Skip Navigation
  • English    English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • Sign In
  • 1 888 IC HOTELS
  • Book online or call:
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
  • 1 888 IC HOTELS
  • Book online or call:
 

Kansas City At The Plaza

Rated 4.1 out of 5 by 355 reviewers.
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Awesome front desk staff Unfortunately we had several issues. Usually our stay is effortless, relaxing with great food. Sleeping was uncomfortable due to the room thermostat not functioning, very warm. Showering was hot cold hot cold! Our room keys were not functioning, but when reset, they issued them to the incorrect room number!( 2 families with same name staying at hotel) This was such a pain, after several attempts to get up to Amassador level and or our room, they realized the error. ( one key worked but we had 3, 1 for our daughter) Finally we ordered Salmon salad for lunch. The salmon was raw so waiter took it back only to return with it 7 minutes later after we ate our salads! No compensation offered and our ice tea and water was never refilled! Again we usually have no issues and Love this Hotel and staff and do plan to return. 26 July 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Service Great experience, but very disappointed that rooms for wedding families were not ready until 5:30 when checkin was to be at 3;00. 26 July 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Love this place My husband and I stay here every year for our anniversary. LOVE IT!! 26 July 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Disappointed We reserved a suite/concierge with a view weeks in advance. Our reservation stated that we could not cancel our room without loosing our deposit. When we arrived our room was no longer available and we were downgraded to a different suite. The suite we were given was dirty and stained. The walls had food stuck on them and overall it was pretty disgusting. The only reason we didn't pack up and leave is because we were only staying one night and decided to go out for the evening and make the most of it instead of wasting time complaining and moving to a new hotel. We always try to stay in a nice place. This was not one of them. Staff was friendly... no complaints there. Will not return. Spend your money elsewhere. 25 July 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Extremely Disappointed Stayed there in March with an ok experience but not great so I gave it a try again. Problems from check in to check out. Asst Manager frustrated with us because they edited our reservation and changed the check out day on one of the reservations. Too upsetting to discuss the number of issues and frustration. There won't be a third time though, for sure. 23 July 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by i love the hotel thanks very much for a great stay. finally after trial and error i seem to receive the particular requests i prefer. it's a great hotel for a stay in KC. always try to stay on the 11th floor overlooking the plaza. the freshening up of the pool area is a succes...hopefully the rooms wont be far behind for a redo....Angela, Nevada and all the front desk really try to accomodate my special request and don't seem to "cringe" any longer when they see me coming....many thanks for a great stay....Joe 17 July 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Hotel Needs to upgrade carpet and replace outside furniture or clean 17 July 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Nice service and comfortable but excessive extra charges Chose the hotel to be central to family while visiting in KC. Everything was lovely except the "extra charges". By the time all the taxes are added to the bill along with extraneous fees the quoted price balloons. We have grown to accept this from other hotel experiences. However, there seems to be a "free" parking arrangement for everyone except those on the honor system. We paid $15 a day for a "free" parking lot to others just because we were "honest" about parking our car there. If we had known that, maybe we wouldn't have been so "honest". No car information was retrieved by the hotel desk---just our openness about leaving it in the garage----hence, a daily fee. And with the room prices as they are, could this not include free WiFi? Yes, an additional fee!! It would be nice to go to a hotel and not be nickeled and dimed. Otherwise, lovely place. 15 July 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by what a difference a year makes made decision to stay at same property ss last summer, night & day 15 July 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by There for us again Less than a week after our first trip to Kansas we had to come back; my mom had passed away. After our first experience at the Intercontinental there was no way I was going to stay anywhere else. A called the hotel to make a reservation with Katrina but she was off that day. Instead I talked to Natallie. Natallie was able to look up our last stay and again get us a good rate. When we arrived there was a letter at the front desk from the general manager. Right away we felt like we were with family again. This stay was just as pleasant as the first. All of the same peole where there and all of them were just as kind and compassionate as the first time. At the front desk we saw Katrina, Jared, Kelly and Natallie. In the morning at breakfast we saw Adam, Hisham and Tim. In the evenings at the restaurant/bar we saw Rob, Brittney, Ray, Ben, and Jessica. And the managers Dennis and Jesse were around as well. All of them were very caring and gave us their condolenscenes on the loss of my mother. Their kind caring attitudes made the whole expierence less stressfull. My family will definietly go back to the Intercontinental in Kansas City. There is no better place to stay in Kansas. 14 July 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by not quite Fond memories of the hotel, so we had high expectations. Yet some little things stood out -- difficult check in, television down, smeared window, broken end table, pool landscaping overgrown. But nice staff and superb location. 14 July 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Noisy connecting doors Our two night stay on the Plaza was great. The hotel was very nice, great view & comfy bed. But we had a couple with two small children next door where our rooms had a connecting door-set. While they were not inconsiderately loud, or anything, we could hear many parental tone instructions and conversations to the kids. And kids are kids - sometimes they make kid noises and are goofy - I just didn't want that as a part of my Plaza stay. I'll stay there again - I loved the place. However, I will ask not to have any connecting door with adjacent rooms. 