Skip Navigation
  • English    English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • Sign In
  • 1 888 IC HOTELS
  • Book online or call:
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
  • 1 888 IC HOTELS
  • Book online or call:
 

New York Barclay

Rated 4.0 out of 5 by 562 reviewers.
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 worst hotel ever I tried this hotel 5-8 aug (3nights) because im a IHG gold member. I would rather stay at the cheapest inn. When I checked in they told me leave our baggage tickets in his customer note, hotel staffs move my bags to my room. so I leave my baggage tickets in hotel checkin counter, and out of the hotel for my urgent business. when I come back my room, theres no bags and I found dirty toilet. What more disappointing about this was when i goback to the lobby. the staff of chech-in counter talk to me go storage and find your bags eventhough they have no my baggage tickets. The next day, I met a terrible accident. When I rest in the room, the housekeeper open my room even any knock. I was naked and scream. I understand the housekeeper make mistake unfortunately, but that was very horrible to me. Overall horrible place to stay. Staff dosent seem like they care at all about customer service. 20 August 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Impressive lobby, very comfy bed, good size room for NYC Good location to get away from all the croding of times sqaure let close enough to walk to the shows and attractions like Rocefeller Center. Loby and restaurant area very impressive suitable for a special occasion trip. Frendly and professional staff. 19 August 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by A real disgrace to the Intercontinental brand Tired and smelly room, unfriendly staff, small and REALLY dirty gym. One of my worst hotel experiences in a long time... 19 August 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Total Satisfaction Our experience was total satisfaction with every aspect of your hotel. We will be sure to stay with you in the future. 19 August 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Nice to be stuck in NYC I have been stuck in NYC several times due to the airlines and The Barclay never fails to come through in comfort and convenience. I would not stay any where else. Amazing staff. 18 August 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great Centrally-Located Manhattan Hotel w Perks This is a great hotel that is centrally located in Manhattan, close to the Lexington Ave subway lines, lots of great restaurants, and walking distance to Grand Central. The rooms are very comfortable with plenty of room to spread out, the bed is luxurious feeling, and I found the bathrooms to be sized quite well for a NYC hotel. I also really loved all the toiletries, not only the standard shampoo, conditioner, etc, but also q-tips and cotton pads. The staff at the front desk were ultraprofessional without being snooty and the fitness center is well stocked with multiple machines (with TVs, and there are headphones available), weights, weight machines, water, and towels. The conference facilities were also great, the water was always full (a necessity!) and there were plenty of pens and notepads. The only reason I didn't give it five stars is because of the rather high charges for wireless internet ($12.95 for basic and $16.95 for speedy). Also, the blanket in my closet had some stains. 18 August 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Wonderful Staff and Great Location from your arrival, doorman Angel gives you a great smile and immediate service as well as local info. Then you go to check-in where Marco and Sokol (Albanian?) are wonderfully welcoming and helpful.. The hotel is perfectly located next to the Waldorf, on Madison Ave, near Grand Central, unbelievable location! A classic hotel with a wonderful staff.....Thank you Angel, Marco, and Sokol! 14 August 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great Stay We stayed at this hotel to celebrate our 45th wedding anniversary. Our suite was clean, had a wonderful view, spacious with appealing furnishings and on a quiet floor. The hotel is located in the vicinity of the theatre district, upscale clothing stores, great restaurants and access to subway. I think the Business Center should provide free computer services. 13 August 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Wonderful Room, Excellant Service We were there with friends celebrating my wife 's and my Anniversary and our good friends birthday. Although not originally given an upgrade (our friends were upgraded immediately to a junior suite) we were eventually also upgrades to a beautiful junior suite. We thank the staff for their professionalism and desire to make our stay a memmorable one. the breakfast wa very good and certainly plentiful. the location was excellent for our needs. 12 August 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by I am still waiting... I am still waiting to be disappointed by an Intercontinental experience and an experience at this property. I began staying at the Barclay in 1982. They are consistently very professional, very personable, very attentive, very patient, and very kind. If I had to pick one hotel in the world to make as a year-round home it would be the Barclay. If you are not extremely well satisfied here, then you will not be anywhere. 