Skip Navigation
  • English    English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • Sign In
  • 1 888 IC HOTELS
  • Book online or call:
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
  • 1 888 IC HOTELS
  • Book online or call:
 

Melbourne The Rialto

Rated 4.5 out of 5 by 442 reviewers.
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Outstanding Words cannot adequately describe how good this 'special' weekend break was and due primarily to the Melbourne Intercontinental Rialto experience. Every expectation was surpassed from the very moment I walked in through the front door until the friendly doorman closed the taxi door on departure. Thank you! The standard has been set and will be a challenge to exceed! 14 August 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Helpful and comfortable The staff are a delight to deal with. The rooms are good but would have loved to have had a bath tub in the room 13 August 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Wonderful experience We had an incredible experience staying with you over the weekend, we are very much looking forward to staying there again. 07 August 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Disappointing to say the least My 2 night stay was in one word appalling. Given I am a platinum ambassador I assumed the normal IHG service and recognition would apply but sadly this was not the case.I was totally let down by this property which was in fact recognized by Management but unfortunately all too late. I will not go into detail as I can only assume this service lapse was an exceptional occurrence given other reviews on the whole seem positive. I am surprised at what I had to endure and can only hope other guests are not confronted with similar issues . On a positive note the breakfast was excellent but unfortunately that is were the positives end. 07 August 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Very noisy We stayed there for 4 nights on the 1st floor opposite the bar. The bar shuts at midnight and the breakfast setup and music starts at 6am. The first couple of nights we're tolerable but the Friday night bar noise caused us to ring reception at 12.20am. The breakfast noise then started again at 6 and I needed to put in ear plugs to continue sleeping. We complained and were moved to a room on the 7th floor for the last night. We would stay there again due to the positive and proactive response from the staff, and the experience of the second room; but only in one of the upper rooms. 07 August 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Service with a smile! The Hotel is centrally located in the heart of Melbourne CBD which makes it easy to walk or catch the train, tram etc. The staff were always obliging. the Restaurant is beautifully located in the Lobby of the hotel. The rooms are very comfortable. I would recommend this hotel to anyone. 07 August 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great as always For location and amenities, you can't beat this hotel... staff is always there to help you... wish I could visit more often !! 07 August 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Overall Experience My partner and I decided to stay at this hotel to get away for the weekend and just have a lovely and relaxing time. The hotel was great and we enjoyed the pool, the comfort and the food services but were disappointed when we did not have the television working in the room for the whole day. We planned to relax and enjoy a weekend off work but had to leave our room for the day as we could not sit, relax and watch television. Overall the experience was great and I would love to come back to the hotel. Thank-you. 07 August 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by A few unexpected niggles this time I usually stay at the Rialto whenever I am in Melbourne and the standard/service is generally excellent. Unfortunately there were some minor issues this trip, including selected room being fully booked and not available upon check in. Was given complimentary club access to compensate but I'm not really a club person. Unfortunately some server also went down meaning I was unable to to connect to the wi-fi for the entire stay, and there was also no TV or movies for an entire day, which was a bummer because I was intending to watch a rugby grand final match. Notwithstanding, the staff were excellent as usual and I still thoroughly recommend this hotel. 06 August 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by great service very enjoyable stay the duty manager was excellent in solving a minor problem. 06 August 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Stayed here before and will stay again All the staff from the welcome by Cliff who took care of the car and assisted with check in through to all other staff that we interacted with till checkout was excellent. Room was spacious, clean and very comfortable. Only area in my opinion that could do with improvement is the club lounge which lacked quality wine. After all, we are in Australia, a country that produces some fantastic and affordable wine. . 