Skip Navigation
  • English    English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • Sign In
  • 1 888 IC HOTELS
  • Book online or call:
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
  • 1 888 IC HOTELS
  • Book online or call:
 

New York Barclay

Rated 4.0 out of 5 by 542 reviewers.
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great serviceI ! I have traveled the world for 52 years, stayed in many of the great hotels. The professional and friendly service at the Barclay is unmatched. The upgrades made over the years to the Barclay also make it one of the finest traditional -style hotels--preserving the elegance of the "old" and adding the the modern perks of the "new". For me and my wife, the Barclay is now our "home" iduring our frequent stays in NYC. 24 June 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by A Pleasant Stay We have stayed in many different hotels in Midtown Manhattan, but The Barclay is among our top choices, it is elegant, understated, and hospitable. Our room was very nice, the lobby is beautiful, the food in the restaurant is good, and every staff member we encountered was friendly, accommodating, and well-trained. We had a great time there! 21 June 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great room, fair service Front desk experience was great. Made to feel very welcome and acknowledged my Ambassador status. Very professional. Can't say the same about the concierge, Ambassador hostess or bartender at the bar. I know it's New York, I'm a New Yorker by birth, but would it hurt any of them to be a bit more pleasant. Especially since the gentleman at the front desk was so nice. 21 June 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Phenomenal experience Our suite room was fantastic—it even has a fireplace (though obviously we didn't use it at the height of summer, would've been useful for winter). Bathroom amenities were of high quality, as to be expected of InterContinental. Our king-sized bed was absolutely comfy. Staff was professional and courteous. The fitness facility was well-equipped, and the sauna and steam room were great and relatively private and quiet. The only con we can think of is that in-room Wi-Fi wasn't free, considering the price of the room. 20 June 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by The doorman found my keys I had just driven from Hartford in a rental car worried that I couldn't find the keys to my car at home, office and house. In dropping off my bag before returning the car, the doorman in pulling my bag from the trunk had the presence of mind to examine the trunk, find the keys and ask them if they were mine. This occurred at about 11pm. 19 June 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Noisy While we enjoyed the location and comfort of this hotel, it was very difficult to get any rest. After a long day of sight seeing & shopping, we wanted a little down time & nap prior to heading out for the evening. We were awakened abruptly by the housekeeping staff yelling to each other very loudly, laughing & repeatedly slamming doors for approximately 45 minutes. I peeked out the door to get their attention to no avail - it continued. The next morning, after a very late night on the town, it was approximately 6:30 am, when we experienced the very same activity. 16 June 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Three Stars And Recommended? The Barclay is a great location. The property will need refurbishing soon and the bathroom in my suite was past its best. But the rooms are large and there's something very New York about this hotel. If you're looking for the moody modernity of the 'W' or the formal five stars of the Four Seasons this isn't for you. But it's not the Sheraton or the Hilton - it still has some understated class. This building is an old lady, but she still has her charms. What let's the property down is some of the staff. Bell hops are unhelpful, the chamber maids quick to scold. Even the lady on the Ambassador desk didn't ask if it had been a good stay. And because of the issues it hasn't. I call for a manager who seems helpful, takes my email and promises some communication. Which doesn't come. I had another reservation at the hotel in a few weeks but I'd rather spare my girlfriend the pains of the awkward staff. So I've gone across town to the Times Square property. It's more expensive, more modern and a lot more polite. So consider staying here. The rooms are big, the rates really wonderful for the location and the old lady is from a gentler less hurried time. Enjoy the location - but just be prepared to take a deep breath when things don't go quite as you'd hoped. As a IC Ambassador my early check in wasn't available and there's no club but all of the other (wonderful IC) perks were provided. 14 June 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by excellent hotel great location and well worththe price. the concierge is the best! 14 June 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great first experience It is my first time staying at this hotel and I just simply LOVED IT!!! The room was delightful, the front desk people were fantastic, the restaurant service was outstanding.... I love this property. You will be my first recommendation in my circle of associates and friends!! Please keep up the great work! 10 June 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good service, excellent value My stay at the Barclay was very pleasant. Service from the staff was well above average: people in general were helpful, knowledgeable and ready to assist. The room was very clean and comfortable, service in the restaurant was excellent as was the food. I will be back! 09 June 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great Location I liked the 'old world' character and charm of this hotel although did feel that an upgrade to the bedrooms was overdue. The breakfast buffet was excellent! The staff were warm and friendly and the hotel very well located for the MOMA and Grand Central Station. 09 June 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Classic, and smooth A classic hotel, with style as well as history. Staff, public areas and room all top notch. Their computer profile of me was out-of0date and did not reflect my IHG profile (address, or royal ambassador status) but this was corrected once I pointed it out. And it would be nice if they had a club lounge. Otherwise, very happy. 09 June 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by AN ABSOLUTELY SUPERB HOTEL This hotel has the old charm,immaculate and a wonderful vibe.The location is excellent.I certainly will return to this hotel on my next stay. 06 June 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by We'll be back! We were here on the holiday weekend and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The room was spacious, the bed comfortable, and it was a great place to come back to and relax after spending fun and busy days out and about. 