Skip Navigation
  • English    English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • Sign In
  • 1 888 IC HOTELS
  • Book online or call:
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
  • 1 888 IC HOTELS
  • Book online or call:
 

New York Barclay

Rated 4.0 out of 5 by 548 reviewers.
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Forgot something in your room? Say good-bye! Location, cleanliness, staff... all fine. But I left in a hurry and forgot an item in my room. I called the hotel the very next day and they say then didn't find anything in my room. I am not sure how this can be possible... I am not going back! 17 October 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great NYC Weekend I took my husband to NYC for a surprise getaway and the Barclay was the perfect spot for us! Great location and excellent service from check-in to checkout. The beds were extremely comfy, and our room was the most spacious I've had in New York. The location is also excellent - easy walking distance to Times Square, subways, and shopping. I will definitely stay here again. 16 October 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Columbus Week End in NY It is a good choice but: front desk is arrogant Rooms are noisy maids are lazy 16 October 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Adequate When we got to the property we were sent to a room which, once we got there, was still occupied by the prior guest. Then sent to another room, where the water pressure was inadequate and we couldn't get to cool comfortably. Also was dissatisfied that for a property which charges a significant sum to stay, there is an additional daily charge for internet use. Come on, even Holiday Inn includes WIFI in their nightly rate. 14 October 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Very Short Visit! 3 nights little time to enjoy all the hotel has to offer. But, a very pleasant experience nevertheless. Reception, concierge and door staff all very friendly and helpful. Room on 11 th floor and facing street extremely noisy (why are sirens needed in the middle of the night?). 11 October 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Minor thing + Kudos I wanted to order room service one night and could not find the menu book anywhere. The only thing that was visible was the breakfast tag for the next morning. When I checked out I opened a top drawer in the bureau that said "special services" or something like that and found them. I got dressed and went downstairs that evening but would have preferred to relax in the room. Kudos for the front desk allowing me to stay one extra night on a Monday at the weekend rate that I had paid for the previous 3 nights. I will stay again at this Intercontinental in NYC. The location can't be beat. Rose 11 October 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by All Around Great Hotel Experience I cannot overstate how happy my wife and I were with this hotel. From the moment we checked in to the moment we left we were made to feel comfortable and valuable by everyone we dealt with. Our room (#1141, a corner suite looking down Lexington) was wonderful with comfortable amenities and quiet (for NYC). Location was perfect for us, walking distance to 5th as well as the theatre district and only a few blocks from Grand Central. Cannot recommend this hotel highly enough. Also, be sure to take advantage of the knowledge of the concierge staff; they are invaluable. 11 October 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Tired and old The hotel is tired and needs an upgrade. The room we had was very noisy, full of dust and old. It does not fit in with the other Intercontinental Hotels around the world. 08 October 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Quality of rooms The hotel is very "tired" and particularly the rooms are very dated and dingy. I was upgraded to an Executive Room but whilst the room size was good the bathroom was extremely small with old fittings. Whist I was on my own for this business trip, there is no way, my wife would have tolerated the quality of the room 08 October 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great and friendly service, despite very busy with UN summit Great service, good room and equipment. Really enjoyable experience and I would come back any time. 01 October 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Not great Location good, bellboys very friendly, receptionist polite but impersonal. Major critic are the rooms, old, not tidy at all and bathrooms should be renovated urgently! Beds are too old too, matrasses are over used. Wifi is not free, how can that be for such a level of hotel! Incredible, old fashioned mentality. 29 September 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by great room great service Great suite upgrade as a ra. Service and staff great 23 September 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Review Room for improvement - Even though First Impression was Good there is some Room for improvement 23 September 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Superb Stay I would highly recommend this hotel for anyone travelling to NYC! The location is superb. All staff were incredibly friendly, helpful and knowledgeable - they made us feel welcomed and at home. The room was spacious and immaculately clean. We couldn't have asked for anything more. We will definitely be back! 20 September 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Old & Out Dated Hotel is old & out dated, the foyer gives an impression of a well kept majestic hotel but underneath not the case. We stayed for nine nights the room for this period of time was just too small. As for the bathroom so pokey you almost sat on the toilet roll holder when you used the toilet, , the bath tub was rusty with water up underneath it , it was literally floating on water, we would not stay here again. On a positive note it was quite a handy location.. 19 September 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great Decor and extremely comfortable bed The decor in the lobby of the hotel was fantastic! I felt like I was in a 1920s movie. Great to see hotels still have class and tradition. The bed was incredibly comfortable, could have slept all day!! Great hotel, with incredibly friendly staff. 