Skip Navigation
  • English    English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • Sign In
  • 1 888 IC HOTELS
  • Book online or call:
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
  • 1 888 IC HOTELS
  • Book online or call:
 

Melbourne The Rialto

Rated 4.5 out of 5 by 390 reviewers.
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Most Comfortable Bed in Melbourne Great Hotel in a Great location. Staff are the best and ensure your say is a memorable one 14 March 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Exceeded expectations Absolutely loved our stay here. From the moment we stepped out of the car, to well after we checked out, the staff were amazing, helpful and overall extremely friendly. The rooms were luxurious, spacious and just wonderful. We loved the comfort of the bed so much that we are looking to buy one for ourselves. Nothing is a problem, the staff are approachable and truly know what customer service is. 13 March 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Fantastic hotel This hotel has everything you need and is close to all the action. 13 March 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Iconic Suite Outstanding establishment and may I say a big thank you to all staff and in particular Duty Manager Kyri for his exceptional service. Any hotel is nothing without great staff and Intercontinental Melbourne is my favourite hotel of all. 13 March 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by A Warm Welcome but Annoying Escalators The Concierge on duty (a tall fair haired englishman) provided a very warm welcome and was extremely helpful, as were the staff on reception. I was particulalry impressed as the concierge recalled me by name, both upon arrival and then again when departing. Unfortunatley, the room I was allocated 136 (from memory) was adjacent to the Rialto Plaza escalators, which I was initially unconcerned about. However, I discovered they ran all night and their constant rumbling made sleeping challenging, which is unfortunate as one of the Intercontinental's great attributes is the good night's sleep it generally provides. Otherwise a very pleasant stay. 11 March 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Friendly staff but lacking hospitality from concierge First impressions are so important. Whilst the counter staff were most pleasant and helpful the same could not be said for the concierge. We noted that he was not to be seen for most times we were in the lobby. i can only assume he had other duties which were more important than attending to guests problems. 10 March 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Room and great service I was pleased with the high level of professionalism service provided by the staff InterContinental. Wil definitely recommend to my other business contacts for their next business trips. 09 March 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Very helpful friendly staff We had a very enjoyable stay made all the more pleasant by the helpful friendly staff. 08 March 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Strongly recommend for comfort and restaurant Excellent hotel with the only drawbacks being the TV is mounted on the side wall so to watch it from the bed requires distorting the spine to an uncomfortable position. Valet parking is efficient but at $50 a pop is too expensive. 05 March 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great room and staff, shame about the breakfast experience The last two time I have stayed I found it difficult to get a tea or coffee in the dining room at breakfast time. On previous occasions when seated your staff ask if you would like tea or coffee and shortly after which it is delivered to your table. However the last two times I have had to ask for it more than once. This time I had to ask 3 times and then they got the wrong order. I had two guests with me and we were running out of time so just took the order. I am sorry that someone else was probably equally annoyed as I had their order. One of my guests for breakfast was my client and I was quite embarrassed. This really does need to be looked at please. The rest of my stay was great as usual. 03 March 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Slick and stylish Only a one night stay but loved every facet of this hotel. The bar, club lounge and spa. Rooms are uber cool, love the addition of nespresso machines. Will definitely return 01 March 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 Weekend at the Rialto Our stay at the Rialto was great. The room was very clean and we really liked the bathroom soaps and shampoos etc. There was a full size bath tub too - very hard to find these days. The staff were very good - they really looked after us. We were able to use the Club Lounge and the service there was great. The food and drinks were very well presented and very tasty. Overall, a really great stay and would recommend it to anyone. 28 February 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Fab hotel! Love InterContinental Melbourne. Their staff are excellent and friendly and the room quality is good. It was a little noisy the first night with some guests returning late but I guess, that is out of the hotel's control. Will definitely be back! 26 February 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great service and value for money Highly recommend. Staff very friendly. Room quality is excellent. 