12 August 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Same great service plus remarkable new Bathroom Friendly doorman,quick & easy check-in,luggage promptly in room, great breakfast...same friendly Waiters. Bathroom in 641 is state of the art... well lit,large and comfortable,Shower feels private and safe,shower head is fantastic,Clock in Shower is a very good idea! I cannot forget the Room Maids...quick to clean the room in the mornings,quick for turn-down service in the evening. 09 August 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by GREAT PROPERTY AND BEDS This is my favorite Hotel in NYC. Great Location. East side of town. Clean and perfect. 09 August 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by best service The guest services team at the Barclay is the best in the system and that is saying a lot-as for example the Mark Hopkins , Boston and the new London property, the ambassador teams are fantastic...but the barclay is incredible, and has been providing me such service for many years and is why I keep returning. Also I do not mean to slight management as the GM and AGM are also very hands on and have always made me feel at home. 07 August 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by The best gets better We love the Barclay and have been loyal guests for about 8 years. For us it keeps getting better! Yes, the hotel is not brand new but that's a big part of the charm. The building and the rooms have character - not just some ultra modern cookie cutter hotel. The Barclay is elegant. The Guest Relations staff is fantastic - always recognizing us and always making our stays special. We have traveled extensively but have yet to find a more welcoming hotel experience! 07 August 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Conveniently located Staff was courteous and polite. Bellmen were very helpful. Room needed some maintenance such as sink stopper did not work. Had to call maintenance for TV remote repair. One light switch cut off all lights and power sockets....never could figure that out. Did not like the fact that the cost of my 3 day stay was charged in total to my credit card as soon as I made the reservations. Never have seen that before. What I Iiked most was location of hotel. Convenient to almost everything. 06 August 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by excellent service We enjoyed our stay for three nights. The room was clean and in very good condition. Bed was very comfortable. The staff and service in all areas was excellent. We would certainly stay here again on our next visit to New York. 02 August 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by I love it, but it's getting old, and great for 1 person, tough for couples I have been at the Barclay 5 times this year, but this was my first visit with my wife. Let me start by saying I enjoy the hotel when I'm alone, but I'm not in the room too much alone. It was a different experience sitting on the furniture and sharing the bathroom. The furniture was old, and uncomfortable. The bed was very firm this visit, and the bathroom is just way to small, and dated for a 4 star hotel. Very uncomfortable to share, no counter space. The rooms are old, and it's hard to find power outlets compared to more modern hotels. The saving grace is the staff and housekeeping is excellent. I will stay again when traveling alone, but not as a couple or a family vacation. I beg for IHG to update this hotel. 02 August 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Always a first-class experience I have stayed at The Barclay many times over the past decade and simply wish to express my thanks and appreciation to the entire staff for making this hotel my home away from home when I am in New York City. My most recent visit in April 2013 was particularly memorable, and I've come to measure just about every other hotel where I've stayed to the high standard set by The Barclay. It's a truly first-class hotel experience with a dedicated and hard-working staff that is committed to the highest level of service. When in New York, I can't imagine staying anywhere else. 01 August 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by What A Great Experience This was my first time ever staying at this hotel. The architecture of this hotel was beautiful. The staff was wonderful. The food was mouthwatering. The bed was one of the most comfortable beds I've ever slept in. The cleanliness of this hotel is top notch. When you enter the lobby at this hotel you feel like you're going back in time. I felt like a queen my entire stay there. I will definitely return to this hotel next year. 01 August 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by great hotel Very pleasant stay at the intercontinental. Great suite and service. 01 August 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by First bad stay at the Barclay after many memorable ones. I had a last minute trip to NYC and decided to use points. The room that I was assigned to had stains on the floor and the odor of a smelly gym. I called the front desk and was immediately moved to an alternative room which at first glance seemed fine. Later that eveinng the issue was that an Air Conditioning pipe behind the wall was having issues and there was this constant annoying humming sound that would start softly and quickly increase and would repeat itself over and over again. By 11pm I had enough and asked if I could be moved again. After talking to 3 different hotel staff members I was finally offered to be moved the Presidential Suite. Unfortunately, it was already 11:30pm and I had to depart the hotel before 5am so all in all it was not a very pleasant stay. I have stayed at this property many times and would likely stay again as this was the first issue. 