Your session will expire in 5 minutes, 0 seconds, due to inactivity. Stay Logged In
Create PIN
All fields are required
If you joined IHG® Rewards Club at a hotel, then you will need to create a 4-digit PIN in order to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
Unexpected Server Error
Your session has expired. Please sign in to your profile
We are sorry, our system is temporarily unavailable. Please try again later or contact the IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care Centre for assistance.
The 4-digit numbers entered must match.
Forgot PIN?
All fields are required
Unexpected Server Error
Your session has expired. Please sign in to your profile
We are sorry, our system is temporarily unavailable. Please try again later or contact the IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care Centre for assistance.
Don't have an email address in your profile?

Contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address via www.ihg.com/updateemail.

InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto

Book Now
MoreFewer Options

* Required Field

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Manage A Reservation
Need to make changes to your reservation? You've come to the right place!
Already an IHG® Rewards Club Member? to view reservations.
View This Reservation

* Required Field

Manage A Reservation
Need to make changes to your reservation? You've come to the right place!
Already an IHG® Rewards Club Member? to view reservations.
View This Reservation

* Required Field

Hotel Reviews for InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto
Guest Reviews
Each review and rating that we receive is verified to ensure that we only display information provided by guests who have actually stayed in the hotel.
91%
Recommend This Property

Overall Experience

4.4

based on 995 reviews
91%
Recommend This Property

Ratings Breakdown

995reviews

  • 5 Stars
    665
  • 4 Stars
    192
  • 3 Stars
    78
  • 2 Stars
    33
  • 1 Stars
    27

Exceeded My Exceptions

By

29 April 2016

I stayed at the Intercontinental on a leisure trip. Great hotel as well. Easy to go anywhere, staff is excellent. This hotel will be my first choice in Melbourne.

Read More
Read Less

Club room disappointment

By

28 April 2016

Looked forward to stay in Club Room. Very disappointed. Smell of food on entire Club Floor corridor throughout stay- corridor where club lounge is. Club lounge is small and on 2 evenings we could not get a seat. Food very average in Club lounge and reminded me of food from frozen section of supermarket. Went for breakfast in hotel restaurant and scrambled eggs was COLD and omelette from Chef was burnt- bitter. Sauna was not working throughout 3 night stay and on 1 evening pool was out of clean towels.

Good point- very early check-in accommodated and greatly appreciated. Afternoon tea in lounge was good and less crowded.

Not a 5 star hotel experience.

Read More
Read Less

Iconic location

By

28 April 2016

Nice rooms, very quiet for an easy and deep sleep. Many rooms overlook the atrium. In room amenities are good.

I would have liked to have been upgraded to a better room considering my Spire status. Spire does not give you quite the same benefits as other loyalty programs.

Coffee was great at breakfast - best I've had in a hotel - ever! On the flip side, my wife was rather disappointed that there were not many choices of herbal tea.

Read More
Read Less

Good hotel

By

25 April 2016

club

The concierge staff is very professional and impressive. He knows exactly what he is talking about and provided us with valuable information.

Posted byHotelStaff
29 April 2016
Dear ChrisM0910, Thank you so much for sharing the kind review from your recent stay with us in Melbourne. I am so pleased to hear that you enjoyed the service from our concierge team. Thank you again for taking the time to give us your feedback. I hope that we might have the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel again soon. Kind regards, James Ridenour Chef Concierge james.ridenour@ihg.com +61 3 8627 1473
Read More
Read Less

Good Location

By

19 April 2016

platinumelite

The reception staff were wonderful and upgraded our room which was lovely. However the room air conditioner was not working correctly and took several visits from both staff and repairman before fixed. In addition, asked for bucket of ice - still waiting! The bed was very average and very firm, and not at all what we are used to having in a suite.

We also had High Tea in the Lounge with our guests. It was quite disappointing when it was served. We had to ask for clean plates and cutlery in between savoury to sweet and was made to feel that it was an imposition. We also had to request tea and was not offered any top-ups at all. The quality of the food was very ordinary and not at all special. We have had High Tea at other intercontinental Hotels and this has always been a great experience. Not so at this hotel!

The same happened at breakfast when requesting a cup of tea, this also took several requests before finally being served and other patrons were also complaining of the same lack of service.

Posted byHotelStaff
29 April 2016
Dear 54Pete, Thank you so much for sharing your review from your recent stay with us in Melbourne. I am so sorry to hear that you encountered difficulties with your stay and that our afternoon team did not meet your expectations. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed the service from our Front Office team. I would be happy to review your comments with you so that I can better understand your concerns. Please feel free to contact me in order to set up a time to review your feedback. I have forwarded your comments on to our Food and Beverage Manager for his review. Again I am sorry we did not meet your expectations. Sincerely yours, James Ridenour Chef Concierge james.ridenour@ihg.com +61 3 8627 1473
Read More
Read Less

Professional Service

By

19 April 2016

club

Comfortable hotel with friendly and helpful staff. Hotel is in great location for business although the area is a little quiet on the weekend

Posted byHotelStaff
28 April 2016
Dear stevensyd, Thank you so much for sharing the kind review from your recent stay with us in Melbourne. I am so pleased to hear that you enjoyed the service from our team. Thank you again for taking the time to give us your feedback. I hope that we might have the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel again soon. Kind regards, James Ridenour Chef Concierge james.ridenour@ihg.com +61 3 8627 1473
Read More
Read Less

Good location

By

15 April 2016

Near central, the buildings are wonderful. And staffs are very nice. But no welcome gift for platinum ambassador, only two bottles of water. I like the Bose system in room. But there is no tub for King executive room in level 8. And why my stay is non-qualified showed on my iPhone app?

