Skip Navigation
  • English    English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • Sign In
  • 1 888 IC HOTELS
  • Book online or call:
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
  • 1 888 IC HOTELS
  • Book online or call:
 

Melbourne The Rialto

HERITAGE AND STYLE IN THIS ELEGANT MELBOURNE HOTEL
InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto is quite simply world-class. Completed in 1891, when Melbourne was the richest city in the world, this restored hotel now blends traditional comfort with modern facilities and style. Located on legendary Collins Street, the hotel offers fine dining, from contemporary Australian to Italian cuisine, an indoor pool and full-service spa. Beyond the hotel, explore the vibrant Southbank, Royal Botanic Gardens or the banks of the Yarra River.

Guest Reviews

2X Points and Faster Rewards - Earn 10 points for every US$1 spent. Plus 2X points on F&B and more

HOTEL HIGHLIGHTS

  • Restaurant & Lounges

    Modern Australian dishes with an Asian and European presence are served below the soaring atrium in Alluvial Restaurant. A wide selection of whiske...
  • Amenities & Services

    The hotel boasts a ballroom for 300 guests, luxury pool, gym, bars, restaurants and an array of beautifully furnished rooms and suites, including o...
  • SPECIAL PACKAGES

    There's always something special happening at an InterContinental hotel. Whether you are looking for a fun-filled getaway or a place to host your n...
Melbourne The Rialto
  • 495 Collins Street
  • Melbourne , 3000
  • Australia
  • Front Desk +61-3-86271400

  • Driving Directions
  • Transportation
  • Parking
   

Languages spoken by staff

German, Greek, English, Spanish, French, Hindi, Indonesian, Italian, Japanese, Korean, Punjabi, Portuguese, Slovak, Turkish, Chinese

Pet Policy

Guide dogs or service animals allowed
  • Local Time

    5:17 PM
    • CHECK-IN

      3:00 PM
    • CHECK-OUT

      11:00 AM Late Check out Available

    Currency

    • Australian Dollar $ (AUD)

