Skip Navigation
  • English    English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • Sign In
  • 1 888 IC HOTELS
  • Book online or call:
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
  • 1 888 IC HOTELS
  • Book online or call:
 

Kansas City At The Plaza

Rated 4.1 out of 5 by 444 reviewers.
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great location Great location for getting to the downtown area, many restaurants and stores. Hotel is a bit tired and could use a facelift but it still has its charm and class. Room was a bit dusty and could use a good cleaning. The staff in the concierge lounge was super helpful and friendly . 07 December 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Service All staff provided great service, from valet, to check-in to bellmen. 06 December 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Wonderful, beautiful Kansas City Plaza Hotel Words can not express the wonderful memories of the KC Plaza Hotel with an gorgeous view of the Christmas lights outside the windows. The staff was excellent. We had my grand daughter's bridal luncheon in the Oak Room with overflow in main dining. The staff put fresh flowers on the tables and the food was so good and the staff made all feel so welcome. The hotel is so lovely. Once again, THANK YOU!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 04 December 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by What's the fuss? I spent the Saturday/Sunday after Thanksgiving at the Intercontinental. It is a beautiful hotel - very grand and luxurious in all the public areas. The staff is very friendly and helpful and gracious - from the front desk to the staff you meet in the elevator to the cleaning personnel in the hallways. We had a view of The Plaza from our room - which was gorgeous, even before they turned on the Christmas Lights. The Sunday Brunch in the Oak Room was to die for - vast in choices of food and everything I tried was delicious. So you definitely can make the Intercontinental your food and beverage spot of choice. Those are the Pros. The Cons: Our room was not ready when we arrived. I realize it was the weekend after Thanksgiving - but that's why you do staffing analysis. Everyone else in town is ramped up - why aren't you? We got a free drink (delicious margarita# and got to sit in the beautiful bar w/ our luggage - and a bunch of other very nice people whose rooms also weren't ready. Our room: a nice room overall - a bit small it seemed - but fine. But here's the thing. For the price/night of this room it should be better than Fine. I have stayed in more moderately priced hotels that had mini kitchens #sink, microwave, mini fridge# and a Jacuzzi in the room. I seriously don't even remember seeing an ice bucket in this room, let alone a mini fridge. Additionally the lighted makeup mirror in the bathroom did not light - so please cut the cord off so I at least think I'm getting a nice makeup mirror for my Four Star price tag. The bed was fine - the room was a comfortable temperature and we couldn't hear the neighbors. What we could and did hear was EVERYTHING that was going on in the hall. Doors, people, carts, herds of zebra #it seemed). Again - I have been in moderately priced hotels on the plaza where the sound is gone the minute you close the door. Conclusion: Beautiful public areas, perfect Plaza location, fabulous food and drink. But the room and the experience has been better at every other hotel I have stayed in on the Plaza and in Westport. 04 December 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Needs a little attention! Not much a review writer, but the deluxe rooms are getting a little tired and beat up. Stayed in room 161. The toilet was hard to flush, zero water pressure in the shower, door lock was inoperable, blankets were dirty and had to request a different one, the alarm was not un-set and woke us up at 6am, and the coffee cups were dirty. The overall feeling of the room was its about time for another remodel or refreshening. Love the hotel, staff is wonderful, but it's just time for some upgrades. 04 December 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Outstanding Way to Experience "The Plaza" in Kansas City If you're looking for a truly luxurious and pampered stay on the renowned Country Club Plaza in Kansas City look no further than the International Hotel on Ward Parkway. The hotel's beauty is only surpassed by the incredibly passionate manner in which each guest is served by an extraordinary staff. Make sure your stay includes a Friday night so you can enjoy the wonderful music and charm of the main lounge. 04 December 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Hotel Was Not Good Experience Room 831 right by a loud elevator shaft. Kept us up all night. I can not believe the room could not be insulated. We actually live in a Suburb of KC. I am really embarrassed for Kansas City that we do not have any 5 Star Hotels. Going to try Raphael next time. Have no idea if it would be any better. This hotel is old, outdated and rough. Too bad for KC. It becomes apparent why Ritz did not want this property. 03 December 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Service Fun times however very expensive. Nice hotel, but overpriced for the evening. Although, we will do it again. Angela does a good job with planning, call backs, and follow thru on commitments. 