Your session will expire in 5 minutes, 0 seconds, due to inactivity. Stay Logged In
Create PIN
All fields are required
If you joined IHG® Rewards Club at a hotel, then you will need to create a 4-digit PIN in order to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
Unexpected Server Error
Your session has expired. Please sign in to your profile
We are sorry, our system is temporarily unavailable. Please try again later or contact the IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care Centre for assistance.
The 4-digit numbers entered must match.
Forgot PIN?
All fields are required
Unexpected Server Error
Your session has expired. Please sign in to your profile
We are sorry, our system is temporarily unavailable. Please try again later or contact the IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care Centre for assistance.
Don't have an email address in your profile?

Contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address via www.ihg.com/updateemail.

InterContinental New York Barclay

Book Now
MoreFewer Options

* Required Field

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Manage A Reservation
Need to make changes to your reservation? You've come to the right place!
Already an IHG® Rewards Club Member? to view reservations.
View This Reservation

* Required Field

Manage A Reservation
Need to make changes to your reservation? You've come to the right place!
Already an IHG® Rewards Club Member? to view reservations.
View This Reservation

* Required Field

Hotel Reviews for InterContinental New York Barclay
Guest Reviews
Each review and rating that we receive is verified to ensure that we only display information provided by guests who have actually stayed in the hotel.
77%
Recommend This Property

Overall Experience

4

based on 564 reviews
77%
Recommend This Property

Ratings Breakdown

564reviews

  • 5 Stars
    286
  • 4 Stars
    124
  • 3 Stars
    58
  • 2 Stars
    55
  • 1 Stars
    41

Wonderful olde worlde hotel

By

25. September 2014

club

We split our visit between two hotels in NY, this one and the Crowne Plaza Times Square. We didn't know how far out we'd be from the action at this location but we needn't have worried, it within walking distance of all the attractions, and grand central station is on the doorstep.

The hotel has an old grand feel about it, and all the staff were very friendly and helpful. Our room was good, the bathroom was a little cramped and dated but the bed was wonderfully large and comfortable. I think the hotel was closing shortly after our visit for refurbishment so maybe the bathrooms will be updated. We had a room on the 6th floor (one below the top) and we faced onto a busy street but heard minimal noise.

I do hope then they refurbish they don't take away the old charm of the place because it really is a little haven in a very busy city.

Read More
Read Less

Closed for 18 months?!

By

23. September 2014

The experience at the NYC Barclay was great but we were told upon checkin that the hotel will be closed for 18 months for renovations.

Read More
Read Less

NYC Barclay

By

14. September 2014

platinumelite

Hotel was being closed for renovations. Hope it is a lot better when it re-opens.

Posted byHotelStaff
19. September 2014
Dear Guest, The InterContinental New York Barcaly is indeed closed for renovations. We are very excited about this gigantic project that will give a new lease of life to our dear property, restoring its elegance and beauty. We aim at providing our guests a memorable experience of luxury and hope you will want to return and visit us to enjoy an impeccable service. Awaiting to welcoming back for the Grand re-opening! Warm regards, Executive Office
Read More
Read Less

Great Stay

By

12. September 2014

club

Room and Bed were extremely comfortable

Room was very cold when first entering, but was easily adjusted

Read More
Read Less

Most Comfortable Hotel in Midtown Manhattan

By

12. September 2014

platinumelite

I'm actually sad - the Barclay is one of my favorites and often stayed when in midtown east NYC. Yes, the rooms are old but spacious and comfortable. By closing this hotel, IHG will no longer have any presence in Manhattan's midtown East. Why not renovate the hotel one section at a time? The rooms are magnificent and yes, the bathrooms need work but they do function and the luxury is still there! Please keep the Barclay open!

Read More
Read Less

Very nice

By

11. September 2014

club

Very nice hotel experience. Good value, beautiful lobby area, attentive staff. Will stay here again.

Posted byHotelStaff
19. September 2014
Dear Markd45, Thank you! We definitely want to see you coming back too in 2015 and sincerely hope you will love the newlyrefurbished InterContinental New York Barclay. Kind regards, Executive Office
Read More
Read Less

service of the staffs must improve.

