Your session will expire in 5 minutes, 0 seconds, due to inactivity. Stay Logged In
Create PIN
All fields are required
If you joined IHG® Rewards Club at a hotel, then you will need to create a 4-digit PIN in order to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
Unexpected Server Error
Your session has expired. Please sign in to your profile
We are sorry, our system is temporarily unavailable. Please try again later or contact the IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care Centre for assistance.
The 4-digit numbers entered must match.
Forgot PIN?
All fields are required
Unexpected Server Error
Your session has expired. Please sign in to your profile
We are sorry, our system is temporarily unavailable. Please try again later or contact the IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care Centre for assistance.
Don't have an email address in your profile?

Contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address via www.ihg.com/updateemail.

InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto

Book Now
MoreFewer Options

* Required Field

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Manage A Reservation
Need to make changes to your reservation? You've come to the right place!
Already an IHG® Rewards Club Member? to view reservations.
View This Reservation

* Required Field

Manage A Reservation
Need to make changes to your reservation? You've come to the right place!
Already an IHG® Rewards Club Member? to view reservations.
View This Reservation

* Required Field

Hotel Reviews for InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto
Guest Reviews
Each review and rating that we receive is verified to ensure that we only display information provided by guests who have actually stayed in the hotel.
91%
Recommend This Property

Overall Experience

4,4

based on 989 reviews
91%
Recommend This Property

Ratings Breakdown

989reviews

  • 5 Stars
    663
  • 4 Stars
    190
  • 3 Stars
    77
  • 2 Stars
    32
  • 1 Stars
    27

Good location

By

15. April 2016

Near central, the buildings are wonderful. And staffs are very nice. But no welcome gift for platinum ambassador, only two bottles of water. I like the Bose system in room. But there is no tub for King executive room in level 8. And why my stay is non-qualified showed on my iPhone app?

Read More
Read Less

Excellent all round experience

By

12. April 2016

Excellent position for visiting all areas of the city. Peaceful surroundings and very cindusive to a relaxing visit

Posted byHotelStaff
19. April 2016
Dear gaser54, Thank you so much for sharing the kind review from your recent stay with us in Melbourne. I am so pleased to hear that you enjoyed our hotel. Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback. I hope that we might have the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel again soon. Kind regards, James Ridenour Chef Concierge james.ridenour@ihg.com +61 3 8627 1473
Read More
Read Less

Great Hotel

By

11. April 2016

Great hotel in a splendid building.
A pity road work begin early in the morning...

Posted byHotelStaff
15. April 2016
Dear Pierre Chateau, Thank you so much for sharing the kind review from your recent stay with us in Melbourne. I am so pleased to hear that you enjoyed staying and our heritage building however I am sorry to hear about the noise with the road works. I hope that we might have the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel again soon. Kind regards, Kishor Narayanamurthi Rooms Division Manager
Read More
Read Less