29 July 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Poor attitude & service I understand NYC is diferent, but my experience in London was complete diferent all the staff smile & worried about all your needs 27 July 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by very quiet room What I liked - housekeeping found copy of the NY Times for me, the lavender margarita and atmosphere in the bar, the proximity to Times Square, the Theatre District, and Rockefeller Center, the bed was very comfortable and perhaps most of all, that the room was surprisingly quiet. 27 July 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great hotel Helpful staff, great location near Grand Central and most of all, very helpful when I left my ipad in the hotel safe. Security handled it well and I got the ipad back within a few days! 26 July 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by terrible staff I made reservations online and then called to confirm it went through and request 2 double beds in our room. The lady over the phone said she saw my reservation and absolutely no problem i have you for 2 double beds and she said she they had plenty available! Well after my very long trek and being up for 36 hours and no sleep, my roommate and i went into the hotel to see if we could check in and try to get some sleep. After asking the attendant if we were set up with the 2 double he said it was impossible and i was not told that i could even request one. We were so very hot and tired we just left to think what we could do because first i was lied to by your staff then i was told that it was impossible i was told that! Finally i went to a different concierge and explained her how we were mislead and how we just wanted a place to sleep each. She said she could set us up with a cot and a king bed. This was not fair since my roommate and I were splitting the cost of the room, why should one sleep in a cot! I could not believe how rude your staff was and how unaccommodating they were to our situation! We ended up with the cot and a king and this was just unacceptable! I would of book somewhere else if i would of know the trouble it would of been just to get a decent night sleep! Why would you allow your staff to lie to me right up front!?!!! 22 July 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Overall experience Overall the experience was very good (4/5). I thought that the atmosphere of the hotel was excellemt. The rooms and some facilities are a bit "tired" but the entrance and lobby had a classical New York look and feel that was Perfect and well placed in that part of the city. It was so much more elegant than the "boutique modern" that is invading New York. The rooms need some updating and the breakfast food was good (not great). Overall a great hotel and I would love to stay there again. One thing I am surpridsed about was that internet/wireless access was not free. Many of the other chains are providing free access throughout and I believe it is something that should be a free charge. 22 July 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Beautiful Hotel and great service My wife and I spent our 25th anniversary at the hotel. From the moment we checked in we were treated special. They upgraded our room and put us in a suite for no extra charge. The hotel is an older hotel with rich tradition. It was very clean and well kept. The hotel lobby was beautiful and the staff very friendly. Don't hesitate to book your stay here. Centrally located and close to central station. 21 July 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 Old lady When I checked in.. Firstly no good greetings and room was very smelly, bath room was very small. I was at riom no. 1111 21 July 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Wonderful Wonderful location, service, quality. Definitely coming back!! 20 July 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by GREAT ROOMS BAD FRONT DESK Fourth time I have stayed on these specific property, and these time I got 2 rooms. Its great location, easily to get a cab. The cleaning staff are GREAT. VERY well mannered and polite. The front desk needs improvement. Check in process went smoothly (but no smile) and check out staff was quite rude. After paying for our room, Gregory of front office was rude. Throwing me attitude which I never experience in a upscale hotel. I can go deeper into it but don’t want to waste everybody’s time. I just stay at a lot of properties, and Intercon is one of the top choices because of the amenity and services. But Gregory made it a not friendly environment. GO to someone else if you can. The rooms are surprisingly quite. Can’t hear what’s going on outside your door. Guarantee get a great night sleep. 19 July 2013
<<prev 10 11 12 13 14 ... 20 next>>
New York Barclay
  • 111 East 48th St
  • New York , NY , 10017-1297
  • United States
  • Front Desk +1-212-7555900

  • Driving Directions
  • Transportation
  • Parking
   

Languages spoken by staff

German, English, Spanish, French, Italian, Japanese, Korean, Dutch , Portuguese, Chinese

Pet Policy

One pet per room. Dog must weight 70 lbs.or less. Dog should be nonaggressive and leashed at all times in public area and not be left alone in room. If dog is barking then the guest will have to depart the hotel. Must be registered with front desk.
Pet Fee $25.00 per night
  • Local Time

    6:12 AM
    • CHECK-IN

      3:00 PM
    • CHECK-OUT

      12:00 PM Late Check out Available

    Currency

    • US Dollar $ (USD)

    Accessibility

    • Service animals allowed
    • 18 Room(s) with Accessibility Standards
    • Parking
    • Special Needs