Skip Navigation
  • English    English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • Sign In
  • 1 888 IC HOTELS
  • Book online or call:
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
  • 1 888 IC HOTELS
  • Book online or call:
 

New York Barclay

Rated 4.0 out of 5 by 562 reviewers.
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Room was excellent Room was very nice, two beds, quiet, good coffee in the room, lots of towels and toiletries in the bathroom. Did not eat in restaurant but had company we met in the bar. The service was very slow and the drinks very expensive. 21 May 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Long Weekend stay We picked the New York Berkley as part of a package deal with BA. On arrival we were offered a complimentary upgrade to a superior room which we gladly accepted. The room was good but a bit tired, the bathroom was very small but to be honest you do not spend much time in there. The staff were excellent and in particular the concierge was very helpful and knowledgable. The hotel foyer is excellent and the bar area very welcoming. The location of the hotel was superb and everything we wanted was in easy walking distance. The hotel is due a refit soon and we would certainly stay there again in the future. Thanks to everyone off a superb stay. 17 May 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Fabulous Great location and a beautiful hotel. We were upgraded to a king suite. Very spacious room and comfortable bed. Every one of the staff was helpful and friendly. Will definitely stay there again. Thank you so much for a lovely trip into the city. It was my last one for awhile because I am having surgery but as soon as I am able, it is back to the Intercontinental Barclay! 16 May 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Comfort and convenience at the Barclay Old world charm with modern day ammenities. It was a perfect way to spend a mother's day weekend! Our upgraded room was terrific. Spacious, with all the ammenities one could want. Will definitely come back- the location is perfect for a night out on the town, the theater and great shopping. 15 May 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good location and clasic decor Comfortable room with good size bed and old style furniture. 14 May 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great location and excellent rooms Located close enough to everything, but far enough away to be able to escape the hustle and bustle. Good bars, restaurants and breakfast houses nearby. Close to subway. Rooms great size and truly the most comfortable bed I have ever slept in. Coffee maker great facility and always topped up. Free Wi-Fi always available as IHG member. 12 May 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by I will miss it My home away from home is closing for two years for remodeling. I have loved being a guest there since 1979, and fear the new ownership and remodeling will turn it into a glitzy, cold place like the IC Times Square.. Thank you, IC Barclay for many great years and stays! To the new owners, take good care of the hotel's loyal staff as you send them on their way. 12 May 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Fabulous stay! Wonderful stay, great location! Sharon is a great asset (very helpful and accommodating) to the front desk. My husband and I will definitely be back. 10 May 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by good location Location is very good. Bed level is too high , it is difficult to use. 05 May 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by St Patricks day in NYC Loved the location of the hotel. The bed was extremely comfortable and the room spacious and tidy. The bathroom would help from updating. No free Internet , which although we knew about , needs addressing , especially in the technological world of today. Even "Starbucks " give free wifi !! No coffee available in the lobby after hours, suggested we order in room service. Overall I would recommend the hotel. 01 May 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Mother Daughter trip My 12 year-old daughter & I visited NYC for the first time this past April. This hotel has a great location and it was a great value. We will definitely stay here again! 30 April 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Grand Historic Hotel in Prime Location This is a classic hotel with a cozy feel. We loved our 7th floor corner suite. We had a spacious living room as well as bedroom. The bathroom was small....but expected given the historic nature of the building. It was very clean and functional. The furniture is showing some age but was told the property is about to receive a makeover. The location is unbeatable! When we come back to New York we will certainly consider the Barclay again. 28 April 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by muy buena es un hotel muy bueno sobre todo su personal, sobre su infraestructura se debe actualizar 28 April 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great location This was our third visit to the hotel and we thoroughly enjoyed it! It will never be the same again once it's all modernised but providing the prices are still good value we will def go back when it reopens. The location is perfect for 5th ave and Rockefeller centre The staff were very helpful and friendly The buffet breakfast is very variable and great value 26 April 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good place We have stayed here a number of times and will likely return during our visits to NYC. Location is good, close but not in busiest area such as Broadway. Cleaning staff is very good, really liked our lady. Bed seems a bit small for a queen. 24 April 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Best Staff EVER!