Your session will expire in 5 minutes, 0 seconds, due to inactivity. Stay Logged In
Create PIN
All fields are required
If you joined IHG® Rewards Club at a hotel, then you will need to create a 4-digit PIN in order to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
Unexpected Server Error
Your session has expired. Please sign in to your profile
We are sorry, our system is temporarily unavailable. Please try again later or contact the IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care Centre for assistance.
The 4-digit numbers entered must match.
Forgot PIN?
All fields are required
Unexpected Server Error
Your session has expired. Please sign in to your profile
We are sorry, our system is temporarily unavailable. Please try again later or contact the IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care Centre for assistance.
Don't have an email address in your profile?

Contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address via www.ihg.com/updateemail.

InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto

Book Now
MoreFewer Options

* Required Field

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Manage A Reservation
Need to make changes to your reservation? You've come to the right place!
Already an IHG® Rewards Club Member? to view reservations.
View This Reservation

* Required Field

Manage A Reservation
Need to make changes to your reservation? You've come to the right place!
Already an IHG® Rewards Club Member? to view reservations.
View This Reservation

* Required Field

Hotel Reviews for InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto
Guest Reviews
Each review and rating that we receive is verified to ensure that we only display information provided by guests who have actually stayed in the hotel.
91%
Recommend This Property

Overall Experience

4.5

based on 934 reviews
91%
Recommend This Property

Ratings Breakdown

934reviews

  • 5 Stars
    636
  • 4 Stars
    172
  • 3 Stars
    73
  • 2 Stars
    27
  • 1 Stars
    26

Luxury in the heart of the CBD

By

04 February 2016

platinumelite

The Intercontinental Melbourne is the perfect hotel for the fusion of business and pleasure. It is situated in the CDB and is a convenient walk or tram ride to everything.
The rooms are extremely comfortable and quiet, with everything at hand. Internet connection is stable and Club Lounge facilities make traveling and working much easier.
The staff are always friendly ,helpful and pleasant and greet us now like long lost relatives! Which is always a bonus when traveling.
Gym, Pool and Sauna facilitates were spot on, for a short stay, and everything was well maintained.
A big shout out the the staff at reception and in the Club Lounge, they really do go the extra mile to make you feel like a valued costumer!

Posted byHotelStaff
07 February 2016
Dear gwenstyle1, Thank you so much for sharing the kind review from your recent stay with us in Melbourne. I am so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us in Club InterContinental. I hope that we might have the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel again soon. Kind regards, Kishor Narayanamurthi Rooms Division Manager
Read More
Read Less

Excellent customer service, but bad Spa experience with receptionist

By

04 February 2016

club

We had a great massage at the Spa, but the receptionist (black hair lady), was super rude. We put concern to front desk and they say Spa is not really part of the Hotel , but they try to see what they can do.

Posted byHotelStaff
07 February 2016
Dear worldtravelerxx, Thank you so much for sharing the kind review from your recent stay with us in Melbourne. I am so pleased to hear that you enjoyed our hotel. I hope that we might have the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel again soon. Kind regards, Kishor Narayanamurthi Rooms Division Manager
Read More
Read Less

Worst bathroom ever!

By

02 February 2016

I was transferred into the IHG dining reward member after original priority privilege scheme was replaced. When I renewed my membership I received the usual benefits including a free night stay voucher which I used to book a Deluxe King Room at Intercontinental Melbourne Rialto. At first I was very pleased to be offered the room before the normal check-in time. However, when I opened the door, my first impression was that the room was much smaller than the photo displayed on the IHG booking website. If I recall correctly the room should have been 32 square metres, but the room we were given was probably about 18 square metres. Apart from the size of the room everything appeared to be clean and comfortable. Since I had to head out quite quickly, I didn't bother too much about the room size. When I came back to the hotel room at night. I was hoping to have a relaxing shower. To my surprise, after one minute into the shower, I noticed the water did not drain quickly enough and as a result it overflowed to the rest of the bathroom so that even the toilet area became a puddle of water. Needless to say, my shower was not relaxing at all and I ended my shower earlier than I would have liked. Leaving the shower I felt like I was walking around in dirty water. As it was already late and my wife was already in bed, I decided it was too much trouble to get a new room. Early the next morning some loud machinery woke us up and we noticed that there was construction work happening. I wish they had informed us of this before they offered the room to us. I felt that because this was a free night, they gave us the worst room possible. Maybe not but that's how it felt. The staff and service was excellent whenever we had a request, but our requests were limited. Come on IHG, this is no where near 5 star standard.