04 August 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent staff Recently stayed at the intercontinent and enjoyed my stay. Firstly, found the staff to be extremely helpful and available to all my needs without encroaching on my privacy. Although my stay turned out to be a bit more than what was initially priced on the internet, we got what we paid for. Breakfast was amazing. 04 August 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Mrs Marie Pilar Robson In general, my stay was very pleasant, will come back on my next visit to Melbourne. Again, I would like to express my gratitude to Francesco who looked after me and my friend at breakfast, his wonderful service did not go unnoticed. 03 August 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Need to lift the game... This would be the third time I've had a less than positive experience. This time it was the electrics not working. Any easy fix, but checking the fuse box should be part of the room service. Previously, I've been "upgraded" to rooms that haven't been serviced, TV's that don't work and no hot water. All reported, apologies accepted - now do something... Or am I just Mr unlucky? 01 August 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good room, power shower and attention to detail of some staff Check in was quick but no acknowledgement or offer of Platinum Rewards benefits other than free wifi, or detail of IHG Ambassador benefits on offer. Breakfast service staff weren't on the ball and multiple customers had to make 2-3 requests for the same things. Great breakfast buffet, particularly the juices but let down by some of the service. The Intercontinental Lounge was a pleasant surprise. Cosy but private and well appointed and a nice place to relax between meetings or sight seeing. Good staff and knowledgeable. Poor shower pressure and temperature in the room. Have had much better in other InterContinental hotels around the world. The rest of the room was well appointed with multiple airconditioning controls and pillows. Only possible negative would be a limited amount of apparent dedicated space for luggage to be placed. Concierge services were efficient but perhaps too businesslike and I felt like I was imposing and they were too busy, by asking for something they're responsible for. Gents on the front doors however were always cheerful, very helpful and offered good advice. A great first impression. Doesn't match other IC hotels such as Singapore, London, Brussels etc which is a shame because the hotel itself, design and architecture, fittings are striking and a definite highlight. 31 July 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Breakfast Great location and fantastic to have two double beds in the room as my husband and I were travelling with our 11 year old. Breakfast was a real highlight. Lots of variety, the perfect poached egg and even a juicer to make your own veggie juice! Staff were amazing and we can't wait to go back. 30 July 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Very disappointing stay This was our third visit to the hotel, previous times we have enjoyed the stay. However on this occasion, our room was located near the Rialto escalators, the escalators ran all night and sounded as loud as traveling on a train. Also from 5am each morning, people started using the security intercom into the Rialto tower. So over two nights, we only managed 4 hours sleep each night. Our room was quite small, no bath, no privacy to leave curtains open, as the room next door looked directly in as it was at the corner of the building. Based on this experience, I spoke to the front desk and was told, "we don't own the escalator, so we can't control the noise, and we can't pre-allocate in the future so you may get this room again on your next visit". Therefore, based on the overall experience and the response from the front desk, this was not what you expect from a luxury brand who charges a high premium. We will never stay at this hotel again. 29 July 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by One of the best in Melbourne Friendly and helpful staff that are willing to go an extra mile to make my stay comfortable. Great rooms and beautiful building. Highly recommended. 29 July 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by We like to feel special ! We stayed here a few weeks ago and as soon as my husband mentioned an excuse to go to Melbourne, I immediately rang and booked the Rialto. The location is very convenient for Southern Cross Station and the trams go past the front door. The football stadiums are both pretty well within walking distance too. Although the shops are a little furher away I find the 10 minute walk interesting as Melbourne has so many little side streets and laneways with hidden restaurants etc. Belonging to the Continental Club has always been worth while as we get an automatic room upgrade! I love the big comfy beds and plush bath towels. We dined at the hotel and also had a drink in the bar and found the staff great and several were students from overseas and so wiiling and caring. I am now looking for another reason to drive the 5 hours to Melbourne and the Rialto where we will be met at the door by the friendly staff who take charge of your our luggage and park our car! 29 July 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by One of the best Hotels to stay in Melbourne We had an excellent stay at The Rialto recently for business. The staff very efficient and friendly and made you feel at home. 27 July 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Reliable Excellence I was in Melbourne for the international AIDS Conference. The Intercontinental offered itself as an excellent affordable 5-star hotel and offering the comfort I was looking for. it did not disappoint. It was a short 7 minute walk to my meeting, over the Yarra river. The room was large, with a good working surface and reliable, fast internet. An electrical adapter was available if I needed it. The bed was comfortable, the Bose sound system was very welcome. The rain shower with high-end amenities was also welcome! I could walk to all shopping, tourist attractions, and business dinners. I would recommend this hotel to anyone looking for an elegant yet affordable experience in Melbourne. 