Your session will expire in 5 minutes, 0 seconds, due to inactivity. Stay Logged In
Create PIN
All fields are required
If you joined IHG® Rewards Club at a hotel, then you will need to create a 4-digit PIN in order to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
Unexpected Server Error
Your session has expired. Please sign in to your profile
We are sorry, our system is temporarily unavailable. Please try again later or contact the IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care Centre for assistance.
The 4-digit numbers entered must match.
Forgot PIN?
All fields are required
Unexpected Server Error
Your session has expired. Please sign in to your profile
We are sorry, our system is temporarily unavailable. Please try again later or contact the IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care Centre for assistance.
Don't have an email address in your profile?

Contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address via www.ihg.com/updateemail.

InterContinental The Clement Monterey

Book Now
MoreFewer Options

* Required Field

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Manage A Reservation
Need to make changes to your reservation? You've come to the right place!
Already an IHG® Rewards Club Member? to view reservations.
View This Reservation

* Required Field

Manage A Reservation
Need to make changes to your reservation? You've come to the right place!
Already an IHG® Rewards Club Member? to view reservations.
View This Reservation

* Required Field

Hotel Reviews for InterContinental The Clement Monterey
Guest Reviews
Each review and rating that we receive is verified to ensure that we only display information provided by guests who have actually stayed in the hotel.
95%
Recommend This Property

Overall Experience

4.7

based on 1126 reviews
95%
Recommend This Property

Ratings Breakdown

1126reviews

  • 5 Stars
    884
  • 4 Stars
    157
  • 3 Stars
    49
  • 2 Stars
    22
  • 1 Stars
    14

great service with great location

By

29 April 2016

beautiful hotel with great location, clean, restaurant ambience was great. room was located on the street side at times did get noisy, from noises coming from buba gump across the street.

Read More
Read Less

hotel stay

By

27 April 2016

comfortable room, easy walking distance to sights, beautiful views.

Read More
Read Less

Great Hotel!

By

27 April 2016

platinumelite

It's always a pleasure staying at The Clement. We stay at this hotel once a year to hang out on Cannery Row and the Aquarium. This area is so timeless and has great restaurants and shops.

Read More
Read Less

Great stay

By

22 April 2016

Overall we had a great stay at The Clement, and will certainly return in the future if we are in the area. There are only small things to comment on, and all of those are in regards of service and cleanliness in the Bar area. We got in during their happy our, which do to large conference at the hotel was rather busy. But not so busy as the lack of friendly and efficient service we experienced could be warranted.

Read More
Read Less

Great views

By

22 April 2016

We really enjoyed this hotel. The views were awesome from the balcony, even from the shower and bathtub. All the staff we encountered were friendly and helpful.

Read More
Read Less

Ok stay, average hotel

By

21 April 2016

We just had a weekend getaway at the Clement for my partner's birthday. After reading numerous positive reviews about the hotel, I felt our experience was on the disappointing side, particular for my partner. I'm not sure if because all 3 intercontinental properties (The IC hotels in Bora Bora, Las Vegas & Cannes) we stayed at last year still fresh in memory & set the bar too high, or because we just returned from South America & Antarctica last months and stayed at many wonderful hotels in Brazil & Argentina; the Clement is quite below average in comparison, particularly when it comes to customer service. I don't think it's a bad hotel by any mean, but there's nothing good about it that would make me want to return either.

Let's start with the positives:
1. Rooms are well appointed, well maintained and most importantly, clean. Decor is simple, give it a clean look. Bathroom is very good size, good layout and decent quality. Fireplace is a nice touch. But there's only one lounger chair seating for one person. Sheets are good quality & crisp. Overall inviting room.
2. It's one of the 3 hotels on cannery row. So some portion of the hotel is water front. Overall amenities offered were good, there's a spa, well equipped gym, enjoyable jacuzzi, and an extremely narrow pool that seems to be for the kids in build B. Build A is partially on the wharf, it has a courtyard with fire pits and seatings that offer oceanview. It's location is a double edge sword, and I'll come back to that later.
3. The hotel restaurant and bar is good, is actually popular with day tourists as well for the outdoor seating it provides.
4. The treatment for IHG Platinum Ambassador was decent, all the standard benefits were offered, including a decent upgrade to oceanview room.