Posted byHotelStaff
07 February 2016
Dear Feizai, Thank you so much for sharing your review from your recent stay with us in Melbourne. I am so sorry to hear that you encountered difficulties with your stay. If you would like to contact me I would be happy to review the issues you encountered during your stay. Kind regards, Kishor Narayanamurthi Rooms Division Manager
Read More
Read Less

Lovely hotel

By

01 February 2016

Great location with extremely friendly and knowledgable staff.

Posted byHotelStaff
07 February 2016
Dear Peter G, Thank you so much for sharing the kind review from your recent stay with us in Melbourne. I am so pleased to hear that you enjoyed our hotel. I hope that we might have the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel again soon. Kind regards, Kishor Narayanamurthi Rooms Division Manager
Read More
Read Less

Beautiful, Historic Property With All The Modern Amenities

By

29 January 2016

platinumelite

From the moment I walked into this property, I was in love. The architecture, accommodation, and staff were amazing and the location perfect. The highlight for me as a big fan of Melbourne Street Art were the murals painted on the private, hidden laneway (Robb's Lane) which can only be accessed from the ballroom. Made my stay in Melbourne perfect.

Posted byHotelStaff
07 February 2016
Dear Lisa D, Thank you so much for sharing the kind review from your recent stay with us in Melbourne. I am so pleased to hear that you enjoyed our hotel and the service from our team. I hope that we might have the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel again soon. Kind regards, Kishor Narayanamurthi Rooms Division Manager
Read More
Read Less

fantastic buildings , kindly staff

By

28 January 2016

platinumelite

two buildings are very beautiful , and the staff of MEL IC are very nice and friendly . I have a good stay at my room .

Read More
Read Less

A return visit but certainly not as good as the last

By

27 January 2016

We were disappointed with our 3 night stay. We had been encouraged to stay because of the complimentary voucher provided by the Ambassador Gold Program. There were room cleaning, repair and DVD player issues. This was not 5 star. The check- in and welcome provided at the reception was certainly not like what we had the enjoyment of experiencing last year.We were disappointed with the actual response from a Duty Manager. We have written the specific concerns in a letter and expressed posted it to the GM at the hotel. We look forward to his comments. Hopefully this visit was not the norm for current stays at the Melbourne Rialto because we certainly liked our past visits.

Posted byHotelStaff
06 February 2016
Dear tevorolevu, Thank you for taking the time to share your review about your recent stay. Your comments are important as these will help us keep track of the things that we need to improve on. We sincerely apologize if you found your last visit disappointing, most especially with your check-in experience and the room conditions. As these events are clearly standards that we failed to deliver on, we would like to assure you that these will be reviewed and appropriate actions shall be taken to avoid its recurrence. Again, thank you for staying with us. We value you as an IHG Gold Ambassador member and sincerely hope to get another chance to give you a more pleasurable stay should you be in the area again. Sincerely, Christian C. Case Manager IHGService
Read More
Read Less

Beautiful facility

By

23 January 2016

club

If you are a fan of historic buildings, you MUST stay at the Rialto. The building has been modified with every modern convenience, yet they were able to maintain the historic ambience, so staying there was, on the whole, a delight. We happened upon an exceptionally good room rate, so I shouldn't complain at all. BUT, this is the Intercontinental, so I kind of expected things to be perfect and they were not. The disappointments: 1) the bellhop ignored us when we came in. Someone should have offered to take our luggage to the room. 2) Overall, we loved the room, but on the dark-colored carpet, there was about a one-inch round whitish food stain right in front of the desk, or perhaps it was a bleach spot. In either case, it should have been cleaned and the spot dyed, even if not a perfect match. In fact, a permanent marker could have mostly hidden the spot. 3) The guest materials (with information about the pool, etc. were well worn. 4) The hostess at breakfast was unfriendly and it took forever to get a second cup of coffee. We had to ask several waitstaff; their lack of service was inexcusable. Nevertheless, on the whole we really enjoyed the facility and would stay again if we were back in Melbourne.

Posted byHotelStaff
27 January 2016
Dear Stopping by from Seoul, Thank you so much for sharing the kind review from your recent stay with us in Melbourne. I am so pleased to hear that you enjoyed our hotel despite some service issues. I hope that we might have the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel again soon. When you return please contact me and I would be happy to assist. Kind regards, Kishor Narayanamurthi Rooms Division Manager
Read More
Read Less

Hang Your Hat Here For A While You'll Love It !

By

19 January 2016

My wife and I spent 3-nights here on our way back from the US. After a 14-hour flight we were
greatly looking forwards to a sleep in a cool bed.

For those of you who remember the British comedy program: “Porridge,” as you enter the hotel lobby the design with its inward facing balconies’ reminds one of the opening credits of the show. But fear not. There is no hard time to be served here. Nor is orange the new black either, and if there are any “lumps” in porridge they serve- they are all smooth and five-star.