19 September 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Superb Value I got in on the weekends and got a superb deal on rooms. Waiters very courteous and professional. Grand Old Intercontinental appeal. Bed that is comfy, pillows that are not too soft. Overall I enjoyed my stay here. 18 September 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Great Hotel, average service We stayed there for 8 nights. The room was big and comfortable and the even let us check in early. There was a problem with the reservation that wasn´t made for 2 beds so we had to share a bed, but the staff was kind enough to give us a king size bed. The biggest problems were: 1) They only came to open the bed at night only once in 8 days, we asked the maid to do so but she didn´t want to. 2) The worst thing was that our stay in the hotel got ruined when the bellman came to get our luggage and we tipped him with 5 dollars. He said that it wasn´t enough and he didn´t want to accept it. We felt really bad and our stay got ruined because of that. We stayed many times at the Intercontinental, my sister even got married at one of your hotels, but we never felt so mistreated like that day. We don´t know if we will return next time because of that. 11 September 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Service and Emlpoyees Super place the people could not be any finer. It has been a real joy staying here. 10 September 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Assist in adjourning rooms We stayed with another party. The staff was very helpful in getting us adjourning rooms 08 September 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Perfect location Very comfortable 6 nights in a king suite. Recommend the 14th (top) floor as very quiet. A distinct problem, however, was the lack of free Wi-Fi, it was amazing that this isn't provided! It was an expensive daily rate but I was sometimes able to pick up the Waldorf Astoria free Wi-Fi which is a sad reflection on the Barclay. All cafes etc. have free Wi-Fi so you just have to wait until you're outside the hotel - an inconvenience. Apart from that the hotel is lovely. 08 September 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Bad hotel to stay at This hotel was terrible to stay at . The toilet flushed all night. The smoke Detecter kept kept going off every time we took A shower. The service from the hotel was Terrible. Do not recommend this hotel 05 September 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Dirty air filter and noisy plumbing It is over priced for the condition of the property. The plumbing bangs when the neighboring room used the sink. The return air filter in our room was BLACK from not being routinely changed thus making the ac work too hard and not really cooling off the room. The window in our room leaked too much road noise. Expected so much more from the InterContinental. 05 September 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent Service and Good Location Profession Staffs with excellent customer services. Hotel locates at Manhatan where you can walk to 5th Ave in just few minutes. 05 September 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 US OPEN Coming in to the NYC Barclay for the US OPEN was fantastic. We stayed during labor day weekend. The hotel check in process went exceptionally smooth and the room was well beyond par. The cleaning staff never let us down. At checkout, when the line became a bit long and tedious, an extra employee came out to see if he could help with anything (we had some internet charges we needed clarified) and he did so allowing us to skip the queue. Since Wait is a 4 letter word when your waiting "on" line in NYC, we totally appreciated it and we vow to come back to the Barclay for our next US OPEN. 05 September 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Labour Day weekend 2013 I have to say that I was looking forward to the stay at this property. Overall everything went well except for the system glitch that would not allow guests to access rooms. I was told by the staff that the management team would get back to me with regards to glitch but I never heard from anyone even after leaving a message through the hotel operator. Also read that some guests were given complimentary brunch (Tripadvisor report) in the hotel but my self being a Royal Ambassador was not given that option. My suggestion is for the hotel to place a board in the check in area advising guests of the issue and an ETA as to when the issue will be resolved. A complimentary breakfast for its Royal Ambassadors would have been a nice gesture due to the inconvenience experienced by the guests. 05 September 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by never again we tried to check in saturday monring around 10:30am and we were turned away because of a computer problem. we then tried to check in again around 6pm and all we received from the front desk was double talk about the computer still being down and checking on where we were in the queue. they would never tell us how long it would take to check in and never got back to us when we asked to speak to a manager. luckily we just kept asking different people different questions and eventually one of them checked us in after about 40 minutes. i will never stay here again. 05 September 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Good Location but rooms are small and in desperate need of facelift I travel to NYC often both for business and pleasure, and I normally choose the Intercontinental Barclay for 2reasons: 1) as a Platinum member I get upgraded 2) location is very convenient In the past I had always been treated very well and had been given nice rooms in the corner of Lexington, but this time (just last week) I really struggled. I had a terrible experience at check in, the person who checked me in was rude and unhelpful - did not recognise my status as a platinum member and gave me a really terrible terrible room. I really struggled to get properly upgraded, i had to invest time and energy in otherwise unnecessary calls to reception etc.. This hotel is basically only worth while if you are upgraded to a Jr Suite as normal rooms are ridiculously small dark, and not well appointed, bathrooms are small old looking and uncomfortable. It is safe to say this hotel, like many other Intercontinentals, is in desperate need of refurbishment. In a city like Ny where there are lots of exciting hotel options they really don't have the luxury of operating at such low standards. So all in all this was a sweet & sour experience. Check your options in Nyc beforehand and compare next time u travel! 31 August 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by NYC Barclays August Enjoyable stay. I booked the Shopping Package and soon after check in received my gift bag, but someone left out the charge card. It took a few hours for someone to figure out I had not received it, at which point they sent up a new bag. I still have not received an emailed receipt 4 days later- why the hold up? 30 August 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Average service Service very mixed and at times poor. Staff at check in vaguely pointed to bellboy and said I could have help with my bags if required. Not very welcoming or concerned to be much help. We also waited a long time for service over lunch. Not a great experience on the whole! 30 August 2013
<<prev 8 9 10 11 12 ... 19 next>>
New York Barclay
  • 111 East 48th St
  • New York , NY , 10017-1297
  • United States
  • Front Desk +1-212-7555900

  • Driving Directions
  • Transportation
  • Parking
   

Languages spoken by staff

German, English, Spanish, French, Italian, Japanese, Korean, Dutch , Portuguese, Chinese

Pet Policy

One pet per room. Dog must weight 70 lbs.or less. Dog should be nonaggressive and leashed at all times in public area and not be left alone in room. If dog is barking then the guest will have to depart the hotel. Must be registered with front desk.
Pet Fee $25.00 per night
  • Local Time

    1:54 AM
    • CHECK-IN

      3:00 PM
    • CHECK-OUT

      12:00 PM Late Check out Available

    Currency

    • US Dollar $ (USD)

    Accessibility

    • Service animals allowed
    • 18 Room(s) with Accessibility Standards
    • Parking
    • Special Needs