Skip Navigation
  • English    English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • Sign In
  • 1 888 IC HOTELS
  • Book online or call:
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
  • 1 888 IC HOTELS
  • Book online or call:
 

New York Barclay

Rated 4.0 out of 5 by 548 reviewers.
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Fabulous I stayed here last week & I have to say that having previously stayed at the Waldorf my stay at the Barclay was fantastic, which could not be said about the Waldorf.I am a travel agent in the UK & from now on this is the only hotel I will be recommending, Every member of staff I came into contact with were extremely helpful although I have to give a special mention to Angel who is without a doubt the most helpful doorman I have ever met. Our room was just perfect, as was the chambermaid. My only gripe was having to pay for the Wi Fi. So Barclay thank you for making our stay just perfect & hopefully it won't be too long before I see you again. 13 November 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Superb visit Our check in clerk, Andres, was one of the nicest individuals we've ever encountered upon arriving at any hotel on the planet. The bar staff was equally friendly later on that evening. 13 November 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by What happened with the bathroom As always, happy to stay at the Barclay's. Would not consider staying at another Hotel. However, I found the bathroom quite uncomfortable. Very small and tight to us the WC. I am not a heavy person, but had to sit uncomfortable. Never seemed to notice the size, but probably they gave me the wrong room. Hope next time I have better luck. I will definitively continue to stay at The Barclay's 12 November 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Over charge I used Rewards Club points for a 2 night stay. When checking my account several days later I was charged Room Taxes. When I called the hotel I was transferred to an automated service with a supposed return call within 48 hours. The call was never returned. I had to call again and ask for a Manager who stated that it was a "computer glitch" and that my Card would be credited by next billing cycle. For an upscale hotel, this is Poor Customer service. 12 November 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Service as Always! We enjoyed our six days at The Barclay as usual. This trip was even better as our Ambassador Representative Annmara kept us well informed and made our stay very comfortable. We love the Staff and atmosphere of this hotel and cannot wait until our next visit! 12 November 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great stay arrived after an 8 hour flight and a one hour drive from the airport with two young children, 3 and 5. The staff, from the doorman to the receptionist were very friendly and helpful. In fact everyone was especially nice throughout our 2 day stay. We had a wonderful room on the 12th floor and everything was perfect. The water and cheese in the room was particularly enjoyable. 12 November 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Not quite up to normal Intercontinental Standards I am a platinum Ambassador. I have stayed at many Intercons over the years. This is by the far the most disappointing Intercon I have stayed at. I was at this hotel for an extended stay for business. I have very basic requirements. Make up my room, give me my free water (Platinum ambassador bonus) and restock my empty amenities each day. Sadly this was not done. At one point my conditioner was not restocked for 4 days. When it was finally replenished (after screaming at someone at reception), it was not put in the bathroom, rather it was the conditioner etc was placed in front of the wine glasses. In fairness the MoD did ring me to apologise - but this is a basic requirement and should not need to be escalated to the MoD. I have travelled a lot through SE Asia in recent months and the service in Cambodia and Vietnam is far superior to this hotel. On the plus side it is a great location. 12 November 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Marriage Trip to NewYork We arrived a little early for check in around 1:00, and were happy to wait for the room to be ready since we were early. We were told to return at 3:00 to get the room. When we arrived the room was not yet ready, the previous occupants had not even left yet. We were told they were Platinum Members and did not have to leave. We had tickets to a show so we went to the show at 8:00pm and did not get our room until we returned from the show at around 11:00 pm. We spent the whole day waiting for our confirmed and guaranteed room because a "Platinum" member effused to leave the room. That is just plain wrong! We received no compensation for this horrible inconvenience. 11 November 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Alanjajenkins Booked 3 rooms for 4 nights. At time of booking I requested a slightly larger room for my daughter,husband and baby. I was disappointed to find that they were given a smaller room, which made it quite difficult with a 9 month old child. 09 November 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by great place i love this hotel - it is where Al Gore withdrew from the 1988 presidential race and it is where all the clinton staff stayed during the convention in 1992 - plus the rooms are spacious and bed very comfortable 06 November 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Trick or Treat My husband took me to NYC for halloween weekend. At first glance the Barclay is inviting but after a few days it became an oasis of service, style, and memories. The entire staff was accommodating , but Sergio our concierge was incredible. He not only reserved the best tables at the top restaurants, but advised us to spend halloween night at 54 below, a Broadway Cabaret. It was beyond our expectations.As we sipped our final chocolate martini in the Barclay lounge, we decided to make halloween an annual tradition at the Barclay. It was definitely a treat! 04 November 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by I am not impressed Upon check-in, I was greeted by staff due to my ambassador status with IHG. I was informed due to early arrival, my upgraded room was not available so I took the base room instead. The check-in process was efficient. But during my stay there were two drawbacks. First, the rooms are hardly sound-proof. I could even hear my neighbour whispering. I know this hotel has a long history but installing some sound-absorbing materials shouldn't be too hard. Second, other than the check-in, my ambassador status is poorly recognized. Although I was told I would receive mineral water daily, I only receive one bottle of water during my first day of stay. Since this hotel does not have a lounge, in my opinion, some breakfast benefits should be offered to ambassador members instead, which is missing. Overall I have mixed feeling about this hotel. 