Now, let's talk about area that the hotel should make adjustments:
1. Service seriously need improvement, where do I even begin?
-- I had a small simple question in regard to our reservation, so I emailed the hotel. Never gotten a response. So few days later, I call the hotel, the lady answered my call told me she would get back to me the same day, which never happen. I waited the following day as well, still no response. So I called a second time few days later, the lady answer the call this time began the call with "Can you please hold?" and put me on hold, after 2 minutes, she finally resume the call "this is intercontinental the clement, my name is .... how may I help you". So I told her about my upcoming reservation and my question, she responded with "can you please hold again?" less than 30 seconds after she resumed the phone, and off for another 1 or 2 minutes, she resumed the call a second time "sorry for that, so how can I help you?", so I restated what I just said 2 minutes prior. She responded, "do you have your reservation number? let me put you on hold while you look it up". I was on hold again the third time, then the call hang up. So I immediately called back again the and the phone rang for over a minute before the same lady pick it up. So I have to state everything I just said within the last 5 minutes a third time. This time she took down my number and said she will return my phone within the next hour. Needless to say, that never happen. So I called again for the 3rd time at the end of day and ask my 'simple' question again, before I got an answer. One un-responded email and 3 phone calls for a simple question, make me have second thought about staffs competency.
--Few days prior to arrival, I called the hotel again to remind them that my reservation is for two night under two different reservations, and the guy answered my call rushed to transfer me to IHG central reservation 1800 number before I had even finished my sentence.
--We were there to celebrate my partner's birthday, we made the note on reservation. During checked in, I mentioned to the front desk staff again, and ask if he can make window side table reservation for us for his birthday, he's answer is 'you can dial 0 from you room to make reservation'. So on second day, I dialed 0 to the concierge and mentioned its my partner's birthday and want to make a dinner reservation at C, her respond is 'let me transfer you to the restaurant Maitre D'. After made note on the reservation and mentioned at check in and call to the concierge, NOT ONCE did a member of the hotel staff even bother to wish him a happy birthday. Even Crowne Plaza & Holiday Inn treat people with much better courtesy than the Clement!
-- Even when we dial from the room to ask our car ready by the valet, it rang over a minute before someone actually picked up the phone. The lady who checked us out was the only staff that we had pleasant encounter in term of service. All other previous encounter with hotel staffs felt rushed, they just want to transfer your call to someone else or end the call right away. The Clement completely lack the personalized service that IC hotels are known for. It doesn't feel like an Intercontinental property at all.
2. The location is double edge sword. It's proximity to the aquarium is convenient, but it also means lots of car & foot traffic. Our room in building B although has decent oceanview, it also faces the car park turnaround and Bubba Gump restaurant. The street noise and the music from Bubba Gump are any but tranquil. There are constant car passing on cannery row, many car like to charge their engine when passing by. Bubba Gump blast their music so loud day & night. It was a warm weekend, but the noise from the street & Bubba Gump is very unpleasant whenever we open the window for fresh air, and no privacy. The balcony is also a disappointment, its very tiny, barely enough to stand on it, not sure when they even bother. We typical like to order room service for breakfast, but there are only one lounge chair in the room, no place to have proper seatings for two to enjoy breakfast in room. It was definitely not a peaceful quite weekend that we hope for. Majority of the oceanview rooms unfortunately face Bubba Gump, and are affected by the noise, there are only a small handful of rooms that are oceanfront that are not affected by the noise. The other two competing hotels on cannery row near by, have much much better oceanview rooms that are not affected by the street noise or music blasted from adjacent restaurants.

Overall it was an ok stay. Would I return to Clement next time when I am in Monterey? Highly unlikely, because there are much better choices on cannery row with much better oceanview rooms for much better competitive rate. Clement is among one of the few IHG properties that raised to their top level redemption rate, which is not a good value. I would recommend this hotel for average every day stay for family with young toddlers who can't walk far and their primary objective in Monterey is for the Aquarium. Or if you are a wedding guests at the hotel just want some place to spend the night. I would not recommend it for couple who want quiet weekend getaway or celebrating special occasion.