24 February 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Stylish hotel and excellent member rewards Had a wonderful stay at the Intercontinental Melbourne for a wedding we were to attend. It was my first time as an Ambassador status member and I was really impressed by the member recognition and benefits I received. On check in we received a voucher for complimentary drinks at the hotel which was excellent. Special mention to James at concierge who was always happy to assist us in finding various breakfast spots! We had a wonderful stay! We will be back. 20 February 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Will meet your expectations I always love staying in this hotel for both the fresh up-to-date appearance of the guest room and the great location, plus the beautiful architecture of the facade. Staff at Reception were fantastic. 18 February 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 comfortable but with bad toilet door lock and insuffice toothbrush Generally, comfortable. But the toilet door lock had some problem and the door was hard to open. Just one toothbrush for two adult. 17 February 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great start Nice property. Excellent staff. Room was an upgrade and nicely appointed except for balcony that was blocked with no view except for back of a Metal fence!! Room # 810. Hope for a better view the next time. Sam Labib 16 February 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by CHRISTMAS DINNER MELBOURNE THE RIALTO DON'T DO IT YOU WILL BE SORRY. I'm a massive fan of the brand so trust me when i say you wont be impressed, but very very disappointed You have been warned. 14 February 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Unpleasant check-in arrived early for check-in. room was ready which i was pleased with. however, staff was rude and insensitive during the check-in process. I am not sure if she was actively being rude to me personally but either way I felt it was totally inappropriate. As a Plat Ambassador member, I have visited many IC properties all over and this is one where I felt i was not welcomed at all. I was not explained my benefits as a AMB member at the desk or given a personalised welcome letter, I did not receive any in-room gift as per benefit and I also did not receive my complimentary newspaper for all the days I had stayed there. Also, as I was staying in the senior suite, I was actually asked and I quote word for word, " Do you want me to explain to you your Club Intercontinental benefits or do you already know where it is?" totally disgraceful. I expect better from the Rialto. 13 February 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by All talk with no outcome Nothing life changing, especially for a 5 star property. Staying on both Friday and Saturday night I found a few issues I had were turned into bigger issues as staff were all talk about fixing them but always talk and no outcome. Not the newest property and with average staff, would definitely recommend look at other Hotels around the Melbourne area, such as Crown or Hilton, South Wharf. 12 February 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Unexpected For years now I have made my pilgrimage to Melbourne and almost always I have stayed at the Intercontinental the Rialto. Being an IHG Platinum member I have over the years been given many reasons/excuses as to why the upgrade is not available however we were promised a nice room this time and were given the key for it. Both my wife and I were disturbed through our sleep as each needed to go to the bathroom at night from the creaking floors. The bathroom tiles were showing their age with the accumulation of mould in the crevices and there was no accurate control for a comfortable level to air conditioning. I cannot begin to express my disappointment with this beloved property for they do so much good work in almost all other areas. It will be a case much deliberation to return there. 12 February 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Perfect weekend escape! My friend and enjoyed the perfect weekend escape! The staff were wonderful. So helpful and pleasant. Our waitress in the bar (Ground floor) was a delight and so helpful in recommending the perfect cocktail and a few great bars to visit locally. Thanks for the tip of Bar Louie at the Rialto (the views are spectacular) and the amazing Espresso Cocktail in the Hotel-Delicious! Our room was beautiful and the beds divine. The day spa was gorgeous and our massages were excellent! Alexandra is a very talented remedial masseur. My friend had the Thai foot massage and she floated about for the rest of the day. The food is (as always) GORGEOUS. I've traveled a lot and the Intercontinental buffet breakfast is the best I've experienced. I've visited this Hotel many times and keep coming back. Usually with friends so that they can experience this beautiful Hotel. The afternoon tea and the canapes at cocktail hour were another highlight. Guy Grossi's restaurant "Merchant of Venice" in the building was another fabulous experience. HIGHLY recommend the San Marco's Feast with matched wines. Stunning food and wine. Excellent value too. We swam, napped, ate, read and