03 November 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Special occasion gone bad! I was there for special occasion and stayed In a suite. Firstly after every shower the fire alarm went off as there was no vent in the bathroom so any steam from the shower set it off. Staff wasn't very kind or helpful, it took 2 calls to have my linen changed when I checked in and found stains all over the sheet!! 02 November 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by great location and a fabulous hotel perfect for elite guests who do not want to stay at a very tourist based area and yet be close to the action! 31 October 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Noisy Room The hotel is very conveniently located but unfortunately extremely noisy. I was on the 9 floor and could hear all the street noises from my room as if I was standing outside in the street at any hours of the night. 30 October 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Another wonderful experience at the NY Barclay I always stay at the NY Barclay hotel when I come to NYC for work or vacation because each time I stay, there is never an issue. Rooms are clean and ready early or on time, staff is friendly and helpful, bar/restaurant is lovely. And the hotel has a great location to go anywhere in the City. 30 October 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by good location, good room This hotel is very convenient for a business trip, recommend 29 October 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent location Excellent location, friendly staff, but old Hotel with small not up to date bathroom; Upgrade as Platin ambassador not really evident. 28 October 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent Hotel in the Heart of Manhattan We visited New York for six days and stayed at the Barclay Intercontinental. It is an excellent hotel. Beautiful, comfortable, and close to everything we wanted to visit in New York. My only complaint was that the breakfast buffet is expensive for the level of service we got, and the quality of the selections (food needs to be hotter). Other than that, I would recommend this hotel. 28 October 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great NYC Hotel Our room was well furnished and comfortable. We found it to be a good size, clean and in good order. My only complaint is that the room light switches turned on ALL the lights in the room and it was not possible to read in bed without having every light in the room on. This is very annoying for a spouse who would like to sleep, while the other would like to stay in bed and read with only the light on their side of the bed illuminating the room. Better lighting would be a MUST upgrade for this hotel. 27 October 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Satisfied traveller I do not have ANY bad comments to make , My stay at this hotel was memorable on every way and will most certainly return when visiting New York City again. 27 October 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Memorable, but maybe for the wrong reasons After a traumatic time healthwise at last I feel able to travel again and decided a visit to New York was what I really wanted, trip was well planned and nothing left to chance, I booked the Barclay using Travel industry rates, however on arrival was met with a cold unmoving individual member of staff who came close to ruining the entire stay, she refused to accept my ID and eventualy my manager in the UK had to intervene as I was distraught, this person offered no apology and didnt even wear a name badge so I can not name and shame her, but shame is what she should feel, as a staff member who is the first contact with the public it is part of her job to meet and greet customers, she is their first impression of the hotel, I had actualy heard her be rather cold and even a little rude to the gentleman trying to check in ahead of me, this is the first and only time I have ever had a problem of this kind, and was one of three hotels I had booked and the only one to offer any problem, its a visit I wont forget, but sadly for the wrong reasons. 26 October 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Noisy On E48th I stayed for 4 nights for a little work and some pleasure, bringing my mum from the UK to stay with me and enjoy New York. As a Royal Ambassador, I was very generously upgraded to a 1 bedroom suite, which worked well having my mother with me. I ALWAYS request a high floor, and to be away from the lifts on every reservation I make. However, I was allocated a 4th floor suite, directly above the main entrance to the hotel on E48th Street. Now, I know this is New York, and it is a noisy city and I expect that. However, what I was not prepared for on this occasion, was the consistent and overwhelmingly loud and piercing whistling from the bellman trying to get cabs for people. Not using a metal whistle, but doing it him self. It went on for hours and hours, and the first evening till gone 11pm. After a long day having arrived from the UK, it was the last thing we wanted, but were too tired to request a move of room that evening. So, with ear plugs in, we got some sleep, although not so great quality. In the morning, we packed our bags and when leaving the hotel for the day, I informed the Ambassador Desk that I will not be staying in that room for the remaining 3 nights of the stay, and when we return later that day I expect to have been moved. When we did return, we had indeed been moved, to an 11th floor 1 bedroom suite, but still on the front of the hotel, overlooking the entrance, and still with the man whistling for taxis. Thankfully, not as loud as 7 floors down. I still believe that this is a solid, but old, New York hotel. I am lead to believe that it is to be refurbished next year from top to bottom, but not confirmed. Staff always helpful and service was good. They just really need to get the whistling man to tone it down a lot. It certainly is enough to ruin someones stay at the property. 