02 December 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by A favorite hotel, here's why We have stayed at the IC Kansas City many times and always enjoy it. Guest coordinator Angela M. is super helpful in arranging our family stays, and concierge Melanie goes out of her way to satisfy any desire and remembers preferences Views of the Plaza are lovely and the concierge lounge beats many others. 02 December 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by fabulous view of the plaza The most Memorable Experience and the entire staff just the best in the world when it comes to service 27 November 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Fantastic Hotel Love when I stay here. Almost 20 stays so far.... Great staff. Craig and Mel in the upstairs lounge are by far the best of the best! Thank you for making my stay so enjoyable. 23 November 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Memorable Experience What a beautiful facility. Our room was lovely with an amazing view of the Iconic Plaza lights shining below. Great location easy walk to shops and great restuarants. Every staff member was helpful and friendly...your Bellmen win the prize...they are awesome! Thank you to all of them. Only one small complaint, our room was located behind elevator... need soundproofing there. 20 November 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Convenient location, friendly courteous staff, quiet I would definitely rank the Intercontinental in my top 10 of favorite places I have stayed. It is in a great location - walking distance to lots of shops, restaurants, art museum, etc. All of the staff I encountered were helpful, extremely courteous and friendly. There were a lot of events happening in the hotel during my stay but the staff made me feel that I was the only one that was important to them - that is not easy to achieve across the board with all the employees who come in contact with customers - so great job on customer service training! I also enjoyed that, even though the hotel was busy, it was very quiet and relaxing. 14 November 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by NIce room and great location Enjoyed the stay the stay. Staff was friendly and the entertainment in the lounge was terrific. 13 November 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Love KC and the Inter-Contential Hotel Outstanding room, service, accommodations and staff! 12 November 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Wonderful view We has a fantastic time staying at your hotel again. The view from the room was so great with all of the autumn leaves. We will request the 11th floor when we return for another visit. thanks, cheryl 07 November 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great Stay but nightmare dinner in the restaurant . The accommodations, room, guest service, view of the Plaza and staff were the best. The room was quiet and we were able to rest without disturbance . However, our dinner experience was less than enjoyable. We had to make reservations later than we liked, at 9:00 pm because a party of 20 women were apparently taking over the main diningroom. We obliged and entered the diningroom at 9:00 as recommended. We had wanted a quite dinner so at least my husband and I could have a conversation. This did not happen. The group at the next table were rude, boisterous and had no respect for other customers. My husband complained about the noise to our server but nothing was done to get the "girls" under control. Finally my husband had to ask the table to lower their voices followed by the Manager showing up. I do have to say after the Manager failed to get control of the group, a member of the group came to our table to apologies . While this was a cordial attempt to repair the situation, our dinner was not enjoyable. In fact I could not eat. The bottom line is that no one wanted to manage the situation. We love the hotel but not this incident . 06 November 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Wonderful Anniversary My wife and I were married at the Intercontinental two years ago and we had planned to go back each year to spend the night there and remember our wedding night. The staff have really made sure that we've had a great time while being there. They upgraded our room for free and gave us concierge access to help make our anniversary more memorable. Everyone was friendly and polite and it really meant a lot to my wife and I. Cheers to the Intercontinental for another memorable wedding anniversary. 06 November 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by The Chiefs aren't the only unbeatable team in Kansas City... I was a guest of the Intercontinental Hotel for a Conference - and they could not have made it any more enjoyable. Food was served timely and hot. Rooms were immaculate and everything worked. I would whole heartedly recommend this hotel if you're in Kansas City. 31 October 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Place to stay in KC Hotel is comfortable, staff is excellent, and location next to the Plaza area is fabulous. 