Skip Navigation
  • English    English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • Sign In
  • 1 888 IC HOTELS
  • Book online or call:
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
  • 1 888 IC HOTELS
  • Book online or call:
 

Melbourne The Rialto

Rated 4.5 out of 5 by 451 reviewers.
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Too easy Terrific staff, great location and comfortable rooms (not to mention the beautiful architecture). I was only there for the night on the latest trip but will definitely be back. 01 September 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great service and location The service at the Intercontinental was outstanding on every occasion. The rooms were a little underwhelming for what we expected. They were still lovely with very comfy beds, nice shower etc, but were somewhat small and the windows face into the atrium/restaurants. They were also very soundproof. So nice, but not quite what we expected. Location was great and was walking distance to everything. Gym was well appointed and spa/pool was nice. Pool could have been a few degrees warmer for a Melbourne winter! Would be back however as it was a nice stay overall. 01 September 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Fantastic place This is a fantastic hotel. All the things you expect from a 5 star venue. And everything worked! Well appointed 29 August 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Weekend Bliss ! Thank you for making our weekend away utter bliss ..! From the great package rate we received, to the excellent service by staff, to a lavish room ... we were most impressed esp not having stayed at any of The Intercontental Hotels before ... We were blown away by the electronic blinds in the rooms, the comfort of the bed and marble bathrooms .. Not to mention the feast we received for breakfast .. Thank you for making our time most enjoyable, it was surely a memorable experience for us both. 29 August 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Beautiful Hotel I was very happy with the hotel on the first two night. On our third night i was awoken but a loud noise. I would descibe it as plumbing noises which were so loud i found it difficult to get back to sleep. Upon check out i paid and i was told the EFT machine was down so my card needed to be swipped again, Thinking nothing of it, i agreed. 5 days later checking my bank statement i had been double charged. I rung the hotel on the Sunday and explained what had happened and was told there was nothing on my card and they would get back to me as the finance team doesn't work weekends (Which i understand). I then heard nothing by 3pm the next day and called back. The lady on the desk apologised as my call had not been noted and advised someone would get back to me. I then had to ring for the third time and was told the refund was going to be put through. I then had a phone call on Thursday to say they were having trouble putting this money back into my debit card and i gave them a an alternate card which it was then refunded but was told it would take 7-10 days 28 August 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 Mixed experience Positives: - good polite staff - great breakfast - room smelt great Poor: - No bath in room / just shower - TV channels / menu slow and cumbersome - Front desk / Concierge couldn't recommend a jogging track outside - Surcharge for using a credit card is mad in today's world 25 August 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Consistent with expectation Have stayed here before and this time didn't disappoint either. Staff are friendly and room was very comfortable and clean. Enjoyed a lovely buffet breakfast and an afternoon snack in the wine lounge. Location wise it is not as convenient as some of the other five star hotels in the "Paris" end of Collins Street and arguably some of the nearby streets are not those I would chose to walk along alone at night. But taxis are nearby and not that expensive and there is a tram stop nearby. Looking forward to coming back for a "club room experience". This review will come through as a four star but it really should be 4 1/2. 22 August 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Shoe box sized room Stayed two nights in a queen rialto room at Intercontinental Melbourne earlier this month. Felt claustrophobic during the night in the shoe box sized room and bed. Asked to change the room but not offered an upgrade or paying for a alternative due to the hotel being fully booked both nights. Would not recommend. 22 August 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Exceptional Customer Service I find the staff at the Rialto fantastic they always are attentive to guest needs and deliver great service consistently. 21 August 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Customer Service My husband & I stayed for a long weekend and were really impressed with all the staff. Everyone was really friendly, helpful and couldn't do enough. Our room was lovely too. We would recommend this hotel to everyone. 21 August 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Lovely, relaxing weekend We had a lovely mother daughter weekend in a twin room. Room wasnt huge but very comfortable. Loved the pool area and the breakfast. Concierge so fantastic, knew whatever we needed or looked it up quickly. Very friendly and helpful. Only negative is no bath in the room. Never understand why good hotels dont have baths as standard in all rooms. Would stay again. 16 August 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great service Got a free upgrade for birthday. Beautiful hotel with friendly staff. 