Skip Navigation
  • English    English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • Sign In
  • 1 888 IC HOTELS
  • Book online or call:
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
  • 1 888 IC HOTELS
  • Book online or call:
 

New York Barclay

A CLASSIC, ELEGANT LUXURY HOTEL IN MIDTOWN MANHATTAN
Built in 1926 with the support of the Vanderbilt family, this New York luxury hotel combines timeless glamour with contemporary elegance. Right in the heart of Manhattan, this landmark hotel is the ideal base for 5th Avenue shopping and many other iconic New York experiences. It’s just a short walk from the Museum of Modern Art, 360° views from the ‘Top of the Rock’ and world-famous Central Park. After your city adventures, unwind and people watch with exquisite dining at Barclay Bar & Grill.

Guest Reviews

default

HOTEL HIGHLIGHTS

  • Restaurant & Lounges

    Located off the hotel's elegant lobby, the Barclay Bar & Grill offers American and Continental cuisine with French flair in an informal dining atmo...
  • Amenities & Services

    The fitness centre offers cardiovascular and circuit training equipment, saunas and steam rooms. Massage services are available there or in the pri...
  • SPECIAL PACKAGES

    There's always something special happening at an InterContinental hotel. Whether you are looking for a fun-filled getaway or a place to host your n...
New York Barclay
  • 111 East 48th St
  • New York City , NY , 10017-1297
  • United States
  • Front Desk +1-212-7555900

  • Driving Directions
  • Transportation
   

Languages spoken by staff

German, English, Spanish, French, Italian, Japanese, Korean, Dutch , Portuguese, Chinese

Pet Policy

Contact hotel for details
Pet Fee $25.00 per night
  • Local Time

    12:11 PM
    • CHECK-IN

      3:00 PM
    • CHECK-OUT

      12:00 PM Late Check out Available

    Currency

    • US Dollar $ (USD)

