Skip Navigation
  • English    English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • Sign In
  • 1 888 IC HOTELS
  • Book online or call:
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
  • 1 888 IC HOTELS
  • Book online or call:
 

Melbourne The Rialto

Rated 4.5 out of 5 by 473 reviewers.
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent service, very enjoyable stay! We had a fantastic stay at hotel, staff were very helpful. Had a High Coffee at bar,recommended by a staff member. First time, it was delicious, will be having another when staying again. Love the beds and pillows are so comfortable, especially after long day of shopping!!! We will hopefully say longer next visit as we really enjoy the experience!!!!!!!!! 19 May 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Enjoyable stay We had a very enjoyable stay. All staff were helpful and friendly and the room well appointed. A downside was that the view from the window was back down into the hotel lobby, not out to the street. The buffet breakfast was great, though lacked a little of the variety of the buffet in the Sydney hotel during a recent stay. The temperature in the room was hard to control and was too warm over all. 17 May 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Central precinct and memorable service WOW, it was nice to stay in a leading hotel where 5 star is backed up with helpful, great customer service. My wife and 2 children also felt the warmth that the staff offer in this hotel. The intercontinental is a beautiful architectural building and if in Melbourne again, we would defiantly stay here again. 14 May 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Wonderful mother & Daughter weekend in Melbourne My mother & I recently enjoyed a fabulous weekend in Melbourne staying at the Intercontinental Rialto. We are both Ambassador Club members and I used my free weekend night voucher for this stay. The staff knew we were enjoying a special mother/daughter weekend following my wedding a few months ago and everyone went out of their way to ensure we had a really special time. We were up-graded to a lovely suite and enjoyed the comfort and service of the hotel. Thanks to all there. We are planning a return weekend in September. 30 April 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Memorable stay Glad I decided to upgrade, with access to Club Carlson room, wifi and breakfast. Best value! Staff was courteous and professional, answering all questions. 25 April 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Continues to get better The Rialto is one of my favourite Melbourne hotels. It has always been very good, but since the recent renovations it is even better. The staff were extremely attentive and went out of their way to make our stay as pleasurable as possible. The Hotel is excellent value for money and the amenities are first class. I will definitely be going back for another stay. 25 April 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Once again, the Intercontinental provides a great exprience There have been a few changes to the Intercontinental since our last visit. Some changes to the Club Lounge with a larger range of drink options and the ability to have breakfast in the lounge or at Alluvial (restaurant), which were overall improvements. Overall a great experience with the staff (especially Kishor and Yiru) doing more than enough to look after us. 21 April 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Lacks atmosphere I booked the Rialto Club Room for a surprise wedding anniversary adventure for my husband. The hotel looks lovely (albeit dark inside) and the room was nicely presented. It was handy access to the Club Lounge on the same floor. The place seems to lack atmosphere however. The staff (with the exception of the door man) lacked warmth. They did their job but with too much coldness in my opinion. We decided against eating in the hotel restaurant simply because there was no one else around so headed out for a great night over at Southbank - 5 minutes walk away. Nespresso machine in the room was a nice touch but the room was too hot overnight and I couldn't turn down the temperature. The bed was comfortable though. I made special mention of our occasion when booking and would have appreciated a little fuss...a simple acknowledgement by reception staff on our check-in would have sufficed. It was worth trying somewhere new for a quick luxury get-away and I'm not sorry we stayed at the Rialto - just for the change of scenery. 19 April 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Experience could have been better As a family who likes to stay in hotels (crown complex)during school holidays. We made a decision to stay for a night at a different hotel. I was very disappointed we were overcharged for both hotel stay and breakfast. 19 April 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great staff, room and service. I've stayed in the Hotel twice in the past 10 days, and I have to say I'm blown away with level of recognition you get if your a Priority Club Member. I was offered an upgrade both times, with one of them being for free. I really appreciate the way Intercontinental takes care of their customers. The food is excellent as always. If I can recommend anything, it would be the scallops. Even though I was traveling for work, I feel like I can always switch off. 18 April 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Changes not for the better This was my fourth stay at this hotel, and although a great location and very nice rooms for the city I was dissapointed at some changes made as well as the staff response / support. As a gold Ambassador member I have become accustom to various benefits, one of which is a complimentary room upgrade. Upon check in I was told that I was 'upgraded' however the room I was given was the smallest by far of any of the previous three stays #all of which were booked the same#. The room was still nice but much smaller and compact especially the bathroom. I thought I would check at the desk and just see what exactly was meant by 'an upgrade' when such a considerably smaller room was given. The desk agent informed me that 'no sir in fact I had been upgraded, and the hotel had recently changed there classifications creating this class of room as the upgrade - because I got a robe and toiletries" I know this sounds petty, however I find it hard to imagine