26 October 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Average Room was not up to par - wallpaper peeling, paint on floor, hair in tub. Not what I expected from an Intercontinental stay. 23 October 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by perfect for a girls trip The restaraurant and bar staff were AMAZING. The ladies at the ambassador check in were very good, however tne concierge wasn't helpful at all. Our maid service was attentive and very friendly. This was our second annual stay and I can definitely say we will be back. One of the girls is feom London and wa svery impressed with the entire experience. (Except for the concierge) 23 October 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Unacceptable Experience My friend and I stayed two nights, one a rewards night and one night that I paid cash for. I have stayed at the hotel many times with my husband. The first day there at around 6PM someone from the hotel staff attempted to enter my room while I was napping and was stopped by the deadbolt. The second day I was there, I was locked out of my room because of the confusion by the staff over being there two nights with two separate reservations even though I had discussed this with the clerk when checking in. I received no apology when I went to recitfy the situation at the front desk. At around 6PM that evening a manager of the housekeeping staff entered my room without waiting for someone to answer the door. After that incident I contacted the manager, Elvin, and he did not even apologize for the incident. He blamed it on the fact that rewards points were used "which is a program that the Barclay does not manage." He told me that all he could give her was a free breakfast because what happened was not at the level of getting a free stay. I felt I deserved something more than breakfast since I could have been walked in on while undressing. I suggested more IHG points and he offered the equivalent of $100 in points. I am appalled by the way I was treated and the fact that my privacy was violated. I am not confident that I will get the points that were offered. I was shocked that The Barclay speaks badly of your rewards program that I am happy to be a participant in. And to cap off my weekend, my suitcase handle was broken when I picked it up after checking it with the bellhop. 22 October 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by It's a love / hate relationship Plat Ambassador Member. I love the location of this hotel and the beautiful main lobby brings up memories of "old New York" Arrived Early (12:30pm) and went to regular front desk, because there were too many people waiting in line at Ambassador Desk. Unfortunately the main front desk has an air of "snobbery" attached to it, and frankly you get a friendlier greeting at starbucks. It also always seems short staffed. Room was not ready so had to wait until after 3 and got a King Executive but it was smaller than most and for some reason they put the toilet in the bathroom extremely close to the wall. My colleague got a remodeled room on a higher floor where they have a completely new room design and bathroom. For the first time we ate dinner at the hotel and it was bad, steaks were overcooked and bland, service was terrible. Waiters paid no attention to the table after the entrees were served, we waited 30 minutes and had to ask for the check, when it arrived they put a bottle of wine on the tab that was $30 more than the one we ordered. After speaking to the manager they comped the original bottle of wine and 2 drinks. So that's it, love the location, so i'll be back, but its far from the 4 star you'd expect. 22 October 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Delighted with our choice We usually stay at the Waldorf, but were unable to get a room for our recent stay, which was fortunate for us as we've now discovered the Barclay Intercontinental. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The bar and restaurant were very good as were the staff. Our room and bed were extremely comfortable. We have already recommended this hotel to one friend since our return, it will be our first choice for all our future trips to New York City. Thank you, look forward to staying with you again. 19 October 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Classic Full Service Hotel We bookmarked our cruise by staying for four nights: two in a regular 2 bed room and 2 nights in a suite. The regular room was relatively spacious by international standards (cf London), while the suite was huge and a great upgrade from the regular room. The bellman, front desk, concierge, housekeeping, & restaurant staff were all friendly & attentive. The location is excellent: far enough east to avoid 24 hour noise, yet close enough to everything that midtown has to offer within easy walking distance or a short cab ride. 17 October 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Last time at the Barclay After numerous outstanding stays at the Barclay over the past 8 years, there clearly has been a breakdown in quality at this hotel. Some of the same wonderful staff are here so it can only be a change in management as the root cause for this terrible recent stay. And apparently being a frequent guest no longer matters. In the past, being a platinum ambassador was a guarantee to an upgraded room, and while they all varied in size, they were truly beautiful rooms. This time, we were told that we were upgraded to a deluxe room, and upon entering the room, it was old, tired, small and dirty (there even was a sewing needle on the floor). The hallway entrance was also poorly lighted. While there was turndown service on the first night, there was none on the second night. Normally, we would have breakfast each morning and one other meal as well as use the bar facilities. We were so disappointed to see the change here that we did not want to spend any more time or money than necessary. 17 October 2013
<<prev 7 8 9 10 11 ... 19 next>>
New York Barclay
  • 111 East 48th St
  • New York , NY , 10017-1297
  • United States
  • Front Desk +1-212-7555900

  • Driving Directions
  • Transportation
  • Parking
   

Languages spoken by staff

German, English, Spanish, French, Italian, Japanese, Korean, Dutch , Portuguese, Chinese

Pet Policy

One pet per room. Dog must weight 70 lbs.or less. Dog should be nonaggressive and leashed at all times in public area and not be left alone in room. If dog is barking then the guest will have to depart the hotel. Must be registered with front desk.
Pet Fee $25.00 per night
  • Local Time

    4:53 AM
    • CHECK-IN

      3:00 PM
    • CHECK-OUT

      12:00 PM Late Check out Available

    Currency

    • US Dollar $ (USD)

    Accessibility

    • Service animals allowed
    • 18 Room(s) with Accessibility Standards
    • Parking
    • Special Needs