just recovered from the exhaustion of being mums. I wish every mum could enjoy such a beautiful experience at least once in a while! If you need a break, this is the perfect hotel in a great location. Thank you for another great stay. Back soon! 12 February 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Fantastic old world charm and service From the moment we were greeted at the door by the bowler-hat-wearing doorman and the super helpful impeccable concierge we knew we were in for a treat. Having stayed before with a girlfriend when the bulk of out time was spent shopping and not nearly enough time spent in the hotel and this being my first special weekend with my new man, I couldn't have asked for a better hotel experience and my new man was certainly impressed. The room was beautiful, the service impecabble, the staff offering the highest level of service and attention to detail and we felt special from beginning to end. I am from the Gold Coast and I can't wait to return to the Rialto on Collins as it has now become synonymous with "a weekend in Melbourne city". Thank you:-) Michele 11 February 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Room needs more regular maintenance Stayed one night in February 2014 for a special occasion in room 425 - a club room. Room was excellent on arrival, club highly recommended, staff generally very good throughout our stay. Three things significantly detracted from our overall experience: 1. We waited until 5.00pm for the promised text or call to say our room was ready. Very hot day on Melbourne with 41C. 2. During the night a piece of the ceiling plaster fell onto my face while I was sleeping. In the morning saw that the ceiling plaster work was broken in two places due to moisture from room above. 3. We were locked out of our room for over an hour from 9.30am when the access key card would not work. Despite 3 attempts to fix by the front desk it took a maintenance man to gain before entry. The hotel is definitely worth a visit. I am sure that if routine check in and room maintenance procedures are followed none of the above will happen in the future. 10 February 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great service To begin with Cliff the door man - absolute gentleman and wonderful service - felt we had known him for ages. Excellent breakfast really good quality yoghurts / products and all local Very polite staff everywhere, our comfort and needs were their priority 10 February 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by A few ever-so-minor suggestions Another great stay at the Rialto. I hope to be back. Only minor suggestions/comments: 1. The default temperature for the air conditioner was cold. It would be great if the AC remembered the setting I put it at when I left the room 2. The TV program listing that appeared on the TV appeared to be wrong 3. Slightly scuffed wall near washrooms in reception 4. Would it be possible to have recycling bins (for water bottles etc) in the rooms, or the ability to recycle them? 10 February 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Room was magnificent Beautiful Hotel, I experienced the club facilities and recommend that little extra was worth it, location is perfect close to Crown casino, shopping and all that Melbourne has to offer. 10 February 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Classy - all the way! My husband & I stayed at the Intercontinental Melbourne last weekend and can thoroughly recommend it. We got off to a dubious start when we entered our room as there was water pouring out of the bathroom roof and subsequently the bathroom floor was flooded. I rang reception and was impressed with how efficiently and quickly people arrived to assess the situation and to make the decision to shift us to another (Higher standard) room. It was very impressive how seamlessly and quickly this was done. The staff throughout the hotel are extremely courteous and well trained and were wonderful to deal with without exception. We will certainly stay here again next time we need a hotel in Melbourne. 07 February 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Best Hotel Experience for some time I have given a detailed review at Trip Advisor as well. The staff always make the difference, good and bad. In the case of this hotel the staff made the stay the value it was. I don't take much to please, but often service standards in Australia force me to write letters of complaint. This hotel was a breath of fresh air in that regard. I would highly recommend the Intercontinental Rialto Towers in Melbourne if you are looking for a hotel of that calibre. 07 February 2014
<<prev 4 5 6 7 8 ... 14 next>>
Melbourne The Rialto
  • 495 Collins Street
  • Melbourne , 3000
  • Australia
  • Front Desk +61-3-86271400

  • Driving Directions
  • Transportation
  • Parking
   

Languages spoken by staff

German, Greek, English, Spanish, French, Hindi, Indonesian, Italian, Japanese, Korean, Punjabi, Portuguese, Slovak, Turkish, Chinese

Pet Policy

Guide dogs or service animals allowed
  • Local Time

    5:12 AM
    • CHECK-IN

      3:00 PM
    • CHECK-OUT

      11:00 AM Late Check out Available

    Currency

    • Australian Dollar $ (AUD)

    Accessibility

    • Service animals allowed
    • 4 Room(s) with Accessibility Standards
    • Parking