15 August 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 No privacy, windows face the inside of the hotel. Premium rooms have more windows!!!! No privacy, windows face the inside of the hotel. Premium rooms have more windows!!!! 13 August 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Very ordinary experience from the staff Staff: I travel to Melbourne regularly for business. Despite being a frequent guest (for several months), the front desk receptionist had no recognition of me (even though she checked me in/out on several occasions). The front doorman in the morning is very friendly and remembered my name after asking me once. The evening doorman is less friendly. Room service: if you order this early (ie before 7pm) you will get your food delivered very quickly. If you order during peak service, your food will come up lukewarm which is bad news if fries are involved. The $6 room service charge is also excessive (esp if the food comes up lukewarm). Restaurant: Alluvial offers delicious food but once again, the few times I have visited, the food took an extremely long time to arrive, but at least it was still hot when it arrived at my table. Housekeeping: usually pretty good (probably 8/10). They offer a turn-down service, which i did not request, although they insisted I did. They left a note under my door because I had the "Do not disturb" light on but then they called my room to insist, almost in an accusatory way, that I had requested the service. When I insisted that I did not, the man who called me sounded like he thought I was lying. Not impressed! Priority club: I signed up on my first visit but never received my membership pack. I elected to earn FF points but when I asked the front desk staff to change this to earning hotel points, I was given a 1800 number to call to do this myself. When I called the number, it went to an Indian call centre. I was put through to 3 different people, each time having to explain that I simply wanted to change my preference. Finally the 3rd person told me to call the Priority Club directly. I told her I did. She gave me a different 1-800 number which was a US number (one digit longer than Australian 1800 numbers). When I insisted that it would not be a freecall from Australia, she insisted that it would work all over the world, again in a tone as if I was lying. Overall, the hotel room itself is comfortable and the location is suitable for business and leisure, but I expected more for the name and the price. 12 August 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Service The service at this hotel was exceptional , its not often you can say that !!!! Great hotel and location for the business traveller , but even holidaying its still very convenient , My husband joined me half way through my stay and I felt very safe and well looked after as a female traveling alone . Thank you for making my stay in Melbourne very enjoyable. 12 August 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by BEST SLEEP IN EVER!! the most comfortable bed we have ever slept in great location wonderful hospitality 11 August 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by InterContinental Hotel accommodation was very good and the central Melbourne location is excellent but recommend you try to avoid arriving at the hotel in morning or evening peak hour. Rooms were of a high standard and very well kept. Front desk staff were extremely helpful and efficient. Valet service was a bit slow - not sure where they park the cars but seemed to take a long time to get your car delivered to front of hotel. I would stay there again. 11 August 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent stay From the moment we got there the staff were extremely friendly and willing to to help. Being an Ambassador we were on the dedicated Ambassador level. The king size bed was extremely comfortable. Very impressed with one of the porters who remembered my name 2 days later upon checking out which surprised me which is a rarity when it comes to service these days! The only area which could have been improved for us would have been the concierge . My partner and I were a little bit surprised by the experience, we asked for a restaurant recommendation and there was no willingness to help. Other then that perfect stay. Would highly recommend it and will definitely be back. 10 August 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Wonderful service We stayed 3 night with 3 children and all enjoyed our stay. The rooms were comfortable and clean and spacious. The buffet breakfast was probably the best we have ever had, especially the juice bar! The concierge was always very helpful especially as my 1 child got sick and they helped contact the doctor and everyone seemed really concerned and asked after her. Thank you! We would definitely stay there again next time we go to Melbourne! 01 August 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by s MelBourne stay My only choice of hotel when staying in Melbourne is The Rialto and that of course means it provides what I am looking for, comfort and service, or I would go elsewhere. My room preference is away from lifts and as high as possible. This was overlooked last week and I was assigned a room next to the lift which caused me to seek a change in room. My complaint was dealt with and I enjoyed the room that I was given. It was just such a waste of time. We are booked in for September and December so look forward to our stay with you then. 31 July 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by A warm welcome that sparkled throughout the stay Gorgeous room with all the service and warm welcome to match. The attention to detail will have me repeat booking, once is just not enough! 