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!1 Starting with Giselle when I made the reservations, then with AnnMara at the Ambassador Gold desk and Marco at the front desk. These exemplary staff members is what makes a memorable stay at the Intercontinental Barclay. I must also mention Julieta at the concierge always finding the best seats on Broadway and on my train trip to Washington DC. And also the ever pleasing late night room service cook and staff........All were exceptional. I am sorry to say that after this experience the Intercontinental The Willard in DC was very disappointing. 24 April 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Obnoxious Concierge with poor Attitude Being a Platinum Ambassador Member for the last 5 years ... This hotel does not meet Intercontinental standards ... I understand the Hotel will be closing soon and will undergo a complete renovation ... Hopefully with a new concierge staff .. otherwise the remaining staff was excellent ... I moved to the Intercontinental Times Square after one night stay at the Barclay ... Hope after the renovations are completed, I will try the Barclay again ... 23 April 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Artist2250 Great experience. Had a wonderful time. Great service from entire staff. 23 April 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Fairly Good Deal For The Money The Intercontinental Barclay was a fairly good deal for the money. It's only a short walk from Broadway and Fifth Avenue so save the extra bucks and enjoy a nice stroll. We got the package that included breakfast which was a good deal for the additional cost. The hotel is old, but I think renovations are coming soon. The rooms were average size for the area, but the bathroom was tiny. On the first day, the wait staff at breakfast was excellent! However, on the second day, the wait staff was inattentive and inefficient. The cleaning crew was not very efficient either. The shower mat in the bathroom had hair under it when we checked in, and the staff did not vacuum the floor either day we were at the hotel. Yes, I still would recommend this hotel, but there are definitely opportunities for improvement. 22 April 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Nice Hotel with excellent service Nice hotel, which has to be a little bit updated, but excellent service and very friendly staff. 20 April 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 THE Best Sleep Ever My wife and I have just finished a 4 night break to New York and stayed at the Barclay. From the moment we walked into the beautiful lobby we knew we were in for a memorable time. The hotel is well maintained with attentive staff who ensured our time at the Barclay was enjoyable. it was obvious to us that cleanliness and attention to detail are important to the hotel staff, and found no issues with our room. One of the earlier review answers said that an upgrade to the hotel was being planned. We didn't find any fault with the feeling that it was like stepping back into the 1930's in some respects. We hope the upgrade is done sympathetically to maintain the charm of the hotel. Finally, we have stayed in many hotels over the years of all star ratings across the world. I can honestly say that we both had THE best nights sleep at the Barclay that we have ever had- anywhere. Who makes your mattresses? Thanks to all staff for making our stay in New York an extra special one. 17 April 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by great place and location I have been here many times.. this time the best. I didn't like the room I had and requested another one.. the ambassador staff was over the top in locating me another room that fit my needs. the only draw back was this hotel needs a major renovation.. the rooms are small (suites) and need to come up to current standards. the staff in the restaurant were amazing and helpful. 16 April 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great hotel and great location Just returned from a 3 night break in NYC. The Barclay was a fantastic hotel choice. Nothing was too much trouble and all are requests were fulfilled by attentive and knowledgeable staff. We especially loved the doormen who whistled up our taxis everyday! The hotel is in a great location, close to sites such as Grand Central Station and The Chrysler Building (which we could see from our room) but tucked away on 48th guaranteeing a great nights sleep. See you again Barclay! 16 April 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent Love this hotel with its beautiful huge lobby. Everything about the hotel pleases me: location, staff, room, restaurant. I am gluten free and was guided on what to eat. Will return as often as I can. Claire. 14 April 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by poor housekeeping and reception staff We were very disappointed in our recent stay at your hotel. There were not enough cups and glasses for the number of persons staying in the room, on asking at the desk the gentleman seemed non plussed by our request. The standard of the room and bathroom and reception staff did not seem to be up to the five star standard we have experienced in other intercontinental hotels. On one mrorning we had left a small pizza box with two slices of pizza left for our childrens lunch along with an opened bottle of fruit juice and water. When we returned later that morning the pizza box had been removed, the other items were still there including a dirty knife. when complaining to the gentleman on the reception desk was unsympathetic to the situation and suggested next time I leave a note for the housekeeping team.. Should I leave a note to remove the dirty knife!! I would have to seriously consider recommending or using the Barclay New York again. 