that a room smaller than any previously stayed in was actually an upgrade (a bit of manipulative marketing for sure) After all I pay for the Ambassador staus annually to ensure the best service possible. Furthermore when I mentoned that my room was also directly under the fitness center and quite noisy (so could I please be moved if something else were to open up) - I was told 'only if I want to pay for an additional upgrade". (Not what I consider customer service.) Bottom line is I like the hotel and the location, and up until this visit the service has been exceptional - My company prefers I stay at the crown, but because of past experiences have chosen the Intercontinental. I write this review in hopes that the staff and management will reconsider their marketing policies and learn from a poor CS experience 15 April 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Mini break Just back from a fabulous mini break. The staff were excellent! Location for a leisure stay was ideal. 15 April 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great service and Comfortable It is excellent to stay in this hotel that is really modern, good location, great service, comfortable bed, light and clear room. 15 April 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by fantastic room & club lounge facilities We recently stayed at the Rialto for 2 nights and as a Platinum Ambassador we were made to feel very welcome by most of the staff in particular the young man at the front door was delightful and assisted us in hailing a taxi to take us on a short ride which 5 previous taxis would not oblige. we are looking forward to our return stay at the IHG Rialto. The club lounge was excellant I only wish they served my favorite drink "ouzo" which IHG Adelaide always make sure is available when I come to stay however Rialto politely advised me this was not available in the club lounge it was a shame! 14 April 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent as always Our favourite hotel in Melbourne. As always excellent service and always treated so warmly. 13 April 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great service but it's too dry in the room Overall it's a great hotel. Nice breakfast. comfy room. Excellent service. The only thing that lower the sleep quality is the dry up system in the toilet that makes the whole room very dry. I understand you need that to keep the bathroom dry but this is very uncomfy. 11 April 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Poor communication I am a gold ambassador member and booked the hotel room using points. I may be wrong but I consider using points the same as using money. When I checked in I was brusquely told that the terms had changed and I was not eligible for an upgrade. If I had known this prior to booking I would have paid for the room rather than use points. In addition, services like wifi were not complimentary with the booking. I then get to my room and receive a letter from management thanking me for my support and saying I am eligible for an upgrade!!! During my stay I wrote an email on the Priority Club website and have received no response. All in all the poor communication has been very disappointing. I still recommend the property as I like the property, just not the reception. AH 09 April 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable hotel in good location. An ok stay but a few things annoy me about this hotel considering the high rate comparative to others in the market. - instant service hot line is nothing close to instant. Both times I called this extension the phone went to an on hold message for over ten minutes! - asked for a newspaper but did not receive it - room service dinner was appalling and the presentation and standard is inconsistent between stays. Eg the burger and the rock n roll salad were very different this time around Porter and concierge service is always consistent and of high quality for an Australian hotel 02 April 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Service and a great location Staff were excellent from checkin to check out - extremely helpful location was great and rooms were excellent 28 March 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Best Hotel in Australia Of all the Hotels we have stayed in around Australia this is by far the best Hotel in Australia.From the General Manager down all were so helpful and passionate about the Hotel and the InterContinental name. All requests were made with ease , Hotel was spotless,rooms were lovely Resturants excellant and the Club Lounge with afternoon tea and drinks and canapes in the evening was a quiet sanctuary away from the busy world outside.We have never been to a Hotel as I said before where all staff were so Helpful I would truly recommend this Hotel to anyone and we will definately return.Thankyou and Well Done to all the Team at The InterContinental Rialto Melbourne. 25 March 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Lovely Hotel Lovely Hotel and great service but we found the menu to be quite limited in the foyer restaurant (we ended up just having a drink and eating elsewhere). Service was lovely and location central. I also thought the spa was a little basic. 20 March 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Not a Good Start We checked in at 11am and was assured the cot and extra bed for children would be delivered within the hour. Two phone calls later plus one trip down to reception and the cot and bed were finally delivered at 5pm. Airconditioning in the room didn't work which meant changing rooms which was fine as it was during the heatwave. We went up to the Intercontinential Club once only and found the staff member there extremely rude. Asking for a high chair was like asking for her first born! Room service etc was very good, all other staff very good. Have to say, it's not as good as Intercontinental Hong Kong. 18 March 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by We love the Rialto in Melbourne My wife and I have travelled to Melbourne quite regularly over the past 10 - 15 years. In the past 4 - 5 years we have chosen to stay at rhe Rialto. The first time we stayed was probably the best, the hotel, it's staff an ammenities far exceeded our expectations. On the mose recent stay, we stayed for two nights- arriving on Friday and leaving on Sunday - The staff at check-in were really welcoming and friendly, and made