My wife and I had the; “Fitzroy” suite on the first-floor. This is a lovely space. Cool relaxing paint work, lush generous furnishing, a beautifully appointed bathroom and a separate spa so deep it should have its own lifeguard sitting next to it.

I understand that the hotel can supply most things, (but you might have to bring your own lifeguard?)
Apart from having to supply your own lifeguard- the hotel goes out of its way to exceed guests’ expectations.

Any question we had or issue that we raised was always followed up with a phone call from the duty manager on call that day/evening. Our main dealing was with Kate, who was professionalism personified and a credit to the IHG group.

But the credits don’t stop there. Being in the “Fitzroy” allowed us access to the hotels club lounge. If you are going to stay and this hotel then my advice is to pay that bit extra and book a room with club access. You won’t regret it!

Daniela, Yam and the rest of the staff in there will make you feel like royalty. Nothing we asked was ever an issue… After the long flight back from the US my wife wasn’t feeling too well- I enquired if it might be possible to take her back a coffee and a few small things to eat from the afternoon tea presentation? Immediately a container was prepared with a selection of offerings for her.

The staff also enquired from there, how she was and if there was anything further they could do.
This is service that is getting more and more difficult to find these days, but I’m happy to report it’s alive and
well at this hotel in Melbourne.

The Club also has its own chef who does things with eggs in the morning, I’m sure not even the hen herself would have thought possible. You can also enjoy honey fresh from the hotels own hive located on the roof.

On this trip we stayed exclusively at IHG properties.

The Palazzo in Las Vegas (which has a loose IHG affiliation). The InterContinental Mark Hopkins (San Francisco) and this one. The InterContinental Rialto is by far and away the most superior IHG hotel we have stayed at thus far.

This is due totally to the staff who make you feel like friends coming home not: “numbers in the way”

So our advice... Hang your hat in the “Fitzroy” suite for a few days and enjoy all the “Porridge” they provide.

Footnote- trying to lay out this review in the box provided is no easy task! Can someone please make it a bit more user friendly please!

Read More
Read Less

Great hotel, fab breakfast, perfect location!

By

18 January 2016

platinumelite

Lovely hotel stay in Melbourne in perfect location. Central enough but not noisy. Has the best breakfast in a hotel I have ever had. Have never seen a juicer you can use yourself with every fruit/veg going which I loved. Also smashed avocado is amazing! Loved it. Rooms very comfortable although TV point for connecting own laptop is old fashioned! I tried to buy an adaptor in Melbourne and all electrical shops said it was too old fashioned. Please re-install with HDMI if possible. Staff all gave great service and I loved the 'perfumed reception area'.
For a nice stay in Melbourne at a good price stay here.

Posted byHotelStaff
22 January 2016
Dear russellm41, Thank you so much for sharing the kind review from your recent stay with us in Melbourne. I am so pleased to hear that you enjoyed our hotel and our breakfast in Alluvial. I hope that we might have the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel again soon. Kind regards, Kishor Narayanamurthi Rooms Division Manager
Read More
Read Less

Mother

By

18 January 2016

club

Before our stay Chief Concierge James, sorted a problem we had with our Wedding/Brides car. So grateful. Was happy to help us in any way. Staff in the Club Room were so helpful, attentive , courteous and made our stay so exceptionally wonderful.
Reception staff and Management let us have a late check out in one of our 2 rooms that meant my Daughters Wedding make up and hairdressers had more room to make us all look so beautiful for the day. We had flown in a Photographer from the USA for our Daughters Wedding and she was able to take some wonderful photographs. If we have any exceptional ones in your Hotel we will forward them on.

Posted byHotelStaff
22 January 2016
Dear Linda B 15, Thank you so much for sharing the kind review from your recent stay with us in Melbourne. I am so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and the service from our Chief Concierge. I hope that we might have the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel again soon. Kind regards, Kishor Narayanamurthi Rooms Division Manager
Read More
Read Less

Great place to stay

By

16 January 2016

club

Stayed to celebrate 25th wedding anniversary and upgraded to Club Intercontinental. Every staff member that we encountered, conducted themselves in a friendly and professional manner. Could not fault anyone. However, a standout was the young lady who checked us in on arrival. Thanks for a memorable stay

Posted byHotelStaff
22 January 2016
Dear ChrissyD5, Thank you so much for sharing the kind review from your recent stay with us in Melbourne. I am so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and the service from our team. I hope that we might have the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel again soon. Kind regards, Kishor Narayanamurthi Rooms Division Manager
Read More
Read Less