13 July 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by best service from morning staff night staff was horrible wasnt greeted properly emily at front desk was rude to me and the bell staff didnt show me where the lights were or nonthing just threw my bags in room and left emily told me that i dont know anything going on so take it with the morning staff i felt very unwanted by the night staff the day staff was great and took good care of me 100 percent thank you day staff for everything 07 July 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Average experience - wouldn't stay again at the KC location Pros: Nice lobby and bar area. Balcony in rooms. Nice toiletries. Cons: Air conditioning ran for 40 straight hours during our stay and didn't even drop the temp 2 degrees. Locals can buy passes to use the pool so on a Saturday afternoon the pool was full with mostly locals. One large group (20-25) of kids in early 20s drinking and taking up a large area. People paying $250 a night to stay in the hotel can't find a lounger, chair, table, and can hardly get a drink. If you do order one via the 1-2 waiters that make their way around it takes over 20 minutes to have it delivered. Lastly, $15 for parking in Kansas City? Especially right across from The Plaza that is known for free parking? Kansas City is really lacking in upper-mid scale hotels and this one isn't worth it other than the location. 06 July 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Not up to Intercontinental standards We stayed here for a wedding weekend. The staff was pleasant. Door staff were very good. Desk staff were OK. Housekeeping was very good and helpful. Room was fine, but really- no shower cap? Inadequate towel bars. Coffee maker was fine. Only had glasses for bathroom- they make me nervous. Loads of hot water. Good shower. Exercise room has seen better days. There were no cups for water when I went. A few unripe oranges. Machines need maintenance. The pool was a disaster! Tried to go and it was completely overrun! I saw people letting non-guests in a side gate. The place was covered inch to inch with loud groups I am certain were not staying at the hotel. Some had their own coolers! Not an empty chair to be had. I took one look and left. Very disappointing. Good location for walking and shopping. 05 July 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Weekend My wife and I truly enjoyed our weekend stay at the Intercontinental in Kansas City. We stayed on the concierge level and had exceptional service beyond our expectations. 01 July 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by The good and the not so good We spent a weekend here recently and not everything was good. When the reservation was made months in advance we were assured we would have a room overlooking the pool. Well, that did not happen. We were assigned a room overlooking the plaza however, with a nice balcony so it was not a total disaster. Our room was not cleaned at all on Saturday and consequently we had to call housekeeping fot towels and coffee. My wife did not think the cleanliness of the room overall was that great. The good was a very nice pool and great service by the servers there. The room we had was spacious and the balcony was large enough we could at a small table on it and enjoy the great outdoors. Overall, for the price paid we think we will be staying elsewhere on our next K.C. visit. 01 July 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Outstanding Staff and Service I could not have been more impressed with the service received at the property. While areas of the hotel are in need of upkeep, the staff bent over backwards for even the smallest of requests. The location, and pool facilities are outstanding. I will certainly plan on staying at the Intercontinental during my next KC stay. 30 June 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Poor Service from Dining Outlet The hotel is nice enough, good pool and great location near The Plaza. The Concierge and front services were wonderful, kind and very helpful. If we had not eaten on property, we probably would have a glowing review. However, we dined at the Oak Room Restaurant for lunch and received very poor service. We stood at the host stand for a few minutes before a server looked at us confused and asked "do you need help with something?" Yes, we're at the host stand of a restaurant which generally implies we would like to be seated. Granted, we were coming from the pool so we were in pool coverups but there were other guests in casual clothes and coming from the pool as well so we didn't think we were inappropriate. We told the server we would like to sit outside for a bite and he said "ok" as he walked casually toward the door. Seeing all the menus at the host stand, I asked him if we should grab menus and he said "yeah." He told us to sit wherever so we sat ourselves and brought our own menus. Not the best first impression. Our server seemed overwhelmed despite there being 3 servers and a total of 6 tables after the lunch rush. We mentioned we were in a hurry so we could take the check when the food came. We waited 10 minutes to order, 25 minutes for our food and another 10 to close the check. We did say we were in a hurry, right? Also, I ordered a burger medium. It was well done - I guess that explains the 25 minutes for our food. 29 June 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by paper thin walls My room was on the second floor above the bar. It was INCREDIBLY loud each night, which made it difficult to not only fall asleep but remain asleep. It wasn't just noise, I could hear the words people were saying below me. No turn down service. Housekeeping did not come to my room Saturday until I called to request their service at 1pm. That is unacceptable. Nevada at the front desk was fabulous! 28 June 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Celebration weekend This again was a wonderful experience for our family. The staff was friendly and helpful in any needs we had. This is our favorite place to stay when visiting the Plaza. 