    Accessibility

    • Service Animals Allowed
    • 18 Room(s) with Accessibility Standards
    • Parking
    • Special Needs
    Guest Reviews
    Rated 4.2 out of 5 by 250 reviewers.
    Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Great Location A perfect location to walk anywhere in Midtown and to get to Central Park. However the hotel room did not smell very well. September 30, 2012
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent location, safe, comfortable and friendly The hotel was a great choice, very well positioned and close to Times Sq, 5th ave, Grand Central station. Breakfast bit of a crush but we could use our elbows as well as anyone! Desk staff helpful and friendly. Air con bit loud and room bit dark but very clean and comfortable. September 24, 2012
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great location and value The room was small but clean and comfortable, and had everything we needed. It was also quiet, with no noise from the hall, elevator or from outside. The staff was very pleasant and gave helpful information. The breakfast was wonderful---we expected cereal and danish but instead enjoyed a hot breakfast. We hope to return soon. September 21, 2012
    Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Close to everything good breakfast and freindly staff. Close walking distrance to Time Square, 5th Avenue, St Pats, Grand Central and so on. Would stay here again when visiting September 15, 2012
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by No hectic in NYC This is a great New York City hotel that is right in the middle of Manhattan. Walking distance to Times Square, Broadway shows, the Jewelry district, and Rockefeller Center. Oh, and in case you are into Haute Couture you have every possibility up Fifth Avenue and the very elite Madison Avenue. September 15, 2012
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by great location, friendly staff I have stayed in many hotels in Manhatten and this hotel is far above the rest in this price range. The breakfast was excellent and went until 10:00 a.m. Coffee and tea 24 hrs. Access to computer and printer if you need to print off tickets, etc. Staff was very friendly and the room was not overly small like some can be. Will definatley stay here again. September 14, 2012
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Definitely will stay here again Stayed one night. We were able to check in early, gave us more time to enjoy NYC before a show. Checked out next day, had our luggage held for us until early evening. Would definitely recommend. Room is not spacious but good for NYC. Very clean room. Fast elevators. September 12, 2012
    Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good value, great location Friendly staff who did a great job keeping breakfast replinished. Small breakfast room with many people trying to use at the same time (like a well-behaved European high school tour group). Staff was impressive to keep things moving. Good value in a great location. September 9, 2012
    Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by NYC This hotel is centrally located to most of NYC's attractions. Close to Times Square, Rockefeller Center, Central Park, Broadway, etc. However, the rooms are very small and have just enough room for a bed and small chair. It was a bit tight for the two of us and luggage/clothes for a week. There is no lobby whatsoever as the lobby is used as the breakfast area. The breakfast area gets very crowded around 9am. My suggestion would be to walk about 100 yards West of the hotel to the Manhattan Cafe. It is a great place for breakfast and lunch and has an incredible variety of fresh, self-serve food. September 6, 2012
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Nice Room, Quick Elevators... ...and Great Breakfast, Service and Location. Can't ask for anything more. September 2, 2012
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Fixing the traditional problems with NYC Hotels! We have stayed in a lot of Holiday Inn Express properties, mostly because I find the beds/sheets/linens are consistent property to property (comfortable!) and I love the free hot breakfast. I was concerned that in NYC I would run into problems I hear are consistent with many budget friendly hotels (loud street noise, cramped rundown outdated rooms, rude staff, having to pay for everything - breakfast/wifi). I was so pleased that none of this true at this property!! The staff were nothing but wonderful and accommodating. Our room, albeit small (you will find this in EVERY hotel room in this city), was spotless, modern, and the beds were comfortable. We had zero street noise, in fact, I could not even hear anyone in any of the neighboring rooms. Wifi is free and high quality (I noted that in a lot of other hotels you must pay for wifi). Breakfast was hot (eggs, bacon, sausage, biscuits, pancakes, cold/hot cereal, fruit and yogurt), and the staff worked tirelessly to make sure everything was stocked. The breakfast area is tight, but they have done an excellent job arranging the seating, and my husband and I never had to wait to sit down. There were some complaints made by other reviewers, but really I feel they are unwarranted and the writers had a ridiculous notion of what to expect from a hotel in NYC. For the price, and being 1 block off of the center of Times Square, and within walking distance of Rockefeller Plaza, The Theater District, ect..... this cannot be beat! August 30, 2012
    Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great stay for the cost I was very impressed with the customer service at this hotel. Staff was pleasant, helpful and accommodating. Received great awards club service. Rooms are tiny with no view but very clean and functional. Was very quiet. Bathroom was immaculately clean. Breakfast was good. Only complaint was the mattress itself. Should have probably been replaced a few years ago. Was very clean but uncomfortable and actually sagged in the center. Overall I would recommend the hotel and would stay there again. August 27, 2012
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent Hotel! I don't write reviews very often. As a matter of fact this is only my second. But this hotel deserves the kudos. The staff were excellent! They were very knowledgeable and extremely helpful. If we go back to New York, there is no doubt about where we will stay. The room was comfortable and the location of the hotel was just right. We truly enjoyed our stay. August 3, 2012
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Good location and comfortable rooms This hotel is at a great location and is very easy to get to via public transport. My room was very quiet (18th floor) and comfortable and I really enjoyed the hot breakfast in the morning. I will definitely stay at another holiday inn express in the future. July 26, 2012
    Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by I would stay here again!! The staff is absolutely amazing. Dennis, at the front desk (sorry I don't know your title) was so helpful and friendly. This was our first time to New York City. We asked him where we should eat, drink, whatever and he was very knowledgeable. There was also a lady at the front desk that advised us to schedule a ride back to the airport as it was cheaper. It was so nice to have our ride waiting for us when we were ready to go. The rooms were clean, spacious enough for someone that wouldn't be in the room much. The air conditioning worked perfect. The room was quiet for sleeping at night. The bathroom was clean and updated. The elevator service was fast enough. Housekeeping did a nice job for us. USA Today was delivered to our room daily, nice touch. The breakfast was great and it was included!! There were omelets, bacon, sausage, sausage gravy, all hot. There were also cereals, muffins, bagels, toast, milk, juices and coffee. The wi-fi was included. . The location worked great for our itinerary, The area was safe.There was a bar right across the street from the hotel. There were many little places to eat or get sodas VERY close to the hotel. Short walk to many of the sights we wanted to see in Times Square. Cabs were easy to find on 5th or 6th Streets. Excellent value, excellent service!!! When we come back to NYC, this is where we will stay. Again, thank you Dennis and the rest of the staff for being such great hosts!!! July 24, 2012
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent experience - great location I often stay at HI Express but was concerned about the NYC hotel. Would it be clean? Modern? I had nothing to worry about, the quality was the same as the brand new HI Express properties I have stayed at. My only criticism was about the mattress. It was a little too soft for me and felt "old hotel". But everything else about the room was clean and comfortable so I didn't obsess about the mattress. The A/C was especially fabulous - cooled the room and felt great after a sweaty day in the city. July 17, 2012
    Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great location A great location for NYC and excellent value for money. July 17, 2012
    Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Small Rooms Beware the rooms are so small there is not even a refrigerator in the room. We had king size bed, but it was actually sized like 2 twins. My feet overhung the edge of the bed. I am 6 feet tall. We asked for a rollaway. It was unusable, so saggy. We had to put the mattress on the floor. This is an old building, no central air conditioning in the room. You must rely on an window unit that is both noisy and smelly. The breakfast was okay...although they often ran out of food. On the postive side, the service was pretty good. The room was clean. Wifi is free and the location is very central to many attractions. July 16, 2012
    Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by No room at the front desk or in the corridors to room A two star hotel in a dubious street. If I could have got out of staying in the hotel I would have but I had already paid in full. There is no way I would stay there again. The staff were friendly but I was in shock that the money I had paid went to a youth hostel. The bathroom area was ok, the bed creaked and the room was substandard. July 16, 2012
    Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Avoid Breakfast area too small and therefore crowded. Had to wait for elevator for too long, once occupied by staff! July 14, 2012
    Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good service The hotel is in a very good location, walking distance to mayor attractions, nice staff. July 11, 2012
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great location and breakfast choices The location was wonderful for seeing shows in the theater district. We felt safe walking back to the hotel. Check-in was fast and efficient. The computers available to the guests were convenient and always available. Breakfast had a good variety of choices and the tables and counter areas were clean and the food was well stocked. We stay in New York City every year and will return here in 2013. This hotel is a great value. July 11, 2012
    Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Space of reception and restorant You don´t exist for the staff. Receotion/restorant are ridiculous. July 11, 2012
    Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good location but the room was too small This was my first time in NYC. I thought the place was in a great location near Times Square. I was disappointed in the lobby, the people at the desk were not really helpful or friendly. The room was clean but tiny for the price. I would only recommend this hotel because of the location and it is within walking distance of many sights. July 10, 2012
    Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Confortable room and good guest services The Hotel is close to Times Square and Rockafeller Center, every think is very easy to walk to. The Hotel was under rentavation while we were there and had to go a couple doors down the streert for breakfast but was very good food.I would stay there again and would recomend it to others. i July 10, 2012
    Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Fantastic location & very comfortable throughout The location was amazing - a short walk to Times Square & Central Park is in walking distance as well. Comfortable bed & room. Great staff - helpful, nice, resourceful. July 10, 2012
    Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by nice hotel enjoyed my stay in new york. Great location close to times square, empire state building and central park. would recommend to friends and family. July 10, 2012
    Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by It does what it says in the details The hotels location was perfect for those people who want to be in central Manhattan. The initial appearance is not likely to overjoy people who use Holiday inns in the UK as it is not very glamourous but it is very funcional and the rooms ,while not being particularly spacious make good use of whats available and they do have a large and comfortable bed. The breakfast area is far to small and with locals also coming in for breakfast we had days when we could not find any seats or indeed any space at all. July 10, 2012
    Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by NICE It's a nice place to stay. Great location (near Best buy on 5th ave, Duane Read, etc). July 10, 2012
    Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great place to stay Having never been to NYC before, my daughter and I were flying byt he seat of our pants when we chose somewhere to stay. This location seemed central to all we wanted to do so seemed like a good location. The staff was great, the room was clean and comfortable (if a bit small) and the breakfast was edible. The only criticism I could make was that the elevators were extremely slow and becuase the rooms were small and close together the noise out in the hallway was loud at times. Also on our last night there the bar across the road had a live band playing so there was alot of noise. Not much the hotel could do about that though. overall the experience was good. The room was small but as we were only in htere to sleep it didn't really matter. It was clean and comfortable which was the main thing. Will definitely stay there again on our next trip to NYC. July 10, 2012
    <<prev 6 7 8 9 10 next>>