13 April 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Lovely stay: friendly staff, large suite, central location One Bedroom Suite is around 70sqm Kitchen with fridge, microwave oven, coffee machine and sink Living room with fireplace, sofa and desk, large flat screen television set (massive choice of national cable and international channels). Bedroom with large comfortable bed, Bose minichain Dressing Small but charming bathroom with window, bathtub only. Agraria amenities. Good - Friendly and attentive staff (great bell boy, concierge, housemaid, Ambassador desk staff at check-out) - New York Times delivered every day - Very central location, with easy access to metro station. Less than 15 minutes walk to MoMa, Barneys New York, etc. - Very fast wifi - I slept like a baby even if you may hear (as anyywhere else in NYC) sirens of fire trucks - Vintage charm Bad - The experience for lunch at the Grill restaurant was somewhat disappointing (efficient and smiling staff but soulless atmosphere, pretty dark and noisy place, and food was very basic - may I say mediocre?) The hotel will close for complete renovation in June 2014. Let's hope that renovation will be made with taste and keep the historical vintage charm of the hotel. 13 April 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Elegant and comfortable Beautiful property providing a very comfortable stay. Would like to see better service in the restaurant, had to wait at the kiosk twice for acknowledgement as no one was managing seating. 09 April 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Fantastic Fantastic hotel, staff and location. Will be back. 09 April 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good hotel but avoid the bar I've always enjoyed my stay at ING properties and this was the first time I've said at this property in NYC. I was with my wife and we stayed for four nights on the 14th floor. I had read other reviews with concerns of road noise (which is to be expected to some degree when in the city) but we had no problems. The front desk staff was very friendly, and knowledgeable. The only two issues we had with the hotel was the outdated bathroom, which had two rather large junks missing from the toilet seat. Replacing a toilet seat when damaged should be a rather simply and inexpensive task. Room service would see the damaged seat each time it was cleaned. Second, we had a bad experience at the hotel bar. While in NY we went to many different restaurants and bars, with some of the best chefs and bartenders in the world residing within the city limits. However, none of them can be found at this IHG property. Our waiter was dismissive and unattractive. Besides taking our drink request and bringing the two drinks ordered, he walked past each the rest of the night. My drink was made incorrectly, with almost no alcohol to taste. Being a gin-based drink, you should be able to taste it. When we ready to go, having never been offered another cocktail, I got up from our table to go find our waiter. Our bill came to be $40...for two drinks. I understand that prices are higher in NYC than other cities, but this was well above what we had paid for cocktails at almost every other bar/restaurant we have been to in our trips to the city. I would recommend this property but would advise on going somewhere else for a drink. 08 April 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Great location but this cannot be considered a 5 star hotel I regularly stay in Intercontinental hotels around the world and while I do appreciate that there is variation within the brand, this hotel really left me with mixed opinions. On the positive: The location is excellent. Convenient for almost everything. The employees were (without exception) very helpful and pleasant. The lobby/reception area is very nice. The bar is very nice. On the negative: The accommodation and facilities in this hotel must have been state of the art - once upon a time. However there appears that have been a serious lack of investment into them. That said the hotel was very busy and I can imagine that with a consistently high occupancy, it must be hard to actually do the renovations which are blatantly needed. But for a five star hotel, I did not expect to have a chipped/cracked bathtub, patchy paintwork, a toilet that had been repositioned in the bathroom (no doubt after a previous repair) and was almost unusable for someone of a normal build, the carpet in the room was dirty, bedroom furniture was worn, a few cracks in the cornicing/wall and every corner in the bedroom was discoloured. Furthermore, the plumbing is really old - so anytime there was water flow to/from a neighbouring bathroom, the sound reverberated into my bedroom. But as I said, these are all symptoms of needing renovation/upgrading. That said, the bed was comfortable and the room was (for the most part) superficially clean - although blatantly worn. I have never before, in any hotel I have ever stayed in, ever contemplated asking to change bedrooms - but when I spoke to the front desk, they acknowledged that they might not be able to provide a better room - so I stayed where I was. Compared to hotels in general, the room itself was functionally ok - but given the level of quality of other intercontinental hotels I have stayed in, this was by far the worst intercontinental hotel I have experienced to date. I used the fitness steam/sauna facilities - and like the rooms, these were also functional but noticeably dated/worn. But if you view this hotel only as a place to sleep, can get a decent rate and don't compare to it any other intercontinental, then it's not a terrible place to stay. 07 April 2014
<<prev 3 4 5 6 7 ... 20 next>>
New York Barclay
  • 111 East 48th St
  • New York , NY , 10017-1297
  • United States
  • Front Desk +1-212-7555900

  • Driving Directions
  • Transportation
  • Parking
   

Languages spoken by staff

German, English, Spanish, French, Italian, Japanese, Korean, Dutch , Portuguese, Chinese

Pet Policy

One pet per room. Dog must weight 70 lbs.or less. Dog should be nonaggressive and leashed at all times in public area and not be left alone in room. If dog is barking then the guest will have to depart the hotel. Must be registered with front desk.
Pet Fee $25.00 per night
  • Local Time

    8:33 AM
    • CHECK-IN

      3:00 PM
    • CHECK-OUT

      12:00 PM Late Check out Available

    Currency

    • US Dollar $ (USD)

    Accessibility

    • Service animals allowed
    • 18 Room(s) with Accessibility Standards
    • Parking
    • Special Needs