    Accessibility

    • Service animals allowed
    • 4 Room(s) with Accessibility Standards
    • Parking
    Guest Reviews
    Rated 4.3 out of 5 by 358 reviewers.
    Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Lovely reception and great area! Simon you are a Legend! I have stayed before and it was exceptional. They now have new housekeeping! One could not understand that I wanted a feather pillow, and another did not think that I could have a 3rd cup and glass in the room even though we had paid for 3 adults!! Poor simon, the night manager had to come and make up the fold out bed after 12midnight (when we got back) as it hadn't been done! And then....when I checked out we were charged extra than my quote (kudos to the reception staff that fixed this ASAP). Ps...nothing was arranged for three guests....not towels, not gowns!!! Hopefully this is a once off, but the two guests I took were new to this hotel!! Methinks they were disappointed! I am a Priority privilege member and it didn't entice my friends to join. I will stay one more time, but hope it has improved as the hotel itself is in a wonderful position and is close to everything! Ps...room was not vacuumed between the two nights we stayed!! March 4, 2014
    Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by weekend away We had a relaxing three night stay at our favourite Melbourne hotel. The staff were wonderful and friendly. The views from the ninth floor up river are superb. We will be back. February 27, 2014
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Good ambience Staff were polite and well trained. Only a very busy period during my stay. Manager on duty was also very forthcoming in making amends for any deficiencies. Overall, very good stay. February 25, 2014
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by In Room Dining Hotel and staff were fantastic and room view was lovely however my only comment is our in room dining meal was very over cooked and disappointing! February 24, 2014
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Lovely room Every person on the staff was helpful and friendly. February 16, 2014
    Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Crowne review Hotel had all we needed. Great location. Room was comfortable. The big bed was the best. View was amazing. Bathroom needs modernising. Reception looks impressive but carpet is dated. House bar is nice. Breakfast area is a bit of a dungeon. Needs minor renovation to brighten it up. February 13, 2014
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Stayed 1 night but wanted to stay longer! Great room, location, service. Only stayed 1 night but wanted to stay longer. Thoroughly enjoyed everything about Crown Plaza! Will be going back for sure. February 11, 2014
    Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Dissapointed I have stayed at Crowne Plaza on many occasions and have always found the place to be top quality. Not this time. The room was very small, had not been cleaned well and the furnishings seemed well past their use by date. It was what I would expect from a three and a half star country motel. February 6, 2014
    Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Location Excellent location to the Convention Centre and Southern Cross Railway station. Easy access from airport to hotel. Fantastic greeting by concierge, made me feel extremely welcome. A little disappointed in the room as I paid extra for a wharf view room, and when we opened our door we looked over a brick building with very little wharf view. Bed extremely comfortable and the hotel was quiet so received a peaceful sleep. Overall experience good and I would book this hotel again. February 6, 2014
    Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by comfortable bed, but noisy corridors The doors could be soundproof, as many guests are loud passing in the corridors and we were disturbed several times during the night. Would have needed slippers for the room/bath/swimmingpool January 31, 2014
    Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good location but doesn't quite hit the spot We spent a Sunday night here for a night away from home. It is well-located; barely a 5 minute walk from a number of Melbourne trams, and probably 10 minutes from the Southern Cross train station. At check-in we were acknowledged as Gold members, however it transpired that the only benefit was a later checkout, something we did not need. We felt that at A$40, valet parking was expensive, so instead we chose one of the nearby parking stations, and spent just A$14 for 2 day's parking. Our reserved room was a city view; we were offered an upgrade to a river view room for an additional A$20, a little surprised that we were not simply given it as a Gold member especially as the hotel did not appear busy. We did not accept the offer. Our room was a reasonable size with a good-sized bathroom. We had no problems with the internet speed and found the bed comfortable. We think the breakfast prices of A$24.50 for a continental and A$32 are too high for a 4 star hotel; we chose instead to have breakfast across the road in one of the restaurants in the Casino Complex for substantially less. We believe that Gold members at the very least should receive a free bottle of drinking water, something that is common in other countries, and an upgrade where available. The hotel is yet to implement curved shower rails that prevent the shower curtain from sticking to your body when in the shower. We're not sure how many other Melbourne city hotels have a 1.5% surcharge for credit card; Australia remains one of the few countries in the world that imposes this surcharge simply because businesses are allowed to by law; something foreign visitors would find strange and inconvenient. January 30, 2014
    Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Poor service Everything with the hotel was great. But the service at the reception was appalling. I've stayed with IHG in a lot of different destinations & this was by far the worst. Katrina checked us in & out. Both times she was short and rude to my self and my guests, this will affect my choice in staying at the Crowne Plaza Melbourne. January 28, 2014
    Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Beautiful view I stayed in a room overlooking the river which was beautiful. The room was very comfortable and enough space. Cons were the fact that there was no information booklet about the hotel, e.g. where to find the gym. Room service was prompt and tasty. Due to the tennis being on I had to book the room through lastminute.com to get the best rate which meant I could not claim any points during my stay which was disappointing. Overall, nice stay for a work trip. January 27, 2014
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Stay at the Crowne in Melbourne Traveling from the States we were tired and worn out. The staff at the hotel was wonderfully accommodating and understanding. They upgraded us to a suite and helped us with all our needs. Went to the Aussie Open every day and had a great stay. Thanks. January 25, 2014
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great double beds The room had ample room and it was good to have two double beds. The staff were extremely helpful as I had taken the wrong phone charger and they were very happy to charge my phone over night at the front desk. Very much appreciated. January 25, 2014
    Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Bad Service We booked a trip with a group of friends who also were staying at the Crown Plaza for the Australian Open. The second day of our stay housekeeping didn't attend to our room. We'd come back from shopping around 2pm to find the room as we'd left it. We had also ordered different pillows which did not come that day/night. We had to call the following day to ask for them again. Our room was extremely dusty. As we were staying several nights we unpacked all our clothes and lay some of the shirts etc in the shelves provided only to get dust all over them. At one point our tv stopped working and the amount of dust we noticed behind the tv when we went to check out what was wrong was disgusting! We had hot chocolate sachets in the kitchenette area which were expired. Our friends also had horrible service from the staff at reception. We had also requested that we be placed on the same floor as our friends and after confirming that would be fine the delays associated with getting their rooms ready meant they just gave them room on different floors. Just no attention to detail by the staff at all. Positives: breakfast spread was good. January 24, 2014
    Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Value for money A very comfortable and clean room with excellent service. Early check-in and late check-out provided. Close to all transport services. January 24, 2014
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by faultless service I would highly reccomend staying at this hotel, i found the staff at all times were most helpful, nothing was to much trouble for them & i must say the bed i slept in was wonderful, it the first time in years ive gone to bed & slept straight through, for years now ive had a broken sleep every nite, so because of that bed we are away to purchase one this w/e. January 16, 2014
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by best service the staff are very helpful and so reasonably priced, top place January 15, 2014
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Very Well Run Establishment Price at least 25% cheaper than comparable accommodation Room cleaner Ruth was great Other staff especially Simon and a special mention to Nathan for outstanding service. Hotel clean and lots and lots of free apples!!( No need to buy any other food!!!) Free computer room with printers and 6 computers, Free Wi Fi to own room , great view of Yarra and Crown Casino etc from room. Pool clean and warm and pool change rooms clean. No Spa, maybe next time!!! Located very near free tram transport. January 12, 2014
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great service Great location, excellent staff and very comfortable hotel. Will definitely stay again on next visit to Melbourne January 12, 2014
    Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by What I needed for he night It was what I needed for the night, a place to sleep, on the cheaper side I could find near where I needed to be, expected a little more out of the room but was nice and what I needed in the room. January 10, 2014
    Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great Locationwith nice yarra view. Always love to stay here. Kids enjoy the Crown and Yarra view. January 10, 2014
    Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by great location Everything was good till Sunday breakfast when told sit where ever also staff keeped clear had to get own coffee when having breakfast, as a member of IHG is was a let down but the rest of the stay was very good, but had to get breakfast from another hotel where they would do anything for you,that aside the hotel is in a great position close to everything very comfortable and enjoyable. January 10, 2014
    Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good all round Stayed 5 nights and did not have a single problem. Room was clean and well appointed, staff were helpful and always there when you needed them. Really good location handy to both Southbank and the city, and the view from the room was great. January 9, 2014
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Melbourne crown plaza Great location and staff Hotel was in good condition Only thing I thought negative was the buffet breakfast was way over priced for what food was on offer January 9, 2014
    Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by The beds were very comfortable and the room were very clean. I have booked the Crowne Plaza a month prior to coming to Melbourne and was looking forward to my stay in melbourne for the period 2/1/14 to 7/1/14. The room and the beds were excellent and the customer service were great. The only problem was getting to the Crown Plaza(simple directions would have been helpful). My sister and I were travelling by car from qld to vic and the address we had took us to a dead end near the bottom of the yarra river. The address we had was from your website - 1-5 Spencer St, Melboure. We ended up driving around for 3 hrs and on top of that we rang the Plaza and a voice recorder advised us "Please hold and someone speak to you". We waited on hold for approximately 30mins and still never got thru. I was frustrated, angry and very tired but most of all we must have went through the Toll about 9 times. In the end we ended up in Footscray and spent 2 nights there in a motel. After checking into the motel I eventually got onto the Crown Plaza receptionist (after 10pm) and advised her what happened and the lady - Holly arranged for 1 night to be available as I already paid a deposit. She also sent over the details how to get to the Plaza. I would like to suggest maybe looking at an easier way for customers who is driving, to arrive at the Crown Plaza without hassles. Maybe an example is to have more large signs "CROWNE PLAZA"on the motorways and maybe correcting the address on the website from Melbourne to Docklands...this is only a suggestion. Also can you advise me if I will receive any bonus points for this night I stayed. January 8, 2014
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by A great stay As always the Crowne Plaza is a geat place to stay in Melbourne. Its well located for the Casino and other attractions. Its also well placed if you are there on business. The rooms are very comfortable and staff always attentive. January 8, 2014
    Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by room with a view The hotel was great and most staff friendly and helpful but on Sunday Breakfast the staff was not helpful at all told to sit were you like get your own coffee put me off for the next 2 days had to go to another hotel for breakfast. On check out recepition was very a sorry how we were treated but it should not happen, but good hotel to stay. January 8, 2014
    Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Average Had an ok stay. A few problems with the cleanliness of the room and room service but overall ok. The best thing was the view. Rooms are a bit outdated and everything overpriced, room service service charge? Any problems that we did have however were resolved by staff . January 6, 2014
    <<prev 2 3 4 5 6 ... 13 next>>