Fantastic service from start to finish

By

08. April 2016

From the moment we arrived through to the moment we departed, we were treated like ambassadors.
After having fought the infamous Melbourne peak-hour traffic and silly hook-turns, I finally arrived at the hotel after a long day of driving. Greeted outside the hotel by the bellman, our bags were car and bags were promptly taken care of. We were escorted directly to the priority check in counter where we were welcomed to the hotel by Cate. Everything during check-in went like clockwork. My IHG Platinum Elite and Ambassador Status were fully recognised and my conversation felt truly genuine (as opposed to being scripted in some other hotels).
It was my first time at the Intercontinental Melbourne – The Rialto, so I did not really know the hotel very well. I was booked into a Junior Suite and was offered club intercontinental access. I had my wife and 4 year old son with me at the time and I joked about how he doesn’t look quite old enough to enter the club lounge in the evening (The club lounge at this property restricts access for children after 5pm). Before I even had the chance to ask, Cate produced two vouchers and explained that I can still take advantage of the Club intercontinental canapé service by presenting these vouchers in a more family friendly environment at the hotel restaurant instead.
What a fantastic idea! While this is not the first time I have experienced a hotel club lounge restricting access for children in the evening, it is the first one that has worked out a solution so families with children are not disadvantaged from the rule. Understandably the “no children” policy is a result of extensive guest feedback. However given the opportunity though, I would have loved to try out the Club lounge myself. The Junior Suite is a lovely room. It contains a large King-sized bed, with an open plan lounge area and work space. There was plenty of extra space to put a baby cot for our little boy as well. The IBahn entertainment system was crisp and clear and the internet speed was reasonably fast at around 10 Mbps.
The Amenities kit was nice touch and the walk-in wardrobe continued to tick all the boxes. The shower head was the “rain shower” type – delivering a nice strong even water pressure… then drying off to the large soft and fluffy Intercontinental bath towels.
There are some more minor details that detracted this from being rated a perfect stay. The TV screen was somewhat small (27” or 32”) when you consider the size of this room. The air conditioner did not seem to work very well. Although we had set the thermostat to 20 degrees C, the room didn’t appear to cool at all. It wasn’t until I set the thermostat to 16 degrees C and left it at that overnight before the room finally started to cool down. The DND LED light (inside the room) on the switch itself didn’t seem to work. The mattress seemed a little worn. Normally I would jump into bed and fall asleep, however I found myself trying to relax, wondering why the mattress didn't feel right. I really hope the hotel addresses these issues as it was almost a perfect stay. The service was perfect, but often it is the minor details that let it down.
When it comes to Intercontinental, it is always the service and personal attention that it does really well. I highly recommend this hotel to anyone looking to be treated as a person and not just a number.

Read More
Read Less

LAST MINUTE DECISION - AND A GOOD ONE

By

07. April 2016

Great stay at the Inter Continental Rialto over the Easter break, staff were lovely, great breakfast and the hotel itself is filled with character, being an old historic building. I will definitely stay again on our next trip to Melbourne.

Posted byHotelStaff
10. April 2016
Dear GinaB29 , Thank you so much for sharing the kind review from your recent stay with us in Melbourne. I am so pleased to hear that you enjoyed the service our staff provided and our historic building . I hope that we might have the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel again soon. Kind regards, Kishor Narayanamurthi Rooms Division Manager
Read More
Read Less

Fabulous Hotel with great history

By

07. April 2016

platinumelite

Wonderful location, fabulous staff and amazing architecture. Would definitely stay there again.

Read More
Read Less

Comfortable bed

By

06. April 2016

club

I loved the experience, large room, bed was very comfortable and tv service was great.

Posted byHotelStaff
10. April 2016
Dear Yaggee, Thank you so much for sharing the kind review from your recent stay with us in Melbourne. I am so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your room and room facilities. I hope that we might have the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel again soon. Kind regards, Kishor Narayanamurthi Rooms Division Manager
Read More
Read Less

Great Stay

By

04. April 2016

The hotel was a great location for holding our training class. They also accommodated our team and out of town travelers. Very nice experience for business.

Posted byHotelStaff
10. April 2016
Dear , Thank you so much for sharing the kind review from your recent stay with us in Melbourne. I am so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your business trip stay. I hope that we might have the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel again soon. Kind regards, Kishor Narayanamurthi Rooms Division Manager
Read More
Read Less

Good option for Melbourne

By

04. April 2016

I stayed in a Junior suite, which was nicely appointed with a massive bathroom and a whirlpool bath, but it's a push to call it a suite... it was just a larger room. It' also had a Nespresso machine and big, comfy bed.

The exec. lounge was great - they provided an excellent breakfast, sandwiches in the afternoon and canapés in the evening. I enjoyed my time there a lot, including helpful staff.

Positives:
- Good food / lounge
- Nicely appointed room, with decent bathroom amenities
- Lovely pool (although the loose lights and wiring coming out of the pool walls scared me somewhat - please repair this!)
- Good location from which to get around the city
- Super comfy bed
- Given early check-in - thank you!