Read More
Read Less

Excellent all round experience

By

12 April 2016

Excellent position for visiting all areas of the city. Peaceful surroundings and very cindusive to a relaxing visit

Posted byHotelStaff
19 April 2016
Dear gaser54, Thank you so much for sharing the kind review from your recent stay with us in Melbourne. I am so pleased to hear that you enjoyed our hotel. Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback. I hope that we might have the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel again soon. Kind regards, James Ridenour Chef Concierge james.ridenour@ihg.com +61 3 8627 1473
Read More
Read Less

Great Hotel

By

11 April 2016

Great hotel in a splendid building.
A pity road work begin early in the morning...

Posted byHotelStaff
15 April 2016
Dear Pierre Chateau, Thank you so much for sharing the kind review from your recent stay with us in Melbourne. I am so pleased to hear that you enjoyed staying and our heritage building however I am sorry to hear about the noise with the road works. I hope that we might have the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel again soon. Kind regards, Kishor Narayanamurthi Rooms Division Manager
Read More
Read Less

Fantastic service from start to finish

By

08 April 2016

From the moment we arrived through to the moment we departed, we were treated like ambassadors.
After having fought the infamous Melbourne peak-hour traffic and silly hook-turns, I finally arrived at the hotel after a long day of driving. Greeted outside the hotel by the bellman, our bags were car and bags were promptly taken care of. We were escorted directly to the priority check in counter where we were welcomed to the hotel by Cate. Everything during check-in went like clockwork. My IHG Platinum Elite and Ambassador Status were fully recognised and my conversation felt truly genuine (as opposed to being scripted in some other hotels).
It was my first time at the Intercontinental Melbourne – The Rialto, so I did not really know the hotel very well. I was booked into a Junior Suite and was offered club intercontinental access. I had my wife and 4 year old son with me at the time and I joked about how he doesn’t look quite old enough to enter the club lounge in the evening (The club lounge at this property restricts access for children after 5pm). Before I even had the chance to ask, Cate produced two vouchers and explained that I can still take advantage of the Club intercontinental canapé service by presenting these vouchers in a more family friendly environment at the hotel restaurant instead.
What a fantastic idea! While this is not the first time I have experienced a hotel club lounge restricting access for children in the evening, it is the first one that has worked out a solution so families with children are not disadvantaged from the rule. Understandably the “no children” policy is a result of extensive guest feedback. However given the opportunity though, I would have loved to try out the Club lounge myself. The Junior Suite is a lovely room. It contains a large King-sized bed, with an open plan lounge area and work space. There was plenty of extra space to put a baby cot for our little boy as well. The IBahn entertainment system was crisp and clear and the internet speed was reasonably fast at around 10 Mbps.
The Amenities kit was nice touch and the walk-in wardrobe continued to tick all the boxes. The shower head was the “rain shower” type – delivering a nice strong even water pressure… then drying off to the large soft and fluffy Intercontinental bath towels.
There are some more minor details that detracted this from being rated a perfect stay. The TV screen was somewhat small (27” or 32”) when you consider the size of this room. The air conditioner did not seem to work very well. Although we had set the thermostat to 20 degrees C, the room didn’t appear to cool at all. It wasn’t until I set the thermostat to 16 degrees C and left it at that overnight before the room finally started to cool down. The DND LED light (inside the room) on the switch itself didn’t seem to work. The mattress seemed a little worn. Normally I would jump into bed and fall asleep, however I found myself trying to relax, wondering why the mattress didn't feel right. I really hope the hotel addresses these issues as it was almost a perfect stay. The service was perfect, but often it is the minor details that let it down.
When it comes to Intercontinental, it is always the service and personal attention that it does really well. I highly recommend this hotel to anyone looking to be treated as a person and not just a number.

Read More
Read Less

LAST MINUTE DECISION - AND A GOOD ONE

By

07 April 2016

Great stay at the Inter Continental Rialto over the Easter break, staff were lovely, great breakfast and the hotel itself is filled with character, being an old historic building. I will definitely stay again on our next trip to Melbourne.

Posted byHotelStaff
10 April 2016
Dear GinaB29 , Thank you so much for sharing the kind review from your recent stay with us in Melbourne. I am so pleased to hear that you enjoyed the service our staff provided and our historic building . I hope that we might have the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel again soon. Kind regards, Kishor Narayanamurthi Rooms Division Manager
Read More
Read Less

Fabulous Hotel with great history

By

07 April 2016

platinumelite

Wonderful location, fabulous staff and amazing architecture. Would definitely stay there again.

Read More
Read Less