By

08. September 2014

no comments
you must improve your service. your the Jewels of the IHG group do not disappointing you clients

Posted byHotelStaff
19. September 2014
Dear Guest, Thank you for sharing your thoughts. We regret to read that your recent experience at the InterContinental New York Barclay did not reach your expectations. We would love to get more details in order to understand how we could let you down so badly and find a way to rebuild your trust in our property, therefore we sent you a private email and hope to hear from you soon. Looking forward to talking to you, Best regards, Executive Office
Read More
Read Less

comfortable clean hotel

By

08. September 2014

I was in New York to celebrate my friends birthday so we wanted to treat her special! Intercontinental did just that. Great hotel and staff!

Posted byHotelStaff
19. September 2014
Dear Sima99, Thank you very much for your kind post. What a nice treat for your friend! We are glad you had all a great time and to see you for future celebrations when the Barclay re-opens in 2015. All our best wishes Executive Office
Read More
Read Less

Hopefully much better after renovations

By

02. September 2014

platinumelite

I understood that the hotel is going to be undergoing renovations but there is still a standard level of service that should be provided. I found the staff very short and abrupt when dealing with me, even though I am a Platinum member. I received no recognition of my status. The rooms are very dated, which is probably why the hotel needs to undergo renovations.
The bathroom had a mildew smell and some stains on the walls. Also, the shower water was very hot and could not be adjusted much.
On the positive side, the location and lobby of this hotel are great!

Posted byHotelStaff
08. September 2014
Dear Guest, Thank you very much for sharing your opinion. We would of course have loved you to fully enjoy yourself during your stay and are sorry for any inconvenience you might have encounteres. The InterContinental New York Barclay will soon undergo a massive renovation and get the facelift it deserves. We are very excited about this project and hope to see you coming back to visit our shining property. Best regards Executive Office
Read More
Read Less

Time to start the renovations

By

01. September 2014

club

It's time to start the rennovations that are long over due. This used to be such a beautiful hotel and unfortunately over the last 10 years I've watched the slow and steady decline. The staff who have always been so friendly and accommodating are bitter and angry - and with good reason. It's time to let them go find new employment and get started restoring this once fantastic property.

Posted byHotelStaff
06. September 2014
Dear Guest, We are sorry to hear that we did not reach your expectations during your last stay with us. The entire staff as well as our loyal guests are extremely attached to the property, we highly appreciate your flattering words about the beauty of our Grande Dame and couldn't agree more with the necessity of restoring its Grandeur. We are now in the very last days before closure and look forward to the renovation to start. We hope to see you again after the Grand re-opening of the magnificent New York Barclay. Kindest regards from the entire team! Executive Office
Read More
Read Less

elegante hotel,ubicacion perfecta

By

01. September 2014

Fuimos a Nueva york por trabajo y aprovechamos para pasear un poco en esta hermosa ciudad.
El hotel esta precioso con un lobby espectacular,las habitaciones aunque no son grandes están bastante bien y las camas son muy comodas.
El hotel esta siendo remodelado pero no nos incomodo en lo absoluto ya que no se oia nada solo que no había room service, ni cafeteras en las habitaciones pero nos dieron el teléfono de un café que nos traía a la habitación el desayuno y café.
El personal de bell boys y bell captain excelente.

Read More
Read Less

Mohammed AlOmar

By

30. August 2014

The hotel is pretty old and no room service is provided! The decor, furniture and wall paper is totally consumed. This hotel as per current condition is substandard and was totally not comfortable with my stay.

It is overdue for complete renovation

Posted byHotelStaff
04. September 2014
Dear Guest, Thank you for the review. As advertised for weeks, the historic New York Barclay building is about to be renovated. For approximately twelve months, our property will undergo a major revamp, it will then reopen in 2015 offering our guests with the highest level of comfort and refinement. We hope you will want to visit us again and enjoy the elegance of our refreshed hotel. Best regards, Executive Office
Read More
Read Less