Negatives
- Internet was very poor / slow - almost impossible to achieve anything online
- Not given Spire check-in gift (drink) on check-in... had to go back and ask for it
- Ambassador 'gift' was just three rather miserable looking apples plonked on a plate and nothing else... very different to what I have experienced / received in other IC hotels
- Bathroom was not particularly clean when I arrived

Posted byHotelStaff
10. April 2016
Dear Irons1980, Thank you so much for sharing your review from your recent stay with us in Melbourne. I am so sorry to hear that you encountered difficulties with your stay. If you would like to contact me I would be happy to review the issues you encountered during your stay and ensure you next stay goes without incident. Kind regards, Kishor Narayanamurthi Rooms Division Manager
Read More
Read Less

Bed and sleep

By

04. April 2016

club

The pillows were extremely uncomfortable and when I called to asked for a different pillow I was advised that none were avaible. I have stayed in many hotels and never had such a restless sleep as my wife and I experienced during this stay, I am not sure if it was due to the pillows or the bed.. but it was very unsual. Also the rooms do not differ at all even when we upgraded to the executive room - only a coffee machine was the difference which we did not use.

Posted byHotelStaff
10. April 2016
Dear Mr Johnnyp90, Thank you so much for sharing your review from your recent stay with us in Melbourne. I am so sorry to hear that you encountered difficulties with your stay. If you would like to contact me I would be happy to review the issues you encountered during your stay and ensure you next stay goes without incident. Kind regards, Kishor Narayanamurthi Rooms Division Manager
Read More
Read Less

Not up to expectations

By

31. März 2016

platinumelite

I was very disappointed by the service I received once I had advised the front desk of certain issues within our Junior Suite. Most of the issues were not addressed at all during our four day stay even after being advised that they would be attended to straight away. If not for the very friendly staff in the restaurant during breakfast time, the whole stay at the Rialto would not have been worthwhile. This is not the normal level of service that I have come to expect from this hotel as we have stayed here on numerous occasions over the years. The limousine service from and to the airport is very worthwhile especially if arriving late at night.

Posted byHotelStaff
03. April 2016
Dear Hales57, Thank you so much for sharing your review from your recent stay with us in Melbourne. I am so sorry to hear that you encountered difficulties with your suite and our team's ability to assist once your noted there was a problem. I am pleased that you enjoyed the service from our restaurant team. I would be happy to review your comments with you so that I can better understand your concerns. Please feel free to contact me in order to set up a time to review your feedback. We are in the process of retraining our team on problem resolution and your feedback would be very valuable. Again I am sorry we did not meet your expectations. Kind regards, James Ridenour Chef Concierge james.ridenour@ihg.com +61 3 8627 1473
Read More
Read Less

Signature hotel in Melbourne

By

31. März 2016

This was our first time staying at the InterContinental Rialto in Melbourne, and we both enjoyed the experience very much. The bed was comfortable and everything was up to the standard you expect from such a hotel. It is located in an iconic building on Collins Street, towards the Docklands end. Haven't stayed in that part of the city before, but we really appreciated being near the legal precinct and the different laneways. We walked pretty much everywhere. The tram stop is very close and the free zone is a great idea.
The bar food was nice and my husband, being a non-drinker, appreciated the availability of mocktails.
Frankly, we don't travel a huge amount, but when we do we like to do so in comfort and enjoy the benefits of the Ambassador program.

Posted byHotelStaff
03. April 2016
Dear cryptic_p, Thank you so much for sharing the kind review from your recent stay with us in Melbourne. I am so pleased to hear that you enjoyed our hotel's location and our food and beverage offering. I am also pleased that you find great value in our Ambassador program. I hope that we might have the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel again soon. Kind regards, James Ridenour Chef Concierge james.ridenour@ihg.com +61 3 8627 1473
Read More
Read Less