30 October 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent atmosphere. Great location. It was my first time at the Intercontinental, so I did not know what to expect. I had just come in from five days of hiking in the Rockies for a conference at UMKC. What a beautiful lobby! What impeccable service! What a beautiful view from the 11th floor! The concierge room was always staffed, the snacks and beverages hit the spot in the late evening, and the staff there was very kind and accommodating. I would definitely recommend this hotel. It is also very close to great restaurants, retail stores, bookstores, and theaters on the Plaza, all within walking distance. Very safe area. 29 October 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Expected a bit more than what I received Checking into my room took longer than expected - it may have been due to a high volume of people staying in the hotel due to a conference however I expected better planning on behalf of the hotel to accommodate the guest that were there for the conference. Next, I felt as though I could hear though walls. My neighbors weren't noisy but I could hear their every more! They hotel may want to consider additional instillation? I'm not sure. Lastly, a couple of complimentary bottles of water in my room would have been nice. I noticed there was coffee and tea in the lobby downstairs however I had to open the mini bar simply to quench my thirst after traveling a full day. 27 October 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by great time in KC The hotel was a wonderful facility. We had 2 bathrooms(!!) in our suite. Bed was super comfortable; bathrooms were large; separate sleeping and living areas and 2 tv's. Breakfasts were fantastic. Gym was more than most hotels provide. I highly recommend it. 23 October 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Fun stay We had a great time celebrating my fiancée's birthday. The lounge and bar was fun and the music was great. Very nice room and very comfortable bed. You have an employee named Kent that works in the concierge lounge who is the most hospitable, gracious person I have ever encountered. The rooms however, were pretty pricey. 23 October 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Paying for the view .... Old hotel Food is mediocre at best. We ate breakfast off the menu Sunday morning before checkout and had to send sausage back that came out cold and barely cooked. 23 October 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great customer service Nice clean hotel, great staff! Would recommend updating bathrooms for the price range. 23 October 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Staff and Service OMG from Ed at the door to Katrina at the front desk, and then back to Ed at departure, with whole lot of others in between, we had a three room party! WHAT A GREAT STAFF!!!!! 22 October 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Great location, poor front desk staff I stay here for all the Chiefs home games, and for the most part I love it. My only complaint, every time, is the front desk staff. I never get any of the ambassador benefits unless I ask multiple times and they always treat my family poorly. Its unfortunate, such a great location and drive staff. 22 October 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Nice hotel, with issues Overall, a nice hotel, but a few issues. The room was nice, though the bathroom could use some new paint, and more importantly, was not well cleaned upon our arrival. There were hairs in the bathtub and the toilet was dirty under the seat. Second issue, Room Service called our room at 6:30 am to inquire as to our preference for eggs even though we never ordered any and Housekeeping knocked on our door at 8:49 am for service even though we never requested any. This was on a Saturday morning and both instances woke us up. We complained to the Front Desk, who were apologetic and provided us access to the Club, which was appreciated and very nice. Our final bill showed a Room Service charge for the eggs we never ordered nor received as well as internet service that was supposed to be free for IHG members. Both we subsequently removed. 17 October 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable but pricey Staff was exceptional and room provided a good balcony view, however, was a little disappointing with the overall room vs price. Marble bathroom was nice but comparable rooms at Holiday Inn for about 1/3 the cost make it a little hard to justify re-booking this hotel. Overall, it was a relaxing stay coming in off an international flight but the size of the room vs the price was disappointing. Adding a bottle of Dom Pérignon and room service dinner was good but very pricey for the quality and experience. Would recommend utilizing some of the 5 star restaurants in KC and pocketing the change. 14 October 2013
<<prev 7 8 9 10 11 ... 16 next>>
Kansas City At The Plaza
  • 401 Ward Parkway
  • Kansas City , MO , 64112
  • United States
  • Front Desk +1-816-7561500

  • Driving Directions
  • Transportation
  • Parking
   

Languages spoken by staff

English, Spanish

Pet Policy

Small pets under 25 pounds are allowed with 25 dollar nonrefundable cleaning deposit. Pets left unattended must be in a kennel. Guest will be held responsible for noise or other complaints about their pet.
Pet Fee $25.00 per night
  • Local Time

    7:21 PM
    • CHECK-IN

      4:00 PM
    • CHECK-OUT

      11:00 AM Late Check out Available

    Currency

    • US Dollar $ (USD)

    Accessibility

    • Service animals allowed
    • 15 Room(s) with Accessibility Standards
    • Parking
    • Special Needs