us feel important. The room we were given was great as always. Being a Intercontinental club room we had access to the club lounge benifits. The club liunge is a good place to have a pre-dinner drink and enjoy a few nibblies, you can also have tea and coffee in the lounge during the day. Always very pleasurable, and the staff in the club lounge are also very frriendly and tend to your needs. On the Saturday we decided to go out for the day to Flemmington Races. We left Felmmington a bit early to beat the rush, this saw us arrive back at the Rialto at around 4-30 pm. On arriving at our room we were quite dissappointed to see that houskeeping had not made the room up. The bed was still unmade, and we had no clean towels. This was very inconvenient as we needed to get ready for our dinner engagement. On calling the front desk to find out what went wrong, we were asked is we had left the " do not disturb " on the door. We definitely did not and further to this we hung a "please make up my room" tag on the door. Cleary there had been an oversight by the housekeepers on this occasion. Haviin said this, the housekeepers did react quite quickly and brought us some clean towels almost straight away. We went out for dinner shortly after and they came and serviced the room. On a previous stay last year, we had a similar incident where houskeeping did serviceup the room each day but did not restock to tea. Duing this stay, even after contacting the front desk several times the tea was not restocked for the whole weekend. So just perhaps you may need to have a bit of a shake up in the houskeeping department, and have someone with a good eye for detail checking that each room is serviced, checked and ticked off each day. All said and done- I would still highly recommend the Rialto in Melbourne. It is a grand old Hotel, in a great city where there is plenty to do. 15 March 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by friendly staff The staff make this hotel. They give the impression of a four - five star hotel. The building is elegant and in a central location for Melbourne. The breakfast has enormous choice and the pool and gym have relaxing city views. But the room we stayed in was small however and when we complained we were not upgraded even though we stayed for 3 nights. Its worth paying more for a larger suite. The lift to the pool was not working for days and we had to use a fire escape to acess the pool level, then when it did it smelled damp. 13 March 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Well appointed room, great service My room was upgraded, I had a wonderful stay. I ordered room service and was great service and food from there too. Also met external guests in the lobby bar, and they looked after us very well downstairs. I think service has improved in the last year. Many thanks 27 February 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by a let down I've stayed here before and I don't remember my previous experience being so uncomfortable. Putting two double beds together to make a king is not on. The middle of the bed had a hard ridge which made it impossible to sleep on, which meant I was sleeping on a double. One positive is you concierge. Although I didn't use him, every time I was in the lobby he was assisting a guest in the most professional and pleasant manner. In a country where tips aren't common, this is fairly rare. 27 February 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Service- room 913 & Ground floor bar(reception level) Dropped the ball on this occassion; no newspaper on the second day & no replacement of fruit Some lights out; both the shaving mirror and night light not working Ground Floor Bar: only food offering with a drink was tapas style canapés. Should offer lighter items as well- nuts, rice crackers or similar Bar service was incredibly slow- 6 people in our group waited to be served (in all about 15mins) we decided to leave and go elsewhere 21 February 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Always Exceptional As a weekly visitor to Melbourne, it is always nice to be able to relax in the Club Lounge for a drink and canapes at the end of the day and know that the staff will be friendly and helpful. My 3 criteria for a room are comfortable beds, quiet and dark and the Intercon always meets my expectations. I've stayed at the Rialto for business and pleasure and am always happy with the service. Kishor and the team should be congratulated 19 February 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Nothing too much trouble, really good room service food I travel to Melbourne frequently on business and when I can I choose to stay at the InterContinental. The staff are very helpful, the housekeeping service is excellent nothing is too much trouble and the standard of the room service food is the best I've found in Melbourne. Highly recommend this hotel. 19 February 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by BEST NIGHT SLEEP EXCELLENT SERVICE I AM SO IMPRESSED WITH THIS HOTEL AND THE ATTENTION TO DETAIL. FROM THE MOMENT WE ARRIVED THE SMILES AND GENUINE HELPFUL NATURE OF CONCIERGE, AND FRONT DESK WAS JUST AMAZING. EVEN BEFORE WE ARRIVED WE RECEIVED AN EMAIL 24 HRS BEFORE TO WELCOME US TO OUR VISIT. THIS HAS NEVER HAPPENED BEFORE - ATTENTION TO DETAIL AGAIN WAS JUST WONDERFUL AND MADE YOU FEEL SPECIAL, THE ONLY AREA THAT NEEDS LOOKING AT IS THE ROOM SERVICE WHERE WE PHONED FOR TO COLLECT OUR TRAYS AFTER DINNER - WE LEFT TRAY OUTSIDE ROOM AND IT WAS STILL THERE IN THE MORNING AND HAD TO CONTACT FRONT DESK. WE ALSO NOTICED OTHER ROOMS THAT HAD TRAYS OUTSIDE ROOMS AND WERE STILL THERE 4 HOURS LATER WHICH DOES NOT LOOK GOOD FOR OTHER GUESTS. THIS WOULD NOT STOP US FROM STAYING AGAIN. 18 February 2013
<<prev 13 14 15 16 17 next>>
Melbourne The Rialto
  • 495 Collins Street
  • Melbourne , 3000
  • Australia
  • Front Desk +61-3-86271400

  • Driving Directions
  • Transportation
  • Parking
   

Languages spoken by staff

German, Greek, English, Spanish, French, Hindi, Indonesian, Italian, Japanese, Korean, Punjabi, Portuguese, Slovak, Turkish, Chinese

Pet Policy

Guide dogs or service animals allowed
  • Local Time

    6:31 AM
    • CHECK-IN

      3:00 PM
    • CHECK-OUT

      11:00 AM Late Check out Available

    Currency

    • Australian Dollar $ (AUD)

    Accessibility

    • Service animals allowed
    • 4 Room(s) with Accessibility Standards
    • Parking