken by staff

English, Spanish

Pet Policy

Small pets under 25 pounds are allowed with 25 dollar nonrefundable cleaning deposit. Pets left unattended must be in a kennel. Guest will be held responsible for noise or other complaints about their pet.
Pet Fee $25.00 per night
  • Local Time

    4:46 PM
    • CHECK-IN

      3:00 PM
    • CHECK-OUT

      12:00 PM Late Check out Available

    Currency

    • US Dollar $ (USD)

    Accessibility

    • Service animals allowed
    • 15 Room(s) with Accessibility Standards
    • Parking
    • Special Needs