23 June 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Horrible service We were driving on I 70 and I called the front desk and no one could give me directions on how to get to the hotel. We had to be passed around to multiple staff and then were not told specific right or left turns. Needless to say, it was very late when we arrived and the front desk was less than warm. When booking out stay, I was told something special would be done for us since it was our first time staying and there was nothing. We could barely get someone to show us how to get to our room. The room was great. I had emailed the conceierge, who had emailed me first asking if I had questions, and NEVER got a response back. 22 June 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Somewhat disappointed. Sadly, after staying here a few times before, we were somewhat disappointed this stay. The room we requested wasn't available, but they did their best to accommodate us. The breakfast buffet was not staffed well, it seemed to be organized chaos. And, the coffee cup wasn't clean and the cream curdled when poured into the coffee. We had to ask for silverware, coffee and juice. Fortunately, we had been comped breakfast, otherwise I would have asked for a refund. Also, there was way too much "rowdiness" until the early hours of the morning. Overall, we didn't get much sleep because of this. We haven't given up, we will go back again, I'm sure it will be better than this time. 21 June 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Not worth the price. The room was beautiful with a view of the plaza and your own private balcony. The staff on the other hand was very stand-offish. The hotel was nice but not worth the price. We were pretty much ignored by all the staff. We tried to do valet parking and the valet made no attempt to help us out of the card and take our car. So we decided to park ourselves. We were celebrating our anniversary and the person we did the reservation with said that she would make a note of us celebrating our anniversary. We checked in they didn't even mention it or say happy anniversary. So in summary if you want a beautiful, over-priced, room with little service then stay at the intercontinental hotel. 21 June 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Nice old hotel First visit to Intercontinental and I was moved by the feeling of old money. That being said, most of the hotel is updated and does not show its age. 2 challenges, could not connect xbox360 to television so bringing your own devices for play is not recommended and there were cob webs in one of the bathrooms so attention to detail on the cleanliness side could have been better. Every staff member I came in contact with was fantastic! 19 June 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Some good, some bad I stayed on the concierge floor with my family for 4 days. The pro was the lounge. If I do ever choose to stay here again, it will be because of that. The cons, however, were significant. Upon arrival, we began loading our luggage on a bell cart. An employee came over and took our things off of the cart, and said we couldn't take a bell cart by ourselves, and no bellman was available. Just like that.. he took it away. That left us to carry luggage for 4 people up by ourselves. The biggest con was the size of our room. We got a room smaller than advertised, and it was quite honestly the size of a closet. Enough room for a bed, dresser and desk, but no roll-away, couch or pack and play would fit. The bathroom could only accommodate one person at a time, and you had to walk into the bathroom all the way to be able to shut the door behind you. The door hit the toilet! These are things you would expect from economy hotels, but not IC. We have actually had much larger rooms for much less! Everything seemed to be a la carte here, which I also didn't appreciate, given the cost of our room. WiFi is outrageous expensive (and per device!), only pay-for-parking options.. I'm just surprised ice was free :) Our phone nor our TV worked upon arrival, and only the (very old!) TV was fixed. I would be hesitant to call this hotel "kid-friendly." Extremely limited channels, and only Cartoon Network for kids, which isn't suitable for younger ones. For one of the priciest hotels in town, we were disappointed. IC is a "pretender" in the luxury hotel market, or at least this one was. 19 June 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by I love the Concierge Floor I stay at the KC location every time because of the Concierge Floor. 18 June 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Security Staff Your security staff's behavior was irrepressible during my stay June 9-11.. Their attempt of keeping baseball players (Detroit Tigers) away from guests was a joke.. Your security staff was the problem and I witnessed colleagues and family members physically tossed out of the lobby bar for being too close to players while they were only trying to get a beverage... A piece of advise if you high dollar celebrities staying in your hotel, treat them as if they were leader of our country - MOVE THEM to your private bar on the roof away from the common folk don't put them on display in your lobby... Trust me I am not the only one of 140 people who attended this Annual conference and were very disappointed at the behavior out of your security staff... I will not be staying at your hotel in the future... 17 June 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great location and service We stayed for a Royals/Astros game. The room was nice, as expected, but the location was great----walking distance to shopping at the Plaza stores and restaurants. Had breakfast at the restaurant, overlooking the river and Plaza nearby--- beautiful view. (The food and service were great as well.) Parking was very reasonable, and easy to get and out of hotel. 14 June 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Poor staffing I had to wait over an hr until my room was ready when check is at 4pm and I didn't get checked in unitl 6:30pm 13 June 2013
<<prev 7 8 9 10 11 ... 13 next>>
Kansas City At The Plaza
  • 401 Ward Parkway
  • Kansas City , MO , 64112
  • United States
  • Front Desk +1-816-7561500

  • Driving Directions
  • Transportation
  • Parking
   

Languages spoken by staff

English, Spanish

Pet Policy

Small pets under 25 pounds are allowed with 25 dollar nonrefundable cleaning deposit. Pets left unattended must be in a kennel. Guest will be held responsible for noise or other complaints about their pet.
Pet Fee $25.00 per night
  • Local Time

    2:20 AM
    • CHECK-IN

      3:00 PM
    • CHECK-OUT

      12:00 PM Late Check out Available

    Currency

    • US Dollar $ (USD)

    Accessibility

    • Service animals allowed
    • 15 Room(s) with Accessibility Standards
    • Parking
    • Special Needs