28 July 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great location, very comfortable hotel We stayed with our 2x daughters at short notice after a flight cancellation. Staff could not have been more welcoming.The late check-out was valuable. The beds were very comfortable and the products available at the minibar were above average. Our only negative comment would be that leaf tea for breakfast would be nice ! 26 July 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Memorable visit We telephone ahead for a reservation, and upon check in were greeted by the duty manager. We had very specific room requirements, and he professionally, and quickly managed to provide a room that satisfied our criteria. He was caring and sincere, and worked very hard to try to provide to our specific requests. 10/10 for his customer care. The room was elegant and beautiful. Spotlessly clean, full of everything that you could need, and the bed was extremely comfortable. An absolute must..!! We had recently stayed at another motel, and the bed was terrible. We woke with back ache and a bad sleep. The king club was welcoming and the service was terrific. We had a delcious breakfast. We then had a swim in the pool and a soak in the spa. A fantastic way to wind down after a terrific stay. All in all, our stay was seamless, beautiful, elegant very comfortable and very friendly. We loved every minute of it, and highly recomend as a great place to stay. 25 July 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Amazing accommodation and fantastic staff we stayed for 6 nights and were treated to a wonderful experience in a beautifully restored hotel in central melbourne. Close to all amenities and a tram stop right outside, this place had it all. Club lounge is a fantastic service experience and made the stay even more memorable. All staff were friendly and helpful and would go above and beyond to make our stay comfortable. A huge thank you to all the team for making our escape relaxing and very enjoyable. The hotel is wonderfully adorned with furnishings and decor, history and a modern comfort. 16 July 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Best beds & fantastic location We always stay at the Intercontinental Melbourne on our yearly weekend getaway.. This year I phoned reservations as I always do & was quoted a price (they were matching an email I had received) however upon arrival in Melbourne I was told they could not honour the price I was given. I was cranky to say they least, but what they could do was offer us 10% off the current nightly rate. I'm very dissapointed this happend as you rely on information you are given to budget etc for your trip. Other than this our stay was as delightful as ever, beds are most comfortable, concierge extremely helpful & the Hotel overall is very impressive!! 14 July 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Room not practical and good service The cabinet in Joiner suit was not practical in terms of very minimum to minimum drawers and cabinets for 2 guests. Also, the rest room design was not practical which the usage uncomfortable, e.g. washing basin was too small for the water tap as well as the bath water tab was not practical. Additionally, the house keeping services such as turndown service was made for 1 guest not for 2 guests because the reservation system showed 1 guest only, although the reservation was booked for 2 guests. I have also informed this to the reception while checking out. Regarding the services, in general it was good such us in room dining, room service and reception people were friendly and helpful. Lastly, during my checking in I was not recognised as an ambassador customer. 13 July 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Hotel, Great Location The staff were helpful and friendly. The hotel is in a great location for walking to the museums and galleries and to Federation Square. The only complaint I have is our stay was too short! Excellent Experience! 27 June 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Consistent exceptional experience Kishor and the guest experience team always make my stay a memorable experience. I always know what to expect when I go to the Rialto and I base my opinion of other hotels on the way I am treated here. The rooms are spacious and comfortable, quiet and dark and the Club Lounge is a cosy retreat after a long day. The Rialto is my "home away from home" and when travelling its great to be able to know what to expect at night. 26 June 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great hotel in the heart of Melbourne My experience with the Rialto last week both as a hotel and a venue for our conference was excellent, the staff were fantastic which ensured our conference was a success. Great feedback form our customers. Thank you to Stan and his staff for their support . 24 June 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Tuz What a great experience we enjoyed every aspect of our stay. The concierge and staff were willing and able to handle any and all enquiries with a genuine warmth. The old building and renovations are awesome. 18 June 2013
<<prev 11 12 13 14 15 16 next>>
Melbourne The Rialto
  • 495 Collins Street
  • Melbourne , 3000
  • Australia
  • Front Desk +61-3-86271400

  • Driving Directions
  • Transportation
  • Parking
   

Languages spoken by staff

German, Greek, English, Spanish, French, Hindi, Indonesian, Italian, Japanese, Korean, Punjabi, Portuguese, Slovak, Turkish, Chinese

Pet Policy

Guide dogs or service animals allowed
  • Local Time

    3:18 PM
    • CHECK-IN

      3:00 PM
    • CHECK-OUT

      11:00 AM Late Check out Available

    Currency

    • Australian Dollar $ (AUD)

    Accessibility

    • Service animals allowed
    • 4 Room(s) with Accessibility Standards
    • Parking