Read More
Read Less

Beautiful property, staff could use a little improvement

By

20 April 2016

platinumelite

I booked my stay using a free night I had, as a Platinum Ambassador member. I emailed the property several weeks prior to my stay requesting a direct oceanview room, stating I was willing to pay for the upgrade as it was a special occasion. While I did get AN upgrade, we only got a partial oceanview room, and I really wish we did get the direct oceanview, since the full view is simply breathtaking. We only stayed here for one night, so it would have really been special to get what we wanted. I even asked again at check-in, and was told no since there wasn't availability. I guess I'm a bit spoiled as an Ambassador member that I'm not used to getting told "no" in Intercontinental properties very often, and I usually always have my expectations exceeded. That was pretty disappointed. I emailed the concierge a while prior to our stay, it took a while to hear back, and I was unimpressed with their response with recommendations for dining. We ended up making our own arrangements. When we checked in, around 4:30 PM, the concierge was already gone for the day and there was no one else to ask for recommendations for the next day. Since we only had one day in the area, we just had to wing it, which also disappointed me. With all that being said, the property was truly beautiful, the view is priceless, the parking is a bit of a nightmare so we valeted despite I normally don't like valeting. The junior suite was beautiful, much larger than I expected for such a prime location and a fairly small property (only 4 stories total), and everything was beautiful in the room itself. The welcome amenity was very nice. I'd definitely come back to this property, but I probably wouldn't use points or a reward night since I don't want to be at the mercy of the hotel to decide what room I stay in. I'd rather just pay for it and get the view

Read More
Read Less

Beautiful hotel right next to the Aquarium

By

20 April 2016

platinumelite

This is a beautiful hotel located right next to the Monterey Bay Aquarium. It is centrally located and walking distance from downtown and the wharf. The easy walking path to the wharf parallels the water. There are many wonderful restaurants within walking distance too! A nice place to lay your head after a day of sightseeing!

Read More
Read Less

Outstanding hotel right on Monterey Bay

By

18 April 2016

We have now stayed three times at the InterContinental The Clement Monterey and each stay has been memorable.

Based on our previous stays, we decided to make the hotel our home base for trips around Monterey County, including Carmel, Big Sur, Point Lobos, the Monterey Bay Aquarium, seeing the Monarch Butterflies in Pacific Grove, Pinnacles National Park, the 18 mile coastal drive, and Monterey County Wine Country. The hotel is well located to see all of those places with reasonable drives and Lucille, the concierge, is a native and will give you great information and advice. She can also take care of specialty items, in case you want flowers or other niceties.

The staff is very welcoming. We were recognized at the desk as Ambassadors and after check-in were personally escorted to our room and given a walk through. The staff was very welcoming and treated us as valued guests whenever we were on the property.

The rooms are a comfortable modern style, well kept, and the photos on the hotel website are accurate about them and the property. The hotel is positioned on piers literally above the water on Monterey Bay. Highly recommend an ocean front or ocean view room. The fireplaces in many rooms are a nice touch. We love the sound of the ocean and seeing the marine life and boats on the Bay.

Off season rates are really reasonable.

Read More
Read Less

Wonderful Hotel

By

13 April 2016

club

The Clement Monterey is an amazing hotel. The service is wonderful, the property is beautiful, and it is conveniently located near Cannery Row.

Read More
Read Less

Great service, clean and comfortable

By

13 April 2016

club

The hotel was fabulous and family friendly. I would go there again. The room was well maintained and the bathroom was spacious. The only thing that we noticed were the walls were thin and we could here everything. Luckily it did not effect our sleep at all. The bed was very comfortable.

Read More
Read Less

Great Location and Friendly Staff

By

12 April 2016

club

The location and staff of this hotel were great! Loved the restaurant! Rooms were large and clean and updated.

Read More
Read Less