05 June 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Spring Perfect, perfect pillows, perfect maps. With the exception of the Doll being moved from the floor to the dresser, none. 04 June 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Very Disappointed The room was dull. Due to adjoining doors it was very noisy. Housekeeping was not consistent , towels and glasses were not replaced , hair on bathroom floor on arrival and still there on departure. Hair dryer not working , replacement fell off the wall as only fixed with one screw. Not the best intercontinental we have stayed at. 03 June 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great location and pleasant staff This was my first stay and I found the location to be an excellent one within easy walking distance of MOMA and other attractions. The staff were friendly, the breakfast buffet excellent although the rooms on two different stays could do with a bit of an upgrade. However, the old world charm more than compensated for this. An enjoyable stay. 02 June 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Overall facilities In need of remodeling or refurbishing. It looks old and our room's bathroom was really old with a toilet so close to the wall that was uncomfortable for my husband who is a six feet tall man. 01 June 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Another Great Weekend at the Barclay Both housekeeping and guest relations staff were extremely helpful again. 01 June 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Love this hotel.... We always stay at The Barclay - you can not beat the location, service or beauty of this property. But I must say that on this particular stay, the room we were in was looking tired - the rug could have used a scrub and the wall paper in the bathroom was coming up - not at all what we are accustom to with The Barclay. Usually the rooms are impeccable... We hope this was an anomaly and we see improvement next time we are in NYC because we will stay at The Barclay again. 28 May 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Location Beautiful old world ambiance; bed was beyond comfortable; great location, quiet rooms, very clean, concierge service very helpful and staff excellent! My stay at The Barclay added to my whole 5 night Manhattan experience memorable. 28 May 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Should have been better. I have stayed at I.C. Barclay NY four times and its always been excellent however this time I must say there were some set backs. As member of Ambassador we did not receive the guaranteed upgrade for the first night, I traveled with my wife and adult daughter and we were very uncomfortable. For the other three nights we did get a jr suite excellent. The plate of fruit we received was inedible and one of the fruits was rotten. They do not have the in room free movie anymore. Another set back was the fact that even though I renewed my Ambassador Membership 70 days before by trip I did not receive my membership KIT with the weekend voucher in time; I had planed to use the voucher for our stay. I received the KIT 82 days after renewing. I did have to change my original plan because of this. Something has to be done by ICH Ambassador so this kind of thing does not happen. 27 May 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Don't Trust reservation staff We chose this hotel expressly because they told us that we could book a block of rooms together that would be next to each other and attached. I booked all three rooms together and paid for them on my credit card so that they would be together. I was told that when the others checked in they could change the credit card to be their own. When we did check in the rooms were no where near each other, and the others were not able to switch the credit card on their room to their own credit cards. The hotel rooms were expensive and a little in disrepair. 27 May 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Snack Service and Concierge Based on my wonderful rating above, my suggestions are rather insignificant but worth mentioning. We used the restaurant for an opportunity to play cards at one of the tables and decided to order some hot chocolate to warm us up. So, hot chocolate for 2 and 1 muffin cost me $25.00. Although the Hotel is deluxe and deserves to be in this category, I don't feel that all costs within the Hotel need to be make me regret the order, on principal alone. Regarding the Concierge, they are wonderful. However, I don't feel that one or two available at the height of the day is ample. Some people need extensive time and help and don't wish to be wasting so much time waiting for someone available to offer services. 26 May 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by staff was friendly and food was great This was my first time in NY and the hotel was great. The staff was very friendly and helpful. I would recommend this hotel. 24 May 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Overall Best experience, service, luxury, comfort and location in NYC. Please do not change. Best meal we had in all of the city was the 4-course tasting lunch in your lobby restaurant. 24 May 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by NYC Barkley As always the hotel was great. Favorite location in New York. Excellent staff, comfortable rooms, and within walking distance of all our favorite venues. 23 May 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Weekend Getaway Location, Location, Location. If heading to the Big Apple and planning on Fifth Avenue Shopping and taking in Grand Central, Rockefeller Plaza, and Central Park by walking, there is no better location. Enjoy the more leisurely stroll back to hotel down Park or Madison Avenue and escape the crowds and hustle of fifth avenue when heading back to the hotel. Hotel Staff is second to none. We had a one bedroom suite for the weekend with a great view. Room was spacious, clean, well kept, great amentities, and the king size bed was very comfortable. Know before you go that the hotel has history and not the most modern decor and fixtures. This is an older hotel with a lot of style, class, and incredible architecture. We have often traveled with pets, this time with our infant son. My wife enjoys the convenience of good room service. We had a midnight snack on arrival, dinner the first night, and breakfast the second day. All reasonably priced, excellent timely service and presentation, and the menu and quality of food was also excellent. Overall, the hotel has great services and amentities. We will stay here again and highly recommend this property. 21 May 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Rooms Very Comfortable Love this Facility Will return anytime. Very well Located on the East Side of Manhattan. Rooms have great and comfortable beds. 19 May 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Recent Stay at the New York Barclay Not sure why i continue to stay here. This hotel is in need of a complete renovation. I have stayed at intercontinental hotels around the world and this is not up to standards. 19 May 2013
<<prev 11 12 13 14 15 ... 19 next>>
New York Barclay
  • 111 East 48th St
  • New York , NY , 10017-1297
  • United States
  • Front Desk +1-212-7555900

  • Driving Directions
  • Transportation
  • Parking
   

Languages spoken by staff

German, English, Spanish, French, Italian, Japanese, Korean, Dutch , Portuguese, Chinese

Pet Policy

One pet per room. Dog must weight 70 lbs.or less. Dog should be nonaggressive and leashed at all times in public area and not be left alone in room. If dog is barking then the guest will have to depart the hotel. Must be registered with front desk.
Pet Fee $25.00 per night
  • Local Time

    11:57 PM
    • CHECK-IN

      3:00 PM
    • CHECK-OUT

      12:00 PM Late Check out Available

    Currency

    • US Dollar $ (USD)

    Accessibility

    • Service animals allowed
    • 18 Room(s) with Accessibility Standards
    • Parking
    • Special Needs