27 July 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Simply Spectacular Thank you to the Intercontinental Melbourne Rialto team for making our special celebration weekend extra special. While all the staff are fabulous, I have to make particular mention of Kishor for going out of his way to ensure that our expectations were not only met but well and truly exceeded. I travel a lot. Intercontinental Melbourne is one of my favourite hotels in the World to sneak away to when we are looking for a sanctuary of quiet opulence and spectacular service. The property, the staff, the food, the surroundings and the service simply never disappoint. Our next stay is already booked - that says it all! 27 July 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by service quality I usually stay at the Rialto in Melbourne. If I am hosting business guests there I always stay there and are never disappointed. 27 July 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by The best staff I've come across We have stayed at a lot of places, they have all been good, this was just very different, so homely, so comfortable, just awesome. Greeted curb side by Cliff, escorted to Emily 27 July 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Double charged on check out & still waiting for refund over a week later grrr Got double charged upon check out & still waiting for refund over a week later. What if I needed that money for life or to continue my holiday, not cool Rialto, wheres my $$$... Noisy small room, no fan in bathroom so smelly & steamy. Could be better. 26 July 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by After wedding Our daughter was married and held the reception at Vue de Monde. We decided to stay at the Intercontinental as it was close and handy. The selection turned out to be ideal as it provided all and more than we desired. Room was fantastic and breakfast wonderful. Thank you for the experience. 25 July 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Outstanding This is most likely one if the best hotels in Melbourne. Great location, beautiful building, true to Intercontinental standards!! Loved everything about it but in this day and age I still struggle to understand how you can be charged $25 a day for internet access in such a high profile property....and even for Ihg members. 25 July 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Most Enjoyable Experience We can only say that from the moment that we were checked in by April until we were dropped off at the airport (we took a hotel limousine) we were totally looked after. The room was exactly what we were looking forward to, large but did not get lost within the room. The décor was exceptional, the bed was fantastic and sleeping was a breeze. The lighting in the room made resting in the afternoon so relaxing and enjoyable, it made it hard to leave the room. All the staff that we came into contact with throughout our stay were very attentive and professional in their manner that we were made to feel very special indeed. We will definitely be coming back to the Rialto. 24 July 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Fantastic Experience We wanted a bit of luxury, as a treat, for once, and weren't we greeted with luxury at it's finest. An amazing experience, with beautiful staff, fabulous rooms/views and luxurious amenities. A perfect location to get around the city, to visit Southbank, and to catch public transport. We loved having amazing restaurants & bars, and chocolate shop right at the door step! Highly recommended to all of our friends & family. On a downer now, as we didn't want to leave! 24 July 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by stay in hotel it was great we had to leave early due to a family matter but paid for breakfast and never had the chance to have it, may be next time 24 July 2014
<<prev2 3 4 5 ... 16 next>>
Melbourne The Rialto
  • 495 Collins Street
  • Melbourne , 3000
  • Australia
  • Front Desk +61-3-86271400

  • Driving Directions
  • Transportation
  • Parking
   

Languages spoken by staff

German, Greek, English, Spanish, French, Hindi, Indonesian, Italian, Japanese, Korean, Punjabi, Portuguese, Slovak, Turkish, Chinese

Pet Policy

Guide dogs or service animals allowed
  • Local Time

    9:04 PM
    • CHECK-IN

      3:00 PM
    • CHECK-OUT

      11:00 AM Late Check out Available

    Currency

    • Australian Dollar $ (AUD)

    Accessibility

    • Service animals allowed
    • 4 Room(s) with Accessibility Standards
    • Parking